(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Audrey
Take care of little andrea k.. hope she recover soon..

Just last Monday, my hubby was having fever, flu, sore throat, cough (all H1n1 symptoms) he went to polyclinic and dr gave him 5 days MC + tamiflu tablets.. he is suspected of H1N1..
subsequently, #1 has running nose, after that baby has running nose as well. Luckily both babes don't have any fever.. Now everybody in the house recovered..
I think now the flu virus is all around, so for bfg mummies, do keep up the great work.. BM helps to fight off infection.. and dun bring bb out too often unneccessarily.. Just my 2 cents..

Shers
I have been using cotton wool + water to cleanse Kea.. seldom use wipes unless in the morning, when he poos like volcano and the poo is all over the place then we use wipes.. my personal opinion, there is no different between using tap water and drinking water, perhaps just the temperature difference hehe..

I am also selling off my mamil step 1, do let me know if anybody wants..

Re: Cleaning of butt
Nowadays, when my baby poos, i normally just bring her to the basin and wash with tap water. I find it much cleaner and cooling for her. My gal LOVES it whenever i help her to wash her butt. Even my helper does that now although wipes is the easier way out. As such, i have not been applying much diaper cream on her n her butt is still ok. However, if its nite time and she poos, i will still use wipes.

Don't really like the cotton wool method although i used it during #1's time cos there will still be abrasion b/w the wool and butt.

RE: Jumperoo
Hehe, now i am eyeing on a second hand FP jumperoo. Wanna exchange my Taka vouchers with jumperoo. Hopefully got pple wanna sell to me.

I already have an exersaucer but still eyeing on jumperoo. Itchy hands. Now, my hse can really be a play school already cos even my big blocks is coming in soon.

Re: Use of milkbags
Like what i told Shers, mummies, please do not buy milkbag just to store chilled milk. Its very costly. Long term wise, just buy BPA free bottles to store the milk for daily consumption. Think BPA bottles need not be changed as regularly. Milkbags should be used for freezing purposes only. Also, do not freeze unless necessary cos freezing will cause certain nutrients to be lost. Think antibodies will also be lost as well when u freeze and defroze. Best to use chilled ebm. Just my 2 cents worth.

Re: Smiling
Last nite, i was playing with my gal. She was so responsive and smiley. Whenever i call out her name or say something to her, she will coo/ smile back!! So lovely. My heart really melts! Think i will really try for #3 in a few yrs time.

Poohwei

I share the same sentiment as you, dun freeze unless necessary. I dont have any frozen ebm at all, coz the BM is shared between my #1 and #2 hehe so wont have any extra.. Yup i also use pigeon storage bottles instead of milkbags for chilled ebm.. less costly and can be reused.. occassionally when all the pigeon bottles are used up, then i used my glass bottles..

Wah u bought so many toys for your kids.. I dun really buy lots of toys for my kids hehehe for her 2nd bday we get her a cooking set which costs a fraction of the mega block hahahaha! my girl gets bored to toys very easily so no point getting her lots of things ended up being kept in the container.. next yr i think i would buy some color paints for her to explore.. she is used to crayons now..

Re: #3
i think my hubby has the same thought like u ler! coz now my boy loves to smile and laugh whenever we talk to him, he can make Ah Grooo Grooo sound (all saliva comes out) hahaha coz we always play "Ang Goo Goo" with him.. so hubby also said, lets have #3, see the baby so cute.. i was like.. "lets talk about it in 3 to 5 yrs time"

Hi mummies, sorry one mroe question regarding expressing at work. If i have the medela chill bag with ice pack, and my office has no freezer (just a mini fridge), how to make sure my milk is kept cool when transported from work to home?

good morning mummies

jean n audrey, take care and hope ur bb recover soonest!

jaime, yah, i will patiently wait for my bb to get pass the wake up at 4am phase...

re: flipping
shers n tiny_m, haha, my gal also like that -- when we try to help her flip, her hand will get stuck n she will scream for help

re: washing butt
my hubby tried to use water to wash our bb's butt -- she screamed like mad
since then, i use wipes or cotton wool to clean...

how do u wash when bring bb to sink? use ur hand or let running water to do the job?

if use warm water, put bb in basin n wash using hand?

re: pumping at work
when i pump at home, i take off my top n bra... wonder how to pump at work... do u take off top n bra? m using manual pump -- when pumping one side, the other side will drip milk during letdown...

porky, my boy got abrasion on his butt before, at the groin area. then we used buds first aid cream and apply very thinly. two days later it recover.
he got very sensitive skin so by the time he was 2 weeks old, we use water and cotton wool to clean him. usually after we wipe him, we still use tissue to dry him before closing the diaper. can try that, dun wrap him up when skin is moist.

when he poo poo, we use the wet cotton to wipe off the excess poo, then wash with water. unless at night, we usually just use tap water.

Morning mummies! Hope babies who are sick are better today!

Re: Washing butt
How to wash butt in the sink ah? I think my sink too small.. Usually if baby poos, we'll wash her butt in her bath tub. She only poos every few days and either in the morning or evening so coincides with her bathing time. For pee, we just use wet wipes.

Re: Storing EBM
Thanks Poohwei for your advice on storing EBM! I think I'll use storage bottles instead of milk bags to store chilled EBM and glass bottles to freeze. I find milk bags very expensive! But glass bottles for freezing cannot store more than 100ml right?

Re: BPA free bottles
Just to check with experienced mummies, how long can we use BPA free bottles? I'd been using Medela BPA free bottles to store chilled EBM and the bottles have turned cloudy. Is it normal? Do I need to change bottles?

Adv_sports: I use Avent breast shells to collect the leaking milk when pumping. I'll wear nursing bra, put the breast shell in the side which I'm not pumping and the breast shell will collect the leaking milk. Quite a good investment cos sometimes i can collect up to 20ml of leaking milk!

Hi Tiny,
The medela bottles do turn cloudy but no worries. I have been using the medela bottles for abt 1 year for my #1. Think can last at least 1 yr? or change when it turns yellowish.

If you wanna freeze using glass bottles, it takes up more space. Plus you must leave 10% space for expansion.

Hi muffintop,
Why not wait for 2 more weeks for the Taka baby fair b4 u buy the bottles?

robinsons is having nursery sales. those of you who need to get bottles and such, can go down to robinsons. there is 20% off quite a no of brands. if you hv robinsons card, there will be another 5% rebate.

re pumping and storing - i will pump into my medela bottles and then trf into avent bottles for storage. bb will drink from avent bottle. at the end of the day i will freeze the remaining BM that is not consumed using milkbags. milkbags take up less space as you can store them flat and stack on top of each other.

muffintop - all small mouth bottles will be able to fit medela pumps if you dun intend to get medela bottles. i used pigeon bottles previously, but not sure if they are bpa free.

tinkles mum - the medela chiller bag comes with a ice block rite? that shd be sufficient in keeping your milk chilled for transportation purposes. juz keep the ice block in freezer. but if your office has no freezer, then you might wan to consider a fridge to go.

adv sport - what type of nursing facility do you have at work? is it private? if there's privacy, you can continue to take off your top etc to pump. dat was wat i did previously at MOE HQ. they gave us a KTV room to pump, so i juz made sure dat the door is locked properly before i pump. when the bosses were travelling, i used their office to pump, haha.

hihi mummies,

browsed thru the archvies and saw a few bbies fall sick, hope all get well soon! mummies must take good care of urself too...

re feeding interval:
my boy one more week to 3 mths old has stretched his feeding interval till 4-5 hours, i think it's abit too long the interval, he drinks abt 180-200ml each time though.. any mummies encounter this? wonder can they go so long w/o milk? i checked my elder boy's milk record, he was on 3 hourly interval when he was 3mth old..

oh ya, to add on:

bb either latch on or bottle feed wi EBM. i thought BF bbies get hungry easily? wonder why he can go so long w/o milk.. hmm..

<font color="ff0099">hello mummies
thank u all for your concern.. we were with little andrea the whole time and we are arranging to bring her back cos the doctors want to test for everything except H1N1.. which was why we came here for..

they want to poke needles into her spine to draw out fluid to test for brain infections, draw her blood to test for lung/blood infections.. put her on drip etc..

wat happened to this H1N1 virus that we came here for?? they said 90% of the patients are tested positive and they'll just give this tamiflu syrup to cure it.

so i asked if andrea has H1N1 and they said later then they'll test.. but the whole point of admitting her is to test for H1N1!!! cos apparently she's only 3 months old. and its dangerous etc..

so we are bringing her home because all they do is feed her with paracetamol and take her temperature every hour (which has subsided thank God)..

i can do that too so we are preparing to take her home.. needles in her spine is a no no for me. heavily subsidized ward really terrible haha all these students keep walking in to ask me so many questions.. when i just want to rest.

thank u all!! i'm bringing andrea home n will monitor her at home..</font>

2807252.jpg

Audrey
Stay strong k.. if fever subsides should be okay.. cont to feed her bf.. even if you are sick, coz all the antibodies will be in yr milk! Andrea is a strong bb..
*hug*hug*

Andrey,

Wish andrea a speedy recovery.. H1N1 happened o one of my friend's 7yo dd, the doc also did not do the test until day 2 or so.. You should insist on the test, talk to senior doc, not MO!

<font color="ff0099">rc_cola
thank u..

joyce
the PD told us to rush to KK cos below 5 yrs old are considered high risk so i guess ur fren's 7 yr old is not in that group so can drag the test to day 2.

the senior doc is the one that is dragging the test cos she says she has many patients but i told her andrea is 3 months only pls juz test her.. she said wait first..

we waited from yesterday afternoon.. when her fever was so high n she was so drowsy n lethargic n kept crying.. the docs juz asked us to wait.. wait.. wait...</font>

audrey: wah y must needles into spine. sounds so serious case.. u knw, i rmb i took tamiflu when i was preggy. it was for my cold..

Long time never log in. Can I ask for mummies who put their babies in infant care centre? What's the feedback? I'm in dillema. Still dragging my feed on who to take care of my baby in long term. I'm going back to work soon - 1 week's time. My maid will take care of my bb + 2 kids. But scared she can't cope. But I also worry infant care centre - do they have a good program for the baby? Do they have enough teachers to care for them? Feeding schedule?

hope to get advise from those already in infant care ctr. Or is nanny better?

shers, my CL taught me to use wipes then use water (tap water mix with hot water) to clean his butt whenever he poo...so aft she left i still do the same...i just wan to advise all mummies, if u suspect ur little one having diarrhoe, pls STOP using wipes...bring them to water in the tub or sink...to prevent their skin to tear...actually my boy used to poo 2-3times per day...i use wipes and water to clean him will not tear his skin...but due to diarrhoe he poo 10 over times a day...

tinyM, my sink also very small...i will fill up the sink with water till the top then soak his butt in and out until clean loh...if use tub very ma fun...

audrey, aiyo...see andrea like so ke lian...just like my jaeden last sat...when we went to kk also wait and wait only...better bring her home and take care ur own

Hi Audrey
Take care of urself too. Little Andrea needs u. Sometimes, KK is really sucky. Even my uncle who worked as a doctor at NUH and KK said so.He was the one who advised me to go to private hospital for my delivery.

However, for kids, i think we have no choice but to go to KK? Just have to try our luck.

Re: Washing butt at sink
I just on the tap and run the water onto my gal's butt. I never fill the sink with water. I also standby 1 small bottle of bodywash in a pump bottle at the sink so that i can wash her butt at the same time. Hehee..so my gal's butt always smell nice.

audrey - aiyo, poor andrea, look so poor thing. ur kk experience sounds terrible. was telling my hb maybe we shd change the kids' hospitalisation plan to a higher one dat covers pte hospital too. the service lvl is juz so different.

shers - i believe it covers the avent bpa free bottles coz avent is one of the brands on disc. robinsons stocks mainly avent bpa free bottles now.

ling - personally i dun tink it's necc to use bpa free bottles. AVA oreadi issue statement dat normal bottles are safe. but if you wan to play safe, then use bpa free bottles loh. currently my avent storage bottles (125ml) are normal but my older gal is using the bpa free version (260ml). hv so many normal avent bottles, tink too wasted to change all to bpa free type.

feb mum,
thanks in replying... was worried coz last round i so blur n made mistake in using the VIA containers to store n sterilise > 5times! so wanna make sure i dun blur again this round!

feb mum, so is it ok to sterlize non bpa free bottles? i have many new avents but i didn't dare to sterlize and was thinking of using it as drinking bottle when bb is older.

Hi Ling Lim and muffintop
Its definitely ok to sterilise non-bpa bottles. Some mummies would rather play safe and change bottles every 3 months. Whether its BPA free or not, it really does not bother me much. For me, unless the bottle looks old or yellowish, i normally would not change. No harm caused to my #1 so far.

I am currently using medela bottles again cos they are LIGHT!! and will not break or crack easily. (I have a T2 at home who will play with the bottles!!!) Now that medela came up with the 260ml bottles, i am no longer using the NUK ones at home. Only let my gal bring it to cc in the daytime.

poohwei, where can we get 260 ml medela bottles?

anyway, i have a new idea, heehee, instead of worrying hw much time i need to spend washing the pump and sterlizing while at work, i will get another set of spare parts and more bottles.

so pump twice at work, bring two sets of pump accessories from home. 4 bottles. then after pump then bring hoome to sterlize.

poohwei,
i noticed my medela bottles becoming kinda soft, will sink in upon pressing. is it still safe to use?
running out of plastic bottles le, hv u tried using glass bottles @ cc? ever hv bottles dropped &amp; broke @ cc?

Hi muffintop,
You can get the 260ml ones from Robinson. Taka is always sold out of the 260ml ones. Wow, 2 sets of accessories for work arh? I have 2 sets too, but its one set for work, one set for home so that i have less things to carry to n fro each day.

Hi juju
Yes, medela bottles are kinda soft. But no problem! Safe so far. I wont give my gal glass bottles in CC cos she is coming to 2. Most probably, she will drop it..n the teachers will hate me..Hahaha.

hi audrey.. hope bb andrea is recovering.. u and hb too, mus get well soon too.. take care...

muffintop (muffintop09), the bp is ex lor.. can buy from overseas spree, cheaper... those spree hav the 260ml ones.. the price is abt $1 difference from the 150ml ones...

Any mummies experience baby go on nursing strike at the last feed? She refuse to be fed by my mum and cry and cry. But daytime when i look after her, she is perfectly alright and is drinking normally. I go to work in the evenings. Is she protesting that she wants mummy?

Any idea how to solve this problem?

Audrey: Good to hear that Andrea is better! She looks so sad in the pic.. KKH sounds terrible! I think you made the right decision to just bring her home.

Just wanna remind mummies here to buy insurance for your babies. My colleague kept reminding me to buy insurance for my baby cos his fren's baby was admitted to hospital ICU (due to flu) at 4 months and the baby got no insurance and the fren gotta pay 5-digit figures hospital bills.

bean: My baby has been on a nursing strike at night too.. And the thing is I'm still the one feeding her by latching. It'll be time for her feed but when I try to latch her on, she'll cry and cry and kept pushing me away.. My hb thought I'm abusing my baby cos she cry until very qi cham.. I gotta put her to sleep first, after sleeping 10mins, she'll cry for milk then she blur blur that time then she'll drink. Had been happening for about a week, gotta be patient with her. Yesterday, she on nursing strike in the day also, skipped one feed totally.. Dunno if it's due to her vaccination then she no appetite or what..

Re: Storage bottles
Thanks Poohwei for your advice on Medela bottles! My hb almost wanna throw the bottles away cos he thought they're spoilt.

Buying storage bottles and other accessories
Anyone wanna buy from www.mybreastpump.com? I wanna get more Medela storage bottles for work and need >US$149 for free shipping. I intend to ship to my sis's address in US and ask her to bring back (she'll be back end Aug) so can save on shipping from US to SG. My sis will charge a token of S$2 per item for her luggage space, think it's much cheaper than normal shipping costs and items will arive much earlier (only wait 1.5weeks instead of the usual 3-4 weeks). When she's back, I'll distribute the items, can collect from my place at Kovan weekdays or at Harborfront/Vivocity during weekends when i bring my baby swimming. Anyone who wanna buy can PM me. Only accessories hor.. i think my sis will kill me if i ask her lug heavy breastpumps back.. Oh, I need to order by Sunday cos items need to reach her by Friday as she needs to pack (she's flying on Sat). So wanna order, pls asap..

tiny M, i wan! I will PM you my purchases ok.. thank God, I was hoping to get the goods in fast and was thinking of just ordering direct. if it's ok, can i collect from you by next monday 24th before i return to work?

muffintop: My sis will only be back on 25th (tue) morning, so earliest u can collect is tuesday leh..ok for you? I'm going to buy 150ml and 260ml bottles..

good morning mummies

tiny_m, thanks for the tip -- will get the breast shell to collect the milk leak

feb_mum n ju, thanks for sharing... i will be using a private room -- good to do the same as pumping at home...

Jean - Hope Jaeden is feeling better..

Audrey - Poor Andrea and glad tat she's on the road to recovery..

My boy was not feeding well for the past 3 weeks! Went PD on 7 Aug and pd says he has stuffy nose, but he continues to fuss on every feed and drinks very little - 40ml, went another pd tis morning and apparently Terence has a throat infection! Pd says Terence is as big as a 6 mth old so it's ok if he's juz drinking 30ml(his body is probably telllin' him to slow down) and just feed whatever amount he feels like drinking. And as long he sleeps, smiles, coos all should be ok.

Anyone else wanna order from www.mybreastpump.com? I have >US$149 worth of orders from muffintop, poohwei and myself so will prob order tonight. Anyone else wanna order pls email me ([email protected]) by tonight 8pm.

Poohwei: I'd received ur PM and replied u..

Flommy: Ur baby is the size of 6mth old? So fast ah? My baby is fat also.. these days she also on nursing strike, my mum joked that she going on a diet.. hee.. Hope ur boy recovers soon!

Mummies, I still have about half a tube of Avent Nipple cream/gel to giveaway. Do sms or PM me if keen k.

Audrey> Pls text me if you want k. I only used less than half of the tube. It's the same tube which we bought together.

Not breastfeeding soon after delivery.

Prefer to go via post. Self collection can be arranged. Im at Jur West.

tinyM/bean, my bb is on nursing strike during day time ! night time he is ok, drink very fast like so hungry.....but day time, he will fuss alot...cry for milk then wan to sleep...must carry and rock him...let him sleep 5-10mins then he will happy and drink his milk...else he will also cry like very qi cham...then my mil keep coming inside the room to say poor boy poor boy...as if i never let him drink milk like dat...actually this whole week i am on leave to take care of my boy...staying at home is worst then working...i have to lock myself and my boy inside the room to avoid my mil to come in and say all sorts of negative comments...whenver my boy cry, she will bang on the door but i just ignore...only meal times i will come out...