(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

bean,
is it a must to freeze the puree? is there a 'dateline' finish the puree e.g. 1-2days?

tinkles mum,
u got to reduce no of pumps 1st.. then pump every few days and dont pump but hand express to relieve the pain.. else e more u pump, the supply is still there..
i took the medicine from gynae but my supply doesnt stop at all.. it still goes on for 1mths plus.. even now i still have milk. i dont know y. i just hand express to relieve the pain/ lump. no choice.. u will feel very xin ku initially with heavy breasts and lumps.. cant lie down flat.. but after 2-3 weeks, u will feel ok.

feb_mum,
hahhaa.. really is no guilt to stop bfg le.. i also managed to sold all my breastpads n stuff to may mummies too.. hahhaa...

shers - ya lor, when they dun wan our milk, makes the decision to stop bfg so much easier. anyway, i oni target to bf 6mths, so time to move on, hee. got to lelong my medela pis next, any mummy interested? hee.

Thanks Shers.

I tried twice yesterday and each time ended up with very hard and heavy b. :p

How long do i continue with twice a day before reducing to once and eventually alternate days?

Feb_mum, I am like you lor. hesitant while stopping... but i think sooner or later lah.. anyway you have come very far so clap clap

bean, i just log in now..wow today like not much ppl posting leh...

btw the puree when take out from fridge need to warm up first ? cos i just add into cereal and my boy finish it leh

huh..u mean must boil the whole baby cubes ? i just use a cup and place the baby cube in it..a while only then i add into the cereal and mix it together..

porky - cannot boil the baby cubes. i either put it into a cup of hot water to warm it or use the microwave to heat up.

Bean

Yes, same like u, I think frozen puree must be warmed up (same reason to kill all the germs hehe) – will warm up the puree in a small pan and sautee til it’s hot.. then wait for awhile to cool down before serving to baby.

Adv
My new puree recipe: avocado + ebm puree and then potato + apple puree, both taste good, u might wanna try hehe..

Re: baby cube
I bought 4 baby cubes from daiso (squarish ones) – 4 in a pack for S$2 – cheap, cute, and they serve the purpose hehe

Good morning mummies,

Such a nice weather to lazz at home! Unfortunetly, can't... am now at work..

My girl dun like Avocado/banana.. she is happy with her rice cereal & brown rice cereal. Am asking mil to try her out on Gerber Squash, if she dun like, will add into her cereal, hopefully she takes! I gave her 1 heinz baby biscuit y'day & she eat it all up, after that I offer her some water & she took it without any fuss.. 1st time taking water after 6mth! He he he..

porky,

Frozen Puree
Need to defrost, warm up if add to cereal, if cook porridge, then add directly to the porridge when it's almost done!

Think I will have to either put on hold making puree since Hui Xin dun like jar.. or shall I start making puree so that she may be acceptable to new taste?

have some questions to ask. my boy has vomitted twice past few days. esp more so when he wan to poo poo.. he will "gek" until face red n wan to vomit. there was once in the middle of pooing he vomitted everythg out. or when he wan to poo poo he will make the vomitting gesture.

he can vomit out alot like merlion. does any mummy has experience with this?

also wanna check if urine color is v dark yellow, does dat mean baby has not drink enuf water or is it body too heaty? lately my boy appetite has decreased oso for both milk n semi solids.

cant get my PD for advice as she's on leave at the moment unfortunately
appreciate if any kind mummy has any advice for this. thks so much in advance... quite worrying.. everytime my boy wan to poo i v scared he will vomit everything out.

Melodygal

He could be constipated as he gek so hard till vomit? I dunno but I guess u might wanna go to another PD instead of waiting for you PD to come back..
Dark urine color seems to be quite abnormal, better bring him go c doc, while u feed him lots water..

Quickly go c doctor as doc will be the right ppl to advise u.

hi joyce,
ya if persists bringing him see GP.. though my GP here i feel not v gd.. lastime bring him see her she wan to rush to finish the consultation. If PD in i rather bring to PD but she's not in Spore now sigh.

My boy on friso now.. friso has range for the soy milk also is it?

May_mum,
I think Friso has soy milk.. nid medicine to stop the vomit.. dun let him dehydrate.. try to give more water... at such young age.. can give Glucolin...

thks joyce, ya i hav the glucolin, been feeding him water at frequent intervals..

cola, the poo is soft so dun tink he's constipated.. got poo everyday. the dark urine happens once. other than dat it's yellow sometimes.

bean, ya. dats y bit worried.

any of u know any PD available in north area?? my PD is from Mt A. Or i hav to go to another PD in Mt A oso? Paiseh for asking..coz i dunno which other PD i can go to

long time din log in liao. last thur my gal was sick, PD diagonsed that her airways were blocked with pleghm. now still on medicine for recovery. took straight 4 days to take care of her. today is my 3rd day leave. hopefully she can get well soon.

any mummies going to let bb taking hepA vaccine?
i saw it in the PD vaccine schedule, so not sure is it compulsory?

maymum, u can get friso-soy..i feed tat to my boy when he got diarrhoe..get the small tin to try first in case he dont like...also can get pedialyte from guardian for him to drink..this will prevent dehydration..this is wat my pd advise while waiting for consultation...north is which area ? i cant recommend u my pd cos her waiting time is super long !

porky, me stay woodlands...

diarrhoea is when he poo more than once a day? so far his poo is soft but he oni poo once or twice a day

So is it a must to warm up the baby puree by cooking it? Or can we warm it the same way as ebm, ie, place into a cup of warm water will do? If we cook it, do we straight put into cooking pan after took out the puree from fridge or let it sit in room temperature for a while then cook it?

I haven't feed my boy any puree because he had a case of bad diarrhea 2 weeks ago, delay all the plan of introducing puree..

Hi may mum, maybe u can call up Mlt A for alternative PD or search the net for PD in the north area?

Friso has soy milk, currently my boy still on Isomil soy milk because of the bad diarhhea 2 weeks ago.

RE: Baby cubes + Purees

I also immerse the baby cubes in hot water then feed to baby. My gal is VERY SMART!! She has superb taste buds! When i feed pumpkin puree+BM+rice cereals, she will take her own sweet time to eat. If it is just pumpkin puree, she will eat VERY quickly. They are simply just too smart.

I am untilising 3 trays of baby cubes now cos i only fill each cube with approximately 1 oz of puree so tat she can have more variety. I currently have pear, apple, pumpkin, brocoli. She loves pear and pumpkin most!! She has tried avocado n apple too.

Just to check, can we feed the papaya just like that or we need to steam? For banana and avocado, i know we can just feed.

HI May Mum,
You can go to ANY PD at your convenience. You can try Dr Ong EK at TMC SBCC (SUPER long wait time tho). However,you may want to stick to 1 or 2 PDs so that they will have records of your boy. My #1 have 2 main PDs and 1 GP while my #2 sees 1 PD and 1 GP depending on the cause.

RE: Cough
Keeping my fingers crossed that my gal does not catch a cough from us. The WHOLE family including my helper is coughing like mad..Hope that her immunity system will be kept strong by my BM.

Re: Faulty PISA
My medela PISA seems to be breaking down at times. When it reaches the 2nd phase, it will give me the "chokiing" sound and the suction will stop. I have to restart the whole process. Luckily, i always bring my office pump home just in case my PISA breaks down..Hoping that the PISA will last me till i stop Bfing.

bean,
thanks for the information!! so puree can keep in fridge for 48hrs right?? thats good!! at least i can make 2 days puree.. thanks alot!!

Shers
Yes.. same principal as ebm :p i was making 2 days puree.. then another 2 days gotta make again, so tiring.. i make 4 days supply now hahaha.. save my time!

shers, i also prepare 2 days puree...very ma fun to always take out blender to wash and keep back..hehe

so thurs not working i must make 4 days puree liao...

Frozen puree:
I read somewhere that you should boil the puree before giving to baby as it will kill all the germs. Use microwave is the best to boil fast lor... I usually just put the whole cube in the microwave.

i will warm the carrots first. You can take a portion out from the jar and warm it like you will warm chicken essence.
But according to the jar, can serve at room temperature. So its up to you I guess..

Hi Bean,

Oh, really..

But I am skeptical on warming bb food using microwave.. And I am very lazy and dislike cooking, will try to avoid cooking if possible...

Microwave baby food to heat it up is ok.. not to cook it. Just make sure you stir is well and let it cool a little before feeding baby.

porky,
all organic food r expensive.. if u want to feed all organic, then no choice la..

bean,
dont think its good to microwave bb food coz microwave will kill the nutrients though microwave is the fastest way of heating up food..

mummies who order HT stuff..

please note that i have called HT and they said that shipment is slightly delayed.. supposed to get the stuff by end of this week.. have been delayed till 7th dec.. so please let me know whether u wan to cancel. those who do not response, i will take it that u r ok with the waiting time.

mummies who have the intention to buy blender, please note that beaba has come to SG.. they have a small counter at takashimaya L3.. not sure do they carry BABYCOOK ornot.. i have used for coming 1.5weeks and i'm loving it!! all in 1.. steam, blend, reheat, defrost!

i may sound silly asking this question... hahha... how does avocado taste like? i have bought 1 and will love to let Shermay try it today.. but i have not try b4.. so i wan to know the taste in case not ripe... i bought those darker green and when press down, slight soft.. so can eat? what shld i mix with other than milk for nicer taste?

Shers
for adult, mix with fresh milk.. and top with those chocolate fudge, it's heavenly! hehe

I guess it tastes a bit raw, but if u eat it over the time, u will love it hehe.. i am born to like avocado at the first try, but i am loving it now hehe..

win,
i always buy those short and small banana where pple use to bake banana cake.. those r super sweet and not 'cooling'.. cannot buy delmont brand coz those r 'cooling'.. i'm not sure the country of orgin..