(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

feb_mum,
yah, sweets can fill up our hunger for the time being.

i remember that when i was going to give birth to my little gal... it was in the morning that i do not have the time to take breakfast before admission to tmc. hence, i am surviving on the sweets in order to last till 3pm in the afternoon. that was the first time that i had many sweets within a day.
hahahaha....

Anyway sgpd, some have no time to prepare home made cereal or DIY their own baby food cos they have a lot of other commitments.. So maybe u should take that into consideration..
Btw r u chinese? Cos the spices u add in don't sound chinese. And also, chicken curry at such a young age? I'd rather stick to baby jars n cereal.

And I think some of us are quite enthusiastic about the brown rice powder so what ur Dr Siva says is his own opinion.. Not very nice to make it sound as though "why would u wana give that to ur baby?" - like its something stupid.

Feb mum, ur #1 very cute! I rmb at cheekz's plc gathering she was running ard and playing! Cheeky gal! How do u teach her to ask ur permission to tk the food ppl offered?

Gie: oh ya, my fren's 2-3yr old niece gt tooth decay frm candy. She told me a lot of her teeth rotting. Maybe u tell ur hb, maybe will help.

Dodo: I wanna gif hailey bread too. Was afriad she might nt be able to dissolve it in her saliva and choke. *paranoid* hw do I start giving her bread?

Anyway sgpd, about the curry chicken thing, if its safe, means I can try to feed mine with ba zhang, mooncakes n chinese tea.. Maybe bak kwa cos cny is round the corner..

twinkle - oh my, you muz have taken lotsa sweets that day! hahahaha

audrey - sgpd is an indian so their diet will be different from ours.

re si shen - it's used to improve appetite. so unless bb is not eating well, i dun tink there is a need to deliberately intro this. my mum will make si shen soup and give to my kids when their appetite is poor, esp when they are unwell.

i guess all mummies want their bbs to eat well and grow chubby chubby. like any food, eat everything in moderation bah. anything in excess is no good. and we do have to bear in mind dat a lot of research is based on ang moh countries so there is a difference in their type of diet and ours.

jamie - ya, she's very cheeky! i juz tell her not to take wat pple give her unless mummy say ok. and this includes food, gifts etc. and then positively reinforce it by praising her when she does it. for eg, if she had asked for my permission when someone offered her food, i will tell her dat rachel is very good becoz rachel asked mummy before taking the food.

dodo, JasC
good that ZQ loves green veg.. shermin is quite selective on green.. but she super loves potato.. maybe that made her rounder? lol
i agree with u.. a lil salt once a while is alright for bb at this stage.. but i tends to wash away with hot water to reduce it.. i'm using poohwei's method of preparing food for Shermay now.. i scoop our white rice, pour hot water and use spoon to smoothen the texture.. then add potato, fish, carrot, green veg or minced meat.. and feed her for dinner 2-3 times per week.. i shared this with Ling Lim and it works for Kayden.. can try to add milk powder in it too..

feb_mum,
i believe everything in moderate.. but doesnt work on Shermin! hahaha.. she simply loves biscuit and chocolate.. maybe because she has a chocolate lover mum! hahahaha.. at least she is eating her proper meal as well.. those treats r for her snacks and after dinner bites..

feb mum,
what a discipline girl! my boy very funny, when ppl offer him sweet, he returned to that person and said "bu yao".. wahaha.. he same like me, dun take sweets at all! but i love cakes & ice cream leh.. i hope he will start to take some.. ur girl coming to 3 yr old huh? did u notice she grows vertically instead of horizontally? my boy grows in height quite obvious but weight is like stagnant for quite sometimes..

jamie,
i just start wi very tiny bits n pieces.. then u observe whether she munch and bite on it or just swallow.. if she munch on it, then u can slowly intro bigger pieces.. if she just swallow then dun offer to her 1st.. gonna be careful and watch out her reaction.. good lucks in trying out!

Feb mum, too much si shen gt any side effetcs? Si shen is meant to b taken on its own or mixed with other rice/cereal?

Audrey: our chinese culture: mooncakes and tie guan yin. Mk hailey "shang yue", moon gazing, with me when she can sit still. Hahaha! As for bak kwa, maybe let her taste taste abit during cny! Bt no biting!! *paranoid* Lol!!

sgpv,
not everyone can feed their bbs curry de.
when i try to eat curry after confinement, i kena ls, my bb also kena ls after i bf her. how to feed her curry?
maybe for u is ok cos u may be eating those foods u mentioned when u were preggie. for us & our bbs, it may not be ok

sei,
i think officially pre-school starts from 3yrs old. so they will go to 'playgroup or pre-nursery', nursery, K1 and K2..

for pre-school registration, its usually done in the earlier yr. so to say, our kids will go pre-sch in year 2012 so we will need to register next yr. as for which month, it very much depends on which sch..

sgpv,
if u want yr child to go to those 'popular' pre-sch, maybe u need to check that sch when can u put down the name. pre-sch is diff from childcare.. pre-sch is ard 1.5hrs to 3hrs while cc has half day or full day session..

Feb mum: ok, will train hailey. Haha! I hope she doesn't bully me. I tink I'm soft hearted with her!

Shers: wat do u mean by "it works on kaiden"? Lk hw did it work for him? Can u pm me pooh wei's method pls? Thk u!!

Dodo, ok. Will try later! Thk u!

jamie - when it comes to discipline, cannot be soft, muz be firm. or else, very jialat in future. kids muz know limits and boundaries from young.

si shen - tink come in different forms, those eys types are mixed with brown rice powder. medical halls oso sell soup packs for boiling soup. depends on wat you wan bah.

shers - ya, i agree dat our kids will mimic our dietary habits. if we eat healthy, they will also eat healthy. if we adults eat junk food and then tell the kids dat they are not supposed to eat them, we are being poor role models. action speaks louder than words. my house got no tibits so my gal oso can't get to eat them, hee. once in a while, we will let her have some ice cream, pizza so dat she's not deprived, hahaha.

sgpv,
not trying to be racist or whatsoever.. most of mums here r chinese so the way we feed our kids r quite 'eastern' style and not so much on 'western'. like some mums have highlighted, we dont feed kids, not to mention bbs, curry.. as far as i'm concerned, curry is quite gassy and can cause bb to b colicy.. somemore contain coconut milk which is not easily disgested.
we have different culture here so the way we feed our kids and bbs r diff.. just share will do..

after reading so many posts on si sen fen, i also wan to feed my 2 kids this.. i believe this will be much better choice than curry

Registration of preschool

In year 2008 when I registered my girl to the playgroup with apple tree, I can only q up at a specific date and time and first come first service basis. Then last year when I registered my girl to cck church school, I also have to register on a specifc date and draw lot for morning session.

For the current school which my girl is in, I transferred her back to bedok church school after 2 weeks in cck, there is still vacancies and currently the class has only 10 students.

So I assume if parents want their child to go to popular school, probably the school have a reserved list for you if they have such practice. Some cc do have long waiting list too.

shers - hahaha, you are junk queen ah! my sis and her hb oso like dat so her kids oso snack all the time. like mother like daughter loh, hee.

Just to share about my niece, when she's a baby before one, she loved bread, can take whole slice of bread. Don't know for what reason before she turned one, she refused many types of food including bread but she takes rice, noodle and egg only.

So before she's 10 years old, we had a hard time introducing food to her. There was a short period she went to student care centre. One of the teacher checked with me as my niece told her she never been to McDonald. I have to explain to the teacher that not that her parents couldn't afford but she takes nothing but rice, noodle and eggs only so can save the effort to bring her to Mcdonald.

She never tasted any cake before 8 years old including her own birthday cake! I made her take her birthday cake because she celebrated her birthday on the same day when my girl celebrated her 1st birthday!

halo mummies,

May i ask any1 here hv try to intro avocado to bb? what did u mixed with ? my bb is a premie n is super underwt. wonder if avocado can make a boost on her wt anot .... haizz

this is what poohwei posted:

For my gal, she is on steamed rice + steamed fish/minced pork/ tofu/ vegetable and vegetable. My helper will use more water when cooking the rice so that it will be soft and not as hard as our adult rice. Then i will use the smaller compartment of the pigeon "8" bowl to "grind" her food b4 feeding. So far so good. In any case, she dislikes baby food..dunno why also

For those who PM me...

for me, i used our normal white rice and add hot water to grind the food.. then add whatever ingredient from soup (but use hot water to wash alway salt) and mix together.. can add in milk powder also.. this can last Shermay 3hrs rather than usual 2hrs

thks shers... me actuali now is blending the porridge wif the ingredients ( minced meat fish veg etc) coz bb bogeh. Grinding the food mayb can offer some texture to him. but will it be quite dry oso? or u mix wif some water to a certain consistency so dat wun b dry?

shers,
thanks... so playgroup starts from how old?

maymum,
My girl also boh geh, so I cook porridge with fish or small chunks of veg (haven't intro meat yet), then just mash it with the spoon before feeding. Maybe can try?

maymum,
first time I intro cauliflower without passing through sieve, she also got this choking look. Think she was used to swallowing everything... But when I give her again one week later, she's ok... think they need to get used to handling the texture in their mouth bah =p I noticed now she will "munch" the food before opening her mouth again if its porridge, but not if its cereal.

waa.. reading all posts.. those I remember questions answering.

Yes Indian, Our curry do not have coconut milk(its malaysian food). As someone shared we also cook and take out some for baby and then finally add salt N chilly for our food. (if putting tomato peel skin & scoop out seed for baby)

From my contest I have said curry in giving as example but then as mentioned mexicans are giving mild chilly to their babies (chilly is the rich nutrition source but just that our brain reacts as Hot) so malaysian might feed their relevant baby food & chinese based on their baby food. My point is feed them what we were fed. I am not informing anyone to feed curry/ something like that.

Those dependent on jar foods. I could share a lot on why it should not be fed but then openly in a forum if I mention such things..... dont want to risk.

I respect feb mum's methods of food habits & discipline (I do not pack home made food when going out..) I have a tough time disciplining my gal at home as everyone soft hearted. (KK doctor said I shud not expect her to be discipline now as too young might not understand.. may b next time round I will investigate if can r not)
Baby specialist in KK hospital (also chinese old guy.. ) I asked him if the ingredient in Si sen ok to feed baby as she got allergy.. he also said why I want to feed her ready made food. Just cook at home.

Sometimes when u get to know the insides of it, when u look at it..it reminds what goes in and how its made.. sometimes no choice need to do. I gerenally do indepth reading when somethin is bothering me "..why she cannot take it/ why only this food got problem.."

I agree most of the research is based on western case studies. I also have sources for asian journals and they are valuable lessons just that authentic sources dont want to accept these case studies.

ur mum/ mil/ grand ma will share a lot of tips and techniques on handling diff. health problems and what feeding habits were given. Most of the time they are not wrong (excluding those who dont know many things but just insist to follow.. keke..) u shud be best advocate on what is right n wat not.

whatever I shared abt tips & techniques so far regarding baby health... I extract those from asian journals.
The final word is tht don feed readymade / jar foods regularly. If ur baby gone through rice cereal process then proceed w other.

re: bread
When my baby got cow's milk allergy, some one in the family said that its due to using steam steriliser as it is causing problem to other kids also. (this is wat I wud call no basis advise.. if due to steriliser then shud be shown in culture report) we do not know if wat is bothering one kid is same to another but if symptoms same can atleast diagnosis w d contest.
If someone was fed bread and due to that now not eating anything else is baseless need to diagnose properly to know the reason.

Chinese believe in TCM (balance: Yin & Yang) we believe in ayurveda (balance: dosha). Both journals are almost similar in explaining things just that herbs are diff.
watever indian food available here is not authentic indian food. (they r made focusin on the mixed culture here) authentic indian food (we abuse it as most of new generation dont know how to cook so they mix all) preparation is keepin in mind the body balance. (hot, cold ..doshas)
trad. chinese food also same.

Wow sgpd, with all ur 'investigations', u could pass off as may MTBs in-house detective and pd.

U don't sound like an advocate for baby jars n cereal. If its really so bad, those ftwm's babies are so unhealthy.. And sahms who feed jar food n cereal r so lazy n irresponsible.. Not knowing what rubbish they r feeding their babies. My poor andrea, only eats cereal n baby jars..

U r quite an extremist I must say..

faints...so happening sia...

Re:flu jab

i ask my PD since kaiden kana 2nd time flu n alot of thick mucus...then she say flu jab doesnt reli prevent normal common flu la...so dun waste $$...jus make sure they eat well like enough vitamins...vege and etc...so nice of the doc wana giv her earn money she also dun wana earn...haha

re: jar foods...
my kaiden eat junk food alot...watever we eat..will giv him abit...ytd his dad feed him eat raisins..tink he sick din digest it...poo also got whole raisins...faints

cheyanne,
thanks. like dat i dun give flu jab le. i will give her gnc vit C!

my jodie take bb jar food, bb jar juice & bb cereal everyday! OMG!

Audrey, Cereal is still ok as it can be home made also. Not many preservatives go in. Jar foods either they using food technology or Preservatives. Food technology foods are bit exp. And they also kind a alt. good food to original cooked food. U can verify the labels those u r buying. But ones giving rice cereal do not continue same for long. (u might not want to eat chicken rice or similar variety everyday right?)

I also did some mistakes initially but learnt my lesson.

Re ftwm (full form pls?) babies are so unhealthy. Health and unhealthy is not very micro term. Not justifiable to say good or bad.

Someone might be doing regular exercise, good diet, not obese etc., but why do they get cancer/ cardiac arrest?? They lead healthy lifestyle right then why?

certain things are not seen and certain are seen. Back in 60 and 70's ppl used to do which is hip and latest and now the same thing turned out not good. (ex: chlorine in water can kill bacteria so some ppl for fun used to spray chlroine gas like water bubbles) They are healthy ppl but do u see the effect externally?

One research company said genius are born and they used DNA structure to implement to baby. (one boy got Einstein's genes) ppl made that research company get closed and said its bull shit. That boy got genius skills now. (dont rem which prgm/ article r name of boy. I rem I saw in discovery)

Ever wondered why the tomato hybrid so nice looking and stay long? whether it is trad. grown/ used any genetical modification??? I dont think we need to go so indepth its like me debating.. I just saw & say some things not possible to skip. Those in our hands to skip better to do it.

Juju, Jus wondering. do u eat at home regularly? just give her what u eat remove salt / chilly before u add for urs. I dont cook any special 3 meal food for baby.

Everybody here believe Soya milk, Tofu good for health right. Why go for my word.. do your search "Phytoestrogens" (In soya/ Soya Milk) May be u might urself know certain things I say is jus out of caution/ worry rather blame for being irresponsible.

Re: jar food

I gif hailey home cooked food when possible. Bt otherwise wkds or when we're out, she tks jar food. She loves it more than anything. Everymeal I'm so tempted to pop open a jar jus feed her tt cuz it's so ez to feed her. Once, I was home all day and so was hb. We were so lazy tt I popped open a jar n fed her and she whacked everything. Lol. I guess tt's the worse reason u can find to feed jar food rite? Bt I did it. N I bet most ppl wld hv done it at least once lor! So wat's the biggie!!

Audrey: hailey n andrea both jar food junkies. Jia lat la like tt.

Sgpd I dun understand what u r talking about haha. Very lengthy n lor sor (that means long winded)..

Anyway my poor andrea eats different flavours of jar food n diff types of cereals everyday.. But tmr I will prepare abalone n sharksfin for her. Must really think of more recipes..

And btw, don't have to justify whatever ure saying cos I don't understand

And I better write and complain to heinz, healthy times, only organic, nestle, happy bellies etc etc to ask them why they use rubbish inside the jar food!!!!!

sgpv,
i work. i dun cook. i myself cook instant noodles, so do i feed my bb instant noodles?
i dun cook rice or anything at home cos no one at home to eat AND i dunno how to cook anything else other than white rice!

jamie,
yes yes! my jodie join the club liao. caregiver say she loves the cereal & jar foods!

my jaeden also loves jar food..i can open a jar and he happily finish all less than 10mins..very easy to feed him jar food...but i only feed him on weekends..now i knw why my mil say jar food is no good for babies..but wats the big deal ?? most of us here also feed their bb jar food right ? and my bb is growing well and putting on weight..

audrey, ya..i think u shd write to jar food company and ask the details clearly..hehe..share with us your findings ok

juju, hahaha..same here ! i can only cook maggie mee, fried egg and white rice ! die lah..next time no one at home..i dunno how to cook for jaeden le..

porky,
i die faster la! i dun even noe how to fry egg. i only noe hard boil egg!

audrey,
pls help me complain to the jar food companies too! why give us unhealthy foods to feed our babies

hmmm...girls... chill chill chill... I think all the discussion on jar food/cereal/home cooked food etc etc etc etc should end here.

I'm sure all mummies here would love to strike a balance between home cooked/jar/cereals. I'm sure those who don't cook home-cooked food have their reason. Everyone has their own way of bringing up a baby and it would be the best of their ability. Thank you sgpv for sharing everything you know. I really appreciate but sometimes you must understand that not everyone can cook and are able to cook all the time. If everyone was able to, then all the food companies will go bankcrupt. haha

CHILL okie...

audrey, read labels carefully and ask about ingredients. Do let me know what they have to say.
I am feeding soya milk formula to my baby. None of the manufacturer say it is unhealthy. However research is pointing different abt bb soya milk. Its still debate which nobody want to conclude & spoil business. Ones confirm details come out then it depends on who want to take it and who dont.

yes bean, Thats what I wanted to convey but seems everybody got angry abt it.

sgpv,
ppl get angry cos the way u put it is like we wanna kill our bbs by feeding them all those ready made foods. u condemn these food so much dat it seems so WRONG to feed our bbs

Sgpd, sure thing, will write to them and if they ask who said jar food is unhealthy, I'll refer to u ok..

Oh dear, not angry la just wondering what's the big fuss about jar food? ur views on jar food is the same as my view on ur curry chicken. Have u tried feeding prata?

There is one non profit org on soya. I am searching in my favs.

Just to share my baby on soya formula and she is growing with wt & ht well. She is walking, crawling, happy... Below is some soya milk news, u write to manuf they will say it is not true.

http://www.the7thfire.com/health_and_nutrition/truth_about_soy.html

Babycenter gives generalised answer:
http://www.babycenter.com/404_ive-heard-that-soy-milk-contains-hormones-are-they-safe-for_1200462.bc

My baby is good ex. for soya. I do not want to provide any links on jar foods seeing the response. I will keep it to myself. I am not saying it is totaly bad but now n then is ok. If I have to feed by baby totally home made then someday she might eat outside w/o my knowledge. Just be ur own judge. I didnt intend to tell EVERYBODY is doing this. For those who are feeding REGULARLY w/o knowing.
I see so many school going kids regardless of race eating Mc Donalds everyday. They are health kids only but u know everyday is not good. Thats what I wanted to convey.