(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

liewb, me only long pants, socks and blanket.. my CL didnt say anything abt long sleeves.. so long i covered my arms can already..

i tot air-con is ok because the wind air-con blew out is dry. but for fans, cannot because air is wet?

i'm abit confused on this.. thats y ask ard..

i asked my mum.. she is ok with air-con but not fan.. and say can open windows but not big. only for ventilation.. but if got winds blowing, must close..

i did my confinement during july.. i nearly died!! because no shower for 1st 12 days.. even subsequent, only shower once a week and no wash hair.

this time will be may confinement.. almost the same weather condition..

adrienne, i hate the milky taste also.. whahah.. so what i did is add milo into the vanilla favour FM and add ice.. so the taste is quite ok.

i tried enfamama - chocolate favour, i like this..

friso - taste is ok with milo and ice..

similacmum - doesnt like the taste even with milo and ice

u dont be worried ok?? u still have time to boost up bb's weight plus yr giddiness.. anyway u love beef also right??

heard that durian helps to boost up bb's weight too.. but after week 35, dont take too much because this time, u have to drink more cooling stuff rather than taking in heaty stuff..

I agree with Shers. Dun take too much durians. Body will be over-heated. Im already on the slight heaty side and in order to boost up bb's wt I took some durians last week. Twice. Then had a mild infection at my right ear now cos for my case if inflammation is serious will cause my ear to be in pain. Im taking cooling stuffs now. Drinking young coconut water may help I guess. Double boost for um n baby. Hehe.

Im taking a day off cos be attending my last antenatal class on doc's talk at SCGS later in the evening. So surfing net, watching the telly and pack my hospital bag all at same time. Talk to my baby too during commercial break..so good to multi task at home I be stressed out if at work.

shers..i din showered for 2wks, felt really bad when bf baby coz i stinked!! and after tat, i would quietly sneaked in to take a really really quick shower. i know we can take those herbal bath but the water gotta be hot too right? i dun even want to think of confinement yet. it's just a depressing time. and i ate the same stuff evyerday, luckily towards the end, my hubby felt sorry for me and sneaked in some non-confinement food. :s

durian is good but too heaty. just dun take too much.

i've stopped work this week. resting at home and juz waiting for bb to come. yest went for gynae at check. at 37wks, bb is 2.9kg. telling bb to come once it hits 3kg.

shers - i turned on the aircon almost the whole day at my last confinement. simply too warm esp with the confinement food. i bathed everyday, in fact, oreadi showered when i was at the hospital much to my mum and mil's horror. but bathing makes me happy so i dun care. happy mum equal happy bb.

feb_mum, nice to rest at home right?? but the weather is so horrible to stay home.. yesterday, me on leave.. and i showered 4 times with no heater..

whahaa... i also took shower in hosp.. without anybody notice.. only my hb knew..

during confinement, i sneaked in to take quick shower when CL was cooking or busy handling my bb.. only once la.. in the end, got found out!! whahah..

anyway this time, i will try not to be cheeky.. be good and take care of my own body..

thanks alot!! i will check with CL..

Adrienne,
Ooh not a good size means too big or too small ? I am also anaemic & he prescibed iron pills for me. Anyway, beef, duck meat, spinach etc are good source of iron
Well, u shld be happy u are able to see ur sweetie soon isnt it ?

Hi, i m new here.. my EDD is 14 May. yesterday went for routine chk, gynea told me bb is 3.4kg (currently @ 36wk+), he ask me to consider induce..cos the bb mayb too big by EDD. all the while i wan natural birth.. any advice pse...

audrey, after 2 "rehearsals", the next time i admit to KKH will be the real thing! hope ur bb will give u a STRONG sign soon! jia you!

shers, ahhh, then #2 won't be born in may? name still shermay :p anyway, wish u a smooth delivery

re: confinement
gosh, the HOT weather is unbearable! lucky my mum is not so strict -- think can on air-con

Shers,

Day time - open window & occasionally with fan at swing mode from a distance

Night time - aircon but wear long pants with socks

But I am wearing my bedroom slippers thru'out the day.

Imagine my previous confinement is during June/July and the weather is the same as current. I want to ki-siao liao...

feb mum..wow..it's good to be on maternity already. i'm gonna work for another 3wks then start maternity. it's just tat i dun want to sit home and wait. but i'm off yesterday and today, it feels so good. now i'm thinking maybe shld go off earlier..hahahha. it's good to be able to watch my little boy nap like he's doing now.

shers..btw, wat food does the CL cook mostly?? is it the same everyday?? any veggie?

ksywot,
wow 3.4kg is big but if u intend to try natural then got to induce else u might end up csect if bb is way too big

adv_sports, the name still stays.. whahhaa... that is the question asked by my gynae also.. whahaha... he commented 'cannot name as SherApril hor, sounds funny..' me and hb was like HUH?? then he says her 2nd gal's name is Sherlyn.. ask me to consider that.. then i told him 'no need la.. anyway Shermay is named by my hb so remain that'

oki, i also want to ki-siao on the weather le.. the thought of it makes me panicky.. whahaha..
any signs from u??

ksywot..my 1st was est at 3.6kg at 34wks too. he ended up at only 3.4kg at fullterm. i'm not sure if there is any other reason for ur gynae to suggest induce as ultrasound is at best an est only. i know i panicked when gynae told me baby was abt 3.6kg with 6wks left to go. and i suggested c-section. gynae told me to go for natural first and if baby is really too big, then opt for c-section. but she was quite firm tat i shld try natural and i felt at tat time tat she only said c-section to ease my anxiety.

Shers,
Haha thats why I detest confinement..

No sign yet just alot of movement from him since morning. But I doubt he will be out this week so wait lor. Will be seeing my gynae this sat with CTG again. Last Sat CTG shown mild contraction but to gynae is nothing.

By any chance the weight measured now will be different from the actual weight when birth? Any advice shld i induce now or when hit 37wks (full term)?

liewb, CL will cook diff dishes every meal and every day.. but its almost the same to me la.. confinement food.. what else to expect?? whahah..

i opt for fish every meal and soup based every meal. yes! veggie not every meal but at least every day i get to eat veggie.. else, cannot poo le..

my hb's da gu made the hakka wine or something like that for my confinement.. so CL will cook dishes with that too!! i love that taste.. esp cook with mee sua.. and also with chicken..

my CL is hakka.. so she will cook with that wine for more varities of food..

i'm not so concerned abt food because i will be busy wiping off my sweat than enjoying the confinement food.. whahhaa

u agreed?

oki, same as me lor.. i detest confinement because of weather!!! food to me is ok.. urgh!!! help!!!

no signs?? gosh~~ will this be the same case as previous??

adv_sports
feel so shitty when i went home.. like wasting time.. like this journey is so long.. the nurse tell me 1cm dilate takes 1 hour.. so i think u must wait 10 hours.. den i say ok like that i go home better. i reach home i cry. i told hb this is so stressful and now i don't even know what is painful as described as gynae.

adv_sports, u can find babies'r'us at vivocity.. they have alot of things.. not not sure whether have the snuzzler u wan..

u still can go out?? better dont.. leave this to yr hb or until after yr confinement?

anyway the material looks hot.. maybe u can consider to place a cloth nappy on the car seat 1st??

Shers,
Food wise ok lah just that limited dishes from my previous CL. This round I have changed to another CL & hopefully she is a better cook. Actually weather play a very impt role during confinement.

My previous case at least mucous plug disloged with show at Week 38 Day 3 & was induced 2 days later. Today marked my Week 38 Day 4 liao.

Audrey, jia you!!
i heard my mum's fren say she waited for 2days with contraction then give birth.. her dilate took 2days wor..
feel so excited but worry for u..

shers..after 30days of taking the rice wine, i've had it. i used to really like it coz i'm hakka too but after confinement, i've phobia. and i really didnt take veg, only took fruits. think the combination of hot weather, no shower, confinement food and possibly difficult baby is really not wat i'm looking forward to. :S

yest was hb's off day so i got company. but today, alone at home, very bored. so surf net. if i'm office-bound, i dun mind working a little longer. juz dat, i'm in teaching and i can't really walk liao with this big belly so choose to stop work and wait for bb to come.

my mil does my confinement. i told my hb right at the beg dat i will bathe everyday, i will be very unhappy if i dun smell good so he better let his mum know. i juz make sure dat i bathe with warm water and the herbs loh. i tink we will be doing confinement in super hot weather tis time round, all the more, i must bathe, hee.

yest at tmc, there was tis lady carrying a nb standing beside me. she smelt awful ;p i tink she's one of those who observe the no-bathe rule.

liewb, i had rice wine for 40days previously.. hehehe.. i still enjoyed that! hahaha..

like what oki mentioned, weather plays a part during confinement.. even with good food, we cant enjoy much..

what i did was to wipe myself clean esp breasts area before BF-ing.. at least bb doesnt taste my salty and yucky sweats..

but latch on was diff due to weather.. bb also cranky.. urgh!!

dont think of all these 1st.. i better go home earlier to do last min packing and see if hse needs any topping up.. luckily most of confinement stuff r ready except fresh food and utensils which need to loan from mil..

audrey, *hugz* juz bear with it for a little while more... imagine seeing baby andrea's smile and all the pain r worth 1000 times! it's good to cry and release all the frustration & anxiety -- but do stay cheerful for bb's sake!

i was very stressed when i was warded twice -- both times requested to go home as very uncomfortable in the ward.. cannot rest well with the nurses coming in and out to check BP, temp etc. felt so much better at home... haha, now so relax that bb no further action/sign *faint*

shers, thanks for the headup
erhmm, i cannot go out alone -- but hubby lifted the "grounded ban" and we can go for after dinner walk to "induce labour" :p last sunday, we went to Jurong Point for dinner -- i was so happy

yah, the material looks hot -- but car has air-con, so should be ok?

yuki
the waiting time is the sian part haha.. 2 days to dilate.. i think #1 will take longer.. although some are very quick.. the midwife told me yesterday.. #1 will take longer so just wait..

adv_sports,
thank u..
i will bear with it and wait.. take care of urself too.. let us know when ur little girl decides to come out too k. seems like girls are getting cheekier ah!!

adv-sport,
tho' car has aircon but i realised from baby to a todd for my ger she tends to perspire easily be it in car, at home or anywhere outside with aircon.

feb_mum, actually hakka style of confinement is 1st 12 days no shower.. but daily wiping of body with herbs..

then after 12days, can take shower alternate days.. and wash hair weekly.. so i will use dry shampoo powder daily.. and use lots and lots of body powder to cool down myself..

so not that bad..

i think that mum really didnt take care..

my CL lets me shower when i went to gynae to remove stitches and bring BB for jabs.. so not so bad huh..

i also scared of taking shower daily because my mum did warn me abt next time when i'm ard 40, i will get the pain etc.. so i tot might as well suffer for this month.. then next time when i'm old, the chances of jointing pains isnt as much?

malay also belives in confinement.. even go to the extent of wrapping forehead with herbs etc..

my massage lady did forehead herbs also.. i like that.. hehehe..

oki, u will experience that also.. at least prevent us from having 'tai hong'?? whahha

Re: confinement

I will stil on fan (not blowing on myself), open window and on aircon in my room kekeke.. but if wind is big, the window cannot be opened to wide :p
My mil is okay with fan, aircon or window, but my mum is a bit particular, she said no fan, window dun open too big haha!

I didnt shower during my hospi stay but once i get home, i showered everyday with ginger boiled water or herbs.. washed hair after 7 days, and once every 2 or 3 days. That recharged me a lot.. coz i was BF and had blocked ducts, i think i might break down if i am not allowed to shower

As for food, my MIL doesnt really know how to cook confinement food ler.. so i just drink more soups that's all lor..

adv_sports, imagine u r lying there with air-con but cannot move body.. body will perspire as well..

a thinner material will be good enough..

my gal also perspire in car and anywhere.. hehee.. same as oki.. think its in all kids?

somemore car seat position is at the side of passager seat.. cant really enjoy much air-con.. until u on the air-con like 22??

audrey, yup, hope our princess will kuai kuai give us STRONG signal SOON *haha*

oki & shers, thanks for sharing... hmmm, mayb i will keep a look out for aprica's car seat cover -- mine is a hand-me-down and the material is not hot...

yuki
my mum n brother are at home. hb going to teach now will be back by 5pm. u take care too ok! rest more since at nite ur bb always active

Hi audrey,
I am already 1 cm dilated according to my gynae since last week. Still 1 cm dilated i think till now cos she did not check on me yesterday. For my #1, i went to the observation ward at 5+am, 1 cm dilated, took me around 6 hours to dilate to 8cm. After the pethidine jab, dilation rate increased.

RE: Mucous plug
My mucuos plug came out over a period of 2-3 days in week 38 for my #1. However, #1 still comes out on EDD onli.

Re: Bathing
I will ask my CL to let me bathe after 3-4 days this time round. Then i will sneak in to bath in the day time when she is out marketing once very 1-2 days. The weather is so HOT nowadays and i am going crazy at night w/o the aircon cos my #1 is down with phlemy cough and cold. For #1, i bathed onli after 7 days n hubby also buai tahan my "smell" liaoz...he was complaining when i will bathe.

Tks liewb & okipoki.
By any chance the weight measured now will be much different from the actual weight when birth? Any advice shld i induce now or when hit 37wks (full term) which is few more days?

cola, i heard that if on the hot water shower, will relieve blocked duct.. is that true?? i had alot of blocked duct previously and had to wait for massage lady to relieve for me.. if hot water can help let down, i hope i can try that?

audrey
i so scare lao.. ur edd is 4may right mine 1day diff from urs.. then same keep on having pain..
haiz... how i wish i can run away.. ==!

My boy is ye mao.. active at night sleep in the day.. so i got to follow his pattern.. haha..

ksywot, actually we have this discussion last week..

hmm... for bb's weight.. even gynae's advice is based on estimation also.. by measurement thru scan.. there will be diff..

a few days more doesnt really make a diff in weight unless u can do magic in beefing up bb..

u can reach full term, thats very good already.. some of mummies here didnt make it and bbs r growing as well also..

dont worry too much..

we r not experts.. gynaes r.. i feel that u shld heed to yr gynae's advice unless u really feel so uncomfortable..

Shers,
The massage is something new to me cos my previous ML does the typical way. But I would say she is equally good as well

Ksywot,
Thats depend if u want to wait or not. My previous birth the diff is just a few grams & it is dependent on how accurate the machine provide the estimated weight.

Shers
Not really, my blocked ducts were unblocked by my hubby - use hot water compress and massaged the hard spot until the milk flew out like fountain.
Mine blocked till i got masitis (infection coz get fever everytime when it is blocked!), so far i didnt go see any GP because i called up parentcraft they said just continue to feed bb, dun worry too much about the infection, as long as it is unblocked, it should be okay already.... my hot shower doesnt do any help (in my opinion) massage is much useful..

Really can get "tao hong", is it oldwives tales or wat.. actually i have been following those zong yi discussion on confinement, they said can bathe ler, but must use runnign water (ie not stagnant water), during olden days only when ppl cant find running water, then they are not allowed to bathe using stagnant water..

yuki
my edd is 3rd may. ur boy so cute.

poohwei,
if i can take the pain today, i won't go back down.. wait til my gynae appt tmr nite at 8pm.. if not waste time again..

audrey,
hang in there babe, sounds very painful the way u describe the contractions! I wouldn't know what to do either in your situation since ur gynae didn't say its time. but i am sure i will be very frustrated!

btw, my glen E gynae doesn't give any direct contact # either. there is a hotline i can call that will be directed to his senior nurse. she will call me and advise.

in the early stage of my pregnancy, i had some scare due to low placenta bleeding. when i called the hotline, the nurse took some time to return my call. when she did, she said i must admit myself to the A&E because its a Sat and the clinic is not open. she said if really serious then the gynae will see me @ the hospital, if not the A&E dr @ Glen E will see me.

not much diff from KK i think!

Shers,
u popping on 30April! I envy u, at least u know when u gonna see baby...i still don't know! btw, we decided to name #2 mae ann (think i mentioned that to u before) since our #1 is rae ann. pple also ask me, what if she's born in april? will it be April Ann? I am sticking to mae ann

really like the idea that the sisters have similar names, i really hope that they become very close as they grow up

u having double room? i booked a single, but subject to availability, so mebbe we might be rooming, hahaha...

sk,
that silly woman who scolded u must be NUTS! what dumb ass thing to say! hope u're feeling better now, just ignore it! u've got better things to think about!

RE: 38 Weeks check up
me going for check up now, will update tonight! mebbe can chat more if there are more mummies online and forum is working

take care dear mummies!

audrey,
jia you... seem like alot of us going to pop anytime now

my gynae also has a hotline to call, it will direct me to a "customer service" and indirectly it will "page" for gynae. In return my gynae call me back within 10mins.

shers- thanks for the info on milk powder.. i'll go look for enfammama.... i dun wanna see my daughter so early like 37 weeks... sigh..

confinement- the last round i did was to on the air con 24/7... i would think tt by switching on air con is better than fan... coz the temperature is controlled.. just on it at prob 24degree celcius, u should be fine.

Audrey:

What you can do when contractions come is actually in a standing position/kneeling position.. use the bb weight & gravity to push your cervic to dilate! It's quicker than laying on bed which is working against the gravity force.

HTHs

shers - wow, hakka confinement sounds strict. but from wat i learnt prev from antenatal class, these practices came from china which has 4 seasons. the women were not allowed to bathe coz it was winter. but spore weather super hot so it's advisable dat we bathe to keep ourselves clean. like rc cola, if i dun bathe, i will suffer fr mental breakdown, haha.

on clearing milk ducts, i used hot towel and massage over the area until i dun feel the blockage. hv also gone to parentcraft to ask the nurses to help me clear. it was really painful!