(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

rc_cola, m grounded coz m on hospitalization leave n doc ordered bed rest...

after my 1st "full dress rehearsal", was supposed to be on bed rest but i did baby stuff laundry and walk here n there... then got "the show" followed by 2nd "rehearsal"... so now hubby dun wanna me to move ard much -- juz eat, sleep, internet, TV, listen to music...

now that i m off medication to stop contraction, think can start walking... will try to talk to him

915 & feb_mum, haha, same here -- tummy in the way when washing at the sink! hubby asked y i wet my blouse??! so now he do the dishes

feb_mum, cool that today is ur last day at work
enjoy resting at home! erhmm, think i put on more weight since i started HL 2 weeks ago *faint*

haha... since my pregnancy, I've been eating alot of ban mian too... just love it with alot of chilli padi.. also love zai yu pian mee fen..yummy..

ak, thanks!!! i'm going down to vivo tml with my hb and little gal. will take alook at the pupsik poncho..

then can see the variety of prams at mothercare harbourfront..

morning mummies..

went for my check up yesterday at 37weeks.
Bb 2.8kg nia only increase of 0.1kg for the past one week.
Dr say it could be the signal of bb stop growing as i keep on feeling pain at night.. bb wanna come out early.

Yuki,
Your doc says that? My baby grew abt 300g in 2 weeks. Its grow also slowed down (from 400g in 2 weeks)
Does he mean that once the baby stops growing, it will come out?

hmmm he say bb will be out soon cause bb nt growing plus i have strong contraction now and then.. i so scare.. he say must be careful anything must call him straight.. so i move to my mum place last night after hearing what he say..

rc_cola,
my baby head already down n now i abit diff to walk, get up frm bed n sit. got feel pain 4 times yesterday but I tot that one contractions. My next appoint at thurs 37 weeks 2 days.

adv_sports - i'm also "grounded". my hubby is worried that i'll burn down the house if i cook so i still get to go out and buy lunch. some days i just eat bread and drink milk for lunch. he will buy dinner for me.

yuki,
is it the sign if baby grow slowdown mean baby want to come out already?

3wkold,
my baby at 35 weeks only 2kg also thats y my gynae ask me to beef up her in this 2 weeks. We must try our best to baby sake

lily
erm.. i dunno how to say le.. i kind of blur too on this matter.. but doc ask me careful only thats what he say to me le i confuse on this part also..

Adv sport,
I think now your baby matures already, tts y your gynae asked you to stop the medication
then dun carry heavy stuff, but i think slow stroll around the park wont harm :p

Lily
The pain is actually the pressure that your bb is giving to your pelvic bone.. i felt that quite often, till i have to stopp and shh shhing hahaha.. yest i was walking past a food store, then suddenly the pulling pain set in, so i was like.. "Keep walking, a lot of ppl are sittting there and looking at you" after walking past the store, i stop for awhile to shhhh shhhh and wait till less painful then continue to walk hehehe..

dun stress over bb's weight.. i think bb above 2 kg is okay, so long as all the organs are functioning well, they would just be like normal baby when comes out..
I myself is a small bb at 2.2kg when born.. see now i am also normal just like anybody elses.. so long as all the organs are matured and functioning well, i dun think u all have to be too stressed.. enjoy the pregnancy, u will sure miss it.. i hope i wont miss pregnancy time coz now it's my #2 liao hahaha

ak, have u started ur maternity leave? ur hubby so cute -- burn down the hse if u cook :p good that u still get to go out and buy lunch -- breath some fresh air
hmm, now i dunno wat to cook for lunch later...

re bb weight - i agree with rc cola. dun fret over bb weight, as long as bb is growing healthily, it's good! after all, we all come in all shapes and sizes, some are bigger, some are smaller but all are beautifully and wonderfully made. :)

Good morning everyone,

Just came back from my routine check! BB has grown 2 more cm while I put on another 900gm.

I have decided to do Mirena after 6wk post-birth, hence, changed my delivery hospital to Mt A instead of TMC already. Luckily I did not sign up for TMC-SBI, else all will be wasted!

I also asked my OB abt the size of the bb, he said, most likely around same as #2, even if bigger, it will be slightly more than 3kg.

Cravings:
At this stage, I also do not have much cravings, sometimes don't even feel like eating dinner!

rc_cola,
ya correct lor ... I also like that. I walk like snail now. But if got craving something I still go n buy. I walk walk a lot hope can make delivey easier.

morning mummies !

915, hahaha...i also find it hard to wash the utensils and dishes now...always knock against the sink and baby dont like it...keeps kicking me...end up whole pj is wet after wash...same like brush teeth and wash face...whole floor wet also

lily - my mil says this stage is good for drinking bird nest. she stopped brewing the tonic chix soup for me liao, scare bb will be too big.

piggy,
yours is better than mine too cos mine is 2.3kg @ 37th week.
Don't worry much, just try to beef up baby as much as you can

adv sports,

suggestion:you can cook "Mee tai Mak" with minced pork and fishball or minced meat porridge. Whenever i am on bedrest, i cook and eat these cos it's the easiest and it's tasty;p and it's "qing dan"

yuki,

Yesterday night, i exoerience the contration again , it comes in abt 30 secs then go away and 5-10min later, for abt 30 secs and go away .

Yuki, adv sports,

Are yours like that?

hoops, i have been eating zai yu pian mee fen from my office here too ! very nice and cheap

yuki, dr woody say u having contraction already ? did he do VE on u ?

rc_cola, yup, will persuade hubby to go for after-dinner walk
yesterday i mentioned abt going for a swim on sunday -- he said NO coz i m oledi 3cm dilated and he dun wan "dirty water" to get in??!!

ak, oh, juz remember that u r on HL for hypertension.. how r u feeling?

lily, usually gynae will do VE ard week 38 or even later...

for #1, my gynae did only once... week 40... because i was hooked on CTG and no contraction.. so he VE..

dont ask for VE.. very er-xin le..

lily - tks. sk, i add you liao.

adv sport - i tink no very advisable to swim at this stage rite? maybe go walk walk good enuff.

star, thanks for the suggestion -- oledi had mee tai mak n minced pork porrigde this week...

re: contraction
mine is pain at lower abdomen -- at the lowest of our bump... i din time the interval but seemed like constant pain... KKH nurse said contraction pain will come from backache and spread to lower abdomen...

other experienced mummies can comment on this?

lily,
put ice & honey ah??? k, i try later

oki/adv,
ya, qiu lian ban mian is the nicest kind they have in food courts. others like not so good leh

adv_sports, if diluated cannot swim?? can check with yr gynae and fill me in?? i'm keen to know.. hahahaha...

i still go to pool on sunday with my hb and my little gal.. cant swim already.. i swim 2 stroke, i feel so breathless and sank down.. heheh...

just soak myself in water to enjoy the water..

adv sport - contraction pain is a type of crampy pain. pain at the lowest of our bump is likely more due to the weight of the bb exerting downwards as it has moved down. i'm having dat too.

lily, me only 35weeks...still far...hehe...so no need any VE yet..

shers, i agree...dont ask for VE unless gynae say so...i heard aft VE will have some spotting and cramps...anyway not all gynae will do VE de right ?

adv_sports - i'm doing ok. my blood pressure yesterday is much lower than the last checkup. i think our babies can actually understand us - i had been telling mine that the blood pressure must be "nice nice" yesterday otherwise the stand-in gynae may want to deliver him but he better doesn't come out until our gynae returns from vacation next week. i'm abit worn out today because i walked alot yesterday - i went for check-up on my own and finally got to go out and meet friends.

lily n feb_mum, i like swimming coz the water helps to support the weight of my bump
ok, guess i better put it off till bb is out...

shers, so far i had 2 VE done when i was admitted twice... first one was so painful -- MO had to dig her fingers so far in!! 2nd one, the MO used an aparatus to measure how many cm dilation -- lucky there was a kind nurse who talked and distracted me from the discomfort

ju, i only know a few places have qiu lian ban mian... sometimes no choice juz eat what's available lor...

Lily
I have no taboo in food, so i eat everything meaning of course bird nest can drink haha.. i dunno about yourself

Adv
If you are dilated, better dun go for swimming, skali water burst u are not aware coz inside the pool, then infection might set it ler.. better be safe than sorry rite..
slow stroll around the park.. should be much much safer, treat it as exercise as well as chit chatting time with hubby..

Feb Mum
Wohoo so nice u start your ML already after today, can spend more time with your girl now..

Re: VE
Yes agree with Shers, dun ask for VE haha, very akward.. my gynae did VE for me at wk 39 during y #1, 2 days later i was in labour..
This round he said next week (i will be 38 wks and 3 days by then) will do CTG as well as "check on me", i supposed the "check on me" is the VE keke.. my gynae always told me what to expect if there is sth which he needs to check other than usual scanning haha.. get myself prepared first, new panty liner, new wipes before going there haha! very very akward moment ler..

btw i never wear dress when going for check up, coz later on flip the whole skirt up when scanning, then gynae can see my panty hahaha! which i dun feeel comfy, so i always wear 2 pieces top and bottom, then normal scanning only need to flip up top mah :p

next week i am wondering what to wear, CTG will take longer.. ie 30 mins strap with the device - 2 pieces wear will be good, coz only need to flip up tummy, but if do VE, i have to take off pants + panty!! super wierd ler!! later bottom like empty empty haahahahahah super shy! silly me.. any suggestion mummies.. perhaps i wear top + skirts ( i only have 1 skirt so far haha and that one a bit tight liao.. how how how..)

audrey, juju,
Since u are feeling a bit crampy or having some loose stools from drinking raspberry, you may want to stop taking it.. Have you checked with your gynae prior to taking the tea?You may want to chk out this website .
http://www.birth.com.au/Info.asp?class=67&page=25
NOTE: Raspberry leaf may be prescribed by herbalists, naturopaths and maternity caregivers for a variety of reasons in many forms, doses and concentrations. However, its safe use during pregnancy remains unclear. At present, there is very little (or no) research to support the many benefits claimed by taking raspberry leaf.

The claimed benefits of raspberry leaf include:

Balancing the menstrual cycle, regulating hormones, enhancing fertility, alleviating period cramping and reducing excessive bleeding with heavy periods.
Helping to prevent or treat anaemia (because of the iron content).
Possibly helping to prevent miscarriage and ease morning sicknessand vomiting. Although raspberry leaf can cause nausea in some people and many caregivers recommend avoiding the use of raspberry leaf during the first 12 weeks of pregnancy to avoid miscarriage. This is discussed in contradicting effects.
As a remedy for leg cramps.
Easing mouth ulcerations and bleeding gumsor gargling a raspberry leaf solution to treat a sore throat.
Using it as a kidney tonic and helping to lower blood pressure.
As an antispasmodic to help reduce and relieve painful Braxton hickscontractions (although raspberry leaf may increase Braxton Hicks contractions for some women).
Possibly having a regulating effect on the uterus, making labour contractions more coordinated and efficient, perhaps shortening the labour and making the birth easier. Some say it may make the contractions less painful.
Helping to deliver the placentaand control the bleeding after the birth.
Increasing breast milk production and for treating mastitis.
Treating diarrhoea and dysentery (although it may act as a mild laxative and cause diarrhoea if used for other purposes).
As an antiseptic to cleanse wound, burns and ulcers.

rc cola - i will still be sending my gal to 1/2 day childcare and my mum. dun wan to disrupt her schedule. but at least i won't be so tired in the evenings and can play with her more.

you are so cute re what to wear to gynae checks. i'm very comfy with my gynae so i dun quite care liao, haha. esp after giving birth b4, all inhibitation oso gone. still rem when i went korea as a single lady, i didn't go to the spring bath coz shy. after giving birth, when i went japan, bochup liao, juz strip and be naked in the spring bath, haha.

shers/adv,
dilated means mucus plug out alrdy, rite?
then shld not swim bah? same logic as no soaking in bath tub, rite?

adv,
i only saw at causeway point foodcourt. other places dunno yet

star,
thanks. will chk on it

Hello Mommies,
Sorry for not being able to update you on my meet up with Dr Paul yesterday cos it was a hectic day for me. Phew! But I'm glad I met Dr Paul for 2nd opinion. Personally I find him quite a nice and patient person and he answers all my questions with his opinion. Here's the update:

Dr Paul
- shown him all my previous scans and Doppler report, he told me that maybe my EDD is not 7-May but later
- baby could be only 36 weeks now due to my irregular menses, and not advisable to take out at this stage
- listen to her heartbeat and its normal, bb beats faster when I breathe in deeply
- scan and baby estimate 2.6kg

Dr A W
- rushed to see Dr A W
- was advised to have bb out soon again
- told him I want to scan for the weight and surprisely bb only 2.3kg!
- told Dr A W that I want to wait for 1 more week to beef up bb, he said at this stage unlikely to gain alot of weight
- anyway he is fine with our decision to wait for 1 more week so asked me go CTG yday and see him again on Tues

Puzzled ... how can weight varies so much within an hour? 2.6kg vs 2.3kg!

Kerene's decision:
- beef up baby for a week
- if failed, will go c-sec
- at least I won't regret if baby still comes out small
- also, if bb is really 36 weeks now, she will be more 'matured' next week than now

porky, i'm not sure whether after VE will cause spotting and cramps ornot.. because after my VE, next day c-sect already.. hehehe..

anyway this feeling is er-xin lor.. some mummies dont even need VE because they go into labour earlier.. so thats good le..

Kerene:

So, your decision does not include changing to Dr Paul Tseng for your delivery?

Since you are more comfy with the assurance?

His estimate is usually very accurate.. he told me just now, just by feel, can tell bb's weight, sometimes scan will not be accurate too!

rc_cola - you are so cute to think about what to wear to the gynae.

lily - i'm eating bird nest 2-3 times a week for the past 2 weeks. since the baby is supposed to develop fats and skin now, i suppose bird nest should be good for him at this stage.