(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

my gal now only drinks abt 110-180ml. my mil commented that she is small. asked us to give her more milk, but the problem is she dun want ... how to feed her more? if i increase her milk powder by additional scoop, then her next feed she will only take abt 30-50ml. her feeding time will be messed up. what should i do? last check up on 5th mth, she is 6.1 Kg 60cm.

jamie, if yuan2 like to be in carrier, then will use carrier for hiking... cannot use stroller lah -- though my colleagues said can try to push up on the tarmac rd instead of trail @ bukit timah... but the starting part very steep, walk up i oledi beri chuan -- wat more with a baby *faint*

re: feeding
for my first try, i let yuan2 sit on bb chair -- erhm, the cereal drip out together with her saliva! so we prop her up on nursing pillow and feed -- much better. At IFC, they use something like a bjorn sitter -- elevated angle...

twinklet_sp,
i think giving solid isnt abt whether head is stable or can sit stable ornot.. its whether bb is ready for solid ornot.. some of the signs i can rem off hand are:
- shows interest in what other pple r eating
- drop in milk intake
- waking up more often for milk at nite
- drooling

r yr girl showing either of these signs? if not, no rush in starting semi solid right?

Shermay has not been drinking well.. the most is 80-100ml every 2.5hrs interval.. thats y i start her with semi solid at 5mths 1week..

shers,
she shows interest in what other pple r eating since abt 4mths+ and drooling for the past 3 weeks
but she is slowing increase her feed from 140ml to 150ml for the past one mth.
her constant night feed is at 8pm/9pm, 12am/1am and 6am in the morning since 3rd mth till now.
that's why i have not started solids on her yet.
she is coming to 6mths exactly next tue, so i was thinking if i need to start soon.

Twinkle

I think every baby dev is different, from the way you are saying, seems like your mil is the typical elderly who want fat fat grandchildren.. like what shers said, if you think your girl is not ready for semi solid, dun force..

Starting solid merely means introducing baby to other source of food instead of just milk (so that they know other textures of food)..

Yr girl is not small, my Meg was 6.9kg at 9 mths old hehe! now she is growing up very well..

My boy is 7kg at 6 mths old, his length was 66cm at 5 mths old.. didnt measure his length lately..

twinkle_sp,
u can start her with abit of cereal plus milk.. if she is ok then increase.. but no hurry in finishing.. just let her have try the taste

shers: ya my mom says will make it thicker tmr.. cuz i fed her at2pm nw 5pm she downed 100ml milk. mom says maybe nt filing enuf?
btw, u think i shld let hailey taste apple puree later today as well or wait another day?

twinkle sp: if ur nt sure maybe u can wait till 6 mths lor, else i think it's really ur personal choice la.. btw, like wat adv sports say, i also feel having the bb slightly "lying down angle" is easier for feeding..

adv sports: wow! bjorn yuan2 for hiking! jus the tot of it makes me feel out of breath! lol!! u power lar!!

introducing solid

My opinion is.. bb will hv a long way into taking solid, hence there is no rush!

my exp:
#1, now 7yo - intro solid at 3.5mths, 'cos we see those signs of interest.. Now, a fussy eater!
#2, now 4yo - intro solid at 6mth.. Now, better eater then his sis!

my mil should be thinking that i'm ill-treating her grandchild. she saw other relative's kid "ba ba", so her grandchild must be "ba ba" too. *faint*
but i prefer her in the current status. the impt thing is that she is healthy!

Jamie

Wait tomorrow then let hailey try other things bah..

My boy's solid is like his snack only, he will still has his regular milk at the regular timing.. just that in between the milk.. we let him try the purees.. so cannot conclude if it is feeling or not..

Jamie,
i started shermay off with plain cereal for 3 days before i add (green pea, banana, carrot) in it.. and some days, i finish her meal with papaya/ banana.. apple puree sounds good coz can serve as drink! hehehe..
BTW, shermay has constipation after taking brown cereal.. so i usually feed her papaya or banana.. and i alterate brown rice/ oatmeal/ barley cereal.. coz brown rice seems to be heaty

Re: Beco vs Ergo
Sorry to say..At this stage, please DO NOT buy bjorn anymore. ur shoulders will break cos the weight distribution is mainly on your shoulder. For Beco and Ergo, they are pretty much the same. However, Ergo is slightly more user friendly cos it is easier to put the baby in as compared to Beco. Also, Ergo has thicker paddings. Beco is just abt 10-20% inferior in terms of comfort of the wearer as compared to Ergo. Beauty wise, its 150% prettier to wear!! For my last trip to Malaysia, i becoed my 2 yo toddler who is 11kg and my mum bjorn my gal who is 6.8kg. Think i was a crazy mummy with 3 strollers, 2 Becos n 1 Bjorn when i had only 1 kid. But now with 2 kiddos, they are always in use.

My colleague wanted to buy the Ergo originally until she saw the Beco carrier!! Beco is simply too pretty to resist.

Re: Weight lost
Yippie. I finally can fit into a size 25!! The last time tat i fitted into size 25 was probably 10 years ago when i was in my sec school! 1 more kg to go for my weighing scale to tip to 49.X kg. Wish me luck!

twinkle,
my mum was jus telling me abt a bb who started brown rice porridge @ 4 mths & is super ba-ba like michelin bb! sounds scary. if my gal so michelin, i cannot sling or carry her go shopping liaoz!

poohwei,
i think because u r using beco I and not beco II.. coz beco II padding is wider than I.. there is a comparison done by bebelove.. she has this comparison between I and II.. thats y she advised me to get II instead of I which alot of pple r selling at WTS..

Poohwei,

Shiok rite? I also can fit my slimmest jeans liao tt I bot when I was 45kg 2yr ago! .. now weighing 49kg.. my ideal weight is abt 47-48..

Re:Crying at in laws...

Lol...my kaiden will cry whenever my MIL carry even thou she come my hse..and is just her...n my MIL keep complaining say we din bring kaiden go c her often...but kaiden doesnt cry even when my grandaunt tat c him once in a mth...

n i reli loving it....MIL r nasty thus kaiden clever can sense it n dun wan her to carry...

Shers
I have the Beco II and i simply love the owl design.. :p

Poohwei
congrats on fitting into yr size 25! Now my pants all very loose! tho i ate like mad hehe..

re: crying at in laws
I bring my girl back every weekend and she cries everytime... we brought her somewhere else and those pple only saw her once when she was 1 month old and yet my girl plays and smiles at them.... v funny. MIL always snatch her over from me when I bring girl there so maybe girl can sense the hostility hahaha
the first time i brought her over she cried so loud until almost vomitted but my MIL made her drink milk... 1 hand shake her so vigorously the other hand shove the milk bottle into her mouth... I was super upset but my girl calmed down when my hubby carried her and then guess what MIL said.. she said... " Lucky got Daddy.... you 1 kid also cannot handle.... I have 4 children blah blah blah "
ARGHHHHHHHH.... so maybe girl girl help me take revenge kekeke

cheyanne: u sound very gleeful lor!! lol!! i like it too man! haha! ^5!

rc cola, ok, i tot of giving her abit of apple puree as a evening snack. haha. excited la me!

shers, oatmeal is not heaty? so rite frm the beginning u alr give 3 types of cereal on diff days la? u say gif banana to help prevent constipation bt nw hailey jus started, u think i shld gif or wait a few days?

re: weight loss
i thinkbfg really helped in losing all the weight. i lost alot of weight and am now even "lighter" (laughs) than pre preg - not gd at all IMO..

fireflies80: wah mus be very upsetting to see ur girl treated like a rag doll.. i'd scream at mil if she does tt to hailey.. and make sure she nv gets to touch hailey at all. wat an awful mil!

Hi Rc_Cola and Joyce,

I was at the toilet trying to "pull up" my jeans last sun after a seafood dinner. Then the aunty asked" You never eat arh? How come your jeans is so loose?"

Once, my colleague saw the amt of food that i ate and she was wondering "Wat happened to you huh? You really need to eat so much arh? Can cut down or not?

Hi Shers,
I have the even older version of Beco, on top of Butterfly 1. Ergo's padding is really still so much thicker! That also explains why it is not so beautiful aesthetically. hahaha.

Hi Jamie,
I am 7kg below pre-preg weight although i drink Bfg milk, take calcium, multi vit and fish oil tablet everyday.

1 more kg to go!!!

Haha everyone is talking about weight loss.. I'm back to wearing my levis size 24 and all pants at 24! Woohoo! Plus no stretchmarks, so nice to put on bikini.. Jamie ur turn when u r in krabi!!

Rc_cola,
Since u r so slim, u can wear ur bikini for ur year end holiday la.. That time u said u r flabby but thot ur clarins cream works very well? Jus wear!

Jamie, sign?.. Lol

audrey: lol! i think we almost same size rite?! ya ok i go krabi must wear bee-gee-nee liao!

pooh wei: wah i nv take my vitamins reglarly.. maybe i shld huh.. hmm i dun lk my below pre-preg wt.. 38kg.. lk a bamboo. not nice! think it's the bfg.. cuz lk u, think most of us eat n eat still v skinny/ hard to put on wt..

Hi bean,
What do u do with the toothiepeg if claire doesn't want it anymore? I let andrea try n she push it away haha yucks with her saliva on it. Store in tupperware?

yuki
i went to northpoint today and happen to pass by hwa xia, they are still doing renovations, don't think they will open anytime soon. No notice saying when they are opening also. From the looks of it, i think either end of next month or Jan next yr.

Hi audrey,

Once the toothpeg comes into contact with saliva, must throw if she is not eating within the next 1-2 hours. Cannot keep!! So its quite heartache to throw them away.

rc cola, ur puree, u use a spoon to scrape and feed? i was wondering if the sugars in the fruits are ok or we nd to feed some water aft tt?and hw much fruit puree u gif at a time?

Jamie
Wah 38kg lol stick figure lah u.. Better wear bikini n take pix post on fb!!! Sign? Lol.

Poohwei
Thanks! Sian to throw.. She suck n cried hahaha.

Lol...i no bfg so nt as skinny..compare to pre-preg 38kg i now weigh 42kg..jus cant slim dwn le..

Jamie: ya i super hapi..

Btw chk wif u all hor, recently my kaiden will flip himself at nite..so scary when i found him slp face e mattress..scare he suffocate wor..duno how to resolve tis..u mummies gt encounter tis?

I'm selling my bjorn original.. Used once but andrea doesn't like.. Whoever interested pm me ok. Letting go cheap cos bought it from BP.

Cheyanne, u were always 38?? Wow.. Bt nvm la I tink most impt is u look healthy n proportionate.. Numbers dun matter! =) abt flipping.. Hailey slps on her tummy since 2 mths.. I noticed tt she will knw hw to tilt her face so tt her nose is free.. U can read babycenter cuz I rmb reading tt some babies will flip themselves no matter hw u place them at nite..

Poohwei,
I don't even have waist 25! U slimmer than me le though my weigh is 46kg now.

Jamie,
I gave shermay all 3 cereal after a week with 4days no poo.

shers,
wah.. so long still hvnt hv stock?? can let me know if the lobang is in?

porky, jamie,
my boy nver drink up to 180ml before.. only 130ml.. max is 150ml... my mum is saying he drinks sooo little.. no wonder smaller size.. esp compared to jaeden.. zzz..

Re. HT brown rice cereal
i also think it is heaty.. my boy took that for 3 days.. no poo for 2 days.. now i alternate with barley cereal..

twinkle - ya, no hurry in intro solids to bbs, afterall they have one whole lifetime to eat! weaning must be bb-led so that it will be a happy process for everyone. i put my bb in her bouncer to feed her as she still can't sit upright very well yet.

adv sports - wow, you really very sporty! i cannot imagine carrying my gal to go hiking. carry her from home to carpark i oreadi panting liao, so unfit ;p

shers - find bjorn easier compared to beco. maybe becoz beco got more straps and buckles. but i guess i juz nid a bit more time to get the hang of it.

hello mummies! am a reader of this thread... Happy to read this thread always n learn a lot of thgs from here..i guess now everyone is excited on the process of weaning.

My baby is comin to 6mths this fri.. have already intro Si Shen Brown rice cereal to him. Would like to ask u all if he can finish almost 3/4 of adult bowl is it too much for him? Coz he doesnt wan to drink his milk after intro cereal.. wonder if i am giving him too much.. But then, he could lap up the cereal up as well! His total milk intake now is around 300-500ml+ per day...oni drank 40-60ml on 3hrly basis...am oso bit worried if he is overweight coz he's 8.5kg on 4th mth oredi...wonder if he is cutting down on milk becoz he wan to be on diet or not haha.

RE bjorn/beco:

I have a bjorn air initialy.. but switched to beco after my bb reached 8kg as bjorn is gettin too taxing on my shoulders. Found dat alto Beco is expensive, but worth it coz its reali comfy and nice design!
if ur bb is on the bigger size... better to get a beco.. bjorn can oni use for a limited period...

Initialy my bb dun like to be bjorn or beco as well when i 1st started.. but i tink its a matter or practice no matter wat carrier u use. After a few times, when bb gets used to it...using them is a breeze! my bb likes both!

Audrey,
Ya ya.. I throw away after Claire sucks and sucks on it. Cannot keep!

Mummies: When do the babies start on multi-grain cereal? I read on the happy bellies multi-grain cereal its for babies who are ready to move on beyond rice cereal. My baby has tried HT barley, Babynat fruit cereal, Bellamy's rice, Happy Bellies Oatmeal. Is is considered ready to start multi-grain?

Wow! Poohwei, u lost so much weight ah? I breastfeeding also but only a couple of kgs lesser than my pre-preg weight only..

Jamie: U may wanna try adding some apple juice to the rice cereal to help in Hailey's poo poo. My mum will scrap the juice from the apple and add in to rice cereal and feed immediately. Makes my gal poo more frequently.

adv_sports: My hb wanna bring my baby hiking too! but not bukit timah hill lah, too tough for us. he wanna go henderson walk or macritchie. my hb will do the bjorn-ing cos my back will break. interested to go together?

Re: Teething biscuits
I tried giving my girl once and she choked on it cos the biscuit doesn't melt completely so the pieces are still quite big for her. Forgot what brand it is cos my sis bought that. Pls monitor ur babies when giving them teething biscuits.

may mum: Welcome! My girl dun drink much milk as well and i kept saying she wanna go on a diet (but still quite fat!). Hahha.. U can try adding more milk to the cereal so ur boy takes more milk? My girl doesn't drink water from the bottle so we always add water to her rice cereal when she's finishing and spoon-feed her so she can get some water. It's good that he's taking cereals well, still getting the nutrients!

thanks for your valuable advices.
will trial and error this weekend. if she is comfortable, will let the IFC feeds her cereal. otherwise will try on next weekend again.

jamie: b4 i got kaiden was 38 la...now thanks to kaiden i 42...thanks but my fat boy abit scary...he was face down...so abit worrying...like last nite he will flip n slp...

haiz...furthermore he is teething now...saw teeth at his upper n lower gums...so he jus very "pek chek" n cry n cry whole day...

my boy is also a may baby & i'm planning to wean him in two weeks' time so it's really helpful to read all yor tips and advice =)

need some advice - should i begin with only puree, eg carrot puree then move onto cereals or should i intro cereals immediately?