(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

RE: Electric pump
i'm still thinking whether wan to get a new electric pump since my ameda lactine dies on me before i go give birth.. is medala really good?? can empty the breasts?? Ameda cant but avent manual can! but now i can empty both Bs with avent manual within 30 mins. i used to express ard 45mins.. maybe practise makes perfect?! i have tried medala mini electric before. I found that suction is not good and its super noisy..

I'm thinking if buy medala freestyle overseas is alot cheaper but no local warranty, got prob? also how abt adaptor? comparable? is it heavy to bring to work? anybody knows the webbie?? maybe we can organise a spree ourselves and bring in the pumps together?!

MumMy Kian,

Ask yr maid go shopping outside, let CL do!
Now she treating yr maid like her maid..tsk tsk

Hoonie, my CL gave us a piece of paper which indicates that housework is not part of her duties.

Kian, even I don't have maid she also don't do housework. She like to bully my hubby and MIL.

graceofgod and babymay, i do not allow my CL go NTUC buy stuff leh...my hb or mil will buy for her to cook...she must tell me what she wan to cook so i write and ask my hb or mil to buy back...cos if i allow her to go out...then she spend so much time outside..who will change bb diaper when soil...and i wont know how much money to give her bring out...btw, what did ur CL eat for breakie, lunch and dinner ? my CL eat very little leh...i always ask her to eat more cos i scare she no energy take care my bb...so far she is ok...she only fried 1 vege and eat with rice for dinner...breakie and lunch, she only eat bread or biscuits...

sallen, welcome back..sorry to hear that ur CL give u so much problem...is ur maid helping u ?

RE: Medala Freestyle/ PIS pump

Tan Leng Leng is organising a spree for medala pump... pump is USD$299 with free domestic shipping.. Vpost will charge roughly S$30.. her exchange rate is 1.50.. so the pump will reach us only at S$448.50 (roughly)

I'm keen.. anybody keen??

Re: Breastpump

The webbie is http://www.addalittlelove.com/

Freestyle: USD$285 (no need to buy adaptor)

Pump in Style Metro Bag: USD $245
Pump in style backpack/ shoulder: USD $215
(need to buy local adaptor at USD $20.50)

In my opinion, freestyle will cost almost the same after you add on the charges for adaptor. Plus shipping for PIS is slightly higher cos it is heavier than freestyle.

I have very bad experiences for both my confinement. i guess ill opt for day time nanny from thomson parent craft infuture.
At least i believe that their nanny wld be very well trained by TMC the way they handle the bb & our nutrition.
Actually to think abt it, we dont need full day nanny cos we r bf-ing. night time nanny just carry bb to me when bb cry & go back to sleep. & we r the ones who are actually spending more time takin care of the bb.
1 more thing is my nanny didnt even bother checkin her diaper at night. so its like whole night she didnt bother to change. I have to always wash her up & ask nanny to wear diaper for her.
Super bo hua to hire her man! somemore nw recession hb pay got cut. spend 2k on the nanny very heart pain!!! if she's good i still happy to spend that money. *sigh*

babymay, i also not very happy with mil around when doing confinement...altho she helps to buy the cooking stuff for my CL..like juju say 家家有本难念的经... today i saw her eat with her hands and never wash...then go touch my bb cheeks when he cry...OMG !!! when my bb happily looking around in his cot never make noise..she go carry him up and walk about...

CL nannies:
mine also started telling my maid to do things. then i told my maid off in front of CL & segregated their work. but seriously, besides cook, not doing much. today baby pee all over, she also din know and i had to do all the changing. pek cek. cant wait till confinement over.

adrienne...dont u just feel like drugging them sometimes? hahaha, my hubby always tells me he'll support me if i decide to drug baby to sleep one day..hahaha.

Hi MumMy Kian!

Wow, your description of CL so funny to a certain extent but trust me, i can fully understand your frustrations! I am really really counting down to her departure (15 more days!!!) too! Really, we have wasted our 2k completely cos we are doing total breastfeeding... and the maid works so hard...

Porky, know what? My mum bought some food for me and us last two weeks and she was not happy at all... to the extent of leaving some of the food untouched. She told my maid she loves to work for rich people who will allow her to buy whatever she wants to cook! My Gosh! Look at how money minded they are! Think tomorrow, I will go market on my own with my hubby to buy food for the next few days. Anyway, I feel like going out for a walk too

Breastpumps:
I am using Medela freestyle, an imported set (needs a simple adaptor) which I bought with a forum mummy. It costs me slightly over $500 but I am very happy with the buy. Efficient and the suction is better than my Medela mini-electric. I would encourage you to invest in one if you have not done so. what is bad about my set is that it doesnt come with warranty.

graceofgod,
ya.. with imported medala freestyle, the price is ard S$500+ with no local warranty... think this is the risk we need to pay for an almost half price pump if we buy in sg...
i'm thinking of buying this.. just to check. where u get the adaptor?? or anyplace can buy?

Porky, do you know how much you all spend on groceries?

My CL spend a total of $68 just now. She very high taste. Last time bought instant cereal that costs about $7 for 15 packets, Today buy walnut and banana bread for herself. She buy 2 salmon again around $4plus each when I specifically ask her not to buy fish. We'll see whether it is for her or me.

Shers, you can get the adaptor from Medela Singapore distributor. But I heard it is $100 plus for the orignal adaptor. You can also go to any hardware shop or shops at Sim Lim to get it at around $20plus.

porky, not so nice ar... actually im thinking of odering neo garden.. bt my sis just order recently for 30 pax n she said looks like fot 20 pax.. those slightly ex food like scallops even lesser... headache..

anyone has nice food caterer to share?

babymay, not sure whether get any adaptor will cause explosure ornot.. hehhee...

xue, neo garden portion is always 'just nice'.. but thats what i like abt them.... food is always good and i dont get alot of left over..

i just placed my order from neo garden yesterday too...

when is yr bb full mth celebration?

hey shers! how u coping? hope everything is well. =)

im doing on 30th may. u order which type of buffet? only 3 choices hv the discounts right?

I guess this is the place where we (all the mummies with lousy CL) can complain. LOL.
At least some of u here are luckier. I have lousy CL + Horrible MIL. Havin some prob with her nw also due to my eldest girl.
Guess im goin crazy soon!

Yes bb is going to have Full mth celebration soon!! Anyone here has good buffet recommendations?

xue, i'm ok.. just that shermay doesnt slp as much as 1st 2 weeks... and she got to suckle my neh neh to slp... but at least she is latching well and growing.. but i'm very tired..

i'm doing on 24th may... and giving out cakes will be 27th or 28th..

i ordered $12.99 one.. but i havent confirm no of pax yet....

xue, the sales lady at neo garden mentioned that for meat, noodles portion will be just nice.. for dessert, eclair, prawns will be slightly more than the no. of pax. I also engaged them for my boy full month this sat! They have the 15% off for >$12.99/pax

shers, as long as bb is growing well the rest doesnt matter right? hah. im very tired as well. esp with #1...

if order neo, im looking at 12.99 as well.. at least hv discounts la. hah..

hi Twinkle mums, Pl Help me to update

Given EDD - 19th May 2009
Actual EDD - 30th april 2009
Week at delivery - 37 weeks n 2 Days
Gynae name - Dr Babu
Birth method - C-Sec
Hospital - Mt Alvernia
# of current baby - #1
Weight at birth - 2.210kg
Gender - Girl
Name of baby - Goh Pei Xuan, Regine

xue, yes!!! but really very tired.. hahhaa... partly because my girl does alot of 'stretching sounds'... old folks say that its because bb wants to grow up fast... so she is disturbing my hb and my slp.. whahhaa... we almost dozed off and got waken up by her loud stretching noise.. whhahaa..

tonite we r 'kicking' her out of the room to slp with CL.. so i will start my pumping schedule tonite.. maybe will start to pump every 3hrs at nite.. and can train to bottle feed my gal..

ya.. i think 12.99 is enough already... got 15% discount.. and i'm a member.. not sure got additional member discount ornot..

and i got may promotion coupon also.. not sure can use ornot.. whahhaa..

Didn't get to catch up on the postings. CL and MIL issues are neverending. I hv problem with MIL during #1 time and now she is better cos at least she knows my expectation. Luckily I fired the previously CL else I will be in depression. My current is a very nice lady and at least I can get my meals on time

So far I hv never let my CL does any marketing and MIL will buy whatever she needs to cook for me.

I have also engaged neo garden for my boy full mth this sat and took the 12.99 menu. Heheh! And I have also ordered my cake from choz to be delivered on mon.

Shers/Oki,
Neo Garden ok to order? wun have poor quality or insufficient portions?
Choz is ok to order as well? I'm thinking of getting Angel Face ($12.80) type. Dunno whether ok or not...

shers, it'll be gd deal if u can use them all.! hah. my #2 oso doing lotsa stretching sound.. normally we'll ignore unless he crys.

oki,
choz is nice? will check out their webby.. =)

baby andrea has been crying non stop last nite..
and this morning. she cry from 10am to 4pm til she finally fell aslp..

she calms down after we drop the colic drops but we can only drop 6 times a day.. so poor thing.. so tiring also..

i hope her colicky days will end soon......

Chelsea also like to make stretching sound,she always stretch after her feed. She will stretch until happy shiok liao then will eventually fall asleep.

Re: CL

Ermm... we have good and bad CL ard,I was thinking if there is any website to post their names and contact no to "blacklist" them so that mum to be will not find them again? Sounds bad from what I see here.

audrey,
so early got colic?
jus now at polyclinic, i ask doc, he say 1 mth above then got colic leh...

oki/ poohwei,
ok, will try choz...
so if i'm hoping for extra portions, shld not go for neo garden?
any options other than yan palace?

she cry non stop.. cry n cry.. so poor thing. she cry until no sound and den her whole face red and then try to slp den cry again..

all of us v stressed at home..

i read somewhere- they said if im' breastfeeding, should stop taking dairy products.. is milo counted?

Hi Tinkles mum, pls help me to update

Given EDD - 18th May 2009
Actual EDD - 25th april 2009
Week at delivery - 36 weeks n 4 Days
Gynae name - Dr Irene Chua
Birth method - Natural with epidural
Hospital - KKH
# of current baby - #1
Weight at birth - 3.250kg
Gender - Boy
Name of baby - Tan Kian Yi

Thank you..

Hi Audrye, how does colic sound like? Burping ah?

Managed to pump out 30ml ...still pathetic but will jia more you. Been latching on most time since bm is so little...dun waste every single drop so best to get bb get from me direct.

I intend to hold the baby shower on either 30 or 31st May. Then 1st June to distribute cakes bah.

So excited now esp to get bz with the celebration. Emotions are better controlled too.

colic:

baby cry non stop and its inconsolable..

just cry n cry.. and then clenched fists and whole face turn red and the legs will keep going upwards. can find online about more info on colic..

i'm not holding baby 1 month celebration cos of swine flu. my hb don't want..

I ask my CL whether my baby has air in the tummy. She says more or less will have, but my baby have very little cause not bottlefeed. If we are worried, can feed fatman water. I think cannot get her for first time parents.question with more questions. Also like to ask us to see PD if we are worried. Make my hubby so kan chiong.