(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Adv,
Thanks for organising, likely will be myself and Ash

adv sports,

thanks for the effort & time to organise this big party! muacks!

dun worry gal, bb usually got no appetite to eat/ drink when teething and i noticed upper front teeth seems to be the more painful one for them.. just continue wi the teething gel and maybe woodward gripe water helps too.. hang on there!

joyce,

thanks for the reply..
i couldnt find the one u mentioned at Beijing's supermarket leh

hv been giving my elder boy peit miam yoplait, wonder can i give YA too coz he always make the lip smacking sound when gor gor eats.. hee :p

Dodo,

Its hard to get the baby yoplait here in KL too! I can only get it at Bangsar Village supermarket. Maybe you have to try a few places in Beijing!

dodo - i've given the petit yoplait to my bb, she loves it! but i only allow her 1/2 the cup, good when she's having constipation ;p

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Want to share 1st Birthday Buttermints fr orientaltrading.com?</font></font>

I'm fr Apr 09 thread. Juz wondering if any May Mommies wld like to tag on our orders for the following: 1st Birthday Buttermints from Orientaltrading.com. Itz USD$2.99 for a 1lb bag of 120pcs &amp; currently there's a 15% storewide discount code dat I'm using. We've ordered b4 &amp; 1 bag w int'l shipping wl b abt S$11-12. I'm ordering by 2mr. If any1's interested, pls PM me ur order, mobile no. &amp; I'll get back to u w payment details. Here's e link for the buttermints (nt advised 2 b consumed by children below 3). These melts in the mouth.

<font color="0000ff">Boy's 1st Birthday Buttermints --></font> http://www.orientaltrading.com/ui/browse/processRequest.do?demandPrefix=12&amp;sku=70/5874&amp;mode=Searching&amp;erec=28&amp;D=buttermints&amp;Ntt=buttermints&amp;Ntk=all&amp;Dx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&amp;Ntx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&amp;N=0&amp;requestURI=processProductsCatalog&amp;sd=1st+Birthday+Boy+Buttermints

<font color="aa00aa">Generic 1st Birthday Buttermints --></font> http://www.orientaltrading.com/ui/browse/processRequest.do?demandPrefix=12&amp;sku=70/5875&amp;mode=Searching&amp;erec=27&amp;D=buttermints&amp;Ntt=buttermints&amp;Ntk=all&amp;Dx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&amp;Ntx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&amp;N=0&amp;requestURI=processProductsCatalog&amp;sd=1st+Birthday+Buttermints

Items wl arrive in 3wks x.

juju, mine as follows..

8am - milk 220ml
10am - cereal + puree
12noon - milk 180ml
2.30pm - cereal + bb biscuits + milk 150ml
6pm - milk 220ml
9pm - milk 250ml
sleep

Juju:
Claire's schedule.
7am - latch
9am - latch
1230pm - porridge
230pm - latch (sometimes will skip this)
5pm - yogurt or fruit + a serving of biscuits
7pm - One jar of bb food
8pm - latch
11pm - FM 200ml

thx gals. jodie only hv 4 feeds instead of 5 feeds btw 7am-7pm.
a bit upset wif this ifc. alrdy spoke to them yest, yet they din implement today.
if i give timetable still cannot, i dunno wat to do liao.
they keep telling me jodie cant finish, but she always come home hungry

porky,
thx for reminding me. jodie only hving 120ml 2 times a day now.
previously her solids were 60ml ebm + half jar food + cereals. i asked them to increase to full jar, then the extra ebm to feed as a separate feed. they keep telling me no time to feed.
kinda sianz...

I can find petite miam for baby in supermarts but where can I find baby yogurt like yoplait brand in western area's supermarkets?

XT has been screaming like sunno what each time she poos. Can any mummies advise? Heart pain seeing her behaves like that. Plus she has been feeding with wide variety of fruits these days but does not help much.

sk - the fairprice xtra at jurong pt should have. i always see the yoplait yoghurt there, both the petit miam and the baby yoplait. look out for it.

she sounds really constipated. my mum will make barley water (unsweetened) and use that to make her milk feeds, instead of using water. even for her cereal feed, she will use barely water instead of normal water to make the feed. you might wan to give it a try. this always work for my bb. you might wan to change milk powder brand too, coz dat can be a culprit.

porky, wow, jaeden is a big drinker

bean, wow, claire is drinking/eating every 2 hrs! how r u n claire adapting to life in KL?

ju, here's yuan2's schedule :-
7am - FM 200ml
10am - cereal + puree + FM 60ml
1pm - porridge + water
4pm - FM 200ml
6.30pm - bb biscuits + water (while we hv dinner)
8.30pm - FM 200ml

haiz, if IFC too busy to feed, then bb will suffer

Adv:

Yah!! Its quite tiring to keep feeding/latching. But she keeps telling me she is hungry by pointing to her gerber puffs container or pointing to my Bs and saying mum mum.

Life in KL is okie. Haha kind of used to it already. Moving around is still inconvenient for me now as I don't have a car yet. When I get a job I will get a car. Yuan2 is so smart!!! Can drink so well with a straw already. I left my straw top of the mag mag cup in SG!
Its ex to get pigeon stuff here in KL!

ju - won't jodie fuss at the ifc if she's hungry?

my bb (who's not exactly a big eater)'s weekday schedule:
6+ 150ml milk
11+ 150ml milk
1.30pm cereal+1puree feed
4+ 150ml milk (may not finish)
6+ half bowl of porridge
10+ 150ml milk

her weekend feed schedule is a bit different:
6+ milk feed
11 cereal+1 puree feed
2+ milk feed
5+ cereal+1 puree/porridge feed
7+ milk feed
10+ milk feed

mHi Mommies,

if interested, please PM me

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

bean &amp; feb mum,
thanks for the yoplait info!

bean,
ya man! it's difficult to get hold of it at KL also.. maybe u can try the cold storage at mid valley? can forget abt Jusco, Carrefour though..how abt Tesco? had u tried there?

juju,
is the IFC short of manpower? or maybe the caregiver impatient to feed.. does jodie latch/drink/ eat more when she back home from IFC?

YA's feeding schedule:

7am - latch
9am - breakfast (bits of bread + fruits)
11am - lunch (cereal/ potato based/ pasta)
1pm - 200ml ebm
3pm - fruits &amp; finger fruits
430pm - 200ml ebm
630pm - dinner (porridge/ pasta)
830pm - 250ml ebm

ak &amp; feb mum,
thanks so much for the baby yoghurt info! Shall check that out.

Will inform mum to give her unsweetened barley water. Come to think of changing her diaper, she yells and kicks each time daddy/anyone wipes her anus area. Very sensitive.

juju, aiyo...why this ifc can hv no time to feed jodie ? write emails to complain ! last time jaeden is on 3 feeds in ifc..since 8th mths i ask them to increase to 4 feeds le..cos jaeden always hungry..when he saw other bb drinking milk, he will say mum mum and try to snatch..this is wat the caregivers feedback to me...also when he saw other bb feed on biscuits, he also wan to hv a share...so now i left some biscuits there for them to entertain him..but i dont allow them to feed jar food at ifc..jar food is so ex loh ! i only feed those during weekends...

btw i realise some caregivers tends to be lazy when comes to feed ebm...cos there is 1 bb there on ebm..then this caregiver will nag and nag saying ebm so ma fun and bb dont like this and that lah..then i tell her off say she shd speak to the mother cos bm is so priceless !

adv, yes my jaeden is a milk baby...hehe..but i am glad he is

beanbean, hahaha i also feel very tiring to always feed during weekends !

mummies, so envy...200ml for milk ....i guess all your bb is okie compared to mine....the worst.

her schedule:
5plus - 50ml-70ml FM
9plus - less than 100ml FM
12 plus porridge
2 plus max 100ml FM
6plus porridge/rice
8plus max 100ml milk
inbetween only water
cos gave her milk....she fuss around...once gave her water...she suck very fast....sigh.
her wt drop since the teething for 200g within a mth

i guess maybe those dont like milk prefer solid like mine...just that milk give them the weight n bulk.....not so much of the solid lor...so i conclude normally low weight is due to low milk intake lor...
wat to do...they dont like milk..also cant force them also right...

8 plus am 120-150ml (if cant finish eat with cereal)
9 plus - breakfast at ifc
11.30 lunch - porridge with meat, vege, fruit puree at ifc
2.30pm -150ml (most of time cant finish)but if mummy feed
4pm - tea time snack at ifc
6pm - dinner - either i provide bb jar to ifc or give him porridge at home
8.30pm -210ml before sleep

its only 3 milk feeds a day...so need to supplement with yogurt, cheese, or sneak the milk into cereal etc

bean, claire is very smart -- will tell u she is hungry by pointing at food or ur Bs
before ur next trip back to singapore, u can let claire drink from straw -- yuan2 likes that as she watched with great interest while we drank packet drinks druing CNY

can imagine the inconvenience without a car in KL... wish u lotsa luck in getting a job there
meanwhile enjoy ur special time with claire

dodo, YA ia another 2-hourly feed baby! u must be a busy mummy!

porky, good that jaeden likes milk
when not teething, yuan2 is likes milk n can finish 200ml without fuss -- but since last weekend, she is on milk strike... can take 1 hr to feed her -- need to warm up the milk 1-2 times in between breaks
and we gotta do an extra feed at 4-5am... anyway, if her strike continue, i will ask IFC to give her more solids...

it is a tough job as mummy! peifu SAHM!

ju:

kaiden's schedule

9/9.30am -- 140ml

12/12.30pm -- 2 bowl of porridge

3/3.30pm -- 1 bowl of porridge/180ml of milk+fruits

6/6.30pm -- 2 bowl of porridge

9/9.30pm -- 220ml of milk

jamie: ya he huge eater la...gobble up 2 bowl of porridge...yes he slp thru the nite...thanks gdness...

if dun feed him 2 bowl...he sure hungry fast...anyway in between we giv him baby bites or puffs if he nv take aft nap...

seems like the bbs eat &amp; drink a lot!
jodie's ifc sche:
10am-120ml ebm
1pm-1 jar food + cereal
3pm-120ml ebm
5pm-1 jar food + cereal

i dunno why they say cannot. cos at hm, jodie wan milk immed after solids. and her max interval is 2-2.5 hrs at hm. sianz

Hi Juju,

Jodie's current IFC is My 1st Skool? I thought u are quite happy with it? Have u feedback to the principal?

My boy IFC (also My 1st Skool) is feeding him at 2 hrs interval. He took in alot more then his previous IFC.

Actually the previous IFC underfeed my boy which I voiced out to the principal but she said my boy is not hungry.. I keep quiet because anyway I am withdrewing him. Now at the new IFC, with the new feeding schedule, he gained abit of weight.

I feel so angry and heartpain thinking how my boy being underfeed at the previous IFC... so I understand how you feel... and the reason is because they are seriously shorthanded! only 1 main caregiver for 7 babies..

My boy current feeding schedule:

6.30 am - 240 ml milk
8+ am - 4 or 5 tbs cereal + water (sometimes scrumble egg)
11+ am - 5 or 6 tbs porridge or bee hoon soup with fish with vege with water
1+ pm - 240 ml milk
3+ or 4+ pm: high tea (sometimes cheese, sometimes muffin, biscuits, baked potatos or cheese cake)
6 pm - 240 ml milk
8+ pm - 240 ml milk

Adv,
Yah, I will let Claire try to drink from a straw. Actually any straw will do right?

Regarding yogurt, I will bring it out from the fridge to stand for about 30-45 mins before giving to Claire. It will still be cold though. I think you cannot warm yogurt as it will kill the live enzymes present in it.

re: May09 babies 1st bday bash
date : 28 May (fri, PH vesak day)
time : 2-4pm
venue : JWT East Coast bb gym

Mummies, I have closed the poll. Here's the consolidated list of attendees :-
1) adv_sports + bb yuan2 + hubby (2A1C)
2) shers + bb shermay + shermin + helper (2A2C)
3) jamie_nov + bb hailey + hubby (2A1C)
4) Jasc + bb Isaac + Sarah + hubby (2A2C)
5) Michie28 + bb Isabella + hubby (2A1C)
6) ibite + hubby + bb chelsea (2A1C)
7) audrey + bb Andrea (1A1C)
8) may mum + bb Jianfeng (1A1C)
9) mikojade + bb nigel + hubby + helper (3A1C)
10) ling lim + bb kayden (1A1C)
11) yuki + bb jayden + hubby (2A1C)
12) juju78 + bb jodie + hubby (2A1C)
13) feb_mum + bb rebecca (1A1C)
14) win_mum + bb frances + helper (2A1C)
15) yvette + bb marcus (1A1C)
16) Sei + bb esther (1A1C)
17) Sallen + bb Aaron + helper (2A1C)
18) baby512angel + bb Sabrina + Selina + hubby (2A2C)
19) poohwei + bb chang xuan + hubby + no1 + helper (3A2C)
20) porky_jean + bb jaeden (1A1C)
21) tiny_m + bb le xuan + hubby (2A1C)
22) andrea1985 + bb winston (1A1C)
23) little_squirrel + bb rachel + hubby (2A1C)
24) jaime/preciouzalex + bb justin (1A1C)
25) cheesecake + bb vera + hubby (2A1C)
26) dodo + bb YA + hubby + ZQ (2A2C)
27) joyce yong + bb huixin (1A1C)
28) rc_cola + bb keagan + hubby + meagan (2A2C)
29) gie + bb varchel + hubby (2A1C)
30) ilovesashimi + bb ? + hubby (2A1C)
31) ak + bb greg (1A1C)
32) okipoki + bb ashton (1A1C)
33) cheyanne + bb kaiden + hubby (2A1C)
34) hokkienmee + bb qian hui + hubby (2A1C)

Total : 34 babies + 59 adults(34 mummies, 20 daddies, 5 helpers) + 6 kids

To-be-confirm attendees :-
35) bean + bb claire
36) glenlyn + bb chloe

re: venue
here's the deal with JWT East Coast :-
- 2-hr exclusive use of the gym for kids
- party set-up and clean up
- provide name stickers, party hats &amp; helium balloons
- 45-60 min of baby gym session along with swings, bubbles, parachute, obstacle courses, baby music etc.

The package cost is $620(non-member)/$570(member) for 20 kids with their mums &amp; dads :-
- $10 per additional kid (max 40 kids)
- $100 deposit for booking
- $50 early bird discount if we book by end March

if we make the booking early for 34 babies + 6 kids,
$620 - $50 + $200 (20 additional kids) --> $19.25 per baby/kid

here's the suggested frill-free program :-
2-2.30pm :
- arrival of babies with mummies &amp; dads
- babies warm up with free play
2.30-3.30pm :
- bb gym session conducted by JWT instructors
- group photo taking
3.30-4pm :
- gift exchange where babies choose presents*
- more free play till end of party
*each baby/kid bring a unisex present of < $10

shall we confirm the venue @ JWT East Coast and time 2-4pm?

sounds good adv sports..but hor..that time is justin's nap time..now that i realise...hmm.hmmmm...
i am surprise they can accomodate so many babies at the same time!!!

Hi Twinkles_sp,

Yes.. when I visit them during preggy, the principal told me is 1:3. When my boy started going to the IFC, I noticed the principal put herself, one relative of hers and 1 teacher as the main caregiver for the IFC section.

As a few times I bring my boy over there during afternoon time or picked up at odd timing, I noticed only the teacher is around (a few times), and sometimes the cook will be pulled in to feed the babies during lunch time.. But I choose to close one eye, thinking maybe is coincidental bah..

Then as time goes by, I noticed more &amp; more things which I am uncomfortable with, finally I checked with the principal on the stuffing issue, she said her operation ratio is 1:5 and try to cover for herself.. But it didn't convince me.. When I told her my boy feeding schedule is too little, she said no, my boy is not hungry. If he is hungry, they will feed him. But my boy can eat quite alot during weekend when we take care of him ourselves.

And the best part is after I have decided to withdraw my boy out, the main caregiver actually sms me and hinting to me that I have made the right decision. I have a tel conversation with her later on and I got to know what I have noticed, what I have being feeling uncomfortable with are actually the truth.

Now I am waiting for the cheque of the one month deposit, once I received it, I will draft a letter to MCYS, telling them what I have observed in this IFC.

wow... most babies are drinking n eating alot! good good...

cheyanne, 2bowls are wat size? your boy can really eat... can slp thru.. mine still cannot..zzz

adv sport, looks fun... think mummies/daddies will be v tired after that..haha.. it's gym time!

adv,
as for the yoghurt, i usually take out from fridge and leave it at room temperature for abt 15 mins before i feed.. yup, never warm up as it kills the live enzymes in it and defeat the purpose of yoghurt liao..

pastries,
read that u give bb whole egg, can we give them so early? i thought egg yolk ard 9mth old and egg white ard 1 yr old..

pastries,
they r good. but stubborn on the interval between feeds. ebm is less filling than fm or solids, somemore so little at 120ml, shld feed more frequently.

porky,
u may be rite. they were actually surprised dat i'm still giving jodie ebm. now only jodie &amp; a younger bb are on ebm.
the fact i refused porridge also made them a bit unhappy. think porridge can fill the tummies for a longer time? they keep asking me to allow porridge.

after we pick jodie up, she usu appear eager to latch. initially, i thot it was the habit i cultured when i started her on ifc. but then, she started to latch longer &amp; more frequently. these few days, i realised she was coming back hungry. so i upped her solids &amp; still gave the same amt of ebm. then bcos ifc still feed on 3-hr interval, they can't finish the feeds.
problem is, i alrdy told them to reduce the interval to 2.5hrs, but they din do it.

thx mummies for all your sharing of feed schedules. i guess i will draw up a feed schedule &amp; have them follow dat. will see wat happens

re: no. of caregivers
they r quite well staffed. abt 6 caregivers, for max 15 bbs. only early morning &amp; late evening shorthanded due to the shifts.

adv, thanks for arranging ! i am ok with $19.25 per bb

pastries, i also notice that sometimes the cook and even cleaner is pull in to help coax infants to slp or feed milk...actually quite surprise to see that..but as long my boy is not been ill treated i will just close 1 eye loh...

juju, yes..the caregivers keep asking me to start jaeden on porridge since he hit 9mths...it is easier for them loh..else make and feed milk is like a chore..but i still insist dont start on porridge yet...sometimes really hv to close 1 eye...sign...

porky,
yes, very irritating. 1 thing though, i dun see the cook for this ifc. maybe they share same cook as the cc? no full-time cleaner, it seems. or share again?
the 6 caregivers r only for the bbs. i dun see other staff ard.
i'm very very tempted to convert to half-day or even pull jodie out. but sure kena frm hb. to him, he's happy cos very near home