(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

porky, u dun hv to work the whole of last week?!

re: bb eat adult's food
when can bb do that?

till now, yuan2 only eat her bland bb food -- homecooked or biscuit (i will taste it first, if not sweet/salty, then will let her eat)... during CNY, she was drooling lots(partly due to teething) when we munched on the goodies... so ke lian... but we din give in -- she can only watch :p

porky,
yesterday I also took painkiller only n at night my body abit warm n hubby ask me go see dentist this morning. But I scared dentist ask to take out the teeth then i just go to GP hehehe .... she gav me antibiotic n painkiller also. now ok not pain.

adv_sport,
my hubby bro giv Rachel try almond longan dessert n she ask for more hahaha .... so cute see how she enjoy very very small piece.

can check w you if we hold the bday party for our babies... i'm thinking of giving the other kids (age 1-8) some stuff..coz alot of children leh... 20+... usually is goodie bag with sweets, chocolate??? got any other things to give?? can gv me ideas? tks!!!

ling lim
depend hw old.. i attended one..bigger kids can give sm note pad, eraser,sticker...etc w those character famous now.

Hi Mummies, Happy Lunar New Year!! Huat ah..:D

I have gone "quiet" cos was really really busy at work.

I am shocked to read that HT food has bugs!! To think there are so many mummies among us who have been feeding HT cereals and then all of a sudden we are informed got bugs!!! Gosh!

Think best not to feed anymore HT just to be on safe side.

Adv_Sports: re drinking from straw. My gal has been drinking mag mag cup for about 2 months now. We did try to let my gal to try on the straw for about 2 times but she just bite as well. Then all of a sudden, my helper gave my gal the straw today and she suddenly knows how to suck!! Happy but sad cos I didnt get to see it myself.

My gal drank 120ml of water at 1 go! *faint*

Conclusion: I guess bbs will be ready when they are ready.. just like feeding solid.. so be patience..

Question: Any bbs already starting crawling? My gal starting crawling on tummy since 6 months and then now on all fours since 7-8 months but she doesnt learn how to sit on her own and didn't seems that shes keen to learn to sit.

I am worried that she might miss her milestone again.. like she knows how to turn over on tummy but doesnt turn back onto her back till now which means she has already missed that milestone.
Nothing we can do. Now when she turn over on her tummy when she sleep, she will cry for help.

Any suggestions what or how to encourage bb to sit? How to teach har?

Ling Lim: How big is your party? I've been to 1 which the mummy prepare toys for different age groups. Not very exp toys but I thought thats unique. But if you are having many kids then it won't burn a hole in pocket.

b512: welcome welcome.. I also just joined this thread in recent months but everyone was really kind to "take me in".

Its really nice to share and discuss about everyone who has bbs around the same age.

createjoy/ilovesashimi,
tks for replying... currently 20+kids liao lor... prepare diff age grp abit troubo leh.. hee.. i abit lazy..:p

yuki, if serious case then need to op lah..else just let it grow out slowly..my bro did the op 2yrs ago cost him $800..

re : feed adult food to baby
i think tis cny..i feed jaeden quite a bit of adult food leh...like cookies, vege, fish...wat i eat i will gv him eat a bit also...but i realise he is lazy to chew..just wan to swallow his food and get choke sometimes...mil cook porridge for him last week then he gv yucky face n refuse to eat aft 3 spoon...he still prefers milk cereal n puree...nw i make chucky puree for him hope tat he can learn to chew..he got 8 teeth le..hahaha

Porky: Maybe jaeden nt used to chewing yet. Wah, he gt 8 teeth... Very fast! Hailey seems to have stopped at the 2 lower front teeth!! Lol!

Re: drinking frm straw cup
Hailey been "using" mag mag cup since 7mths+. Bt only abt 8mths she figured hw to use it. Basically I just throw the cup to her and let her play wth it. she used to jus bite the straw but 1 fine day she suck and drank some water. Think she was pleasantly surprised cuz she smiled after that. Now everytime she sees the cup or drinks some water, she grins and chuckles. Haha!
Adv sports,ilovesashimi, maybe u can do the same. Jus gif them the cup to play with. It'll be messy cuz they'll spill water all over but I guess that's the only way they can learn. =D

porky,
kayden also din chew when i gv him chunky food... so i tell him chew n showed the action.. he follows n now will chew haha.. he only got 1upper n 1lower teeth! maybe u can get those puff like cornflakes n train him? tt's what the petite bowl at united sq recom ...

so many bbs have got teeth liao ah? jaeden got 8 ah, wow! my rebecca still got no teeth, dun know when her teeth will appear. but oso like her the way she is now - the toothless grin.

re healthy times - ok, may not be a good time to ask this now since adv sports found bugs. but it's time for me to replenish my HT cereals. any mummy wan to consolidate order with me and see if we can hit $250 for free delivery and disc? i hv no prob with their cereals so dun intend to change the brand. PM me if anyone of you wan to share order, ya?

good morning mummies

re: drinking frm straw cup
yeah, last nite, yuan2 managed to drink water from straw -- after i use the ehow method to teach her! at first, she juz bite the straw.. then when she tasted water coming from the straw, she auto started sucking
hb came home juz in time to witness this fun scene! will let her practise more before giving her the mag mag cup...
http://www.ehow.com/how_2087311_teach-child-drink-from-straw.html

porky, wow, long cny break! remember jaeden's upper 4 teeth came out at the same time... yuan2's upper teeth is erupting -- not sure how many...

yuan2 also prefers to swallow than chew... we gotta show her the chew motion then she will mimick us...

ling, so cute that kayden has 1 upper n lower teeth -- now he must be enjoying chewing(cutting food with his teeth)...

oh, sounds like a big party u r having! Yuan2 attended 1 party n the mummy gave her a goodie bag with clapper, shaker, hat, hand towel etc. u can check out the BP spree -- can buy those clapper, shakers etc.

feb_mum, i juz open my last box of HT mixed grain cereal -- no bugs on visual inspection... anyway, i will move yuan2 to eat more chunky stuff -- pasta star n macaroni.

<font color="119911">Hi,
im frm the apr thread n we are consolidating orders for cake discount frm eCreative.

Re: Cake discount (BP close on 14 March 2010)
15% off cake with min. 12 cakes ordered. u can view the designs frm www.ecreative.com.sg.

Those who are interested, leave ur name and expected date of delivery so i can send to the person-in-charge. You do not have to decide on the design nw, can decide nearer to the date.

1. Kris - 27/3
2. Bean (10/4 or 17/4)
3. Powerball - 27/3 or 28/3 or 2/4 (to be confirmed)
4. Ida (28/3)
5. Ida (28/3)
6. Ida (28/3)
7. dodos 10/4
9. juxta (17/4 or 24/4)
9. ipanpan (10/4)
10. HappyLittleWoman (17/4)
15.</font>

Hi Mummies, Happy CNY!

Hi Sashimi,
Looks like our bbs can shake hand with one another liao. I totally can understand your concern because I am facing same situtation as you. My bb also tummy crawl since 6 months, now still tummy crawling, occasionally crawl on fours for 2 steps forward then stop, back to his comfortable method again. But I am not worry about crawling thing, as long as they showed motivation to move about, it is fine.

He also don't get into sitting position yet. He did it once and that was 1 month ago. So far, he don't like to sit down, even at high chair, is only for meal time. If use bumbo chair, he will topple the bumbo chair down and crawl out of it after inside for more then 5 minutes. I am also trying to teach him how to sit from tummy position. I can see he is trying. It seems like he can do it but he refuses to do so.

What I'll do is when he is on his tummy, when his body get up halfway and used his arm to support on one side, I will gently move his other arm onto his thigh for support and gently lift him up and tell him he can lift himself to sit this way. (but not sure working??)

I read from 'What to expect - The First Year' it is perfectly ok for baby to master sitting up by 11 months or so. So we just try to encourage them and wait and monitor..

Does your gal babbles alot? Her fine motor skill ok? I did some reading on internet, and if the baby generally meets all milestones except for one (for our case, sitting) then there is no need to worry. Let's just keep on encouraging our baby and wait for the day when they can sit up on their own. :)

Re: Teeth
I also love the bo geh grin, so innocent! My bb upper teeth erupting, can see the whitish thing le.

Re: Genius Space Trial Class

I brought my bb for GS trial class on last saturday. He enjoyed the lesson despite not enough sleep but I did not sign him up because feel that not really necessary because his current IFC teaches them to read, sing songs to them, try to get bb to involve in singing session with the teachers etc..

Would try to attend trial class with GUG and Gymboree and decide. Feels that Gymboree might be good for my bb gross motor skill development.

Saw 2 mummies with 9+ month old bbs, wonder anyone from this forum?

juju, yes yes must hold more gatherings ! ur hse so near to amk hub..very nice to shop there..hehe

jamie, jaeden also stop at 2 lower teeth for 3months...so long ! then suddenly 4 upper teeth grew together..nw another 2 at the top is showing white le..

ling, when i gv jaeden bb bites and manna biscuits he will chew with crack crack sound..other than that..he refuse to chew..once i gv him apple slice, he just bite and try to swallow then kanna choke..so scary..luckily my hb knw how to remove out the huge pc of apple slice from his throat..

feb_mum, i wanna order the HT cereals..will pm u my order..but how to collect from u ah ?

juju, hahaha..cos amk quite a lot of shops lah..but i seldom go amk hub..not so convenient mah..

feb_mum stay at jurong leh...

i noe feb mum stay at bt batok... if nid to collect frm her plc, gotta wait till wkend when hb is free loh

true la, amk got many shops. but weather too warm to go beyond amk hub ;p

porky - i stay at bt batok. if juju can collect for you, then maybe not a prob? my mil stays at hougang ave 9, but i go there alternate sat so may be diff to synchronise timing for pick up.

Yuki
If you confirm having wisdom tooth, can go polyclinic to get referral to go National dental centre. Surgery to remove all wisdom tooth at one go paying via medisave about $600, no cash. I did it many years ago. Toothache is terrible, can't sleep and cause headache!

Febmum
My boy is still toothless but I can see his 2 teeth on the lower gum are erupting anytime soon.

ak,
u r v creative! but of course got to take care of kids also la.. else will ganna coz didnt take care of own kids..

btw, reply my msn le..

shers, u got "feeling" will strike toto ah? :p

re: cordlife
was chatting with my colleagues abt cordlife during lunch... remember we pool together for referral fee but din go out for makan... shall we use the $ to buy toto?
dun remember the $ is with who...

glad to be back in this thread. i have been busy taking care of my munchkin on my own during ML, then very busy since i returned to office in Sep, until now it's a bit more sane at work. =)

my boy can sit well, but only can move sideways/ 360 degrees/backwards on his tummy down. he can't crawl on all fours yet though he's been trying to lift his butt for some time. lately, he has become even more active - can't sit still, wants to lunge forward/left/right and attempt to climb over body pillows even. he also loves to stand and bounce. he can clap and 'gong xi gong xi' since a couple of months back - he did it himself - but he only does them when he wants to. we can't force his hands together. lol! he was very good with taking ang pows during CNY recently though!

i was also worried why my boy, nearly 9 months old, still does not know how to crawl although he could lift his head during tummy-down time and flip back and forth since some time back. it's like his devt hit a speed hump. similarly, he's been drooling and gumming things since 3 months old, but no teeth.

as i am breastfeeding, he only drinks from the bottle when i am away at work. dunno if that's the reason why he is a bit lazy to hold his own bottle. i tried giving him a mag mag cup with spout last week but he didn't know how to take it. so we are back to training him to hold his own bottle first, then his mag mag cup. as for self-feeding, he can handle teething rusks (the hard types) well as he gnaws on them, but doesn't know how to feed himself the smaller broken pieces of teething biscuits. We are trying to train him to improve his pincer grip in picking up small items and putting into his mouth.

The thing he's very good at is remembering the words we taught him and the associated items around the house. we just need to repeat saying the same word and pointing to the object to him for a couple of days and he will get it. he can recognise lantern, window, my two teddy bear and his rabbit soft toy (by their names), flower and fan. Strangely, he can recognise daddy by the word, but not mummy. been also trying to teach him simple sign language, but sometimes he's just too active and raring to go to the next thing to pay attention to me. is this a natural characteristic of boys?? =)

my boy also loves pointing at things to us, and then babbling and making all sorts of noises. the cute thing is he will shrug his shoulders at the same time as he points and vocalises. we always wonder what goes through his mind at those moments and what he's trying to tell us.

babies are just such darlings, aren't they? =))

adv_sports,
i'm only keen in BIG $$ TOTO.. hahhaa..

btw, who is your referral? that time, porky, me, glenlyn only le.. and we splitted the $$ already..

adv_sports,
$10M!!!

hmm.. me not sure le.. that time i received $100, i rem i tt some $$ to either porky or glenlyn.. if your referral is glenlyn, she shld have received $100.. u wan to check with her? that time glenlyn says wan to split $$ instead of pig out..

calling for porky, u rem this? i cant really recall le..

shers, haha, no wonder u so excited :p wish u good luck &amp; strike TOTO

i remember glenlyn received the $ and said wanna split... let's c if porky remember anything...

adv, the cordlife chq only $50..btw if ur referral is glenlyn then she will get the chq..mayb u wan to check with her ?

i only rem that bbmay use my account as referral..i alrdy tt half $ to her le..cos no one free to pig out that time

Adv, yeah, you may want to check with Glenlyn. Porky tt half the money to me, though I will prefer to use the money for pig out instead. But no one free to pig out then. I am still interested in pigging out if you all on.

Shers, what nos. you want to buy?

Btw, so few people signed up? I thought quite a no. of people were going to join the pigging out session cause at that time I was still thinking not bad, can treat it as a gathering and go to some higher end place to pig out.

Ak, if only ur explanation of sahm is really so accurate! Lol!

Shers, wat u mean by "else will ganna coz didnt take care of own kids.."?? Will ganna wat thing?