(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

joyce- congrats! i think its fine.. so long bb's alright?

did ur gynae tell ya her estimated weight before??

joyce,
dun worry..mine is just 2.4kg...tat day went polyclinic already 2.56kg.

our bb have the same english names.

Hi Joyce and 915!

Congrats! Enjoy your bundles of joy

Adrienne and Star, my CL is also very calculative. She didn't pass me her jobscope in writing but she more or less has the same one as Baby May's. Basically, these are the ones who are money grabbers and not lovers of their job
and yes, I gave $28 for the beginning and will probably end with a smaller angbao cos she is not that fantastic. Instead, I will give one bigger angbao to my maid who is quite tolerant towards the CL and has been a great help to me and my family.

Babymay, it was exactly the same scenario for me as well. At the beginning, my CL brought my girl to my room every one hrs plus and said she was hungry, left her with me for about an hr to latch and then before I knew it, she was at the door again after an hr. It was too stressful for me as I got a CL time round so that I can rest well... so hubby and I decided... bottle-feed girl expressed milk at 10pm, 1pm and 4pm. and i will wake up at these times to pump milk for the next night. This helps me to jaga my girl's feeding as well (as i found out that she is not very good at feeding baby). With this plan, it makes breastfeeding last demanding and tiring so we stick to that and so far so good
Maybe you could try this out. Now, I have another slot, 7pm as well cos I want to be able to spend some time with my 27 month old boy before his bedtime (change him, read stories, give him his last feed and kiss him goodnight). So, in summary, I latch 7am to 7pm and then bottle-feed expressed breastmilk from 7pm to 7am. Fair and square. At least I got my sanity back! haha

Grace,
That's exactly what I am doing. Feeding EBM at night and latch during day. At least, I can have some quality time with my #1.
u won't feel stressful when ur CL came knocking at ur door for feeding especially 1st few days when milk supply has not been well established.

Grace & Okipoki, I am also pumping out milk now, but not enough, so will supplement 1 or 2 feeds with formula.

We see some pinkish spots on baby's diaper on Moday (2nd day at home) and the confinement lady asked us to bring baby to see doctor (my CL like to ask us to bring baby to see doctor for every thing like red rashes on the body etc.). We asked her to go with us, but she says she got no time cause morning she have to prepare for lunch and dinner and afternoon she have to rest. So I asked her straight how long she need to rest in the afternoon. She says 1 and 1/2 hours. I think she rest more than me.

We decided to drop by parentcraft first before going to the PD since PD is at TMC. Parentcraft says I have engorgement and advised me to buy a pump to pump out my milk, so I bought a pump there and has been pumping since.

Grace, 2nd night and 3rd night, I have also been pumping every 3 hours and try to catch baby's timing so that I can give him whatever I have just expressed out, so I am sleeping about 1hr per time in between feeding. (2hrs pumping and waiting for baby to wake up for his feeding and watching the CL cup feed in case she spills all my BM).

When I went for follow up with parentcraft on Wednesday (cause my follow up with PD is on the same day and by the way, the CL also never follow us there). The consultant ask me to sleep through the night and only pump during the daytime, cause rest will affect the qty of breast milk also. My breastmilk did increase after I sleep through the night cause I did not have enough sleep for the first few nights home.

Grace and Okipoki, you all latched on during the day? Will the CL bring baby to you everytime and says that baby is hungry? I am also expressing my breast milk and feeding baby EBM during daytime. But I will practise latching baby on once a day. But with all the cup feeding, I think my baby do not know how to latch on now. His mouth will not open very big, seems more like comfort sucking to me. After latching on for about an hr or so, when I remove him, he will cry loud with his mouth open. So we will still feed him with EBM after the latching.

My CL is the type when baby cries or is awake, she will says baby is hungry. There was once she ask me to look after my baby, who is awake, cause she needs to cook dinner. I asked her to settle baby first before cooking, we don't mind to have late dinner. Then she immediately says baby is hungry (which is only awhile after feeding). Finally, I give in and says you check whether baby's diaper is wet or baby poos and see whether baby is discomfort in anyway before feeding. 10mins later, I saw baby sleeping and she can still says in a proud way that baby has slept. Then I asked her I thought you say baby is hungry? She still can say sleep in more important. No need to feed if baby is sleeping.

Wow, I didn't realise that I have typed such a long message. Sorry, I did not have time to read the archive. Will catch up with the archive slowly, since this thread is moving so fast.

Okipoki, glad that someone thinks the same as me - take care of newborn and at the same time, spend quality time with #1
Honestly, i feel so guilty towards him cos i have no time for him and at the same time, jealous (know I should not feel that way but cant help it)cos he spends so much time with my maid now that everything is 'jie jie...', 'jie jie...' even in his sleep!

Baby May, looks like our CLs are the same kind one... yup, like what adrienne suggested, don't give her so much at the end if her performance is not up to expectations. we will send them the right message that they need to buck up! Comparing ours with Porky's, what a big difference!
For me, i tried to latch baby on whenever possible in the day. Baby will doze off and it is naturally so I just keep latching lor, even to the extent of hourly which is so tiring... (actually ideally should latch her every 3 hrs and make sure she empties the breasts but what to do, they are newborns and they fall asleep after suckling... so I pump out excess after she suckles. Yup, tell CL what time u want to latch baby on in the day.
In my opinion, maybe u should try to latch baby on more regularly to establish milk supply in the day, then bottle feed at night should be ok. Baby will be used to both nipples and bottle teats (my two cents worth of views)
Red heat rash - was bad when i brought girl home. CL also asked me to bring to PD which i did. PD said nothing to panic about cos weather has been bad and baby doesnt turn much, esp when she perspires and skin sensitive, so heat rash develops. I came home, turned on aircon (27 degrees) in the day and the rashes went away.
For me, in order to establish my milk supply, i dont care what the CL says about feeding and sleeping. I know its good if baby can sleep through without milk but I am more concerned about breast engorgement, then blocked ducts then diminish milk supply so I will ask her to wake baby up to drink milk. This is my belief. Anyway, gonna adjust everything when CL leaves. hopefully my girl will follow my #1, sleeping through from 2.5 months onwards
I am looking forward to that day

Whatever it is, press on yah? we are all here to support each other

Oh ya, we also found out that baby cries really cos of discomfort (poo and pee). must ask CL to check for you. Mine ah, must remind and remind and remind... but now better liao.

Grace, yeah, thanks. I will press on. But I am afraid that if I spend too much time latching on, I don't have enough time to express breast milk out for baby when he really needs his feed.

good morning everyone !

babymay, finally u posted...hehe...aiyo ur CL got give u a list of wat she do ah..i only pay my CL $20 AP when she came cos i dunno abt her performance yet...then hb say give $20 can liao...she never reject to do anything i tell her to do...this morning she auto sterilise the avent pump for me...cos she say better to pump out then i can have more rest..she no need bring bb come to my room when i am alseep...but she say if i prefer to latch once a day is fine...then last night she saw my toilet floor is wet aft my hb bathe...she quicky take the mop and mop dry the floor...she say if not later i go in my feet will be wet...so nice right...now i regret give her only $20 when she came...ytd me and hb bring bb to pd..left her alone in the hse (mil go out)...i feel unsafe...but when i came back, she already prepare lunch and wait at the door for us...when we enter the house, she quickly carry bb and put him on the cot to sleep...

juju, i already told her if i got #2 sure she must do for me again...haha...she say provided she is not booked...

Me gonna check in the hospital this evening at 8pm to be induced for the birth tmr.. Kind of nervous.. cos really dun know wat to expect...

I pray it will be a fast and painless delivery...

joyce, congrats!

yvette, jia you and wish u a smooth delivery!

porky, how do u like the avent pump? how often do u pump and how much EBM? after my failed attempt in the 1st week, i m latching on bb ard 10 times a day -- didn't EBM...

re: ang pow
i like to give my mum a token... juz wondering how much should i give... any mummies with mum/mil helping with confinement care to share?

Adv_sports:

The last 2 confinement done by mil, I gave her $500 for AP..

#1 one, she kept the red packet, return me the $
#2, she took everything!

joyce n yvette, thanks for sharing
i will give my mum ard that range, too.

re: immunisation
dunno which to choose - 5in1 or 6in1. any mummies can advise?

For 5in1, need to go for separate hep B 2nd jab @ 1mth followed by 3 jabs @ 3,4,5mth.

For 6in1, oledi include hep B and 3 jabs @ 2,4,6mth.

yvette, all the best for tonight induce birth !

adv, the avent manual pump is really tiring...hands aching leh...i pump and rest then pump and rest...sweat a lot ah...i only try to latch once a day lah..cos my boy now feed 60ml 2.5hr interval...he is really impatient wor...if i cant latch him properly...his mouth will open very wide and cry very loud...see him like dat also heartpain...this is my achievement this morning...hehe..
2455762.jpg

I am going to the PD for Hep B injection after 1 month. I asked the recep whether it is better to go for 5 in 1 or 6 in 1. She says it is better to take the Hep B injection at 1 month so that baby don't have fever.

Re: latch on

We used cup to feed my baby EBM or FM, but baby seems to be confused when it come to latch on too. His mouth will open so small and it seems more like comfort sucking to me. When I remove my nipple, he will cry so loud. So we will feed him again after he latch on. I practise the latch on once a day. Maybe will try to latch the whole day (at least for daytime) next week. But how to eat lunch and dinner like that?

This is my girl's birth story:

12th May
11.30am Went GP to check BP, was 160/100, decided to admit myself
3.30pm admitted myself to Mt A to monitor BP

13th May
4am felt mild contractions of abt 20 to 30mins apart
7am CTG shows regular contractions of 8-10mins apart
8am Dr Tseng came & did VE, shows 3cm dilation
9am Since felt contractions is picking, I asked for transfer to Labour Ward
11am Did VE, shows 4cm dilation
4pm CTG shows irregular contractions, sign! We had decided if it does not progress, will proceed to induce bb today
7pm Did VE, still 4cm dilation, decided to induce bb, nurse inform Dr Tseng
7.30pm Drips was given for induction, increase dosage after 10 mins, this time, contractions picks up fast & strong.
8.10pm VE shows 7cm dilation, called hubby to rush back, nurse called for Dr Tseng.
8.30pm Felt the sensation was so great to push the bb out, however, both Doc & hubby not here yet, asked to hold, and took gas during 2 contractions to hold the pushing.
8.40pm All position ready, I was guided by Doc to breath & push bb.
8.53pm BB is out!

915 has a giant bb girl!!! hehehe... v v good weight and very tall girl!!!

Congrats again, 915..

joyce, congrats!!

yvette, jia you!!!

RE: AP

i gave my cl $28... when she goes back, will give more..

RE: latching on

An experienced mum told me that bm is best during nite time.. so best to latch on during nite time for bb to absorb the best! not sure how true this is... but anyway i latch on throughout.. v tiring.. though my girl wakes up to latch only 2-3times per nite..

keep on latching will intro more milk right??

so far my left yields more.. ard 200ml... and right ard 120ml..

much more than what i had during #1 time.. and my neh neh r super BIG!!! scary~~

babymay, thats what i told 915 too... super giant bb lor.. and i ask her how she managed to push her out without drug!!! whahhaha

as of today, my bb is 2 weeks old!!! same goes for cola.. hehehe... just had a nice msn with her..

babymay, practising latch on doesnt mean 24\7.. hehhee... if like that, neh neh will be super sore..

hmmm u can try to latch him on in between his feeding time.. to simulate yr breasts as well as to let yr bb practise latching/ suckling..

once he gets the hang of it within 1 or 2 days, then can latch for feeding..

bb can get used very fast de..

adv_sports,

i will go for 5in1.. 1st mth will go for hep B jab.. like what babymay says... this is what the PD recommends too.. i did the same for #1..