(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

can i ask wat goes into ur longan drink?
this morn, i jus got to noe dat mil's recipe got a lot of chinese herbs.
she din use wat i bought...

hi shers,

My mom making my lunch and dinner.
I forbid herbs and alcohol. I dun really advocate chinese confinement diet. But dun mind, ginger, red dates and wolfberries... as long its all natural... She did add in some chinese yellow rice wine thingy... I told her very minimum only... if i can smell or taste... i wont drink...
no essence of chix also...

My boring diet for coming 2 weeks liao:
breakfast: milo + 2 or 3 slice of bread
lunch: mee sua or macaroni soup with vege + fish or pork
dinner: rice + 1 meat/fish + 1 vege + 1 soup

aircon: almost on 70-80% of the time...
shower: every alt day, wash hair once every 2-3 days... wipe my body b4 breastfeed with cold water (faster/else baby kept wailing while waitin)

hope I am not missing out on the "gd nourishment"... I just want to establish milk supply first...

melody,
ur boring diet looks healthy & good enough to me. i have rice + meat + veg + soup every lunch & dinner. meat is either pork or fish. last nite mil fried fish cos she say i dun like steam fish cos nvr finish up. she still dun understand wat i mean when i say full liao, cannot eat anymore.
i ask wat is in my longan drink, she tell me dangshen & bei qi...
wat happen to the red dates, black dates, south dates & dried longan i bought??? argh...

juju,

my mom also tried to feed me dangshen b4...she say to boost energy or qi... but i refuse to take... so she give up after 2 trys...yest, she pour in some martell gordon blu to my soup...(faintz) i pour away the whole pot of soup... why cant they take instruction... always try to slip in this and tat...

melody,
if is my mum, i wun have problems liao. cos my mum noe i die also dun eat.
but when mil is cooking, somehow have to give some face. wat i dun like is, she noe i dun eat, but she will cook alrdy & ask me whether i eat or not. if i dun eat how? later nag the whole house down & make hubby upset?

juju,

my hubby wanted my mil to cook initially, lucky i insisted on my mom cooking... and mil take care of baby...

btw, how was breastfeeding fo u? i am still doubtful on my supply. already 2 wks, but i am still pumping out 50ml... while others r doing 100/300ml liao... stress...tempted to bring baby to gp for weighing... monitor her weight gain... so worried tat I am not feeding her adequately...

Juju,

My longan water is even heatier: dang shen + gou qi zi (wolfberries) + longan + black dates :p

thanks.. i bought bottles that are similar to nipple shape, i told mil to try let bb use that when she fed him ebm..

Hopefully no nipple confusion.

Re; block ducts
as i latch on most of the times, my boy helps me to clear most of the blocked ducts hahaha... when he puked out milk, i can see that the milk is the solidify type.. lumpy lumpy.. that is due to the milk stuck in the ducts hehee..

melody,
my mum working. i can't opt for her to do my confinement.
i'm latching most of the time. only pump when bb takes super long nap & i dun feel like napping. so far, pumped 2x20ml, 1x35ml, 1x25ml, 1x50ml, 1x75ml. bo liao... dat's how few times i pumped...
cos heard from joyce not ideal to pump in 1st mth, should let the supply establish via bb's latching

rc,
problem is i dunno wat else is inside... she only tell me partial info. mil never say things 100% one...
i bought nuk teats for my bottles, heard is shaped similar to nipples. so far, bb can switch from nipple to bottle easily.

melody,
when i itchy to noe bb's weight, i jus stand on my weighing machine alone, then again wif me carrying her. agar agar get her weight to monitor lor

juju,

I sometimes felt bad tat my mom had to cook and deliver to my place 2 times a day (1 junction away, 10 mins walk) ...and yet I complain...she's not really a homely kind of person as well... but its just 2 more weeks... then i think we can go back to normal outside food diet liao rite?

looking forward to my wound healing and baby feeding/waking/pooing stabilizing. I still cannot guess wat is wrong with baby all of the time...

only can fed her when she cries or check for soiled nappy... she got slight rashes on her bum bum liao... and a pimple on her face... think its my sweaty breast... stupid weather to be doing confinement...urg

melody,
eh... i think we can eat outside food, but jus be careful wat we eat still. cos 40 days for the food restriction, from wat i heard.
how i wish my stitch heal completely, then i can be realli mobile liao. PLUS, stupid lochia to finish up!

when bb cry, we rotate the solutions - offer nipple, chk diaper, make some formula (if between 11.30pm & 8am, cos BM supply low). all fails, i will let her comfort suck & rock her to sleep. been working for the last few nites, hope it lasts. less tiring for us...

rc_cola,

wat bottle is tat? mine all avent stuff leh... the teats are really quite hard as compared to the nipple...

juju,

think my baby feeding hrs haywire liao... sometimes 2 hrs interval, sometimes 4-5 hr also never wake up for milk...think because i supplement ebm at times when she cries right after a feed via breast.

Juju
dun worry, u can ask most elderlies, they know how to boil the longan drink..

I bought the tommy tippee bottles.. so far bb dunno how to suck the bottle yet!! the ebm that he took (so far he only fed by bottle twice) was fed by the hospital teats ;p

Dun think too much of the volume, just latch on more, supply will be more. As i only latch on one side, the other side tends to also engorge. so i latch one side, pump one side. 2 hours interval, 1 breast can get 70-80ml.. if 4 or 5 hours interval, 1 breast can get 100ml..

melody,
adv posted a BM chart few days back... about the contents of breast milk. sometimes will last more hours than certain feeds. i feel daytime feeds can last them longer.
but my gal these 2 days only feed 5-10 mins each time, so she could only sleep about 1 or 1 hour plus before waking up hungry.

rc,
i have a longan drink recipe. but mil dun follow & make me this diff one. i worry about the stuff i have to throw away later cos she dun use them.

rc/ melody,
i bought NUK teats for my gal. so far, working ok

juju,

I did tat too - weighing myself and w her... but so far her weight is still around 3.4... she was born @ 3.2kg...

realise that ur girl is born on 7 May... mine is 8 May baby...

Just wondering how much is our baby suckling the milk out from us? Pumping will get to know how much we would have from per pump but no way to monitor how much milk can we produce each day hor?

Just pump once after lunch and it's miserably 35ml only. Occasionally I get my milk dripping uncontrollably too. Im losing patiently on the monitoring soon....seem so hard to monitor my own body. Sigh.

Melody > where did you get ya fenugreek? How much also?

Hi:
Longan water:
dried longan + red dates + ginger

Confinement food:
BF: Bread + coffee
Lunch/dinner: rice + steam fish with rice wine & ginger/stir fry pork with ginger & sesemi oil + lots of veg + herbal soup/today got chicken in rice wine
Supper/tea break: milo + cereal + bread

Teat:
Bought NUK teat which is much better than Avent, #2 was using till now, no prob in switching btw teat & bfg. Anyway, have not introduce bottle to my bb girl yet!

Caps:
I saw at TMC today 3 for $3, Mt A pharmacy also have!

Hi mummies, I need help on breastfeeding.. My baby can't seem to latch on well, she is a greedy gal and needs to drink v fast. I tried latching her at the hosp but she kept crying and crying, can't latch her on for long, cos I csec not much milk supply so I supplemented with FM. Now it's her 10th day, I'd been pumping out BM and supplementing with FM. I dun dare to latch her on cos I think I developed phobia when I was at the hosp, bb keeps crying and crying, making me v stressed and I broke down. My milk supply via pumping is not much also cos I was lazy in pumping initially (only pump twice a day, only these 2 days I pump every 3 hrs, except at night), each pump session is about 50-70ml after pumping both breasts for 30-45mins. The most I managed to pump is this morn 100ml. I started on fenugreek (2 caps per day) but milk supply increasingly v slowly. I tried latching her on again but I think I cant seem to get the correct position and she cries and cries, which now resulted in wind in her stomach and she regurgitates her milk.

I feel so upset and helpless seeing her so uncomfortable and everyone keeps telling me to just give FM but I dun wanna give up.

Can experienced mummies give advice on..
1) Increasing milk supply
2) How can I latch BB on properly (should I consult a lactation consultant) and how long should I latch if I managed to do so (I tried to latch her on today and she stayed at my breast for some time, not sucking much after a few sucks and when I unlatch her, she cries again)?

tiny m,

me having similar problem, but ur pump results better than mine...
@ my 14th day:
When feel very engorged, using dual electric pump 2x a day, each time is 50-60ml only. rest of the time I latch. latching is painful...my girl seems to suck quite hard.

My girl latch each breast for 7-10 mins, expel out and cry for suckle again in barely 5-10 mins close eye time... comfort sucking... i am her pacifier. so if she's just been fed... I cant carry her again until next feeding time... she will wail and struggle non-stop until breast given again...

melody,
at least urs dun look for u when u dun carry her.
mine will struggle out of everyone's hands until a breast is offered to her, then must have some output one lor

tiny M,

the fastest way of increasing milk supply is to latch! before u latch, drink lots of longan tea, massage yr breasts for easy flow, use yr fingers to press out some breasts to 'seduce' yr bb..

mind, soul and body play an impt part in bfg..

food is impt as well. u must eat well in order to produce milk..

eat food such as spinach, leafy veg, lots of soup, lots of longan tea, fish.. all these help..

i realise laying down position is the best and most comfortable way to latch.. both mummy and bb r at most ease position..

if yr bb stops suckling, stroke near her ear..

sometimes bb do want comfort suckling... but dont make that a habit.. else will end up like me.. become human pacificier..

tiny m, b strong!!! u can do it!! if u need my help, call me or sms me.. we stay so near...

Good Morning mummies!

Okipoki, yup, just tanned my gal. Jaundice level was still high when we went for a prick on Monday. Reviewing tomorrow. Hope the level is lower...

Tiny M, hang in there! Guess baby is #1 yah? I struggled a lot a lot for my #1 as well... cried so many times till got scolded by the old folks. Things will fall into place when baby is slightly older and more alert. Just keep practising latching when you have the time and remember to dab a little of your breastmilk each time after you latch baby. For me, my patience and effort paid off for my #1 as I managed to breastfeed him for 8 months (not long compared to mummies who do it longer but it is an achievement for me
Shers' advice is fantastic. That's what I have been doing since day 1 after discharge. No harm trying

graceofgod- i heard tt crying is not good.. during confinement.... don't know how true is tt... so me very scared of crying de..

jaundice- actually wad really really causes jaundice ah.. apparently like a lot of bbs have it? mm.. anyway... just hope tt all bbs is healthy ba!!

Gd morning mummies & bbs:

Hui Xin just finished her sun tanning & shower.. now latching on me!

Jaundice:

from webby:
http://kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_newborn/common/jaundice.html

A common condition in newborns, jaundice refers to the yellow color of the skin and whites of the eyes caused by excess bilirubin in the blood. Bilirubin is produced by the normal breakdown of red blood cells.

Normally, bilirubin passes through the liver and is excreted as bile through the intestines. Jaundice occurs when bilirubin builds up faster than a newborn's liver can break it down and pass it from the body. Reasons for this include:

Newborns make more bilirubin than adults do since they have more turnover of red blood cells.
A newborn baby's still-developing liver may not yet be able to remove adequate bilirubin from the blood.
Too large an amount of bilirubin is reabsorbed from the intestines before the baby gets rid of it in the stool.
High levels of bilirubin — usually above 25 mg — can cause deafness, cerebral palsy, or other forms of brain damage in some babies. In less common cases, jaundice may indicate the presence of another condition, such as an infection or a thyroid problem. The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that all infants should be examined for jaundice within a few days of birth.

Melody:

Omg, you better go see GP.. suspect u have some infection in ur Bs.. Do you have engorgement over the past 2 days? Get it treated 1st!

Any idea can we eat mango ? I am so tempted by a XL honey mango sitting in my fridge. Hahah..

Melody,
Yeh better consult a doc ...

Hi all mummies... I am a new mummy who juz given birth 3 weeks ago. Wanna know more mummies to exchange informations and knowledge..

melody,

low supply might means u have block ducts which might lead to engorgement... r u having that??

today my massage lady gave me a very good advice of trying blocked ducts.. she says instead of using hot towel, fill yr bb's bottle with hot water (1/2) then roll over yr breasts. this is much better than hot towel.. will help to unblock milk ducts.. also if u have hot stone at home, this is very good also...

melody, u want to try it??

RE: Confinement meals

my meals r very standard because i told cl i dont need tasty dishes.. just to 'bu' back my body can liao

breakfast: milo and 2 slices of bread
lunch & dinner: soup, veg/ meat/ chicken with rice wine, fish, rice
supper: tonic soup

in between, cl has been drowning me with longan tea...

Blocked ducts
If our breasts are soft n tender or the nipples can squeeze out easily with milk are not considered as blocked ducts yah? Im trying to understand my situation here. Not pumping out much milk but can gentle squeeze out my milk.

How come the colour of my milk can be opaque creamy white and sometimes transparent colour e.g. barley drink colour esp on 1st squeeze ah?

re: confinement meals

mine not sure standard or not.

breakfast: fried rice but ve lots of ginger in them
lunch: mee sua w/ kidney n ginger
dinner: steam fish w/ ginger, fried veg w/ lean meat, chicken soup, fried kidney w/ ginger

all above cooked with seseame oil..
water intake: only longan tea

if hungry in between will take milo or holick cereal drink

Hi SK,

The colour of the milk depends on the composition. The more creamy it is, the more fattening it is. The creamy/ yellowish ones are the hind milk that provides the fats. The first few squeezes are more watery.

Poohwei, thanks. I guess it due to the settlement of the milk composites hence the colour. So that does not mean my milk ducts are blocked yah?