(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Shelisa,if now u can see a big belly then consider tummy show out already right?

createjoy,you thinking switch to KKH?first time i visit them is a male doctor,i request a female,so he ask me change to KKH women's private suite,everytime charge is about 100-200 also,the doctor is quite nice but need to wait 2-3 weeks for appointment.

good afternoon ladies,

hope you all have a good lunch, a lot of sales today, Crabtree, Tangs and Clarins Robinson.. good for xmas shopping..

Shelisa, same here, I'll still go on with my sundae, bb likes it, just like mummy

First Mum, can I check something, my friend also told me they bought most of their bb stuff from Taka, is it really cheap there ? I need to look for bb mattress, they say latex one is better so bb won't feel hot..

Crystal, I've been using Clarins oil and cream for a few weeks now, I agree that the smell is nice, but still a bit puzzle on using the oil, I apply after shower in evening, then just rinse off with cool water, after that, should dab dry, or just leave it to absorb..? as I found, with the rinsing, it's still quite oily on the skin..

Jess Ma, ginger tea I try, my mum even got me some chewy ginger sweets, it kinda help for the first few seconds, then it goes pretty bad with the gastric, burping & beching a lot..
to make it worse, I'm very stress with my job now, heard rumours that my company has been laying off people quietly since last week, I didn't even know as it was in other dept, when it comes to mine, I'm so worried as I'm one of the newest one around.. your boss quite right, if we lose our job now, it might be quite hard to get another job, but, if you're doing network, as far as I know, it's always in demand, so won't be as hard as I'm doing a specific application.. the recession hit quite bad, might last for a few years.. so stress, as I really wanted to move out and get my own house before delivery..

Ling,if you really can't tahan nausea,you can consult the doctor see whether any other way to make u feel better since the ginger tea not suitable for u.You don't feel too stress ya,stress will not help anything.. Actually me also same as you ,i also wanted to move out and get my own house before delivery,but i need to choose,see which one is more priority.I'm doing both networking and specific application,more on application and got few project need to handle.I got no colleague in the company can discuss with for those project problem.you don't be upset,everything will be fine,you will get your own house soon but don't too stress.

Ling, i thought old ppl say it is not good for pregnant women to move house? i think u better after give birth then move ba?? or consult ur parents or grandparents 1st?

Jess, so u need to give 1 mth notice if u resign? then wat ur final desicion now?? to leave or stay for another 1 mth?

Shelisa,ya 1 mth notice.i already use 1 mth to clear the outstanding jobs liao,so now see whether they consider that 1 mth as my notice loh.

Jess, hmm.. seem by u determine to resign.. i hope u make the right desicion. best wishes.. so jealous.. u can shake leg..

Jess Ma, you're right, the nausea & belching got worse when I'm stress (like now).. thanks.. will try not to think about it tho.. *hugz*.. about your situation, if I were your boss, dun think will let you go, even if she did, as there's no one else beside you doing your job, most likely you still have to serve the 1 month notice.. do you have any leave to offset the notice ?

Shelisa, really..? I thot we're not allowed to be around for the renovation, as they said a lot of nailing, moving big furniture and smashing etc, logically make sense too, renovation a lot of dust and particles that might endanger the pregnancy, but if only moving house.. dunno leh, maybe I ask my grandma.. my mil quite open minded leh, she said it's ok, but no nailing, if there is, we're not supposed to be around.. oh, have to stay away from people doing painting also (this one is due to the fume and chemical, dangerous for bb).. I really want my own house, been balloting since before married, until now, still dun have.. resale price gone really crazy last two years, the top-up value asked so ridiculous, range btwn 40K-60K, the lower end usually house very very ugly...

Ling, yup yup.. you are right.. now housing very ex.. you must count if you own a new house now, you need to spend at least 20-40k for renovation + those furniture n electrical thing.. then plus now you are pregnant, you have to buy alot of bb thing, alot of ur own stuff and those bird nest n tonic. you already have hard time manage ur nausea. if you have a new house you have to run about to look for furniture, electrical, home decoration, very tiring 1. that y need to plan well before pregnant. i also brought my house on aug this yr, also renovation 70% then found out pregnant. then stop all work.. now in a mess. haiz..

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies,

Sorry to intrude

Am starting a Blue Egg Milk Bag Spree.

It is breastmilk storage bag. Storing breastmilk and freezing it. Then you can use it on the go.

Self standing
Easy sealing with DOUBLE ziplock
BPA Free
Freezer safe
Pre-sterilized
Leak proof
Store up to 210ml (7 oz)
Double layered (it is very tough)
FDA approved of material used (100% safe)
Country of origin: Korea (25 bags per pack)

$6.50 per box

Pls PM me if you are interested

Need to have a MOQ of 50 boxes

shelisa/ ling
i just moved place. found myself pregnant after the renovation all done. so abit heng. but was tired looking after #1 and packing and the unpacking and also cleaning up and buying all new furniture. now still very tired though.

Shelisa,thank you.. i can read more book,got any interesting things i will share will you ; ) you also got to cheers up

Ling,ya like if i rest at home few days i will feel better,but this morning when i want to call boss then i feel nausea and want to vomit,eat so little also.so trying your best to control your stress,and when you eating don't keep thinking nausea.ya,still got 1 mth notice i think,i don't hv any leave to offset the notice already.

crystal, that time i even steady, i help my hubby paint the house. at that time i still dunno im pregnant. after that i recall back, i feel that im very powerful. lolz. fainted.

Jess, wow.. so kind of u.. hmm.. then we treat u for lunch?? haha..

Crystal &amp; Shelisa, congrats on ur new house too!
so nice, new house, new baby..

Shelisa, wow you paint..? wah.. you must be amazed hor, first few weeks of pregnancy usually we dunno abt it, so still do all those stuff.. once we knew then it's like, this cannot, that also cannot, and yup, bb coming, a lot to spend.. also just heard abt some herbal bath during confinement, must buy the herbs too.. I actually enjoy shopping for new furniture and decorating the house, been balloting like crazy so far, after not getting queue number for the first two we ballot, we just ballot for everything, walk in, bto, dbss, even for duxton, lucky we didn't get a number, the price is still around $670K..

Crystal, take ur time unpacking.. dun get too tired.. and remember no heavy lifting.. big no no..

Jess Ma, thanks.. no more leave to offset ah, maybe as much as you can, try to work from home for this 1 mth.. goin for gynae check this Friday, also to get the NT results from him, will ask him abt the nausea.. I'm almost 13 weeks, but nausea worse than week 8.. tummy already showing too.. big big belly

ling
yup, finally almost finish up everything except for some here and there. thanks for the concern!

i am 12 wks for this wk. tmr going to gynae and will measure the thickness of baby's neck.

yes you would need to get herbal bath for confinement for shower. can get from those chinese medicinal halls. just tell them you want to buy the herbal bath for confinement then they would recommend you a few. usually the difference is the pricing.

else can try getting from www.littledreamers.com.sg for confinement products.

i first time kiasu, bought the confinement products and also used herbal bath at the same time. heehee.

Ling, it's ok to move house as long as you are not there when the renovation is going on. My fren did that in the middle of her pregnancy as well. If it's possible, you should avoid being present when the major shifting of large furniture is going on as well. U can always do the light unpacking and cleaning. Must rope in help from your frens/relatives. And yes, no nailing, especially in ur bedroom.

So fast your tummy show liao. I only look a bit fat now and still wearing most of my clothes but a bit tight. Gynae was saying tummy may not even show when CNY comes. That's like week 18 for me liao... Dunno how true.
Like that forever no one will give me seat on the MRT. Every morning, I stand until I feel a bit faint cos too crowded.

Ling, i think u should proceed with your house after 20wk. nw early stage minimise any stress lor. i also wanted to mini reno my room but will do when about to due or after give birth i very bandang. mayb coincidence lah but wn i having my 1st child, i happen to drink herbal tea, crab and nail before i knew i preg.just few days later it happened. it may have no scientific proof but when it happen you cant help blaming and regreting u know...so better be safe not sorry... i'm also thinking of going KKH class leh! hi-5!

jess ma finally you still quit. heehee very scary one leh. now everyday i see new of pple ganna sack and feel i blessed got job but silly resign haha the feeling is awful... hope your company can waive your notice.

btw ladies, i read aft 1st trim tried not to lie on ur back lie on your left increase blood flow to bb. i haven see tummy leh... any one got linea nigra already?

shelisa, i think 1-2 cup choc mlk shd be fine. after all anmum is for mum should be within limit. but i normally drink 1 cup milk powder 1 cup fresh low fat milk. pple say milk powder very heaty...

Crystal, measure the neck thickness, I thot that's NT test ? My gynae sent me to TMC to do that test leh, you mean your gynae can do the test too ? Should be fine, very fast one, just like normal u/s.. oh, thanks a lot for the link, I didn't know got confinement product sale online too
think I'd be a bit kiasu like you too.. hehe..

bbjun, your tummy not showing yet..? ah ya, forgot.. you're very sporty, must be very fit n slim lah, not like me, before preggie already quite chubby n plump, so, now at 13 weeks, tummy showing liao.. just got the nagging from my mum about my weight (again).. CNY is January this time rite..
thanks for the move-house tips
am still trying to find a house, think have to consider resale flat now..

ah, seat on MRT, even tummy showing also not many ppl will give seat, I gave up liao, I woke up half an hour earlier now, to catch a bus instead, so I can get a seat, standing on MRT not so safe, sometimes so packed can't even hold on to a pole (everybody leaning there or blocked you), then ah, the east west line MRT is not auto mah, driver sometimes xiao, sudden stop and such, very dangerous for us if we fall.. so taking bus lor, half an hour longer (jam in highway, always), but at least got seat..

Hi Ling,
We are in the same shoe. I had been balloting since 2005 and had NEVER EVER GET A Q NO!!!!

The price of the new hbd flat had easily increase by $150-$200K from 2005 to date. SIMPLY CRAZY!!!!

That y now i am staying with my inlaws. N is hoping that the resales market will soften next year so i can get a plc of our own with hubby.

So if you can wait hor, settle bb 1st, house later. With that u shld be able to get a better bargain

If my tummy shows huh, at least i can excuse me, I need the seat. No tummy like no reason to ask ppl to give me seat. Take bus very bo hua for me cos it means less 30-40mins of sleep. I treasure my sleep alot ever since I need to wake up so many times to pee at night.

actually to me, I can feel the small budge but then, it looks like normal ppl having a smally tummy budge of fats in front lor. Not like preggie. Looks awful.

createjoy, you wan to reno the room u're in ah..? think bandang leh.. the other day hubby bought some shelf for the corner, even must assmeble outside the room, my mil told me to stay inside.. hahaha
but true lah, sometimes coincidence too, but my sil also, her hubby doing renovation, nail and all that, also happenned, then next time pregnancy, they dare not do anything, it's okay.. hey, when do you want to go for the KKH class (the aqua one rite) ? maybe can go together
yeah I also read not to lie on our back, not good for bb, have to lie on our left, not right.. what is linea nigra..?

Jackie, haa 2005..?? Must be quite frustrating.. I only started from end 2006 (by then too late, the prop prices already sky rocket liao), ballot so many until feel like protesting in front of Mah Bow Tan's house.. my friend bought a place in Boon Keng in early 2005 for about 210K, now I check at Serangoon, very small, ugly and old one, already 330K, and asking for TOP of 45K *fainted*.. same here, also living with my pil, next year market should not be so bad, my hubby's friend said due to recession, they're selling their house and car, and going to move in with their parents, should be more people selling their house cheaper early next year.. you're right, wait for bb 1st, then look for a house, target to move befor year end

bbjun, now my tummy bigger, also no one give seat at city hall, saw one lady pregnant, quite big liao, at least 7 months I think, also nobody give seat, she stood so far, so we can't call her, last time like that, my hubby stood up, another crazy uncle just sat down..
next time ah, tummy not showing, no one give u seat, just gag lor, pretnd u gonna puke on their face, see if they give u seat *evil grin* hehee, you also ah..
pee a lot at night, funny leh, sometimes after pee, I didn't drink, next 2 hours pee again, still got full bladder, one time I almost doze off in toilet..

Hi Ling, no lah not now.intend to work it out when about to due then reno after give bith. ya lor kkh classes, both prenatal &amp; aqua class. think aqua must wait 4-5mth then sign up. oh linea nigra ah ,the line across up to belly button. very hard to sleep on 1 side leh i started to train last few nite and yday i lose slp . how come every on pee often.. i dun really leh.. maybe about 2 time only.

i also leh go everywhere find place sit. i worse leh think bcos i stress mah easily breathless so walk abit pant liao find place sit.

I oredi cut down on my water intake 1hr before sleep and take sips when I am thirsty. There was one nite I took more soup at my mom's plc cos suddenly no appetite and bloated. That's like 7pm but end up, I woke up 5 times and I really slept on the toilet bowl at one of the times cos I was just too tired. What's frustrating is that some times u go all the way to the toilet, and there is only a little bit of pee but dunno why feel so urgent until wake up.

Createjoy, pee often becos the uterus growing in size, press on the bladder ba.

Aiya, I oso know ppl nowadays can't be bothered to give up PRIORITY seats even if a preggie stands in front of them. I ever ask ppl to stand up to let preggie sit before and not afraid to ask loud loud if they pretend to sleep when I need the seat. They are the ones who shd feel pai seh, not me leh! Last time I also gave up seat for a old lady who cannot stand properly, then a 40+yr old uncle RUN to take my seat when I was trying to help the old lady. Sighz. We are so far away from being gracious.

Actually it is just recommended to sleep on the side. What's more impt is whether u are comfortable or not ba. I cannot sleep on left side one. If u want me to sleep on left side, might as well ask me dun sleep. I oredi tried a few times over a few weeks, never succeed. Cos i felt short of breath when I m on my left side leh. I oso dunno why. I can only sleep on right side, best on the back cos that's my most comfortable position. I dun think BB is comfy when I m in such discomfort. Perhaps when tummy becomes big, I may find sleeping on side more comfy. :p

shelisa,
i initially applied the cream only on tummy, then by end 2nd trimester, fat everywhere so i also apply on butt and thighs and arms haha. its not oily at all, absorbs very fast and smells yummy!

ling,
for baby stuff, personally i tink john little and robinsons the cheapest when got member's sale. sometimes can get as much as 20+20%+5% rebate!! taka baby sale also not bad loh.

for latex mattress, the Babysafe brand is most popular but its usually bundled with pillows and discounted price liao so no further discount. u can go chk it out at robinsons.

I'm new to this forum, expecting my 1st baby, estimated delivery date is in mid-june. Looking forward to sharing information and tips with the rest of you!

Good morning ladies.

First mum, okie, this weekend im gg to look for theis cream and start to apply. hope no stretch mark on my body.

Ling, at that time i didnt know im 'p'. i still paint for like 6-7 hours. after that i was quite guilty and keep telling bb im not purposely. maybe im a lucky ger, i buy over my mil house and im near to my mommies house and with the help of my good sista, i save here abit, gov subsidy abit and mil dun need to give cash so quite ok. only need to reno, furniture, deco and electrical product. i also doing NT in my gynae clinic, maybe is it like that then cheaper? mine only $50 but i rem urs with 3 test $300++

createjoy, yup i did notice milk powder is heaty. i only drank once a cup a day, sometime u will feel ur body heaty, then start to those greenish flame.

It seem like ladies here some already done their NT and OCASR and upcoming mommies also gg to do this test too. hope everyone have good news.

ling
yes my gynae would do all tests for me lei. even for my first pregnancy as well.

RE: giving up seats
sorry to say this but i think singaporeans are very inconsiderate. even when i was in my late 2nd trimester and into 3rd trimster, my tummy was very obvious alrdy however no one give up seats in the train. but for buses, usually will have ple to give up seats one.

welcome newbie mom !

just to add my complaints about people not giving up seats on MRT!! cannot stand people nowadays. super inconsiderate! always pretend to be sleeping, if not so obsessed with playing PSP until totally oblivious to their surroundings!

lucky for me i'm usually with my husband on MRT, so he'll go and get a seat for me. hahaha

crystal, this morning i was taking bus to work. then there is a 'p' women like 7-8mth standing at the bus entrance the step there. after a few stops there is 2 ppls get off of the seat and she try to quickly take up the seat. who know one auntie and 1 ladies snatch the seat. the ladies ard 30 yr old still dare to stare that 'p' women from top to bottom alot of times and she didnt even stand up, i wanted to shout to the ladies but i need to alight liao. haiz.. the world is round, one day when she 'p' she will regret she didnt give up the seat to others last time.

morning ladies, back from my oscar scan, result was good... very lucky so gynae says she wont offer me amnio test =)

lovelytulips, wat abt urs?? i believed we've met each other but dunno which one is you since there are 5 mothers doing oscar from Dr Chan's clinic ytd.

Shelisa, my oscar cost me $286 something, cant remember exact, 10% with FBI card.

U r only doing NT?? NT alone should be cheaper i think.

createjoy, ya.. better wait the reno after give birth.. I only interested with KKH aqua class, not many offer such classes, but for the prenatal, I'm thinkin to take either from Mt A or TMC, heard that we can get discount on the class if we deliver in the same hospital.. Linea nigra, the line, is it hair-line..? so far I dun notice line, but grow more hair everywhere, arms, feet, so scary, I'm chubby and hairy now.. I have always sleep on the side, so it's not a prob, but the peeing part, yah.. if lucky, only twice, but sometimes can go again within an hour..

bbjun, I know what u mean
feel so urgent until cannot tahan, but nothing much.. I put on quite some weight, dunno if it also affect (pressure) the bladder.. the sleeping one, I saw this pregnancy pillow called snuggle or something, they said only sold in KKH, looks like a very long bolster to me.. supposed to help the sleeping position to be more comfy for us.. so far I'm quite ok sleeping on the left side, maybe if in later pregnancy gets diff to sleep, I'll consider buying lor.. quite ex, abt $139 I think..

First Mum, thanks for the tips, J.Little &amp; Robinson not yet having sale, waiting for the year end sale.. when is usually Taka baby sale ah..?

Shelisa, wah, you're indeed lucky
that's good that your gynae can conduct such tests, safe you the time and travelling too.. quite cheap, mine I think supposed to be around $100 for NT, but because I paid bundled with the next test, it's $200plus.. aiyah, forgot to check the receipt again.. been working late recently, got home just eat, shower and sleep (sleep-pee-sleep-and so on)..

My clinic just called me, said that the NT results are all good and normal, going to meet the gynae tomorrow for more details
no worries Shelisa, everything should be alright..

Crystal, how come your gynae and Shelisa's can do all the tests ah.. so good..
my dear, if I were you ah, if tummy so obvious and no one gave seat, think I'll ask them to give up their seat, last time I still thot pai seh and all the ethical, courtesy, but just like amk_gal said, they all pretend to sleep, or playing PSP or just act dumb, why should we bother abt ethical with people like these? I agree with bbjun, they should be the one who pai seh lor.. not us, good gracious, they also have mother who used to be pregnant with them mah..

neeciel, congrats! that's good news!

Newbie Mom, congrats and welcome!

Today lip cracked everywhere, why everyday got new painful things to go through ah.. one thing after another

ling
i think next taka bb sale would be in march. now they are having xmas sale at taka sq during this festive season. i rememebered in march because last yr i was unable to attend due to i was doing confinement. heehee.

there are alot of changes going on during the pregnancy so lip cracked is one of it. i also had it the previous round so i went to buy lip ice to keep it moisturise.

many things (better deals) could be bought during the storwide departmental sale.
1. stretch mark control products
2. disposable panties (for after delivery, home use for confinement)
3. maternity bra (nursing bras at a later time cuz our breasts still expanding)
4. baby products (steriliser, breast pump, bottles)

disposable panties i bought for a month's usage. i used that throughout the entire 1st month. more convenient. mt A dispoable panties super comfy. LOL. but they charge at $8 for 1 piece for the 2nd pc onwards. 1st pc free.

So many of you going for tests liao. Think mine will be around week 15... which is 5 weeks from now. Long time to wait. I hope everything will be fine. Everytime mention tests, abit tensed cos at first dunno preggie, I had tea, chocs, clams, liver, half boiled eggs, chinese tonics, etc. All the cannot eat, I oredi eaten. Make me feel guilty when I realised I am not supposed to eat lor.

I am quite sensitive to disposable panties. any recommendation on comfortable ones?

Welcome, newbie mum.

Ling, thanks =) congrats to ur good result too =)

i oso got lip cracked weeks back cos i cant swallow plain water, guess reduced water intake significantly, thats y casued lip cracked.

neeciel, my also ok. Dr wont say all clear but only say very low risks. phew. ya, i saw a few of them who were at the lvel four in the morning and was wondering which one is u. didnt manage to see this thread till today. i was wearing a red top, carrying a purple longchamp bag. u spotted me?? hahah

how many times did u have the scan?? only managed to get bb's in the right position on the 3rd try. and my bladder was so full by then. haha

Shelissa, NT test is cheaper cos i think dont need to take the blood test.

neeciel, yup.. im doing NT alone @ $50, u/s @ $60, consult @ $50. my gynae didnt ask me do oscar.. for amino must see the NT result. i think week 16 got another test again but forgotten the name.

Ling, i not too sure why my gynae clinic have NT service. but her clinic located in Mount A medical centre, if i need to go to hospital to do the test, just nice Mount A also have. try to drink more water or not apply some moist cream on ur lip.

bbjun, if you have eaten such food and you are doing fine then no harm continue eating but moderate but half boil egg must to avoid.

lovelytulips, when doing NT scan, gynae advise us with full bladder or it is fine to do the test even after we go to toilet? i rem previously i go visit my gynae, she always ask me to drink more water so easily to see the bb. so this time round drink or dun drink?

lovelytulips, okie.. then i drink more water before i go or not gynae give me excuse say wat not clear la, this la. sometime i also dun understand wat she talking.

crystal, thanks, march think should be ok, will be 28 wk preg by then.. disposable panties, any good brand, it usually quite itchy on the skin rite ? Mt A making profit from panties selling hey.. $8 a piece that's outrageous
was looking at some sterilizer, some of the package comes with free brush and bottle, how many bottle would we need..? So far from what I see, I like Avent the wide top one..

bbjun, u mean during the first few weeks u ate all those ah..? should not be a prob I guess, coz, if they count from our LMP, the first 2 weeks we're not even preg yet, I also only knew I was preg on my 5th wk (late period), by then still ate everything, tea, coconut, sashimi, medium rare steak, tiramisu, then during the F1 race, still walk so far (on high heels!) from mrt station to my officeand back, as all busses got re-routed.. but, once tested the preg kit, then I start to watch out lor, same to u rite..?
dun worry, from 2nd trims, bb will absorb more from us, so this would be the time we take a lot of 'good' food and nutrients

neeciel thanks!
I think you're right, these 2 weeks have had really bad MS, the nausea gone crazy all day, so I didn't drink much.. just a few sip each time.. if I drank more, just made it (and other food) come out again..

Shelisa, oic.. maybe that's y, located at Mt A so they have better facilities, mine is just located next to sgkang mrt, very small clinic, so dun think have enuff machine to do the tests.. I think I can't drink water leh.. just had half portion of my lunch, now feel so sick in the tummy, I had a few sip of warm water only.. I'll go buy some lip cream later I guess, thanks..

Shelisa, befoer I did my NT scan, the nurse asked me if I already drink before I came, if not yet, they have water there to drink, told her I have, so she said, I'm not allowed to go toilet until the scan is done..
no matter how you want to pee also have to tahan one..

Ling, i also notice my pregnant ard 5 weeks +, before that also eat those cannot eat food like no ppl care. enjoy wor.. err, lunch im quite ok now wont feel nausea but dinner will. try to eat small portion or not have some snack ard some mauch abit when u feel like. if u cant drink plain water, try drink some rebina?? i cant drink plain water too, so i buy whole bottle rebina then add abit into the plain water when i feel like to. maybe u can try.

Ling, really?? okie.. then i try to drink more then. but sometime gynae put the equipment on our tummy, sometime she push it too hard make my urine wanna come out leh. haha.. later she tok i got prob leh.. hahaha

lovelytulips, i saw you!!! i was the one sitting at the corner wearing jeans, my name was called once but i was at the rest room... i can see a bit of ur tummy leh haha...

i did the scan once only, done very fast within 10 mins, the radiographer says baby is very good position, so done very fast and i even saw my baby waiving to me haha...but blood test pretty slow, got prick on left and right arm, now right arm 'black and green'...

i dun hv full bladder even i was asked to drink at least 2 cups of water prior to the scan... i went toilet b4 the scan so couldnt feel my bladder so fast but image oso pretty clear leh.

Ling, i still have bad MS today, now gg back to rest... see u gals tomoro, bye.