(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

juju, i also bgt those big holes laundry basket...but still got smell leh...i think my boy sweat lots ! but ifc there really very warm...only 2 ceiling fan and the wind not strong enough...oh, the bath towel i bgt from kidsloft sales last year 4pcs only...anakku brand, thin but material very good

bean - i think there are 3 models of evenflo exersaucers at the taka fair. mine is the cheapest if i remember correctly. i can't remember the other prices. i think the promotion is by the supplier and could be available at KP too. i used the taka delivery service.

iBite - i bought my fp rainforest jumperoo for $160. and another fp aquarium swing for $80. :D

juju,
most exersaucer is fixed.. cant move de.. i think there is only 1 exersaucer that can move around.. cant rem the brand.. my hb also worried that walker will cause scratches on his flooring thats y during Shermin's time, we bought this..

ak, u buy so many gadgets for greg! whahha.. isnt he too fat for jumperoo??

audrey - juz wipe with dettol and spray with disinfectant loh. dat's wat i do with hand me down toys. there are so many toys and kids get bored with them so fast so no pt getting all brand new ones.

shers - that's why i buy early. at least he has a chance to play with them before he gets too fat. haha (learnt my lesson from the bumbo chair - i'm still feeling sore about it)
i don't have a girl to dress up so end up buying gadgets for my boy. the gender stereotyping starts early.

<font color="ff0099">feb mum
my hb says "so bad.. buy her 2nd hand things..."
den he pay lor.. haha

shers
CC don't have i just called.. they only have leapfrog and evenflo.. i like this safety 1st one leh.. sigh..........</font>

audrey - the safety 1st one looks very good. do you really want it? i can ask my friend to buy in US and courier it.

<font color="ff0099">ak
i really like it la.. don't know why leh. all the toys just appeal to me haha. how much is it if ur friend buys it for me?</font>

porky,
no wonder la... my ifc got aircon whole day, except lunch hour. then sat whole morn no aircon.

shers,
noted. see if hubby wanna pay first.

audrey,
super old lor.. wonder how many kids play on it already.. or she bought from another mum?? but cheap la..
if u really wan, can wash the seat (soak overnite with colour bleach with lots of dettol?) then super scrub it?
for the toys, can wipe many many times with dettol..

gd afternoon mummies,

m home to take a break from ifc -- yuan2 really bochap me when i left, busy looking at pics on the wall and watching other babies playing
i watched the caregiver bathe her this morning -- quite happy with how she handle my bb... she commented that yuan2 likes water and enjoy bathing -- usually other babies will cry for their first bath there...

i felt very heartpain this morning... only 3 teachers ard to handle all the babies -- another 2 coming later.. yuan2 was left alone on the bouncer at a corner -- she felt lonely and started crying.. seeing all the teachers occupied with other babies, i carried her and walked ard... after a while, the head teacher paiseh and took over yuan2... haiz, i felt abit teary thinking my bb will be neglected every morning

ju, thanks for ur tips on getting the stuff ready for ifc
this is the first week -- so not sure how to organise the stuff... we hv a cupboard to store bb stuff -- i can put 1 week supply there... yesterday, i brought home the rompers as yuan2 will not be wearing coz ifc is too cold... need to get more long sleeves top n long pants... will be more organise when i start work next week

re: bb face cloth
any mummies know where to get nice soft face cloth? i bought 1 set from kidzloft n 1 set of gerber hanky from BP... like the gerber hanky more as it remains soft after wash... try to order more but m told now OOS... need to get more as using 2-3 pcs per day @ ifc...

re: exersaucer
shers, shermin v cute
i m thinking of getting one, too -- now yuan2 wanna sit/stand up! my fren recommends me to rent instead of buy -- logical to me as i dun hv much space to store the big toys... will pop by the toy rental shop this/next weekend...

ju, yah, i also looking for something stationery -- won't be getting walker as yuan2 will definitely scratch the floor n bang on the walls...

adv, i feel heartpain too on one lunch time when i pop by..just standing outside to watch...i saw little jaeden being left alone on the rocker screaming and staring at the ceiling...while the teachers attend to the others...now i heard that there is 1 more infant coming this week...

oh, u mean the gerber washcloth no stock ? i stock up another 3packs last month before start ifc..from the usual bp i bgt from...cos i can foresee sure need to use a lot loh...even at home i also use a lot of washcloth, every feed will need to change sometimes...

can u let me know where is the toy rental shop ?

juju, oic...my ifc there no aircon...only 1 small room have aircon...but i ask them dont put him inside that room...too small room, i scare a lot of virus...hehe

what is the diff between exersaucer n jumperoo...one can jump, the other cannot? which one better?

adv, where is the toy rental shop

porky, haiz, no choice lor... 1 more infant means less attention for jaeden... my side have total of 12 babies -- only yuan2 n 2 babies r not mobile, the rest r crawling, gliding, walking ard
i see the teachers r very dotting on the babies n trying their best to meet their demands... some babies hv preference for a particular teacher n very heartwarming to see them hug/laugh/smile

let's hope our babies will grow to be stronger n more independent

here's the link to a toy rental shop... if yuan2 is ok after jab 2molo, will bring her there to choose her new toy this weekend -- for being a gd girl @ ifc...
http://www.toyrentalclub.com/index.php

hi mums,
have always been a silent reader of this thread, and have recently decided to be more active.

thinking of getting flash cards for my bb.... any recommendation on what is good, and where to get them?

re: long sleeve sleepsuits
i got mine frm carrefour - 3 sets for abt $25

porky,
i see... no choice then

adv,
thx for the toy rental link!

adv, wow ! 12 babies...thats a lot...mine there have 7 babies include little jaeden..he is the 2nd youngest there...

yes i can see the teachers there dote on jaeden too...but one particular teacher can be quite rough when handling him...eg trying to pull jaeden up using one hand...and jaeden's head will be hanging like so xin ku..sign

let hope all babies at ifc can grow stonger and virus free !

thanks for the toy rental shop, but too far for me...keke

audrey - i've no idea how much it will cost in US and the courier charges. just that my friend will be going there towards the end of this month so can lobang him to buy stuff that we can't get in sg.

bean - yes, my exersaucer can turn 360 degrees. it's not really heavy but quite bulky.

re: difference between jumperoo and exersaucer
i feel that exersaucer is safer because it is not so bouncy, but jumperoo seems to be more fun for my boy at the moment.

Hi mummies, evenflo exersaucer seems to be getting the best review. But I like Leapfrog's products so maybe will consider the one Shers got for her gals.

By the way anyone knows if taka fair has offer for exersaucer?

juju, wow thats a lot too ! i cant imagine if my ifc got so many babies...sure very messy de loh..somemore the infant area so small only...

porky,
oh, mine quite spacious. a lot of space in the play &amp; education area for the bbs to move around, esp the crawling ones. then another big sleeping area, 1 corner got 8 big cots, the other corner for bouncers &amp; mattresses (for the bbs who can climb out of cot)

oh, thats good !

btw, today the caregiver there give little jaeden flash card ! and he simply loves it ! he will get very excited and giggle out loud when she flash the card...hahaha

porky,
so good... u r lucky ifc so near ur work place. mine is still quite far away, though considered near liao.
i can't pop over during lunch to see wat they expose jodie to. by the time we reach to pick her up, alrdy last feed/last change/nap time ending le

ya i understand...i was indeed lucky cos there is only 1 ifc at my area there and so near loh...usually i will walk pass and just stand outside the window to watch for a while then i left...hehe...also got see the caregiver singing to little jaeden making him smile like so enjoying...

my bb flipped! 5 more days to 4th month. Must watch out now.

He did that in the middle of the night while struggling to sleep. It happened so fast. But when he attempt 2nd time, cannot. So finally slept. Didn't catch the whole action, but am glad to see him on his tummy down after he flipped. Too sleepy to take picture

Think my gal is trying to flip liaoz. She is 3 months and 5 days old now. She keeps wanting to turn over by curling her body. When we help her to flip, she can lift up her head pretty well. However, she is still slower than my #1 who flipped very well even before she hit 1 month.
2889689.jpg

Bought an octotune from Lamaze for my gal as well. She seemed to love it. But it always ended as my #1's toy.
2889690.jpg

Nowadays, my gal also does not nap much in the day. She will just nap for 20-30min and wake up already. When she wakes up, she needs to see and hear that pple are ard her. We need to talk to her constantly..But she is very responsive. So we dun mind talking to her.

Re: Frozen EBM
Think my nephews are starting to reject my frozen ebm cos they are getting more feeds of FM now. (My cousin is no longer expressing or expresses only 200ml a day?) FM is sweeter right? So i am asking my aunty to up the number of times for their feeds cos she still have 30+ packets in her hse and they are due to collect another 40 packs from me today.

If they reject, i must go lelong my milk liao.

poohwei, ur gal's hair so cute lah..so short but all standing up ! hehe...btw, u bgt the octotune from Lamaze, wat toy toy is that ?

my boy still not flip yet..he is 15weeks 3days today...

My younger twin has turned over successfully...and my older one seems to be teething. He's starting to chew on his pillow and getting really fussy. It's so not like him as he's usually a well-behaved boy. My boys are turning 5 mths..is teething too fast..? Really heart pain to see him whinning...

Yoyo

Its pretty normal for a 5 mths old to start teething.. its part of the process no need to be heart pained..

Shers and Poohwei
Cute babies!!

I dun buy gadgets for my kids, but for myself hehe.. they are still very young, no need such gadgets.. my Meg grew up okay without those toys hehe.. from my observation, she prefers those things that we use rather than toys..
While she was young, she has minimal toys, all she has are the books, form fitters, and a lot of soft toys!!
She never has any bumboo, walker, exaucer, etc

Re: form fitter
Meg can fix all the shapes (star circle rectangle etc) to its original plc at 9 mths old..
Mummies, u all should buy this, coz its training the motor skill + hand and eye coordination skill of babies.. I personally think it is really good..
http://www.amazon.com/Playskool-Busy-Basics-Form-Fitter/dp/B00000IW2S

Hi rc_cola,

Interesting to hear yr view about bb gadgets because i sort of share same view point as u but still feel 'unsecure' about it. But i bought soft toy for my boy because i read that it will help their EQ development or emotional development? Anyway feel that bb will be more blissful with many soft toys around (maybe is my own wishful thinking, haha)

Am glad to read that your elder gal grew up fine without walker, exacyer etc. Actually walker is not recommended nowadays le right?

Re: Losing hair
I am also losing alot of hair. I bought Phyto hair intensive anti-aging serum and I dropped lesser hair now, but still more then pre-preg days.. Wonder when will it stop?

Re: Flipping
When bb start to curl their body means they are going to flip soon! My boy flipped 2 weeks ago after a period of keep curling his body during sleeping. He also 1st flipped during middle of the night when he is crying for milk and just flip! Too fast to capture the 1st flipping moment. So mummies keep a look out for the 1st flipping and standby your cam even during sleeping!

Pastries

Just sharing my opinions.. We bought lots of soft toys for her, because she is a girl haha our thinking is girl loves doll, which I think she loves them all.. Nowadays, the dolls are her playmates when she cries (gets scolded).. she will go to one of them and started crying (like complaining to the doll)..

I read somewhere, walker is not recommended coz might hinder babys walking stage rather than encouraging them to walk (dunno if this is true)..
Surprisingly my girl started walking at 11 months and started saying her first word (papaaaa..) at 7 mths old.. so I think the sayings that walk first, talk later or talk first, walk later is not true..

Anyway, with or without toys, kids will still grow up fine. Just talk to them more, show them new things, read to them, they will be fine as per other average kids..
Of course, if the parents do not mind forking out money for toys, its an extra thing for the kids..
Both my hubby and I think that she will outgrow those gadgets very fast, so no point buying and then become white elephants in the house after sometimes..

Re: dropping off hair
My hair has been dropping like nobodys business.. I think it will stop after awhile, but cant remember how long it took during my #1.

Porky,

Sorry. I missed yr question...

Haaa... No lah,not getting both exersaucer and jumperoo...I will be BROKE then soon my house will be like a mini playhouse...

I like to get gadgets leh. :p Some are really nice for me to "decorate" the house. haha

hi mummies, m home after dropping bb off @ ifc...

poohwei, xuan is so cute with the hair standing... m diligently applying olive oil for yuan2 every day -- so that her new hair will not stand too much :p

Re: ifc
ju, wow, 15 babies to 5 teachers! mine is 12 babies to 5 teachers...

jean, good to hear that jaeden is enjoying @ ifc

yuan2's ifc also hv lotsa space for different areas... the mobile kids has lotsa things to play -- like fake sink to wash hand etc... yuan2 will not be bored after she starts to crawl

re: mil
juz now my mil dropped by my place to pick up some documents -- she was very surprised when i told her yuan2 is @ ifc... she looked kinda displeased and said yuan2 may fall sick with so many babies ard, must take care blah blah... haiz, she knows i m going back to work but din offer to look after -- now say so much
i also bu fan xin to put bb with her -- till now, she has yet to change diaper and bath bb...

Hi rc_cola,

That's what my hubby's comment, our bb is a boy, why am i buying soft toy for him?? But, i think boy also will have the innocent and soft side mah.. haha!

As for gadgets, I tends to look for educational value in it, but I need to constantly remind myself that bb needs simple pleasure also!

Yeah, we keep talking and singing, and reading storybook also. I noticed my boy likes talking to us more then playing with toys, he can 'talk' &amp; play with us without getting bored, but leave him alone in playgym, he played with the toys a while then want to talk to us again. Even bringing him out, he is more interested in looking at the surrounding then playing with the toys..

I agreed that talking to bb is very very important, that's how they developed their social skill and EQ also! Your girl is fast in both talking and walking. ;-)

I received a walker for present, but I don't intend to use it as walker for the exact same reason you mentioned.

adv,

My MIL also like that mah... When I told her ifc not 1 to 1,she makes so many comments. She did offer to take care tho but I can't bring back mon to fri(coz we stay pretty far from each other), which means no bonding with baby! Sometimes,she also implying that the ifc caregivers never take care of my gal properly...zzz.. I just act blur lor.. Want me to see baby once a week only? No way man! Furthermore,I can forsee I wun see eye to eye with MIL's parenting methods also. keke....

Re: IFC

My gal's ifc is 9 babies to 3 teachers. My gal is the 2nd youngest,most of them are crawling and trying to walk liao. It's a seperate area from the childcare,it's those landed house with 2 bays.
They have a huge area for the kiddos to play also. It is partial air con.

Hi ibite,
Yes, the pillow case are all made by my helper. The print that you saw is "Happy Forest". Currently out of stock. Its the most exp print, $18/yard. Now, i love to buy fabrics and make them into pillowcases, bolster cases, pouches, skirts etc.

Yes! Its Friday..Can chiong home earlier cos no meeting in the afternoon..Yippie.

Hi adv_Sports,
Xuan's hair is pretty oily liao. Can't afford to put more olive oil..=P. Hope that it will go down when it grows longer.

Gonna go pump now...2nd pump of the day..

Re: hair

I seems to be having bad hair day everyday! My colleague just comment that now my hair now look worse than pre preggy. Now very fizzy no matter what shampoo I use. I dun do any treatment to my hair now!
haiz... Is this part of the post natal hair loss thingy?