(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Morning !!

Adv,
I suppose so & also we are bfg as well. But must firm it up lah cos abit flabby

Ju,
U are most welcome
Well, for marketing no one can do it for u ?

re: full month celebration
we are holding it this sun at my in-laws'm place. we ordered neo garden and bought bengawan solo vouchers.
actually no mood to celebrate. don't even feel like going to my mil's place. she has been pulling a long face. dunno for what reason!

re: tummy
mine is still so big that i can't even see my c-sect wound :p
anyway, i have another appt with gynae this afternoon. will decide when to start the post-natal massage after that.

re: baby sleeping
any advice on how to get the baby to sleep through the night? i'm feeding fm at night now.

tinklesmum, suggest that standby a manual pump in case u really need to pump out after latching.. i will recommend avent manual pump which is really very good.. but not very good for those with lots lots of supply.. takes time..

oki, envy~~ yr tummy flatten?? i'm starting my massage session today... hopefully got lots of 'wind' coming out. hehhee... hope can achieve flat tummy by end of sessions..

i started my nite pumping yesterday but guess what??!!! i managed to pump before i slp and 3 hrs later... and subsequent, i cant wake up!!! whahhaa... until ard 6am, breasts super engorged and got my bb to latch on... whahhaa... i realise i cant pump every 3 hrs.. breasts still not full yet.. managed to yield only 220ml compared to full breasts of 300ml..

shers,

mind if i ask aprox which day u started getting 300ml per pump... i am at my 12day... still manage 30-40ml only...my baby birth weight is the same as urs...

ak, bb is still young.. very hard to get bb slp through the nite at this moment coz their stomach is still small and whatever milk given is easily digested through pee and poo..

i suggest that u start to train yr bb after 4-5 weeks? depending on yr bb no of feeding

#1, my mum fed my girl drank plain water whenever she wanted milk at nite.. so slowly reduce the no of feeding per nite.. takes awhile b4 bb weans nite feeding..

i was lucky, my girl slps through the nite when she was ard 6-8 weeks.. cant rem though.. but on and off she asked for milk once or twice per nite..

i hope meimei will be as easy as jiejie..

melody,

i dont know le.. my milk came 3rd day morning.. my 1st pumping is 4th day when i discharged... yield is ard 100+ml and i got engorgement.

i think by end of 1st week i got ard 200ml - 300ml when my girl latched off the blocked ducts..

but 300ml is just 2-3 pumps per day only le.. because i latch mostly.. so if i really pump every 3hrs, i only managed to get 220ml..

Shers,
Me too when I pump my Bs are not full type. If want to be full will be ard 5hrs later else still soft one
Now the problem is my left side supply is very low as compared to my right. But I doubt any engorgment leh cos still soft one. HOw ?

thanks shers, envy ur supply... mine at day 5-7 was tiny drips barely make 5ml I think... my baby was supplemented w fm at day 2 in the hospital...

okipoki,
mine too...right side more than left side...

can someone tell me how the let down reflex feels like?

hi all mummies,

i have juz given birth on 13th may. but until now my bb refused to latch on. i am very depressed. so right now i am trying to pump my milk. but not alot. everytime i pump is abt 10ml only. not sure if the pump is not gd or i am not having enough milk. i am currently using a pigeon manual pump. anyone know where can i rent a pump? and wat is the charges like?

melody, i am same like u...already 12th day but my supply also 30-40ml only...haiz...trying to take fenugreek today...hope it helps..

Hi Taurus,

Be positive
U can call ur hospital and ask, they will be able to rent the pump to u. electric pump shld be easier. Alternatively,
1. u can ask ur gynae prescribe some pills for your milk to come in. There are 2 types; 1 is domperidone and another one is Metoclopramide.
2. Or u can get the Fernugreek pills from GNC to encourage milk (this one dun need prescription)
3. Drink the organice Mother's milk tea

I got to know these thru my lactation consultation @ NUH. They very on. They come and teach me how to massage my breast to get the milk come in 3-4 times a day while i was in hospital. Then yesterday they also called me on the phone to check how is my milk flow.

oki, if i pump every 3hrs, i think my Bs will b super sore. haha.. think i pump every 4hrs.. at least more supply n lesser pump. hehe..

taurus, actually latch on is e bet way to get more supply. pumping doesnt.. try to practise latch on with yr bb in between feeding time.

hi hi porky,
ya... me also gonna give the fenugreek a try liao... gd luck to both of us ya...

taurus,
my output on day 4-5 was barely 5ml... ur r doing much better than me loh... continue continue...
i was using avent manual... now using ameda electric... easier... but my output is only 20-30 ml per time pump... sad too... day 12...

oki - i'm still the one bathing my #1. realised i need to do the usual routine things with her - shower her, make her milk, feed her milk, change her diaper etc so dat she feels she has my attention and not act up.

oki,
me? i dun do marketing leh... u mean graceofgod?
how ur tummy flatten so fast? i'm 6 sessions into massage, left 4 to go, still got quite an amt to reduce leh...

melody,
wat kind of side effects? i've been taking since discharged frm hospital

taurus - latching is still the best way to promote milk ss. apparently there is an enemyze in bb saliva dat promotes milk ss. pumping shd be complimentary to latching esp in the early stage wh milk ss is not est yet.

juju - fenugreek will cause us to hv a kind of maple syrup body smell. oso, some people might exp stomach discomfort. so good to start with low dosage 1st. we can take 2-3 capsules 3x a day

feb mum,
thx... not sure abt maple syrup smell cos i'm either covered in jamu oil or herbal bath smell...
minimum stomach discomfort partly due to massage as per ida.
i've been taking 2caps x 3 times a day. ida today say got increase in flow liao. but now bb like to sleep thru the day... sianz. got to pump.

i had latched my baby for 30mins on each side, but as usual i still need to top up that 20ml. sigh. how do i get that 20ml to have a satisfied baby? this is already the 3rd week. it's so discouraging. my supply is also not consistent.

Hi, mum kinda desperate to get me to buy chinese rice wine for cooking confinement foods for me. Can I know anyone staying in the west has got spare ones to let go for me? I need prolly 2-3 bottles. Cos another 2 more weeks to go. Mine used up already cos helper broke 2 bottles by accident just now. Eh...kindly Pm k.

Breastfeed
Me on 3/4 bf per day, with top of of 3times of bottle feed of 90ml each day. As Im trying to latch my gal directly hence me also not sure how much can I produce now. Just now my bm dripped uncontrollably when I was watching the telly dramas. Kinda wasted cos din set up my pump.

My gal suckles quite long..cos suckles stops suckles and stops again. Dunno how much to produce too...think I let her suckle for more than 30mins for each breast leh. Any guideline?

Hey Mummies,

My Lactation Specialist said to use cold cabbage during engorgement, but there are also opinions against it...like should use warm towel instead -so which is the correct treatment?

Shers - I am not joining the spree already - my HB got the pump for me already (without telling me first!!) His friend's wife bought for us from KKH, local set with warranty for $799 apparently...

hi guys, sorry to intrude, can you pls help me pass along the following job vacancy to someone who may be keen?

<font color="ff0000">Senior / Administrative Assistant, Corporate Planning</font>

<font color="0000ff">The Challenges</font>
You will provide administrative support to the Corporate Planning department. As part of your duties, you will assist in the organization and logistics of Board meetings, management meetings and strategic retreats. Other deliverables include scheduling of department matters and handling all payment systems for the department, such as raising of payment requests. From time to time, you will also be required to handle the organization’s general calls and mails. You may also be assigned other ad-hoc duties as required.

<font color="0000ff">The Requirements</font>
- Minimum GCE “A” Level or Polytechnic Diploma
- Minimum 2 years of relevant working experience
- Event management and secretarial experience would be an advantage
- Possess good writing and conversational skills
- Energetic, positive-minded individual who is meticulous and organized
- Independent team player with good interpersonal skills
- Proficiency in Microsoft Office applications is required
- Full time

<font color="0000ff">Details</font>
Working hours: 8.30 to 6pm, Monday to Friday
Firm: National Healthcare Group

PM me if you wish to know the salary range. Pls send cv to [email protected].
Thank you so much!

Gd afternoon,
How is everyone doing?

Hui Xin is 1 wk old &amp; I'm happy that she has been fully bf, I have not started pumping, but will feel Bs full, and they are just in time for BB's feed!

Today, got the Ikea shelvings fixed and will be spending next few days, packing bb's stuff into the new cabinet!

Juju:
Not so strict bah...I can still wear shorts &amp; sleeveless.. haha.. must be happy &amp; have enough sleep.. I know my limit.. today din sleep much in the afternoon as have to watch the pple install the cabinets.. maybe after dinner have to lay down le..

Tinkles,
I took their 7 days package which is 598 as stated in their website. Actually this is not a slimming massage. Is more for purge out any lochia and wind also to ease any discomfort - aching etc ;)

hi tinklemum, pls help to update my details. Thks

Actual EDD: 13 May
Week at delivery : 37 weeks
Gynae name : Dr Christopher Chong
Birth method : Natural with Epi
Hospital :Gleneagles
# of current baby :1
Weight at birth :2.49kg
Name of baby : Varchel Ho

joyce,
so good. when mil came over &amp; see me wear sleeveless &amp; shorts, she kept mumbling. now dat i wear wat she wan, she happy... but i wear bcos of the oils frm massage... lol...

oki,
do u experience a lot of lochia after each session? since do massage, does it speed up the finishing of lochia flow?

Joyce,
Haha me too didnt do a strict confinement, blow fan like nobody business and yes direct somemore. Jialat old liao sure aching all over.

wah..so nice to see many are popping..and my bbs' birth weights seem to be the lightest- at 1.902kg &amp; 2.02kg respectively...hee..

i use fan + aircon when super hot wor, esp the first few days. but now using jamu wrap, will tahan to perspire a bit to help aid the slimming process...

Juju,
This round surprising my lochia flow is not much. But I do fart alot hahah after the massage. My lochia is coming to an end anytime as I am wearing panty liner instead

mummies who breastfeeding,

do u take any other supplements? i think i will continue wi the multivits &amp; fish oil, not sure other supplements advisable to take?

oki,
wow! is this for #2 only, not #1?
mine is now alternating btw red &amp; brown... very sian of wearing pads after so long...