(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

rc_cola, Ilovesashimi,
use rice water seperately dont mix with formula. even breastmilk also dont mix w formula. I USED to give breastmilk in one bottle after finish if still hungry another bottle w formula mixed. same for rice water.

If you see the hypoallergic formula or lactose formula and even some soya and cow's milk based formula. ingredient list got rice startch so means for formula making they using powdered rice startch.

regarding water, each and every baby is diff but then its general guide line that no more than 60ml of water should be given to babies so that it doesnt effect their nutritional intake of formula. My baby takes more formula for her age so to compensate a bit more than 60ml w water is ok.

IloveSashimi,
Love to go for sale then. Mostly on weekend. Will PM you. If you giving lactose free or ingredient w rice startch, need to swirl milk frequent before feeding as doesnt mix and taste horrible. dont expect baby to take everything. If possible mix with rice water as formula w rice startch based r horrible to taste (trust me we tasted all the formulas and hypoallergic is the worst and similac is nearest taste to cow's milk and nursoy taste similar to breastmilk)

Hi Adv_sports,

Is Yuan2 in IFC? My boy was in IFC and he fall sick often, lately he developed a cough.. can hear alot of phelgm.

I just read abt your post abt the bb tua na, seems interesting.. maybe I will give it a try.

re: TCM
I am abit skeptical abt TCM for bb though I myself got a TCM physican but that's for adult. However, I did let my bb took Yu Ren Seng 'bao Ying Dang' and 'Pa Bao San'. For minor running nose, he recovered within few days of taking it, much more effective then PD medication!

Sgvp

Wah u are really v chim ler.. where u got that knowledge from? Really do your homework ler..

For me, simple, no salt no sugar for little kids, a little bit wont kill tho..
My baby is drinking same water that we are drinking, nothing special, and he drinks from the cup as well or use straw.

For food, nothing is special for him too, homemade puree, cereal, and jar food (surprisingly he likes it). Other than that, he eats the fruits that we are eating.

pastries, yes, yuan2 is @ IFC -- for coming 3mths. She caught the flu bug from my nephew who is 2mths older than yuan2 when i visited my parents. since then, she does not recover completely -- running nose to cough... this persistent cough is ard for 2mths! At times, she is having phelgmy cough -- gets better to dry cough... then worsen to phelgmy cough... she is better when i took leave and stay at home with her for 3 days 2 weeks ago... hubby n i plan to take turns n stay home with her next week if she is still coughing...

haiz, PD medication is not effective -- we brought her to see PD last nite -- he said is normal weather-change cough... cough more at nite when it is colder...

we r gonna try the alternative of bb tui na to see if can help to cure...

abit skeptical abt giving bb chinese medicine... tiny_m said pearl powder works for her bb... m thinking whether to let yuan2 take it...

re: holiday with bb
jaime, rc, tiny_m, yah, can imagine how tired it is to travel with bb! We r tired out during the weekends -- wat more with travelling to another country!

Hi mommies, do you want to do up something special for your baby's precious photos but have no time and patience to do it?

Or are you looking for a special gift/cards for that special someone?

At Aimee Creation, we provide customisable scrapbook layouts and premade scrapbook and handmade cards to suit your every mood and needs. Below is some samples of our products. For more details please visit http://aimee-creation.blogspot.com

3350284.jpg
3350285.jpg

To celebrate our opening, receive a <font color="red">$5 voucher</font> for every $60 nett spend before 31 Dec 2009.

Re - changes to christmas gathering list:
1. baby_may09 - not joining any more
2. win_mum - unable to attend
3. ilovesashimi - unable to attend

I hv copied the list and noted those who made payment n acknowledged by feb_mum.

Pls remove ur name from the list if u cannot make it.

Christmas gathering @ feb_mum's place
Time : 2.30pm
Date : 24 Dec (Thurs)
1) feb_mum
2) firefly_leslie &amp; Baby Kayla
3) cheesecake &amp; Baby Vera - paid
4) juju &amp; bb jodie - paid
5) ak &amp; bb greg - paid
6) ibite &amp; Baby Chelsea
7) tiny_m &amp; hubby + Baby Le Xuan
8) adv_sports &amp; baby yuan2 - paid
9) joyce_yong &amp; baby Hui Xin
10) porky_jean &amp; baby jaeden - paid
11) shers + helper + 2 missy shers
12) Muffintop + bb Raphael
13) jling - paid
14) Andrea + bb winston
15)
16) Bean + little bean
17)
18) Ling + baby (tentatively)
19) Poohwei+ baby+ toddler+ hubby+helper
20)
21) Yuki + baby jayden + hubby (to be confirmed)
22) graceofgod + baby Joelle + Toddler Julian (to be confirmed)
23) Adrienne + 2 helpers + brent + tasha
24) mikojade + helper + nigel

adv_sports,

at least u know where yuan2 caught the flu bug from, for me, I don't know. We didn't bring him out lately because hubby is outstation so should be at IFC?? But i don't want to ask around because i know the principal sure give those 'official answer'.. I am looking ard for a nanny now. When bb is sick, the worries is so stressful such that I would rather forgo the so called benefits of putting bb at IFC..

My PD 'scolded' me for bringing my boy back to IFC so soon when he just recovered from a high fever 2 weeks ago, because immediately the following week, he got fever again, and is also virus infection. I didn't know that I should take care of him when he recovered from the 1st fever, so this week, we are keeping him at home. So it is definitely a good idea for you &amp; hubby to take care of Yuan2 next week.

The recent weather doesn't help either... even adults are falling sick!

Maybe you can try out Tiny_M pearl powder, actually if the chinese medicine is of higher quality, it should be fine. When we were young, we all grew up with TCM (and my 9 yr old niece also took TCM when she is bb), this is what my mum told me. So sometimes we can give it a try, just monitor bb closely when we are trying it out.

Also, are you feeding Yuan2 banana, apples or pear? Try stopping these because it can cause phelgm.

Tiny_M, care to share where you get the pearl powder or the jing feng san from? Tks!!

piggypig,
did philips replace new bpa free bottles to u foc? if so, i must make a trip down to replace also.

piggypig,
ur welcome
I guess can pass on to other mummies to replace new ones.

Ilovesashimi,
I will PM you if I can make it weekday. Any improvement in baby?

rc_cola,
my baby went throu a lot and i didnt get proper guidance from PDs. So I had to do my research. Even now I am careful atleast till she reach 1 yr then she will produce her own antibodies then no worries even if she gets introduced to germs.

TO ALL MUMMIES
if your baby frequent cough/cold/flu.
take two drops of Yu Yee oil in your palm and rub ur palm till heat produce and TAP on baby tummy, back and chest. (just TAP not RUB)
do this everyday after bath esp when weather very cold r raining. it helps.

porky, a bit messy to start another list of those who can't make it... easier for feb_mum when she comes back from hols

pastries, hubby still prefers IFC -- in fact, yuan2 was very happy when I brought her back to IFC after 3 days at home! At home, she was very "yang oh" -- wanna me to carry n suck pacifier. At IFC, she forgot abt her pacifier and happily playing with the toys
And she suddenly started crawling! We hope she will build up her immunity...

thanks for ur advice -- I hv not feed yuan2 fruits since she started coughing... scared too 'liang'

shers: ya they did, but they are not in sealed boxes though, but they guarantee is brand new.

but i hesitating to use bpa free bottles now becos my bb had diarrhea since i changed to those leaking bottles and when i switched back to those normal ones, his diarrhoea stopped !!! so i'm not sure bpa or bpa free now!!!

Hi sgpv, thanks for your concern - bb diarrhoea much reduce today. Only 2 tmes and 2nd time was becos she let out very "big" wind and poo just came out. Apparently her bowel still loose although the poo is not watery.

I think the lactose free formula helps - did I mention she now on enfa lactose intolerance? Last time I let her tried enfa soy but she don't ike it.

PD also gave her smecta and lactoral forte.

Btw her rash was so bad .. so bad.. never seen it before.. Very red and raw.. doc prescribe 2 different type of medication which are to applied 30 mins apart which I find it hard to fulfil. Imagie I applied 1st one and then she pee in 10mins time, how do I apply the 2nd one right?? So I just applied the 1st one and then blow blow for the med to dry up or absorb better into skin before applying the 2nd med. Hope by doing so, I'm not making it worst..

Her bottom so red that we dare not wash too much/ clean which means her vaginal may still have the whitish med, is this ok?

1) feb_mum
7) tiny_m &amp; hubby + Baby Le Xuan - paid
13) jling - paid
14) Andrea + bb winston
15)
16) Bean + little bean
17)
18) Ling + baby (tentatively)
20)

Re: Holiday with bb
I dunno how jaime and rc_cola can managed to fly with BBs. My voice went coarse from singing on and on to my girl in the car. I'm so sick of "twinkle twinkle little star" already! And I think can't relax properly with bb around. Will prefer to leave her behind next time.. but then again, so bu she de!!!

Re: gimmil sales
Will there still be good buys around if I go during the weekend? Or have to go on Thu to get the good buys?

Re: TCM for babies
I got my jing feng san and pearl powder from a medical hall near my house. The jing feng san is their zu zhuan ming fang. Apparently, my whole extended family (all my cousins and nieces and nephews) had been taking them since baby time (yes, the medical hall had been around for a damn long time. last time my grandma will buy in bulk for all the little kids in the family). My aunt said babies who eat it will be easier to bring up (strong and healthy). My girl has been taking the jing feng san since one week old and now when she sees it she'll auto open her mouth to eat it. When my girl got cough at 6 weeks and PD's medicine no use on her, my mum went to ask the medical hall person and he recommended the pearl powder. She took it and recovered in about 2 weeks or so (I think..).

I agree with sgpv that ru yi oil works wonders too! even my PD told my to rub ru yi oil on my girl's back when she got cough the last time!

rc_cola: No problem about the exchanging of milk powders. I'm exchanging with may_mum already.

Re. TCM for babies
my boy also eats the jing feng san since 3 days old till 6 mth.. same like tiny M's gal.. my boy will auto open his mouth when i take out the bottle..heehee..

1) feb_mum
7) tiny_m &amp; hubby + Baby Le Xuan - paid
13) jling - paid
14) Andrea + bb winston
15)
16) Bean + little bean
17)
18)
20)

re TCM
i oso gav pearl powder n jing fen san but not daily. oni when indigestion or heaty..find dat it helps.

tiny_m,
for jing fen san actuali how much do we giv for 7mth baby?? i agar agar take half teaspoon is it too little?

IloveSashimi,
Lactorel forte and smecta both ok. Did doctor tell u to use both?

Regarding rash med, I use cetaphil for bath and topicream as moisturiser and fucicort as antibiotic. (I stop last saturday didnt finish 1 week course and rash appear again in neck area. Now I am trying Hope relief cream. Hopefully will know result in a day or so.) I hope PD didnt give you any steroid based med.

You should have a first aid medical baby kit at home all the time.
How do you wash ur baby bottom after every poop? I generally use cotton soaked in water and just touch and clean. (dont use wipes not good only use when go out) white discharge cant use wet/ dry cotton. You should remove water from cotton by pressing and fold and clean. During diahhorea if u put cotton to their bottom they feel pain. make baby in sit position lift a bit on hand and should wash w plain water w hand and tap w towel.

MUST clean the area no white dis otherwise baby can get vaginal infection. (urine test required to confirm and they attach urine bag at clinic to extract...)

till her diahhorea recover you dont use diaper. leave her free on floor. better use cloth diaper and make her sleep more she will recover faster.

get jorubi aloe vera gel from guardian. and apply every 2-3 hours to her anal area. it will give relief.

Btw any mummy know supplier details of similac or anywhere can get discount? Also for huggies/ mamy poko diapers?

Ilove sashimi

For the red bum bum of yr baby, just wash it with lukewarm water, dun wipe, just use water and cleanse.
As for the vaginal, (I have a girl myself), dun over cleanse, just wash with water will do, as for the whitish medication (I am wondering y u put medication on the vaginal?), if u rinse with water, it doesn’t go off, it’s okay, dun go and dig or whatever, we have our auto flushing (cleanse) system..

Hope this help.. most important is dun irritate the red anus
and wash from front to back k..

I think anything excessive is bad for baby.. my 2 cents worth.

Hope your baby recover soon!

Tiny M

My boy fell asleep after a good feed during take off.. so it’s quite easy, more difficult for my girl coz she is very active, good thing is that she was given a set of puzzles by the stewardess, it kept her occupied during the 2 hour flight haha.. bad thing is the puzzle is only 9 pcs - she is used to fixing 40 pcs puzzle - so she finishes it off in at most 10 mins.. and redo it many many many many times and my hubby gotta pick those falling down on floor for her.

Holidaying with kids are quite fun lar, time passes by very quickly hehe!

re: holiday with bb
tiny_m, i can imagine u singing till hoarse! hmmm, how abt playing kids' song cd in the car? yuan2 is used to listen to music while in the car seat -- hubby n me r so sian of hearing the songs over n over again!

rc, wow, u make it sound so easy to take flight with bb
juz baby care (bath, feed n sleep) will take up lotsa of time -- not much time to do other things...

Re: Jing Feng San

I actually dunno how much to give also, I agak agak for my kids haha.. not excessive is okay lar hor hahaha..

Yes, my girl knocked her head against the floor, then she was crying and told me “Mummy give me jing feng san faster faster..”
then I fed her a bit, and ask her: “Does it stil hurt” she said “no more” ahahahahha
She loves taking jing feng san!

Adv
I find it quite easy lar:-
feed – wont take up too much time wat (my girl was bottle feed when she was younger, okay just extra things to pack), my boy – just open my bra and feed (easier), cereal is to be fed while I fin my breakfast and around 4 pm.. he takes at most 10 mins to fin his meal..
Bathe also very fast one mah.. 5 mins done..
sleep – not difficult too, my girl just sleeps by herself (no need patting or whatsoever), my boy latches at nite, once full he auto spit out nipple and sleep (then I moved him to the cot provided).. as for nap, easier, pat pat a bit zz liao

Then rest of the time u can enjoy already..

Of course first timer will find it quite difficult, but then practice makes perfect! We are thinking of going Hokkaido next year.. but not confirm yet, see how first..
I thought u want to go for skiing trips with yuan2 rite? Dun worry, just go, by the way, if your hubby is a hand-on dad, it’s even better, mine is not, must ask him to do then do hahahaha

hi IloveSashimi, i experience the same with u when my boy is 3mths old..u can go thru the archieve then u will knw more...my boy got very bad diarrhoe until his bums are red and blister all over...very heartpain for every diaper change cos he will scream and cry till no voice each time...i will bring him to the basin to wash his bums instead of use cotton wool or baby wipes...pd also give Lactorel forte and smecta..only 1 month later he fully recover and his poo back to normal..make sure he drink enuf milk and water. i change to frisosoy until he fully recover then i mix with fm for him..take care

FYI, for mummies going travelling, one thing very important to bring: a box of kids’ medication. Mine is: jing feng san, ba bao san, paracetamol, zambuk (for bruises).

btw, kkh give me a kind of numb gel to apply on his bum blister so he wont feel so pain when i apply other kind of nappy cream...u have to do it fast and gentle..but for sure to expect some screaming loh...no choice still hv to let him scream and apply else wont recover leh...

Ling

I must say my girl loves jing feng san! Dunno y, my boy screamed like mad when I rubbed the jing feng san onto his gum..
Hehe.. ya I find it very funny also she asked for jing feng san hahahahahah!

rc cola,
maybe she takes it since young.. so used to the taste? coz actually it doesnt taste nice lor.. lol.. i oso dun noe y my boy loves it... anyway, i stopped it liao... heehee...

morning all mummies...

anyone know any infants home like those tat house abandon babies etc?

cuz i got some free formula but i not using the brand so i would like to donate to them...

Re: Jing feng san
Ju: I bought mine from this medical hall at Blk 210 Hougang St 21 (at Kovan), opp StanChart Bank. U must tell them u want the home made ones cos they also sell malaysia and HK ones. The older boss is a bit ya ya one and will tell u they only sell in packets of $20 (sometimes he'll say $50). Insist that ur baby is very young, cannot finish so much and u only want to buy $10 pack. The $10 pack is quite a lot already and my mum will re-pack them into small packs at home.
I usually use my last finger to feed, just dab water and "stick" up the powder and I'll do tis twice (think a quarter teaspoon?). My girl gets her jing feng san twice a day after her baths.

rc_cola: Wow, ur kids are so easy to look after! My girl takes v short naps so need to entertain her when she's awake. How did u bathe Kea? I tried bathing my girl in the sink and she slipped and cried like very scared like that. Now back at home, she'll hold on tightly to her bathtub when we put her inside to bathe. ahahha..

adv_sports: yar, i sing until i sian and ran out of songs to sing. i ended up singing pop songs but she'll make noise so no choice gotta stick to children's song. i haven't tried playing children's songs in the car yet. i'm resisting cos dun wanna go mad from listening to children's songs all the time!

cheyanne: I'm gg to donate those extra milk powders to salvation army.

So many people are bringing their babies on holidays!! Do the babies sleep well in the cots provided by the hotel? heee Sounds super easy from the looks of it!

Ling

Not really, she hates those medication since young, only after she turned 1 or so, then she started to be easy on taking medication (ie paracetamol – I am a freako, so once her temp hit 37.5 I gave paracetamol already – rarely tho), jing fengsan, ba bao san, she loves those all!

Yes, it doesn’t taste nice, bitter rite? Your boy also likes it? When they have symptoms then give lor, I dun really make it a point to rub everyday, only certain days when my boy is cranky then I give, if not, I dun really bother.

How’s the handsome kayden, I heard lots mummies mention your kayden is very handsome hehe..

yuan2 juz cough out lotsa phelgm this morning -- hope she will get better soon! her appetite is coming back -- now back to her 200ml per 4 hr feed schedule

2day i stay with her @ IFC for half an hour -- so fun watch her crawl here n there and nice to chitchat with the teachers... she sees this older infant who can transit from sit to stand in a wink -- now she try to do that and raise her bum high up (like inverted V pose) but no strength to push her hands off the floor *haha*

re: jing feng san
rc, ur girl so funny -- asked for jing feng san
how do u feed her -- via teaspoon? need to drink water?

re: holiday with yuan2
we kiv our skip trip -- coz yuan2 is still coughing
plus, need to transit plane and take 4hr coach ride to ski resort... so far, she has not sit in the car for more than 1 hr...

ur boy seems v easy -- yuan2 dun sleep so easily nowsadys... wanna play/exercise with crawling/rolling *faint*

my hubby not v hands-on, sometimes must ask to do then do... haiz, y guys like that har??!! he asked me to give him SOP -- list down to-do things *faint*

Tiny

I bathed him in the sink too, coz the shower area doesn’t have bath tub.. and there was no shower handle (water sprayed down directly from top of the shower).
So far he is okay. At home, I dun let him use tub anymore, I put the antislip mat on the floor (ikea one) then just bathe him while he sits down..

My boy doesn’t take long naps too.. at most 45 mins to one hour, mostly of the time, his nap time is 30 mins.

Maybe yr girl is scared of the slip again tts y she holds on tight to bath tub now after awhile she will forget, we have to be extra careful when bb is in toilet, coz it is really slippery..

Our next trip is back to our home country in CNY..

rc cola,
yes my boy likes it... maybe it coz i will rub agst his gum that y he likes to eat it.. haha..

my boy.. nowadays super glued to me... wan ME to carry, pat n walk ard! v tiring..

dont know is it due to my hk trip w/o him.. then he become super clingy lor...arghh

tinyM, i just migrate my boy to a bigger bathtub..then i forget to buy the non-slip bathmat...so he slipped twice ! but he is not scare leh...still use his hands to smack the water until im all wet...lol

but sound fun that u bring ur girl for holidays...hahaha...i haven tried tat yet..hb say not easy de loh...

like adv sports say, bath feed and sleep already takes lotsof time ! and my boy like xiao shao ye always must cradle rock (with my arms) then he will fall asleep...

morning mommies,
long time din log in already...

what is the difference between jing feng san, ba bao san &amp; hou zhao san? so confusing...