(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

morning ladies,

bbjun, thanks, i will check with my house near the infant care centre the subsidy is how much?

neeciel, do rem to share with us the feelin n result after you have done the OSCAR test.

Ling, im drinking Anmum now. i drank chocolate flavour. it does not have stong milk smell. createjoy say the taste like milo but i feel the taste like HL chocolate milk. you can try drinking.

createjoy, is it better to drink original flavour or chocolate flavour? As i rem i read from some book that pregnant women shld nt eat or drink too much chocolate. but im quite scare of original milk smell.

shelisa, the subsidy is $600 for Singaporeans working mums.

I am so jealous tat your govt even subsidize working mother for child care.. Our govt could not bother at all..our maternity leaves only 2 mth while you gals have double of it - 16 weeks. Haiz.. time to migrate to a better country...

bbjun, ohhh.. that great.. but still burden leh. still thinking whether to get a maid, bb sitter or entrust bb to infant care?

Sharon Chee, don't forget the burden in Spore also very high. Standard of living also getting higher and out pay not increasing at all. every mth need to pay house installment, electric bill, hp bill, tel bill, town council, house neccessary, internet bill, car, insurance, parents. cannot tahan also.

haha, Sharon Chee, our govt give such benefits got reason one. they have their own agenda. anyway, schooling fees + medical fees + insurance + tax + all the rest, they can recoup easily. by that time, they no sweat, we sweat.

Yes, I am still weighing my options cos infant care centre is further away and extra costs of bringing BB to and fro. If can find a good nanny in my neighbourhood, walking distance type, can save a lot of money on transport cost.

Inflation makes everything expensive and salaries don't go up alot. I am already askg frens to lend me their maternity wear so that I don't have to buy too many.

Hahah... I am paying RM9.5 daily for toll (ERP equivalent). Blood sucker.. Still stuck in traffic jam (means high fuel consumption) after paying toll.

Our tax rate in Msia is as high as 28% and we dun benefits after paying such high taxes. Wonder where all the money gone to... hmmm

BB sitter here is charging RM700-800 from 8am-6pm excluding food, diapers, etc.

Talking about school.. haiz education system here are getting worse and I dun think I will send my kid to govt school where the teachers cant even speak properly.

Kid is one of the biggest investment in life. No sure whether will generate any return in future or not. I think I am getting depress each day looking at the bad economy and the upcoming financial burdens. Regretting upgrading the house early this year which triple the house installment amount.

good morning ladies,

MS really horrible this morning, gagging and burping since wake up

chidori, the yoga sounds quite good, any idea when is the next registration ? oh, for water exercise, I found this at KKH website (http://www.kkh.com.sg/) go to "For patient & Visitors" - "Classes for Women & Parents", under Pregnancy and Baby, there a "Aqua Fitness in Pregnancy" class, $111.30 for 4 session, I'm thinkin to join the yoga class first, then this hydrotherapy exercise later when 5th or 6th month..

bbjun, you were already pregnant when join the company ah..? how many wks then ? should b ok, most ppl dunno they're pregnant until 2-3 months.. and yeah.. work performance, I also bo bian.. even if they dun judge by our condition, when we go for maternity 16 wks our performance also goes out of the window.. I saw these before with some colleagues who were on maternity, but usually, after they're back from maternity then the performance counts lor.. I was worried too when hearing all the bad news on economy, and realising that with the MS and other changes we're going thru, very hard to concentrate @work, I couldn't put as much long hours and ot like before, but I just tried to complete my job, as for performance, I didn't expect much really, just hoping the company not laying off more people during my pregnancy.. but even if they did (touch wood), I won't regret, as my mum also said, our baby is the greatest gift
we can find another job, again someday.. (touch wood), but hope can keep this job lah.. hehe

Shelisa, cannot drink chocolate..? I have McD choc sundae at least once a week leh.. um.. will look for the choc flavour milk then.. me too, dun like original milk smell & taste..

Ling, i rem i read from some book that pregnant women shld not eat too much chocolate due to contain something. but i cant rem. but i also still eat chocolate bar,McD choc sundae, choc ice-cream. hard to avoid as i love chocolate but try to eat less.

bbjun, not only ERP, shopping centre parking fees also cost a bomb for 1 mth.

Sharon Chee, hahaha, come come move to Sg.. even Gong Li change her citizenship
we got 16 wks maternity, 6 days child care leave, 6 days infant unpaid leave, day care support, maid levy rebates.. come.. come..
hehe.. but Shelisa also right lor.. cost of living so much higher, maid also more expensive.. that's y most mothers still have to work, day care and schooling not cheap here.. I got a friend, trying to register his daughter to a kindy, 1.5 yrs in advance.. he said, must be fast to get a good kindergarten..

anyway ladies, here's some info on the new parenthood & maternity packages starting aug 08 - http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/MarriageNParenthoodPackage

bbjun, same here, I'm asking my friend to lend me her maternity pants.. for skirt, I used those one-piece dresses or baby-doll type with jacket, works well with pregnancy too
it's ok to recycle, one scary thing tho, my mum kept a few piece of my old bb clothes, she said, if I'm havin bb gal, can let her use..

Ling, I was abt wk7 when I joined the company. Ya, trying to like di-gong dunno until first trimester ends to tell them. At the moment, I just try to do my best even though still honeymoon period.

Ling.. let your BB wear your old BB clothes and does the same pose like u when u were young & take a photo.. Put both your photo and your BB photo together & compare...

My mum did that for me & my bro.. hahaha till now we still cant differentiate who is who as we both look alike when we were BB.

Shelisa, I just googled, chocolate & pregnancy, some say okay, some say that chocolate may contains caffein.. haiz.. why everything I like got caffein..? Tea got caffein, Tiramisu got caffein & alcohol.. I like dark chocolate some more, higher caffein contents..

bbjun, yah lor.. my mum kept my bro's bb clothes, 20 over years, mine is scarier, 30 over years now..
kao_scared.gif
my hubby said quite creepy, esp when he saw the clothings still in good condition (no mould, no holes)..
my mum said in hakka, something about good to pass by generations or something like that..

7 wks, our tummy still not showing.. I know some friends who found out their pregnancy after 2 or 3 months.. if they're ethical, they wouldn't ask lor.. they probably also guessing you didn't know abt the pregnancy.. my colleagues usually also not telling everyone, only after 5-6 months, then it shows.. but.. bbjun, try to tell you boss when it comes to 4 mths (before it's showing and other people asking), being the boss, sometimes they want to be the first to know..

Sharon Chee, hahaha.. that's a great idea.. will do that, thanks!!
your mum creative hey.. ;)

Ling, yup i also heard ppl say choc contain caffein but i dun 1 2 believe. As i love choc so act blur nv hear before.

i already weeks 11 days 4, tummy also haven show out yet, only look like fat women with big belly trying to wear tight t-shirt in.

i did hear other old ppl say if our bb wear other bb old clothes better. they will grow faster. so i try to ask from frenz, SIL, auntie to pass down some to me.

Can check with anyine here?? if we request for 1 bedded, 2 bedded or 4 bedded, does it make the diff using medisave? for ex, 1 bedded can only claim certain amount like 1k, then 2 beeded can claim to 1.5k, or 4 bedded can claim up to 2k? or regardless wat type of bed we chose we can claim up to the same medisave amount?

the Aqua Fitness in Pregnancy class sounds really interesting.. thanks Ling for the info..

bbjun, i have a friend oso changed her job and discovered she's pregnant after she just entered the new company. She chose to tell her employer after she's confirmed =)

try not to worry too much, if it's a big company, i think they will worry about their reputation too if they reject somebody based on pregnancy reasons and not job related reasons. ^_^

bbjun, ya if we have chance hee =)

lovelytulips, looks like tomoro we have chances of pumping into each other =)

Shelisa, sure i will share with u gals when i am back in office on Thur kaka

hi chidori,

i bought from them hee.. quality is good but the tops (free size) very big. i think can wear till 9 months haha

the pants i bought M size.. i think oso can wear till child birth.

chidori, me too bought from them with help from hatemenot...top some r big, i bought a pair of jeans still ok, maybe more for big size pple like me =)

bbjun, shelisa, sharon chee, all are correct, we are the poor citizens, the squashed category, sandwiched group, ERP charges are going up at the duh'est places where there wasn't even a jam to start off with, and they are still there where even if you pay, you won't get smoother roads still. and govt talk about family time but tell u to go to work earlier and go home later to avoid ERP charges (the hours getting longer and longer leh), sat also must charge ERP, govt not 5-day week meh? haha!! the parking charges also... atrocious!!! GST increase single digit %, parking charges increase double digit %. then erect so may traffic lights, the traffic will have to slow down, then they'll say speed fall below acceptable level and charge more ERP. govt telling us to take public transport, but public transport also not getting any better, so pack, frequency low, service level low. left, right center, we all get squeezed. poor us!!!!! poor all of us!!!

Ling & chidori, i wan to take up yoga also. but my info really not enuff to understand if a trained yoga instructor is as qualified as a pre-natal yoga instructor. maybe i'll ask my current yoga instructor tomorrow night. let you all know.

shelisa,
choc contains caffeine. u'll be surprised that some chocs contain as much caffeine as a cup of instant coffee!

but we dont take chocs everyday like coffee, so in moderation it shd b fine.

my gynae told me if scared this scared that, there wont be anything left for us to eat! she only said no deep-sea fish like tuna and shark,no chinese herbs in 1st trimester and no raw eggs. the rest which most pple think cannot eat like soft-boiled eggs, ice-cream, cold drinks, mayo, peanut butter all can take.

hi all, pls pls don't eat tiramisu. i read somewhere apart from the alcohol, it still contain raw egg. raw egg has bacteria which will harm the bb.

just curious.. wonder whether mummies here have started using stretch mark cream?

if yes, which brand are you using?
me just bought the clarins body oil, heard it's good.. only started yesterday

neeciel, i thought all along is like more bedded room can claim higher nedisave then single bedded room can claim the least? Hmm, i think must go Mount A check with them so that can prepare ourself.

Mika, yup yup. world is turning faster and faster thus the only way is to upgrade ourself and grab Opportunity as the world will not bcos us and slow down the step.

2005 (first_mum), so it is true the choc contain caffeine? Then i think i shld eat lesser or seldom eat much ba. y no chinese herbs? err, i think some time once a week i do drink black herb chicken soup. does ice-cream contain alot of raw egg?? as i eat thrice a week.

shelisa,
yes choc has caffeine, dats can get "high" on chocs haha.

i tink gynae was saying placenta only fully formed by 12 weeks, anything before this could affect the pregnancy so to be on the safe side avoid chinese herbs, since there are so many types and no western medical evidence that they are gd for foetus? but black chicken herbal soup sounds pretty safe.

as for ice-cream im not sure if it contains raw eggs. i only rememeber in my last pregnancy i was craving for it so much i had it everyday! so it shd be safe

hatemenot,
have not started on stretchmark cream. but i used Avent (the cream based one) the last time and it worked well for me and smelled great too! plus its alot cheaper than clarins, which i find too oily and troublesome to use (must rinse with hot and cold water?) but many pple swear by it.

Shelisa, i am oso not very sure how the charges go. Maybe the increased in room charges is not in proportion to the deduction in medisave for diff category, so added up u hv to pay more if u opt for better rooms.

First mum, ohhh!!!! caffeine?? no wonder i so addicted to choc. Last time i everyday drink coffee n tea but once i find out im pregnant i imm stop. but choc, hard leh..

Hmm.. then next week start i shld start to pay more attention on my diet. as i reach week 12 liao. but choc & ice-cream really hard to stop.

Hmm, ur Avent stretchmark cream good? can buy from where? i think i will start to apply from 2nd tri.

neeciel, i think we shld check from the hospital. in order to prepare ourself. later last min we will blur blur then ppl say what we also dunno.

ladies who concerns abt choco:

http://kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_newborn/pregnancy/preg_health.html

"If you're wondering whether chocolate, which also contains caffeine, is a concern, the good news is that you can have it in moderation. Whereas the average chocolate bar has anywhere from 5 to 30 milligrams of caffeine, there's 95 to 135 milligrams in a cup of brewed coffee. So, small amounts of chocolate are fine."

But of course, safer to avoid as much as you can..

just to share.

The infant rate after govt subsidy and GST is $684 (Singaporean) for learning vision at woodlands.

hatemenot,
I am using palmers cocoa butter anti stretch mark lotion now. Gynae gave me one sample which I am not sure what's the brand. I also bought a new one from Avent to try when the palmers one finished.

I am a chocolate fan, esply for dark chocs. I have been so disciplined not to touch all the chocs in my fridge since I know I was preggie. Really tough man!!! After first trimester, I m gg to reward myself with one piece a week. LOL....

hello gals... been too busy these days to log on.

finally going on "mc" tomorrow for the oscar test. neeciel, yea, shall bump into u... how do i know it's u?? hahaha....

infant care... i checked before and think most are in the rate of 600+ after subsidies. else, it's like 1.2k.

lovelytulips, i oso dunno how u can identify me haha... hmmm my shoes are gold in color haha i know for sure wat shoes i will be wearing, the rest nt sure leh...and in jeans lor for sure...u leh? how to identify you? Or maybe u hear the nurse calling my name 'Shara' haha

morning ladies.

Ling, it seem like i can still continue to have a choc but try to eat less and also our mac choc sunda. cheers!!

shelisa,

i still take coffee once a day. cannot tahan leh, will feel v lethargic without it.

i used to buy the stretchmark cream fr taka baby section. tink all major dpt stores will have. but dont get the oil-based one, get the cream one. tink it was under $20 for a large tube. i put on 18kg for 1st preg, n no visible stretchmarks, so i tink its gd val for $$ loh. u try n let me know ur feedback k.

First mum, okie, Avent cream stretch mark cream.. Hmm sound good. Normally where do u apply? the whole tummy or start from the belly button there? does the cream sticky, oily or hard to wash away?

RE: stretch mark control
personally i would recommend clarins stretch mark control cream for the day because it is not greasy. for night when at home, can apply clarins tonic oil before you sleep. i used these for my 1st pregnancy and it was really good till at late trimester which my tummy really expands so only some stretch marks showed. the smell is very nice too. however the pricing is abit steep. try getting at the storewide 20% departmental stores during this xmas season. can help to save alot.

Ling,you can try homemade ginger tea for your bad nausea,consult your doctor see whether you can drink ginger tea or not.

Cheery,i prefer female doctor otherwise i can visit same doctor as you.

Shelisa,as long as no stress then ok,currently my company is my first job,working quite long with them already.

createjoy,ya,i just take MC 2 days,today morning then they call me to push me again,not even got chance told them that i plan to resign and i need to rest.he just on the speaker phone then ask everybody feedback to me,so many works after 2 days MC.. later plan to take a taxi to there and give them resign letter,now call them first.You must relax,don't be stress,BB will know if we are stress and if doctor don't give you the hormone supplement then no need to take bah.. maybe you can try to join some class to relax yourself and BB will be better,if not you at home will keep thinking,i know this feeling which is not really good.try to make ourself not boring.Everytime i want to see my doctor got to wait 2-3 weeks.you take care.

Chidori,ya i feel worth it too.now BB is the top priority.

BlueDream,your notice is how long?I am taking duphaston 2 times a day but doctor said if i worry then can take 3 times a day till 12 weeks.i think you too stress that's why sleepless,after u resign will be better,try to don't think too much on work and talk to you BB more and do somethingelse after you went bk home and ignore some of comments that you don't like or keep make you thinking one.

yeah,

agree with first mum that the clarins oil is indeed a little troublesome. but i heard not necessary need to shower off, just pat the excess off it's oso okay =)

i will now apply it on my tummy, sides of waist, buttock and thigh.

createjoy,i talk to my boss that i want to resign and some of the reason,he said if now i resign will not find job in 2-3 years time and ask me try to only deal with him for 1 month for those outstanding project,see how is it first and ask me work etc.Then he said see what's he can do.Since i already decided i don't want to like last few times all the things turn back again after a while.last time how is discussion between u and ur boss?