(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

congrats to all the mummies who juz popped. wow, more and more action from this thread and it's only early may.

adrienne - actually, ginger does not cause jaundice so it's alrite to take it.

oki - hope there will be more sunlight over the next few days. my #1 oso had to be admitted due to jaundice. then, the weather was so gloomy dat there was no way i cld sun her. hope your boi gets well soon. meanwhile, let him hv more fluids, it will help to flush out the stuff that's built up (can't rem the scientific name)

Porky jean popped!! WOW congrats!!! her due date was suppsoedly one date after mine! I was just at TMC - should have gone to see her! She was only at her week 37 right?

I just had my gynae appmt. My gynae told me there is no real definition for engagement. He cant even tell me if my baby is engaged. Is he normal?

feb_mum- i wouldnt know if ginger affects jaundice or nt.. Keke.. But if everyone says so, then i would assume tt its nt. Coz based on personal experience, my no. 1 was discharged with zero jaundice till i started on confinement food with endless ginger stuff.. Then he got slight jaundice.. So i took ginger outta myy diet and voila.. Jaundice gone too.. Maybe coincidence ba.. I think.

............................. Ok.. Ginger will cause jaundice or nt will be left to individuals to believe.. I personally believe it does affect jaundice. Anyway, i hope bbs will recover from jaundice asap.. To lessen one of the many.. Worries of mummies!!

But hor.. I realised tt aft a lot of mummies joined the popcorn club.. This thread is getting quieter...

wow..so many mommies popping and so many at TMC!! so excited for all of u!!

tinkles..my gyne told me baby can get engage and dis-engage so dun think too much abt it. mine is engage but it could still be a few wks wait.

adrienne..i believe ginger does play a part. but shld be ok once baby's liver starts to function full-fledge.

Hi mummies, I got discharged today but din have a change to logon to read the post on Porky and Vera's deliveries. I was so close to Porky leh, she's at Ward 637B and I was at 627B, was waiting more than 2 hrs for bb's jaundice results else I could have visited her. I was pacing up and down whiling away the time.

My baby is still at TMC but would be picking her up tomorrow. Will pop by to see Porky since baby at level 6 nursery. And maybe Vera too.

Poor Baby Charlene got Jaundice and got put under the phototherapy for 24hrs. So heart pain when I heard her crying. Sigh.

Here's my little Charlene's pics.

After 2nd feed in the wee hours.
2434061.jpg

Eyes wide shut
2434062.jpg

Eyes wide open (but still small lah)
2434063.jpg

Contented Charlene in deep slumber
2434064.jpg

My Mobile Phone Wall Paper (So missed her now)
2434065.jpg

congrats to the mummies who popped....!

okipoki,
Txs for dropping by jus nw... u look gd after u deliver lei.. hope ur boy's jaundice recover soon! :)

Sk, ur bb gal v cute lei... txs for sharing the pix with us....

btw, txs to the mummies who send regards. ;-)

Joyce: Baby Arielle was finally discharged today!!!!! : )

SK: I was at the level 6 ward today waiting to fetch Arielle home, but didn't know you and Porky...etc were at TMC and have delivered.

Maybe you got see me?

Baby Arielle's jaundice level finally was at a normal level today. Have to sun her daily although discharged.

Hi Mum-to-bes,

I'm from Apr thread and has a 1 month old Ameda Lactaline Dual Electric pump to let go. Full set, in perfect condition. PM me if interested.

Joyce: Yah this swine flu thing quite irritating. Some more the people they hire to do screening or guard outside the ward do ask stupid questions.

When I was there in the wee hours to send Arielle EBM, a Malay guy can ask my husband "Your baby is here?" after we told him we're there to feed our baby. Duh...

Then also got the guard outside the ward ask me what I'm there for after my husband told him we're here to feed our baby. He expect my husband to be breastfeeding meh...

Aiyoh...faint.

Hey, I read somewhere that bb get jaundice cos of some B thingy, and for asian kids its more likely. Nevertheless, hope all the bbs recover soon!

Congrats to all mummies who have poped!

I am finally gg in tomorrow for induction. Been having show and contraction, but still to the appointment time to inducem finally, I can join the popcorn club! Hopefully it will be a fast delivery.

Muffintop,
Bilirubin is the word.. Anyway, wish you have a smooth delivery tomorrow. Ahh finally u are able to see your boy

SK,
your baby girl is such a cutie, i lover the last pic;p she'll be fine soon , dun worry

muffintop,

All the best for a smooth and fast delivery tom!

Thanks mummies, I hope her bilirumin level will get lowered. Juz realised tt I failed to master the art of bf. My nipples are so sore now. Wondered how to bf her tmr, I lagi more heart pain. My engorged breasts' so hard now n her mouth so small, can Charlene manage not? Any mummy can advice?

Mummies who have delivered pls help...

Went for my checkup this morning and he did a V-check and confirmed I am 2 cm dilated... when i went to the toilet earlier, i realised i have browish discharge... the kind u get when ur mense is finishing... my gynae said it could be due to the check this afternoon... any mummies with similar experience? u think i am going into labour soon?

hi everyone! jus reached home not long ago.. went for check up n doc say i'm 1.5cm dilated! bb is at 2.7kg now.. got question: aft the VE did u guys bleed? n for how long?

adrienne, oki, yea i like to visit visit n c their babies so cute! somemore i'm there so dun mind visiting also.. =) but jus now didn't manage to visit.. cuz now they really go according to visiting hours n only allow 2 ppl at a time.. i was done abt 5 n next visiting hours is 6 to 8.. so i left lo.. so sian this swine flu thing.. hope soon wont be so strict..

sk, congrats! ur girl so cute - contented sleeping! hee!

yvette, my er, blood aft ve is reddish.. but the nurse said it.d become brownish then stop.. but mine been like a couple of hours already.. still bleeding lei.. but not like heavy flow.. urs?

SK:

Do you apply nipple cream after bfg? it will help to stop the soreness. keep ur nipples moistures & make sure they dun abreast against ur clothings.

for engorgment, use nearly hot towel & massage vigoriously.. to soften them b4 feed, else, you will nid to express them out.

All the best!

Yvette/Jamie:
Bleeding/brown discharged usually due to discharge of muclus plug. if contractions does not follow, it will be fine and it should stop soon.

Below extract from www.babycenter.com

You pass your mucus plug or notice "bloody show."
You may pass your mucus plug — the small amount of thickened mucus that has sealed your cervical canal during the last nine months — if your cervix begins to dilate as you get close to labor.

The plug may come out in a lump or as increased vaginal discharge over the course of several days. The mucus may be tinged with brown, pink, or red blood, which is why it's referred to as "bloody show." Having sex or a vaginal exam can also disturb your mucus plug and cause you to see some blood-tinged discharge, even when labor isn't going to start in the next few days.

Hi Joyce,

Another question, if i am 2cm dilated now, how long u think its gonna take before i go into labour? within the next couple of days or could be another week?

Yvette:

I think hard to say.. I think only contractions will help us dilate further! For the time being, just relax & get the last minute preparation done!

yvette: i dun hv the sng feeling.. only the blood.. joyce is rite, u wont knw when u'll go into labor tho ur already dilated.. cld b in a few days or even 1 or 2 wks.. i also asked my doc the same qns! kekeke!!

np, Yvette, you can read more at the webby I gave just now!

Tho, I' expecting #3, however, each pregnancy is different.. there is no model ans to tt.. & I'm no professional.. like this one, I'm experiencing Hypertension, BH..which I do not have in the previous 2 preggy!

I think 'cos VE does not tell much on how long/when you will be in labour.. my gynae never ask me to do it!

He just says, you will know when you are really in labour!

yvette tan- u could be the next?!! hope tt ya.. have packed ur baggie...
as first time mum... dun expect anything besides smooth delivery and healthy bb!!
i enjoyed my bonding with my first kiddo.. without much confinement help or help from others.. but hubby's support and love is a must! demand for it!

jamie- seriously ah? 1.5cm dilated? tts real fast... to think our edd is almost the same and yet.. ur cervix is starting to dilate le.. **envious**.. plus bb is 2.7kg.. and mine is prob struggling at 2.1 mark.. sigh... nonetheless... all the best to u in the next few days! does ur V feels sore.... at times? hehe..

Joyce > I applied nipple cream but still sore, just now use the cabbage therapy but not much better too. Then saw slight pus-like material excreted. Terrible.

Joyce and Adelyee,

If baby doesnt come out within the next few days, my gynae will induce me on the 15th... so i am hoping bb will be good and come out soon...

yvette: jus nw i went to pee andwhen i walked back into room, my right thigh near the butt thr tho, was suddenly sng sng!! other than dat, nothing else was "sng-ing". my blood sort of stpped already bt aft wiping gt a bit of jelly like blood then i wiped again n it was gone... doc say induce u on 15h? when is ur edd??

adrienne: V no sore, jus like bb pressing on the area and gt those fleeting feelings that make u really wanna pee.. u knw?? yea i think the stairsand the walking helped with the dilating?? i'm nt sure.. for bb weight maybe u ccan try full cream meiji milk. i drank like a bottle of choc meiji milk, ate lots of ice cream, 4 durian puffs and countless choc bars, a couple of steaks previously and her wt gain shot up! gained 700gm in 3 wks! so u can give it a try... it might help =)

jamie- i ate so much tt i gained 1.5kg in two weeks?!! and obviously my gynae wasn't pleased at all... sigh.. i was just telling my hubby...it really isn't fun when u gotta literally eat 24/7!! for 'sng' feeling.. i always get it when i get up to walk ah.. from sitting or lying position.. and its soooo irritating...

yvette- on the 15th?? mm.. my gynae wants to induce me on next tue if my amniotic fluid is still low! i was trying to fight for the 18th which at least puts me in 38weeks plus a bit.. 15th is my 5th year wedding anniversary.. dun wanna miss out good food..