(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hey mums, nice outing. After you ladies left, i had a super eventful rest of evening!!

i wanted to nurse him before driving back from vivo. So i went to the nursing room and locked the door from inside. a couple was outside and wanted to come in. when they found the door locked, they kept banging on the door. I told them i am nursing and if they can find another room. dunno whether they heard, but they repeatedly bang the door. think got 5 mins. then to my horror, they actually tried to unlock the door. dunno what they used, but after many mins of trying, they managed to turn the lock from outside. When they opened the door, (and I heard the husband's voice), i told them I am feeding. Then they closed and mummur somethings in chinese and left.. super pissed.

think i was very disturbed, so quickly finish nursing and bring bb raphael out. then i see that the time very late, might as well pick my husband at 7 at shenton way. so drove there and there was a bad jam. when i was 5 misn from shenton way, my boy cried very badly.. and when my husband came and took over the wheels, i found that bb shit all over and flooded his pants.. poor thing, cry until fall asleep in my arms.

and it was still traffic jam.. in the end, we drove to suntec cos i remember Joyce said there is a nursing room there. Went there to change him, and fed him (2 hours since last fed) and decided to settle dinner at suntec... i am only home now!!!

eventful...first outing

muffintop, wow!!! u must have a horrible shock for that attempting opening of door and shitting.. poor bb raphael must be crying so hard that he fall aslp..

my girl also didnt poo outside.. till the moment we reached home, she pooed 4 times!!! and she is soundly aslp in her rocker.. havent bring her to bed yet..

btw, i didnt get to eat ice-cream!!! because my girl was rather cranky!!! refused to let me sit down!! urgh~~

Too bad I can join today, else can share with you on bfg on the go... Equip with nursing bra, top, sling or shawl. I nurse everywhere!
I had my 1st driving out with the new bb and kids on the new car today, lucky Hui Xin was co-operative and I could drive smoothly.

Muffintop,
If I were you, I will stopped the car in car park, change bb and bfg her in the car, instead of looking for nursing rooms!

long time no post.....i am on my own at home with bb on daytime....

everything so far ok....except
1)bb never wan to latch on since day 1...so she is on EBM
2) she drink very slow...ard 45 mins for 80-90ml...read some mummies make the teats holes bigger...is it ok for 6 wk old baby?
3) she have pleglm ....always vomit out the pleglm or milk when bottlefeeding....anyone experience this? wondering whether to bring her to PD or not
4) she hiccup alot ..is it a norm?
5) hubby and i no enough sleep...she wake up once or twice per night...
6) even i at home...no time to do hsework...except use washing machine to wash clothes and hang. hse is in a mess now.
7) i gained ard 23 kg for this 1st pregnancy.....only lost ard 8 kg ...still have 15 kg to go....think need to get all new clothes for working. but where got time to buy. hubby laugh and said my tummy now can compared to his. tot TBF can lost weight...but my current weight is the same weight as i discharged from hospital. is it must latch on then can lose wt...pumping exclusively does not count?
sigh...

Re: Maternity Leave
finally found a infant care..just done e registration on mon....will place her in ard 10 wk. keep her accompany till 12 wk before going bk to work.... left 4 wk in case of anything.

Re: binder
audrey, can help me get one size M?

sorry for such long post.

<font color="ff0099"> 3wkold
hi hope u are feeling better already..

sure i will put ur order in for the binder. take care!</font>

Hi 3wkold,
For my #1, i also pump exclusively but managed to lose all my preg weight. So i think it does not matter.

Re: Sleeping thru the nite
I am soo HAPPY!! My gal has been sleeping thru the nite from 2+ weeks old. She is officially 3 weeks old now.She will have her last milk feed around 11+pm, then we have to coax her to sleep until ard 12+ and she will sleep till around 5am until her next feed. If I latch her on at 12+, she can tahan until 6+am. The only difficulty that i can facing now is to coax her to sleep. =(

This morning, i woke up at 9am w/o pumping for 9 straight hours. My Boobs were so painful until i just dropped everything n pumped immediately...

<font color="ff0099"> tinkles mum
hi yes i got ur msg already! gave the orders to my dad alrdy, he'll be back end of this month. when he confirms his flight, i'll post it up here again!!</font>

u girls hv ur 1st outing with bb along.! must be fun and eventful! hope u join u all in the next outing.

audrey, had send u msg last night and this morning regarding the shawl. bt no reply from you. dunno u got my msg anot.. my 2 kids are sick these few days.. too bz and forget abt the shawl. sry. u can call or msg me then we arrange the collection.. sry for the trouble...

Tinkles mum > In fact I was already been told/pre-warned about being careful with this colleague by my immediate boss/superior. Maybe to me some info I reckon not useful if released to her but very very important pc of info to her so in this regards I let down my guard. Was quite fedup cos think I got tonnes of work to do or explain or even listen to lectures.

Rc Cola / Porky > I din bring my gal to any PD/GP. only the nurse at polyclinic told me that it's ok so long she's gaining weight but din comment much on normal or not. Comparing to to mummies' and my friends'/colleague's bb, reckon Charlene is not putting on "sufficient" weight.

Thanks Audrey for coordinating this - I can pick up from you and see Baby Andrea at the same time.. hee hee!

SK: Don't fret. Deal with her when you get back to work. Since your immediate boss has warned you beforehand, means he/she also know what kind of person she is!

Wow, first outing with baby out yesterday must be fun. Anyone who is on EBM or FM yesterday? I have not bring baby out (except to the PD) yet. What do I need to bring if my boy in on either EBM or FM? I would like to bring Ming Yang to join you all for the next outing, but not sure how.

babymay, u don latch ur bb? if ur bb is on fm, will need to bring more stuffs out. like thermal flask for hot water, water bottle (can get from food stall but normally i'll bring my own.) and feeding bottles. with these things, it's gonna be quite heavy..

Tinkles_Mum > She has already got the good books from those directors. Worse, she got the upper hand already. I dislike politics..sigh. Cant help not to brood about it. My superior knew about it but not very much useful cos she's only a senior manager. Those directors are the kids of the MD. The MD is kind but his kids dun really listen to him. Those directors are mainly in-charging of company rules. Can only play by year and exercise caution. Pray at same time the directors can hear my side of story. Thanks for sharing with me.

Outing,
Audrey, thks for organising the outing!

Sorry for leaving early, I thought my MIL needs to go home cook dinner le, On the way home then only I know she is actually enjoying herself @ pageone bookstore... aiyo..
When I reached home, bathed bb and she knocked out liao... yesterday she slept 5 hrs thru... I'm so surprise!

muffintop,
Yesterday u and baby must be very very tired...

today went out with BB again. I think I'm the one feeling ultra exhausted,,, celebrating father's day with hubby for morning breakfast @ IMM then lunch with FIL @ jack's place. But during lunch, I guess bb already very tired, so she keeps crying and crying,, haiz...

Re: Outing

I bought jayden out hmmm when he havent even reach one month.. but most of the time is with my hubby. Last week i brought him out alone go shopping at orchard to get my hubby's birthday present he slept all the way. Then half way throught my fren came to meet me.

hello mummies...
wow so exciting there's alrdy 1 outing with the babies...hope i can join in the next one.
Porky, I also dun drive prob next time we can meet up n go together

Audrey, I'm also interested in the binder. 1 S size for me pls..Thanks

Xue, my baby will bite after I introduce the bottle. I tried latching again (quite some time after my last latch) after my nipple recover but he will cry when I tried to latch. So, my baby is now on fully EBM and supplement with FM, if not enough.

<font color="ff0099"> binders
ok i collated all the orders already!!! if anymore pls email me direct ok and i think i will ask my dad to bring in abit more than we ordered.

lets have another outing soooon!!

baby_may,
u can ask lily, she was well prepared with rachel yesterday hehe. she could sling rachel in one arm, and prepare her milk (pouring hot water, milk powder, capping the botttle) all with one hand hahahaah</font>

SK
I think in this case, for the peace of mind, you may want to bring bb to PD for assessment.. I always bring my kids for the regular assessment, so that I can hear professional comments from PD, but for jabs, can do at poly or nearby clinic, doesnt matter..

Poohwei
Lucky you! you baby actually sleep thru
good girl!

Tinkle
It doesnt matter if it is latch on or expressing.. as long as yr body is producing milk, more calories will be burned and result in slimmer figures haha (for my case lar hahaha)

3wkold,
Jia Yio! u can do it..

Today i went out with bb, coz hubby will be flying off abroad for 2 wks.. bb is okay, not cranky, i can have peaceful lunch

Audrey, Ok, I will check with Lily, thanks. Seems like most of you latch the baby directly. Good for all of you, more convenient.

Wonder whether bringing EBM or FM out is easier. I need to get a flask for the hot water. Anyone has any recommendation on a good flask (yeah, I don't have a flask yet - very ill-prepared to bring baby out)

wah, lily can really manage her gal leh.. so far, i still need another person to help me with the milk thingy if i have to carry baby.. one hand cant handle! pei fu pei fu!

Hi yuki, I brought my baby to the PD for check up on his 6th day. His 2nd check up was when I bring him to the PD for Hep B injection when he is about 1 month old. The next appointment with the PD is when he is about 3 month old when I bring him for the 5-in-1 injection. I suppose the check up will be done when we bring our baby for immunisation. I think there is no need for check up in between unless the baby is sick.

baby may
Yup can still pump and feed

I think bring FM out better, coz it's too troublesome to maintain the EBM temperature, etc.. fm is easier

Ling

Bring EBM:
Need cooler bag to keep ebm cold
Thermos for hot water
Cup to warm up the ebm with hot water..

I find it too troublesome, especially if the ebm gets spoilt due to changing temperature

rc_cola, thanks. Will bring FM out then.

Ling, think need cooler bag when bringing EBM out. Wonder if the cooler bag that come with the PISA is enough.

List of items to bring for FM

1) Hot water flask

2) Bottle

3) Teat

4) Milk Powder

Anything I missed out? I have the above except for the flask, so going to get one from one of the BPs. Is there anything that I need to get before I can bring my baby out?

rc cola,
oic.. need a cooler bag.. ya quite troublesome.. bring fm easier..

btw, how can we determine if the ebm spoilt? based on smell?

One more qn: if express the bm n leave in room temp for half hr.. then warm the milk to give bb drink is ok? or dun need warm?

Ling, actually don't need to warm if the milk is kept in room temperature. But can warm abit as most people believe that drinking warm milk is more comfortable for the baby.

Ling

I also dunno how to determine if ebm is spoilt, but i am just worried that it may spoil.. so FM is safer haha!

No need to warm up if you dun put inside the fridge..

Baby May,
Put in a clean ziplock bag will do
that is what i always do..

Re: bring FM
My tips:
pay attention to feeding time and preparation time.. ie 2 hour interval - put the hot water (according to feeding amount - 120 ml) direct into the bottle..
if feeding time and preparation time is 30 mins interval, fill up the bottle with lukewarm water..

when bb is hungry, just pour the milk powder into the bottle.. done! no need flask etc ;)

Ling,

so if baby is drinking 120ml, then put 90ml normal temp water in the milk bottle. Mix with 30ml hot water when baby want to drink? But if we bring the hot flask out, it won't be as hot as those from our home, right? So I have to put more hot water and less normal temp water?

wow, sounds like hot mummies had a good outing yesterday
wah, the nursing rm must be busy with so many mummies BFg...

lily, must learn from u how to make FM with one hand!

muffintop, wah, sounds like an eventful nite! yah, like joyce suggests, next time can try BF in the car... i did that in carpark or while hubby driving..

poohwei, so good that ur gal can sleep thru!

babymay, i m using zojirushi 1L flask -- hubby got it from OG.

adv_sports, is the flask good?

Muffintop, wow, I will be very kan chiong if I am in your shoes. I think you handle it very well for the first time out alone with baby.

baby may, rc cola,
thanks.. now got clearer pic on the room temp ebm.
easier to pump n let bb drink instantly rather than warm the cold ebm.. take time..

Ling

I also dunno how to determine if ebm is spoilt, but i am just worried that it may spoil.. so FM is safer haha!

No need to warm up if you dun put inside the fridge..

Baby May,
Put in a clean ziplock bag will do
that is what i always do..

Re: bring FM
My tips:
pay attention to feeding time and preparation time.. ie 2 hour interval - put the hot water (according to feeding amount - 120 ml) direct into the bottle..
if feeding time and preparation time is 30 mins interval, fill up the bottle with lukewarm water..

when bb is hungry, just pour the milk powder into the bottle.. done! no need flask etc ;)

rc_cola, wow, alot of agaration for the warm water for FM. I think all these come with experience. Will try at home and see how it turn out.

Thanks, will buy ziplock bags also. The ziplock bag have to be thrown away after each use or can be re-use?

Hi Ling, but a bit stressed to try to catch baby's feeding time. I tried to catch baby's feeding time previously and tried to pump about 1 hr before his feeding, but find it too stressed as he will sometimes wake up earlier and my milk will not be ready. So I will now pump and put in fridge. Then warm up for him when he wants milk.

baby may,
ya.. sometimes if timing not zun.. then headache.. it depend on my pumping time oso la.. if can coincide with his feeding time, then i pump n let him drink else hv to warm milk..

<font color="ff0099"> rc_cola
it was fun cos everyone latching, feeding ebm / fm haha all around the same time hahaha.

den share nursing shawl hahaha.

i think feb_mum brought ebm out, can ask her. can see the diff between 1st time mums n 2nd time mums hahahaha

lily super steady yesterday. even in the taxi everything she do with one hand haha.

lily u steady la!!

swensens at vivo was nice, we can all go out again. july? hehe</font>