(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Juju,
This round I also got drink plain water cos my tea alway finished by 7pm +. I cant go w/o water after that mah, but I drink luke warm plain water. Hahaha I washed my hair once a week already very good liao cos previously I only wash after 2 weeks.

oki,
now me wearing long sleeves & long pants bcos of massage. after finish, i will not wear lor. so hot... wear socks also bcos feet got oil.
u drink a lot of tea? my mil only give me the tea during meals.

porky...me too, scare milk contaminated so threw everything away. so heartache ok!

juju & shers...hehe, i've taken my 1st shower on 5th day. i know it's bad but i just cant take it. i mean all the bleeding and watnots after delivery, when i think of it..really cant stand it. so took a super fast one when no one was looking. as for hair, still unwash..starting to get super oily now.

yvette...plain water, if wanna take, shld at least take warm.

oki...went to ntuc a couple days ago and promoter for wine mentioned to another shopper to not bump into me as i'm preggy. doh...i wonder how long it'll take me to loose the weight this time around.

liewb,
hee... i broke shower & hairwash rule before go home le...

porky,
i like also. jus not mil's recipe. no heart to ask her use my recipe la

ju,
my previous massage lady taught me to put powder after massage at least u wont feel soo oily

btw, u mean u only get to drink 3x a day ? if thirsty how ? also since we are bfg we need to drink plenty of fluid. my CL prepared 1 flask of the tea for me

Ling,
Ohh spicy food causes wind.. was thinking if I eat abit shld be fine - am so tiam chek.

Liewb,
When having #1 after the 12weeks ML, when taking train I even have ppl let me have the seat leh. So I still look preggy ... Hahaha...

oki, haha.. u said until the curry is a must try.. like that how? i hope i can eat abit too! so sick of confinement food... mum said cant eat garlic until 40 days leh.. wait smelly mouth next time! :p

shers - you are very disciplined. :D

J&M - Unfortunately i didn't get to rest much both at the hospital and at home. i wasn't in pain. i managed to move around normally within a week. didn't move much on day 1 because legs were still numb due to epi. 2nd day can sit up, 3rd day can walk as per normal but slowly. the difficulty is when changing position from lying to sitting and sitting to standing.

hmmm... maybe i am a first-time mum, i am really overwhelmed even though my bb is taken care of by his nanny in the day time. and i was still trying to breastfeed him then, so i don't get to rest in the day as well. a truly stressful time for me, but it is certainly not due to the ops. i have no CL too and both mum and mil are not helping me.

camera/video: my hubby is scared of blood so he did not go in with me. he took some pics after they cleaned the bb and showed bb to him.

binder - it's chargable and not part of my package. i'm in nuh.

Ling,
Is their popular choice cos is thick
Am already sick of the confinement food & asked my CL to do fried rice for me - ingredients are meat, egg, ginger nia.

Is it garlic will have smelly mouth ? faint !!

re: weight loss
i've only 2kg to lose. but i'm fat to start of with. even before pregnant already got ppl offer me seat on the mrt :p
however, my tummy still very big
gynae said to postpone postnatal massage for another 2-3 weeks.
will it still work then?

My CL just left (finished my 28 days of confinment today). I'm alone with the baby! Just fed the baby once and changed her diaper once. I do everything so slowly hahaha. I must buck up and do it fast just like my CL. Later still got to wipe the baby. heee. I realised that when I latch the baby, there are some feeds which she can settle for more than 2 hours, some feeds she wakes up after one hour. Is it got to do with the different composition of the breast milk at different times?

ak, i'm not that discipine la.. but tot since that i'm closing factory, might as well take good care during this confinement period. otherwise, next time old liao... here pain there pain.. even worse..

anyway after 1st 2 weeks, me sit directly under fan, fan blowing, windows open big big let the wind blows in.. whahhaha...

RE: weigh loss..

i dont know how much i left..

Dunno what's wrong with Hui Xin today.. was alert the whole morning tho she feel sleepy, just put her to sleep.. after sucking off me non-stop for 2hrs! Is it growth spurt? Was it 'cos I slung her y'day afternoon while the pple fix the cabinet? Anyway, just hope that she is settled & can sleep longer.

MIL brought maid out to company her for therapy.. Now left with me & 2 girls home!

yvette- bf is like this... try to latch bb on when u see him? if not pump out.. my milk just kicked in yesterday and i'm very lazy to pump out.. so trying to let bb go on total bf now.. (lazy mum) dun be too stressed up ok? stay relaxed..! at least u dun have a bad headache like me.. its literally migraine.. and i gotta live on painkillers.. sigh...

Hi AK,

Thank you for the info. At least I know which is the best day to receive visitors...maybe not the first day when we deliver.

Are you doing the confinement yourself? Or your hubby is your CL? :p

Being a first time mum, I guess you must be really nervous in the operation room since your hubby is not by your side during the c-section. Really salute to you...for me, I will insist my hubby to stay by my side. Keep thinking that it's so scary to go for an operation and stay awake throughout.

Mummies just FYI, as i saw some of u sayin bb having jaundice. If bb jaundice level is abt 13-14+ less than 15, u may actually do ur own phototheraphy at home.
Rent the phototheraphy machine(exactly the same as what hospital using) from Medela. i rented for my bb no #1 only like $100for 2 days as her jaundice was 14.6. But u have to self collect at Medela Showroom @ Toh Guan.

Porky,
"liewb & poohwei, my CL also say is fine to give bb drink the strawberry milk leh...but i pour it away...cos i very scare bb drink liao later got diarrhoe how..."
HUH? BB can drink Strawberry milk?!!!
Infant are not suppose to drink or eat strawberry or any berries till abt 1 yr old. Thats what i was advise not to give last time.

Hi Mummy Kian...

U are so cute...Took me sometime to understand ur post..

The "strawberry milk" that Porky, liewb and me are referring to is ebm which is tainted by blood. So its looks pink...so we call it "strawberry milk". Not the real strawberry lah...=P

Anyway, just came back from a shopping spree. Bought a lot of books for my #1 to keep her occupied during my CL.

mumies,
seems like lots of bb drink ebm, i am afraid my bb will have nipple confusion... and dun want to latch on... how? feeling sick now due to all heaty stuff..

There's a Mattel (Barbie, Hot wheels, Fisher price) warehouse sale at Lok Yang.
Date : 21 May to 23 May 09
Time : 10am to 6pm
Add : No.1 Lok Yang Way

Very good buy for baby bouncers, fisherprice toys. Time to stock up for 6-12 mths toys cos it is a half yearly event.

Now, i praying that baby will come out after all the sales..hahaha...

txs for the well wishes... congrats to fireflies too! m nw in MT A, but discharging tmw at 12 noon.

Finally, can join the motherhood club... hehe..
i m a mother finally... ;-)

wil post more of my delivery story when i back hme.. talk to u guys soon.. and all of keep jia you in breastfeeding man!

bean, looks like u r doing a good job without CL! no worry, soon u will get the hang of thing and do it faster... i still hv my mum'help for another week -- next week will be my turn to try bathing bb! exciting!

joyce, maybe hui xin was disturbed by the "noise" yesterday? somehow, my bb will be cranky at nite when i hv visitors...

ju, ida will start my postnatal massage next monday -- will be in my 4th week of confinement. my hubby n mum dun want baby massage -- so ida will only do on me... we plan to sign up for the johnson bb massage thingy on father's day though

re: drinks
since cannot drink plain water, i usually dilute my red dates tea so that i can last thru the nite
in between meals, will drink mum's milk or milo or prune juice...

re: ebm
rc_cola, i plan to express after 4-6 weeks and introduce a bottle per day... closer to end of my ML, will bottle feed during my "working hours" so that bb will get use to it... hope i hv enough supply

re: engorgement
shers, ok, i better watch out for signs of engorement! bb was cranky last nite and wanna feed every 1-2 hours -- so my B r soft

re: milk composition
bean, yup, think different times of the day hv different milk composition...

Hi AlL,

Just visited Marcus... his jaundice level has dropped to 12.5 so very likely they will discharge him tmr....he is looking more alert and less yellow as compared to yesterday.... dun know why, but i started crying when i saw him.... hubby kept asking whether i am ok.... must be the hormones

Adv
But seems like a lot of mummies are giving bbies ebm liao ler.. especially at nite.. i miss my long sleeping nite ler..

shers, oki - i bought 2 boxes of blue egg milkbags previously from bp then realised dat i still hv leftover gerber milk bags from my #1 days. tink i won't need the blue egg milkbags. got them at $8 ea. you wan? can mail foc to you.

rc cola - ya, i'm also one of those who give ebm during the day. felt dat direct latching was really 'inefficient' coz each session can take so long and i barely get to rest in betw. with ebm, bb can stick to a schedule better. but i latch on at nite on demand, coz dun wan to get up in middle of nite to pump!

feb mum
my intention is to give bb ebm at nite, so that I can rest more.. in dilemma, maybe i just ren first til bb is about 5 or 6 wks...

rc cola - actually, if bb is well fed in the day, bb will wake up less often in the nite to be fed. for my #1, i ren until after 1st mth. for #2, i didn't ren ;p

oki,
dat's why i sneak water in room.
if water finish, then go out take other drinks.
mil keep the date tea in a big pot, only pour out when i say wan. how to tell her to keep pouring for me?
u mean can put powder after massage? k, i try tmr. thx.

adv,
ya, ida told me doing u on monday.
wat johnson's massage thingy? where & when will it be?
so fast 4 wks le...

yvette, good to hear that marcus is going home 2molo
yah, think it is hormones -- sometimes i also suddenly feel like crying(of joy) when looking at bb... abit unbelievable that bb is with us now!

ju, porky posted this link earlier
http://www.mumcentre.com/enews/partners/johnsons/johnsons.htm
date : 21 June (father's day)
time : 2.30-4.30pm
cun wait for 4 wks confinement to be over! i wanna shower everyday! and go out jalan, eat sashimi etc.

milk supply: still pumping out around 50ml per pump at day 13....(do 2 pumps a day) already started fenugreek... 1 cap a day... is this low supply... any mommies with the same predicament as me?

baby fussing: baby been fussing every day from 1 - 5 o'clock. refuse to sleep even after milk... kept wanting to be carried and suckle...is this the growth spurt? how long will this last?

block duct: noticed a white spot on my nipple... is this a block duct? wat can I do?

feb_mum,

ok... can u mail to me? i PM u my addy.. then u give me yr acct no.. i transfer $ to u..

yvette,

b strong ok? it hurts to c bb lying on the phototherapy but he will b fine!

melody,

is yr bb latching correctly? when bb latches on, do u feel a tingling feeling? usually will have this feeling.. like a rush of milk though B is soft..

or u got blocked duct that u didnt notice? y not stop pumping? just latch on?

cola, actually bbs who r latching well, the chances of nipple confusion is lesser.. now i wake up to pump 1-2 times each nite, cl bottle feeds bb with my ebm.. and day time she latches on.. my bb is doing very well..

Glenlyn, congrats!!! our bb share the same bdae?

Thanks all mummies who gave me advice on bfg. Tried to latch bb again with the nipple shield they told me to use, looks like not much help plus was bleeding a little from one side. so pek cek. will be discharged tomorrow, if still no milk i will have to feed FM.... angry.. b grow so big and dont have milk!! boo...

oki,
block ducts mean there are some hard portions in the Bs, rite?
like when i feel around, most is soft, but 1 or 2 hard spots. then have to massage until they go soft, and press them towards the nipple

liewb, i also very heartache leh !!! especially when i can only pump out so pathetic volume then need to pour it away...so sad...

bean, ur CL left liao ah...so u are alone with bb ? i was like u before...1st time mummy tends to do things more slowly...hahaha...but now i very fast liao...i change bb diaper few times now faster loh..

poohwei, i also cant understand mummy kian's post until saw ur reply...haha...btw, u still can go shopping ? u not yet pop ? yesterday i also went shopping, cos i was waiting for gynae appt...hehe...went to try on some clothes...intend to get it for bb shower wear..

oki,
weird hor?
sometimes my gal prefer left B, sometimes right B. i guess the one she prefer got more supply la... but, how come keep changing?