(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

audrey: my massage lady also told me must let womb rest or else womb drop out!! lol!! imagine u go shoping halfway then womb drop out!! siao one!!

my girl is 3 wks old. nt much chance of her slping for more than 4 hrs without waking up i guess. anyway, hw do we knw hw much bb is supposed to drink at wat age? like nw she is 3 wks old, hw much milk is she supposed to drink and hw many hourly interval??

<font color="ff0099"> rc_cola
haha my papsmear not painful just funny feeling hahah!!

i don't want another baby so soon.. i want to watch andrea grow up first haha.

jamie:
yah my gynae say will drop out hahahahah yah if we go shopping den drop out i will faint hahaha. but she said old age den will drop out hahaha. so ask me to squeeze my butt muscles 100 times a day hahaha.

and i dunno how much my girl drinks, just demand feed. i think tbf no interval one la. hahaha

andrea now every 2 hrs or 1.5 hrs want to latch.. in the day time she's like that.. but at nite she sleeps thru..

audrey; u shiok la, she slps thru cuz she tired out from morning ah.. mine seems to slp when she feel like it. hw many wks andrea nw huh? i gt feed her ebm also bt i dunno hw much to give her lei.

<font color="ff0099"> jamie
yah she slps thru cos she's tired out from the whole day.. she can wake up at 8am and den don't slp.. her total nap time in the day is less than 3 hours hahaha so at nite she KNOCK OUT! but day time VERY tiring haha

andrea will be 7 weeks this friday..

ebm i dunno, u must ask the ebm mummies!!</font>

pigmohippo,
i really like the kiddopotamus swaddle, got it from amazon. but u can find it @ isetan, robinsons and many other baby shops too. once u swaddle, it won't get undone and u can do it quickly too.

re mittens:
i have been consciously putting on mittens for my girl coz she got alot of hair and she has been pulling her hair and screaming in pain w/o realising it. she pulls quite hard too, so i put mittens on for her.

audrey,
hey, my baby fingers not smelly coz i make sure i wash all her fingers properly during her bath...but all these wks till a few days ago, i didn't bother to wash in between her toes. guess what? she got 'toe jam' ! gosh, i didn't realise babies also can get smelly toes like adults..but not easy to clean her toes lah, the toe jam all stuck with the fibres from her socks!

joyce,
1.5kg weight gain is excellent! good job!

re: exercise
my gynae said i can exercise already. i am thinking of joining a yoga class. but i guess with 8kg to lose, i really have a LONG way to go!

really envy those mummies who have regained their pre-preggy weight...b-feeding has no weight loss effect on me! infact, its causing me to gain weight! sighs...

<font color="ff0099"> cheekz
andrea has those fibre thingy in between her fingers haha i like to peel them out!! lol</font>

My boy also has the fibre thingy between his fingers (skin peeling). I also like to peel them out, but only when he is sleeping cause I don't know whether it is painful for him or not.

<font color="ff0099"> baby may
i peel when she is drinking milk haha. im quite violent but she doesnt struggle so ok lor hhaha but im not gentle haha</font>

re: peeling btw fingers &amp; toes
not painful else my gal will cry in her sleep. maybe is bcos i "roll" the peeling off?
her toes so tight together. how to clean in-between huh?

re: swaddling
my gal dun like to be swaddled but she keeps getting startled in her sleep. dunno wat to do. can only comfort latch to ease her back to sleep.

re: bb weight gain
2nd DA @ poly confirm my gal put on 1.6kg in 5 wks. is it too much? or too little?

re : fingers and toes
i always apply moisturiser for my boy's fingers and toes before i put on mittens and booties for him...today just trim his toe nails and finger nails...else he will scratch me all over when i bathe him...

re : swaddling
my boy also dont like his hands being bundle up...he will struggle to get his hands out then he happy liao...he will also get startled when hear some noise or ppl walk past...then i will put my palm on his chest...is it very common for bb to get startled in their sleep ?

<font color="ff0099"> babiesmeme
hi, i think there are 2 different types, there is the $109 one, it is blue in colour. there is the $139 one, it is orange n blue. the difference is the 139 one can recline fully, but not for the 109 one.

i'm not sure if the 109 one has music, i forgot to check with kiddy palace.

the prices are discounted at kiddy palace. i'm thinking of getting the one with music..

My hubby just hinted that he did not mind a #4 if my next one #3 is a gal...Faintz..Especially when he commented that childbirth was so easy for me (Which is true)..But it is the upbringing that is difficult.

hihi everybody... been busy with 2 kids and maid problem... never ending... super sian..

anyway just wan to greet everybody and hope everybody is fine!!!

shers, hope u are fine....

i only super sian with mil problems...haha...other than that i am happy to see my boy smiling at me

Hi Shers,

I can understand how busy u r when we talk abt a baby and a toddler undergoing terrible 2!! So glad to have some peace in the day when my #1 goes to childcare! When she was at home last week(she was sick), i practically had no rest cos i had to entertain #1 and latch #2. Plus i was down with high fever due to blocked ducts. (Think my blocked ducts have not cleared leh tho i do not have flu like symptoms already).

Jia you! I know we can handle it. Now i am trying to put both #1 and #2 to sleep on my own. Succeeded today without the help of my CL.

Trick: Make #2 sleep first, then #1, then pump, then feed #2 again.

Then i also told my mum off. She and my CL will chit chat and keep telling me that my maid will seduce my hubby one day and ask me to take extra notice of them! She says it happens everywhere, even to the most loyal man!!She keeps repeating it so often, before my delivery, after my delivery until it gets on my nerve. When i asked my hubby to bring maid to the market, also kena scolding! Told me that the maid and my hubby cannot be together alone. So ended up, she volunteered to go market with my maid.

Although my maid dun give me any problem now, they will keep telling me this and that!! Tell me cannot let maid keep long hair, cos that makes them look more pretty, etc. Dunno whether they are trying to make me develop post-natal stress.

Thank goodness No MIL problem cos she only pop by once a week.

Today my conf lady left. Released out of "jail"! First thing was we chion to shopping w the baby at Isetan. How I miss out on the GSS!! Still can't buy clothes/shoes cos weight is still unstable. I still have ~ 5 kg to lose. Wish to do some yoga at home to tone my body.

During motherhood exh, saw some exersaucers so tempted to buy. I put my bb in the Bumbo seat and he can sit there for 10 min (with me supporting his head partially) then will shout to come out. His expression is v cute.

re: Mittens/Swaddling
After conf lady went, we dispensed away with mittens. But may need to put on during day time cos he kept scratching himself. Swaddling - never swaddle him since discharge from hospital cos weather too hot.

Hi all, this morning I woke up with very bad engorgement. Unable to clear the ducts despite using hot water and massage. Going down to TMC parentcraft later to try to clear the ducts. Also see the lactation specialist on my swollen nipples... hope all the probs will get cleared up asap so I can get back to establishing some routine.

Morning mummies..
Just finish pumping..

Shers
You will get used to handling both kids at the same time..

My girl is now very receptive towards her bro, if her bro is crying, she will sing song for him or shake the bouncer like what we usually do...

If crying too loud, she will ask me to carry him hahaa!!

Audrey
Last nite, i kept smelling the sng sng fingers haha!!

Hi Mummies..

For those babies with peeling fingers and toes due to mittens can try using those mittens and booties with holes.. it allows circulation and still prevent baby from scratching himself / herself.. it works for my girl...hope it helps..

porky,
seems most bbs get startled easily in their sleep, shld be quite common bah

cheekz,
thanks! i'll ask PD next wk to confirm again

Good Morning,

Caroline
All the best to u!

Iwg
congrate! I think Excersaucer is better than walker, but to buy now is a bit too early..I'm thinking to wait till bb is 5mths to get one.

bumbo is suitable when bb is abt 3mths, then their neck &amp; back is stronger to hold themselves!

I have 1 Similac infant formula (900g), not opened yet. Just bought on Fri, 12 Jun. Yesterday I just switch to soy milk for my girl as she is having watery stools (have tried soy for her for 1 week, stools better but after switch back to Similac, stools watery again).

Anyone interested? If so, kindly email me at [email protected]. Bought at $39.50. Let go at $35.

Re: Exersaucer vs Walker
I feel that exersaucer is much better than walker. My #1 did not use a walker but used an exersaucer all the time. She started walking properly at 8.5mths.

Re: Bumbo
My #1 is so petite that she can fit into her bumbo even at 13mth old..

Re: Blocked ducts
Can the blocked ducts be near the areola area? cos i can feel some lumps there but not at the other areas. Plus blocked ducts means that that area will appear red?

Re: Blocked ducts
yes. blocked ducts can be near the areola area. Just your fingers to massage &amp; press that area to clear the clogs. I will usually hand express my Bs after pumping to empty the Bs.

Re: Peeling Skin
its normal for newborn's skin to peel. Best to leave them alone, don't attempt to peel them off. Can apply some baby moisturiser/lotion though.

poohwei: i kana blocked ducts at the aerola.. super painful and i gt fever too.. the area also appeared abit red red (slightly outside the aerola).. must massage or else it's v v painful.. i think the aerola blocks are one of the most painful ones.. =/
And ur mama so funny abt the maid. she watch too many local dramas i think. hahhaa!

haloo to all mummies...

I luv bb chow sng smell...hahaha...

re:peeling of toes &amp; fingers
my kaiden also have...even groin area too...dr say more common for 40weeks baby...i apply lotion then better le...

re:mil problems
haiz...my mil &amp; fil dun even bother come c their grandson...so my dad abit pissed like no one come help him take care of grandson...but dad is hapi wif company of grandson...

Thanks Joyce!

Hi mummies, I just came back from TMC after clearing my blocked ducts - very painful man the way they massage!! But ok la, at least they cleared. My blocked ducts were like stems man.

Also, i had block ducts at the aerola too which feels like nipple swollen. I thought that was my prob until I went TMC today.

Anyway the lactation specialist said block ducts are common for mums who expressed

She recommends, for expressing of milk - 10 mins, then massage for a few mins then continue 10 mins.

Hope this helps all mums...

Btw like to ask mummies, is your baby's stool still soft and yellow in colour? My boy's stool has been like this since day 1... I was told it's due to jaundice being flushed out of system, but my massage lady said it's due to my blood and baby's blood type not compatible yet... so I am confused.

Anyway, is his stool normal?

Poohwei,

Check for fever... the last time I got sore red patch on breast and hard lumps below (pain and hot when touch)... my fever shot up to 41 degrees. (I got mastitis) Pls see gp or gynae or lc for this if the lump did not reduce after feeding...

I am now having loculated abscess after my session of mastitis...

Dun wait too long to seek help.

kaiden stool also soft n yellow...

he finally shit today...yesterday whole day no shit...think tio constipation...then he whole day face keng until red red stil nothing...

Hi caroline,
I hope so too...already underwent 2 sessions of aspiration (LA + needle to extract the pus inside breast)... Dr kept asking me whether to use a blade (cut) rather than using needle... so can get all the pus out once and for all...

I dun wannt be cut at the breast... so now still trying the needle...

It's been a long time since I last logged in... Great to hear that all of us are doing well:)

I would really appreciate if you could take a little time out to read this blog...

http://www.ourfeistyprincess.com/

If it's within your means to help this little girl, even if it's a small amount, please do...... She's a survivor and with our help, she will keep on fighting... On behalf of Charmaine, I thank you all:)

Thanks for all the advices on blocked ducts. Can i safely say that if there isn't any fever, i should be quite safe from blocked ducts? Perhaps i should really pay a visit to the LC this week to ease my worry.

melody,
sounds very painful. do u know what could have caused the pus inside the breast? i'm worried it could happen to me too, coz i am very lazy to empty the breast each time and sometimes i delay pumping till bout 5hrs if i am out. i got blocked ducts before and it was so painful!

babiesmeme,
today i went to KP n got see the bouncer also. Got 3 type for FP.

I was looking soft toys with music for my gal
until now cant find like the one i want. Already went to mothercare also.

lily,

u interested to get mothercare vip card? for this mth only, need to spend $150 to qualify, if not haf to spend $300.
i got some stuff today and managed to get the VIP card coz i think its quite a good deal now...buy 4 pieces get 30% off and still can get VIP card!

cheekz,

dun scare urself now...loculated abscess is not very common.

The pus is caused by infectious mastitis. I got mastitis first before it evolved to become abscess. The first course of antibiotics when i got mastitis did not clear the infection and the clog became worst... pus accumulated thus has to be aspirated (suck out)... I guess its the fear of needle poking on the breast and the extracted pus tat was really scary... but I did not want the cut... which I suspect may be messy...

read more about it here lah: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/breast-abscess.html

cheekz,
i have already mothercare vip member card
tx
my gal clothes i bought at mothercare, i like the material soft n comfort for baby skin. Now good deal got disc. Miss to go there n shop. I still have 1 birthday card frm mothercare for my gal not used yet.