(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

RE: starting with FM
i started Shermay on FM last week.. one feed per day.. but she didnt take the FM very well.. after half hr of drinking abt 3oz, she puked out.. 2 days later, i tried again.. she drank with fuss abt 3oz and puked again..

this morning, tried again.. she refused to drink.. my mum says she can recognise the taste.. she drank abt 2oz with fuss and refused to drink agin.. so my mum suggested to mix with BM.. with extra 1oz of BM, she drinks without any fuss and no puking..

my mum suggests to mix FM and BM to let her get used to the taste and slowly full FM..

is this normal? i'm quite worried because she puked after drinking the FM.. so far i tried with friso and enfapro.. is because of the brand or she cannot take FM or what?

i rem that was a time where some bbs puked whenever drink FM.. who was that?? then switch to a brand of FM.. can advise me what brand? i will like to try all sorts of way to get her drink FM because i'm running out of BM already..

for Shermin, i dont have this problem at all.. when i switched to FM, she took in well and no puking..

Shers, I also got this problem... My bb doesnt like FM.. So I mix with Cereal no milk types or I mix with FM together.. My bb taking Enfapro..

western end mummies gathering @ feb mum's house on 25 nov at 2.30pm:
1) feb mum
2) andrea1985
3) yuki + hb
4) jamie
5) Gie
6) win
7) dodo
8) poohwei
9) firefly_leslie
10)graceofgod
11)ak

will take leave that afternoon if nothing crops up.

Morning Ladies

It’s Monday again..

Poohwei
My #1 is also petite type she is about 10.7kg at 26 mths old :p but her height is okay at about 90 cm.. so I guess it’s just her build, no need to worry as long as they are growing up healthily.

My boy is trying to pull himself up to stand now.. he can kneel by holding something, but trying to stand, very scary ahaha coz he doesn’t know how to balance himself yet..

andrea,
i'm letting try on enfapro also.. so yr bb is ok when mix with BM and FM??
i'm crossing my fingers hard hard that Shermay is drinking well today.. coz i'm stopping bfg le..

poohwei, cola,
opps.. Shermin weighs 14.5kg at 28mths.. i think at their stage, they wldnt put on much weight coz Shermin has been having this weight for quite sometimes.. Flommy's girl is ard Shermin's weight also.. and they r +- the same month..

cola,
u cannot expect Meg to be too big also.. u r so petite!!
just like feb_mum!! see her too Rs.. anyway yr Meg basically eat everything.. so good to be petite also!

Shers

As long as meg continues to grow I am okay with her size.. cant expect her to be big – my PD also said that haha..
Yup yup, she basically eats almost everything.. sometimes picky on certain things but most of the time she gulps down whatever that is given to her..

Oh I heard that all FM with lac lac lac.. are sweetish.. (ie similac, enfalac, whatever lac).. some kids doesn’t like the FM coz it is just very very different from the BM which tends to be blander than FM.. Mamil gold is not too sweet (feed back by Meg coz she is receptive to both 100% FM and 100% EBM) until now..

Shers: I think bo bian u have to try slowly. Puking out milk sounds quite scary, is it due to taste alone or Shermay cannot stomach formula milk? Maybe can try diluting it?
Ask u hor, how should the baby's legs be like when inside the exersaucer ah? I just got a Leapfrog one (same as urs) and it's at the shortest height cos my mum said cannot let the legs dangle. But most of the time my girl is standing leh. If I adjust to the second height, she'll be on tiptoes. How?

tiny_m,
I just called back home.. Shermay drinks well for 2 feedings already!! YEAH!!! my mum mixed half FM half BM.. no puking!! at least i'm not so worried abt her milk in take already!!
oh!! i let Shermay sits on the exersaucer.. so when she rests and sit down, her legs will bend abit lor.. i have already pull up to the mix height already.. thats y i'm thinking whether shld i continue ornot..
i dont like to let them tiptoes.. worried next time when they walk, they will tiptoes.. but again, i worried that if put down, their legs wldnt develop nicely.. whahhaaa..
anyway how tall is Le Xuan? what u can do is to pull 1 more level up and put soft cushioning below and let her stand.. so solve the problem!

Shers

HT jar food is nice, isn't it? Can recommend me which type is nice.. was thinking to bring for my boy during our trip..

Nowadays every 11am and 7pm.. he will start to get cranky, and once we feed him, he will be okay.. guess he knows it's the meal time now haha..

good morning mummies

feb_mum, ur 2 R's r very cute
rachel so funny -- everything i ask her, she said yes! oh, we brought yuan2 out in the bjorn on sunday -- she was happily looking ard

re: exersaucer
shers, yuan2 is 66cm now and i hv put to max height... lucky i rented it -- coz she dun like it... at most 10mins and she wanna get out *faint*

re: swim party
nice meeting ak, yuki, porky n another mummy on sat
haha, ak's boy is like a prince -- hv poolside service of water n biscuit while swimming... and he kicked real hard!

re: hard poo
last nite, yuan2 tried so hard to poo -- gosh, the poo was hard n big! she cried as it was so painful... anyway food to help soften the poo?

Shers, Yup.. I mix with it... SLowly higher the ratio...

rc_cola, HT jar food is nice... My bb can finish 1.5 bottle at one go..
Heniz and Geber also nice.. I think all Jar food is nice

cola,
so far, i let shermay try on carrot, green peas, banana, peach banana for baby jar..
if eat alone, i think carrot and banana r nice! green peas is quite 'powdery' taste.. peach banana smells v nice but abit sour..
i'm letting shermay tries more varieties.. u let me try out 1st before i let u know? BTW, u want me to order for u? got 15%? but got to wait for 2-3 weeks..

adv_sports,
hahaha.. so sometimes its good to rent, isnt? i bought the exersaucer during Shermin's time.. so its ok for me.. anyway both my girls can stay inside for quite sometimes. think yesterday shermay sat inside for the longest time - 1.5hrs! because helper was off day.. i need to feed the ever-slow eater - Shermin da xiao jie! and shower her that i forgot abt Shermay until she started to shout.

Shermay had this problem abt hard stool when she started on brown rice.. so i alternate brown rice with fruits cereal, oatmeal.. and after every meal, i will give her papaya or banana.. will really help.. u can give it a try!

morning mummies !

adv, the other mummy is michie28, her name also michelle..hehe
btw, tks for helping me to carry jaeden while i had my lunch last sat ! hope ur arms are not breaking apart...hahaha

re : hard poo
jaeden also had rock hard poo yesterday ! i started cereal for him once only...ifc advise to give more water and reduce the scoop of fm...

wow so many western end mummies joining the gathering ! too bad..i stay at the other end...

adv, i also very glad that i rented the safety first exersaucer..cos jaeden also cant stay in there for long...but the jumperoo is different..haha..i will extend the rent for another month loh

Shers

Thanks for asking. I only need the jar foods for our trips.. I will just buy off from shelves coz my trip is about 2 wks away too, and I dun really need too many.. I was thinking to let him ate the HT cereal ( I have it) and maybe add something else for him..

Andrea
I hate jar food, I bought so many for my #1, end up she didn’t like it, and I gotta finish them all! Yucks!!! Nv tried HT jar food before tho..

Adv
While feeding solid, try to feed water as well.. my boy pees more after taking solid, coz we feed him lots of water during the meal time..

cola,
okok!!
since u r mixing into cereal, better get those veg type and meat type.. 'granma's turkey' looks yummy! whhhaa.. but i havent let shermay tries yet. i also dont like to eat jar food.. but i will make sure its edible and taste godo before i give to Shermay..

porky,
i'm so near yet i cant go!! i need to take leave on 18th for my grandpa's 1st yr death anniversary.. saving my leave for dec and jan trips..
but if u mummies r staying later than 6pm, maybe i can pop by after work..

shers, wah, shermay can stay in it for 1.5 hr?!! v good leh
thanks for the tips on softening stool... yuan2 was coughing last week, so we stop giving her fruits... will let her try banana this week

rc, yuan2 dun like water -- so drinks little during weekend... at IFC, they will spoon feed her water while feeding...

porky, no wonder my arm muscle is aching today *haha* after carrying jaeden, yuan2 was a breeze -- 1kg different is alot! no worries, i understand the feeling of having to eat lunch with a crying baby...

jaeden likes the jumperoo? we let yuan2 try @ mothercare HF -- erhm, she dun jump leh... dunno whether to rent or not...

adv_sports,
hahaha.. my helper always cares for Shermay.. so i forgot that my er xiao jie is in the exersaucer until she shouts for me..
for banana, please buy those small 1.. very very ripe type.. dont feed more than 1 banana per day coz banana will cause coughing too.. and dont buy delmot (cant rem the spelling) banana.. that is cooling..
faster way is papaya!! this reminds me of what we experienced during preggie... constipation!!

hello mummies

Jayden prefer enfapro then similac..
I remember one mummy mention abt buying enfapro in bulk is cheaper or from somewhere medical hall or.. who ah??

Hi cola,
Claire tried many varieties of HT jar food liao.
Pear (nice)
Banana (nice)
Carrots (very nice)
Peas (she HATES it)
Tropical fruit Medley (nice but a bit sour)
Peach Banana (sour)
Aloha Mango Chicken (nice she likes!)

She also tried a few Baby Nat jars which she like too! So Conclusion all the jar foods are quite nice!

bean,
is aloha mango chicken nice?? sounds v nice le.. i have a stupid ques.. mango is heaty.. will eating aloha mango chicken be heaty?

adv, jaeden also dont jump when i let him try at KP...after i rent it, he start to jump..hahaha..i think it takes some time for them to explore and start jumping..now he can jump in it for a good 30mins...so we can hv peaceful dinner every night when fetch him back from ifc

Shers,
Its nice leh! The rule i guess is to eat everything in moderation bah.. haha

Andrea, I already started to use the training cup to feed Claire water.. Sometimes she drinks, sometimes she just play with the cup. .heee

re: Brown rice cereal
I did not give Claire any brown rice cereal before. I started her with Bellamy's white rice cereal. All the while she doesn;t have any hard poo.

Adv
Yup spoon feed her while she is eating.. Kea’s intake of water is also through spoon feed during meal time or we let him sip from our cup.

Andrea
Yes can start to use training cup, but I am using normal cup. Start training now by 1 yo, bb will be expert in drinking through cup.

Shers, Bean
K I will probably go and c the jar food, so far my impression to jar food is not very good, probably coz I tried myself and it really sucked! Haha..
But my Kea is still a vegan, so will explore on the non-meat one first, after 8 or 9 mths then I let him take some meat.. just to be on the safe side so that the risk of food allergy is lower..

Thanks Shers for your advice! I think I need to go back and examine Le Xuan on the exersaucer more carefully. She kept wanting to stand leh! i didn't measure her leh, think she's 62-64cm? Wow! Shermay can stay inside the exersaucer for so long, my girl can only last 10-20mins and most of the time, need someone there to play with her. we're lucky if we can eat our dinner in peace..

adv_sports: U wanna try giving Yuan2 some juice? My mum mix rice cereal with fresh apple/pear juice everyday and altho' my girl doesn't poo daily, she hasn't experienced hard poo yet. she doesn't drink much water also, my mum will spoon feed her water after her cereals.

Bean: Wow! Claire has eaten so many different types of food! Tropical fruit Medley & Aloha Mangon Chicken sound really good and yummy! I wanna try too!

Re: training cup
Is this the type with sprout? but my girl doesn't drink water, still let her try anyway?

bean,
okok.. i better order aloha mango chicken too!! thanks!! i make sure i eat 1 teaspoon of jar food b4 offering to Shermay.. hehehe..

RE: training cup
dont think i will let Shermay use training cup till she knows how to hold her milk bottle.. Shermin started to bottle-hold when she was ard 8mths.. then i let her use training cup.. i hope Shermay can start to hold her bottle properly b4 i intro training cup..

cola,
yeah! i'm also feeding Shermay on fruits and veg 1st.. i think by the time my store for jar food finish, she will reach ard 7.5mths.. good time to start on meat!
think all the baby jar r safe from allergy la.. else will not be on the shelf already!

yuki,
PM me

Shers, u ordering HT again? Can i lobang again? I want Tropical Fruit Medley and Aloha Mango Chicken!! Let me go see if got other nice nice flavors or not..

tiny_m,
no problem! Shermay was that height when she took her vaccine at 6th mth..

she used to like the disco ball alot.. then she changed to liking the microphone - chew.. then lately she likes to read.. flip to and fro..

i worried she gets bored so what i did to the exersaucer is to hang more toys there.. clip at the microphone..

Shers

Some kids are more prone to allergy than the others. Those on shelves should be safe in general but who know my kid will have reaction to it..

Any one know what is lentil?

Andrea

I think majority of babies can hold t heir bottles steadily by 9 mths old.
I have a fren whose daug refuses to hold her own bottles until now – 2 years old.

So I guess it depends..

Shers, can u help me order one of each of the following?
- Tropical Fruit Medley
- Aloha Mango Chicken
- Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi
- Peach Banana Muesli
- Grandma's Turkey Dinner
- Little Bear's Chicken Stew

Le Xuan can't decide if she likes the disco ball or the microphone, sometimes she grabs both at the same time. yesterday she kept wanting to bite the disco ball but she can't reach, end up, she knocked her head onto the ball and cried cos she v frustrated. ahahha..

Shers

Yes.. so need to be extra careful, coz they are still very young and their digestive systems are still immature.

Btw my FIL is gonna come here for holiday, hope he wont anyhow feed my son tis time.. last time coz he was taking care of Meg, I “ren!” Him giving her chocolate at very very young age!!

re: west end gathering
like shers, if u mummies r staying late after 6pm, i can also join for a while. slight detour.

shers,
emailed u my HT jar order

Andrea,

Claire can hold her own bottle for a while now. and she holds her own training cup and drink. She will make a bit of mess but I think that is how they learn..

today is monday and i'm feeling so blue~~ for 2 reasons..

1) my cousin (as categorised by juju and yuki - not aunty) reported her strength last nite since i last saw her 6mths ago..

2) i'm coughing.. that made no 1 as above worse..

how bad can life be?

shers & tiny_m, yup, will give her more fruits

tiny_m, yuan2 also like that -- wanna me or hb to play with her...

porky, gd that u can enjoy ur dinner in peace... yuan2 wanna join us at the dining table -- will cry to get her out of exersaucer... dunno whether i wanna rent another toy...

bean, yuan2 very playful while eating -- always kitty face with food all over... messily fun *haha*