(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

thanks everyone...jaeden is better today...not much crying but every diaper change is still a struggle..

joyce, i have change to friso soy 1 since sat...but his diarrhoea still cant stop...i tried to air his buttoks but he still cry leh...must carry him at least 20mins then he will stop crying...i latch him these 2 days till my nipples bled...no milk only comfort sucking...

bean and ling, i have send an email to IFC for investigation...waiting for their reply...

anyway this is a lesson to learn for new mum like me...i shd have used water to wash him instead of continue to use bb wipes until his anus tear so seriously...now i feel very regret...haiz

Hey Porky just read about Jaeden. So sorry to hear that. Can feel your heartache, poor baby.

Anyway thankful that he is better now.

You take care, hope you manage to catch some rest too.

Oh dear...Sorry to hear about that. Hope Jaeden is better!

Hi Porky, just read about your boy. Poor Jaeden. Can understand your heartpain. Glad that he is not crying so much now. You take care of yourself too. Can you replace your nipple with pacifier ie. take off you clothes and carry him in the breastfeeding postion and let him suck on pacifier instead. Sometimes they just want comfort from skin contact and the sucking action.

I also think that GP not so good as they are not experienced in babies and don't carry medicine for babies. The previous time when I called up my PD, the reception ask me to bring to GP cause my PD fully booked. I bring my boy to the GP and regretted that I follow the recep advise and bring my boy to GP. Very heartpain when I see my boy crying from the clinic all the way back home, so heartpain. I should insist on an appointment with the PD. PD has special medicine for babies. Even vaccination, my personal view is that PD is better as PD is very experienced in giving babies vaccination. But the cons are that the PD clinic is so far away, the carpark is terrible and the waiting time is very very long.

wish i can go for the gathering..but just started work yesterday..
carrying the pump to office is heavier than when i was pregnant...sigh sigh

hey Mummies, gd morning!

I am going back to work next Mon and just wondering how to prep for expressing at work? Could you advise on how you sterilise the pump accessories after each express?

How frequent do you express at work?

MY working hours are 9am-6pm, and I was thinking maybe just pump once during lunch but do a longer express like 45 mins?

Porky
It must be so heartpain for you, somemore your boy is stil so young. Make sure he drinks enough water k so that he wont be dehydrated...

Re: IFC
y not for mummies who send the kids to IFC just prepare more bottles + teats that are enough for a day feed to IFC? ie if your baby tends to have 5 or 6 feeds per day, just prepare 6 bottles + 6 teats at the IFC and then bring them home and cleanse them ourselves? would be safer..
It's really no joke if the baby takes sth unhygienic..

<font color="0000ff">Caroline,

Sterilise at work
You may use sterilise tablet.. just wash ur pump &amp; bottle as per normal, then soak them into the water wif the tablet! This water can be reused... so dun nid to throw away after each soak!

duration/session of expressing
My working hour same as yours, but I intend to express at 7am b4 I go work, then 11.30am b4 lunch at 1pm, then 3.30pm/4pm again b4 go home. Hence, will be twice at work!

Tinkle

Re: expressing at work
I express twice at work (about 11am and 4pm).. in the morning i empty the Bs at 7.30am (BB is latching on 7am)..

As for sterilising, i didnt do any sterilising of pump at work, just make sure i wash them thoroughly and use hot water to rinse and keep them in a well-capped container.. so far so good.. i dun bring the pump home, so no sterilisation at all.. but the hot water i use to rinse is really very hot!

Hi Porky,
Its inevitable that kids fall sick when they go to childcare and infant care. My #1 who was BF until 11mths never really fall sick when she was home. Now that we sends her to cc, she is sick almost every alt week. Really must help them build up the immunity. Think antibodies in BM also cannot help my #1 although she is on 80% BM. However, thank goodness that #2 is still ok.

Re: Expressing at work
I bought a travel size steriliser to sterilise the pump parts in office. Bottles will be sterilised at home, screwed tight and brought to office with my FTG.

Re: Smiling baby
Really love looking at my #2!! She is forever so smiley! Whenever we call her name, say Good afternoon/ Nite/ Morning to her...she will smile and coo back!! So cute!

Plus she takes on bottle very well nowadays! She is also drinking a lot more. Pooing less times per day (but more each time!)

Good news..she can sleep through from 12 to 7am liaoz!! Most of the time, its the mummy who wakes her up for milk in the morning..Yippie.

tinkles, I haven't return, but thinking of getting a travel sterlizer or use microwave sterilization. If I get travel sterlizer, can use next time when out.

Question to mummies
- which travel sterlizer is good
- how to sterlize using microwave?
- use soap to clean when in office? Pai sei take up so much time
- for those that pump twice, how much can u pump per time? I can only do max 180ml per pump (15 mins) n my boy drinks 150ml per feed x 4 day feed.... Strangely, when I latch him, he has sufficient. So I may need to pump more times.
- do u buy many bottles n store in bottles directly or store in storage bag n transfer when home
- any bottles to recommend w use of medela pis n bpa free? I'm using 6 medela bottles now....

i also use v hot water to sterilise in office. i pump twice a day - 11+ and 3+. my office has those industrial type of hot water dispenser. so i just place all my washed (bring own baby soap and sponge) pump and bottles into lock and lock container and place hot water in it. then just secured it. until next pumping session, then pour away the water.
after pumping, i pour bm into milkbags. easier to bring back home. i store all bm into my fridge to go and put into my office fridge. more to double protection.

muffintop,
i pump at 6am before i prepare for work. that session can yield more.. ard 400-450ml. then in office, ard 300-350ml. then ard 7pm, i pump again. latch my girl to slp ard 9+pm. she will struggle ard dawn time 4+am, so i just latch her..

Hi muffintop,
I pump straight into medela bottles and hence bring them home directly using fridge to go. I m using the 260ml bottles. So i will have 4 bottles in my fridge to go.

At home, i have more bottles. Using bottles to store is more economical in the long run. Storage bags are strictly meant for freezing for me.

I am currently using the fridge to go. They have a new model where the ice panels can be removed. Buy the type that has a carrier strap for convenience. Especially if u need to carry the baby.

Travel steriliser: Pigeon one is good. Less than $50. Downside: can only sterilise the pump parts at one go. No space to put in the bottles.

Soap to clean: If you really have no time, just rinse and sterilise. Wash after u finish ur last pump.

poohwei,

u saw?? whhahaa... i dont intend to tell my hb this until the big blocks arrives.. whahhaa.. let him have the shock of his life.. but think he is ok with it because he has lego collection as well.. whahhaa..

i bought beco carrier as well. i bought new work bag, diaper clutch, nursing cover.. zzzz....

mummies using avent manual pump,
i'm going to buy the spare parts at philips. if anyone need me to buy as well, please sms me b4 4pm

poohwei, heard abt the removable panel one. did u buy it from bp? think the bp gone liaoz. i have a old moddel ftg and it doesn't keep my water chilled for more than 4 hours. so considering coleman cos i saw my sis carry to picnic and the ice hardly melted after 4 hours.

shers, i was wondering how to store my milk in office fridge without letting my colleagues see. heehee, kindly embarass, my office more male.

muffintop - regarding your FTG, I also encounter the same problem, so I contacted the FTG and the staff told me that its because the FTG is not filled up completely so thats why it can stay chilled. So the way to get around this is to buy chilling panels and fill up the FTG if not in use (as in if you are outside and not putting the FTG in freezer)

So far, I bought the chilling panels and tried this method and my FTG stay chilled for more than 10hrs outside

hi mummies!!! hw have u ladies been? tough motherhood eh? but i'm sure its enjoyable..

porky- hope tt ur son has recovered le.. sure super heart pain de...

Hi muffintop,
So far, my FTG is ok leh. Maybe like what Vera said, mine is usually full. Mine is the old model. But you need to check, some FTG can only keep cool for 6 hours. Some 12 hours.

Hi Shers,
Of course! I was strolling down the page to place my order and i spotted u! Hahaha! It will be my gal's 2 YO birthday gift! I am also waiting for my new working bag! Hahaha..But instead of buying nursing covers, i am making them. Still exploring.

Thanks Mummies for your advice.

Joyce, after soaking, no need to wash again before next pump? i.e. just remove from soaking container and use it straight?

re: FTG
mine is the new one, sold under pigeon brand, wif removable panels. as advised by FTG staff, i filled up the bag, and the cold lasted from 6am - 7/8pm

bbmay, i tried to put pacifier near my nipple but he does not wan to suck and continue to cry...then his mouth searching for my nipples like dat...so i give in then he will stop crying...must latch until he fall asleep then he wont feel the pain...he is such a small baby but have to go thru this pain...imagine bb skin so smooth and thin...now po(4) pi(2), the feeling is so bad...we are adults also cant take the pain sometimes...

i agree that PD is still the best person to advise...cos is sun and PH, PD no open...only can go to GP...aft see the GP, i feel is waste money de loh...shd have go to kk earlier so he wont feel so much pain...cos kk give the numb gel for me apply on his anus so he wont feel so much pain when i wash him...

rc_cola, i put 3 bottles there...shd be enough for his feed from 9am till 6pm...but such thing still happen...i wonder did they give the wrong milk bottles to jaeden...when i take care of him myself, he does not have so much sickness...now my hb is considering to withdraw from this ifc...2 days already still never reply my email...

adelyee, long time no see...motherhood is indeed enjoyable if our little ones is feel from pain...

now i very scare to put him back to ifc...has apply for another 2 days CCL to take care of him myself...hopes he fully recover then i put back...

bbmay, sorry i forget to answer ur question "By the way, how do you all tell that baby has diarrhaoe? I thought their poos are supposed to be watery? "

on fri night, i notice he poo very watery and the colour is not the same as usual...then i change him, he poo again...almost 3times in an hr...i feel very strange loh....then after tat he cry for milk...i feed him then half way he poo alot watery again...so i suspect is diarrhoe liao...cos cant be pooing so many times mah...usually he poo 2-3times per day...but not within an hr...i used up 40 diapers in 2 days...

Jean,

40 diapers in 2 days! That's a lot!

BTW, I'm suffering from stomuch upset since this afternoon after lunch! I guess it's the lime juice that cause me going in &amp; out of toilet 4 times with watery poo... I pumped out my milk at 10.30pm b4 taking some chinese diarrhea medicine which I'm not sure suitable for bfg.. hence, just now, bb was on ebm.. &amp; next one maybe.. till tmr morning!

ya true leh...very scary right 40 diapers in 2 days...lucky ntuc got promotion for ntuc brand diapers...cheap loh so i buy to stock up...

aiyo...wat u hv for lunch ? i cant tak lime juice sometimes...easy to get stomach upset...usually i take poh chi wan can stop diarrhea leh..but dunno can take or not if bf...

i ask u ah...these few days my bb latch right...how come i no milk ? means the milk stop already wont produce again right ? hahaha stupid question...

porky,
u left 3 bottles there only?? from 9am till 6pm only 3 feeds? maybe u shld leave 1 or 2 bottles more so that IFC wldnt have chance to re-use unsterilised bottles. will it because the pacificer is not sterilised?

ibite is right.. maybe drop another email to them saying if u dont receive any response within 24hrs, u will seek advice from MCYS instead.

porky, my gf who stopped bfg for ard 3-4 mths still have some leakage of milk at times.. whahhaa.. u can try to let yr boy continue to latch.. maybe milk will come back?!

porky, jaedon's diarrhoae stop liaoz right? now anus pain pain? poor bb.

remember to put nipple cream since it hurts when he suckle. scarly with the stimulation really can revive the milk supply.

shers, my boy also around 3 feeds from 9-6. once at 9+, once 1+, once 4+ and once 6 plus, so possible 3 feeds. how often is ur ger's feed?

Porky

3 bottles only? I dun think it's enough ler.. like what shers said you might wanna put extra 1 or 2 plus 1 or 2 teats as well.
Hm.. I can feel for you, diarrehoe for such a young baby is very pitiful ler.. can find any alternative so that you dun put him in ifc again? or maybe change ifc? imho, it might solve the prob ler, coz your boy is still so young.. a mere 3 mths old baby!
Poor boy!!!

I still can squeeze out milk 1 yr after i stop bf my #1 ler so i think should have milk stil, just get your boy to continue latching.. milk should come back

Muffin
Your boy also on 3 feeds per day? hm.. strange.. my boy is like 10+ 12+ 2+ 4+ then 6+, he is on 2 hourly basis sometimes less than 2 hours already cried for milk.. I prefer him to drink more during the day then at nite will zz all the way from 10 to 6.. if he is not drinking much during the day, the tendency of him waking up at nite is higher..

muffintop,
i think if put bb at IFC, better to put more bottles because sometimes they can get cranky, then teachers might just feed again? sometimes they poo more than usual then will get hungry again lor.. so no necessary follow the timing 3hourly..
my girl needs to be fed every 2-2.5hr.. but she drinks only 4oz..

jean, gosh, 40 diapers in 2 days!!

re: number of feeds
my bb is on 4 hourly feed -- each feed is abt 150ml-180ml... so she will need max 3 bottles @ IFC -- 10am, 2pm, 6pm(i plan to latch her on if i can get off work on time at 5.30pm)...

rc_cola n shers, very siong to be on 2 hourly feed! sometimes my bb will get cranky n takes 1 hour to feed!

re: sleep thru
after last feed at 8-9pm, my bb next feed will be next morning at 7am. But she will wake up at nite when her tutu drops -- 4am for sure she will wake up! is there a way to make her sleep thru?

muffin,
my gal also took 3 feeds a day @ IFC. initially i put 4/5 bottles, but always have to bring leftover ebm home. so now, i jus stick to 3

adv_sports,
yr girl is on 4hr feed?? so good.. my mum and me have been trying to drag her feeds to 3hrs.. but cannot le.. she will be sucking her fingers after 2hrs.. even if we tried to play with her, her tongue will be stucking out.. so no choice lor.. feed her.. but she is easily fed.. can finish her 4oz less than 10mins..
when she poos more than usual, then her feeding will be as close as 1.5hrs.. so depends la.. the timing is just for reference. all depends on the bb and of course whether poos more ornot..

RE: slp thru
8-9pm till 4am is v long liao lor.. u still dont wan to feed her?? whahhaa.. my girl slps from 9+pm till 5+am, i'm v happy already.. whahhaa
anyway u can try to feed her abit of water.. then day by day, she will realise that if she wakes up, she will get water only.. this is what my mum did to shermin when she was young.. cruel la.. but it helps lor.. for shermay, i dont need to do it because i latch her ard 5+am and i pump out to empty my Bs before i prepare myself to work.

Re: Sleep through

Sleeping from 8pm to 4am is very good liao leh. Feed her at 4am lah..hehe.. Now my gal also will sleep from 10am to 5am,then I feed her at 5am. Next feed will be daytime liao.
Waking up once per night is better than last time mah.. I am used to this schedule liao.

now my boy's feeding pattern is like this
730am latch
9+ Bottle 150ml
12+ to 1 bottle 150ml
3 + to 4 bottle 150ml
6 + 150ml
8 + 9 latch
11 latch

sleeps from 11 to 7. he is ok with 4 hrs feed during day time but im worried he doesn't have enough to drink, so always make it a point to get him fed in after 3 hours when he is awake.

gg back to work in one more week's time (extended my ML), kinda excited, but also sad to leave him at home. my mum sure too busy to take care of my boy (got another niece to take care), so she might just feed him only when he is really hungry and cry for milk.

how u mummies get ur bbs to sleep so early at 8? my boy simply refuse to sleep despite wiping him, reading to him, play music. he will struggle the moment he knows he is gg to cot or when we walk away. but at his 11pm feed, he will naturally knockout. trying to make him sleep earlier and wake up earlier for milk so that i can get ready for work..

Hi Porky,

I got teary eyes when I read your description of your boy's condition (though I never meet you in person before)! It must be so worried and heartpain for you! Hope Jaeden recover soon!

It is very bad for the IFC not replying to you after 2 days!! You can feedback to MCYS regarding this.. So irresponsible. Even if it is not due to IFC, at least they should reply that they will investigate the case..

Re: Sleeping through
My boy sleeps from 9pm - 3,4am also. We also feed him at 4am because if he is hungry, cannot strectch further even with pacifier, he will still cry. I can't bear to feed him water instead leh.. Like what ibite said, one midnight feed is quite ok le, compared to 3,4 times newborn that time.

before i went back to work, i expected to be very tired and sleepy in office and dread the work..but after 3 days, its not so bad after all.

in the day, i am like my old self. after work , i spend quality time with the baby,so to me its a good balance.

my mum who taking care of my baby, manage to stretch his feeding to 4 hourly - ard 160-170ml

but have not been very successful in latching for the last feed coz baby dont seem hungry. he seems to know its the start of bed time.
even the bottle he take his own sweet time to finish coz i want to start his bedtime routine at 10pm.

but i will stil latch the feed at 4am, and if possible before i go work if he is awake, if not will pump.

however, i cant seem to pump and replace the same amt in office. just b4 i started work, my supply was quite gd manage to create the feeds for my first day of work without using my storage in fridge.

but since i started work, my pump in office is not yielding the amt i expect, and its super cold in the room i am pumping. even with jacket, warm drink etc. i dont know whether its the work or the temperature or time constraint, sigh. is this expected for recently returning to work mum who are pumping in office? a dip on the first few days of work.

anybody has brand new or lightly used pigeon rapid steriliser to let go? i need to get an extra 1 at home when i go home on weekends.. its v tiring to bring the steriliser to and fro.