(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Jaime:
My gynae is very pro-natural, he's the type who re-active labour.
His time mgmt is very good, I usually waited only for abt 15mins to see him.
his clinic no. 62542878

Prepare your qns for him in a list, so that u will not miss out anything!

He accepted my friend who changed gynae at wk 32 or 34..

yes, JasC, bb will suckle the colestrum.. which is sufficient for them at this early stage.

Try not to introduce bottle till 6th wk. bb is smart.. when they know they dun hv to work hard for milk, they choose over bottle & reject our breast! This maybe what happen to ur bb.

joyce, from yr experience, roughly what is the time interval for bb to suckle on colestrum for 1st few days where we have no supply of milk??

jaime
was wondering where u were. I did hear quite few pp change to him later in the preg. not sure how late but for reasons that they were not so ok with how their gynae practises. all the best

Shers:

it can be every 2hr.. each time abt 30mins to 1 hr.. for my #1.

seems can't remember much for #2, as I do not watch the clock.. when bb signal, I just feed.

jasC & Shers - actually bb born got 'reserve' so even if no BM, they ok till yr milk is here (abt 2 - 3 days) cos colestrum only abt 1 teaspoon.. so normally bb weight will be 'lighter' when discharge compared to when born.... but e mummy ve to 'tahan' their 'hungry cry'

initially i told e nurse i want full BF but when bb cried till so poorthing, i gave in n get e nurse to feed formula...

back fr lunch n nua nua...

my friends got me addicted to play kuku games in facebook...farm town...damn funi...esp those small chkn n sheep n pig walking around...

Porky
Luckily you are okay.

Today's postings are so fast.. cant catch up at all

Btw, i have been having poo poo feeling since morning!!! having very loose stool and severe backache now. Didnt have any backache before, only these 2 days.. Hubby is very excited, he prepared the marriage cert already
Now i am getting everything done at work first, so that if bb really wanna come out, my mind will be at ease..

jen, this happened to me as well.. when bb cried so loud, i gave in too..

then in the end i have hard time getting my gal to latch direct.. so ended up express..

my friends got me addicted to play kuku games in facebook...farm town...damn funi...esp those small chkn n sheep n pig walking around...

Hi Jen
That was what my gynae told me at the presence of my HB, baby has 3 days reserve. I told my mum about it too but my mum asked me to backup with FM in case baby cry until very 'cham'.

Joyce
This is true. My #1 refused to latch on after FM was introduced to her.

I told my mum and my HB that #2 better know how to latch on properly as I won't buy any FM to supplement him, my HB would have to let his mum know.

Hi cola

I'm trying to get my work done as well. At least hand over to my colleague and ease my mind if I have to go anytime. Very stressful.

aiyah.. my temp says she wants to quit!! very 烦 now!

Shers:
my #1 is girl, I also have hard time getting her to latch, but, managed to in the end.
#2 is boy, easier.. I latch him the moment he's out, cord not even clamp & cut..

expert says that bb has the need to suckle the moment they r out, hence, if latch immediately, successful bfg rate is much higher!

JasC:

If you dun 'standby' FM & milk bottles, caretaker/confinement lady will hv no choice, but to pass u the bb when it crys for milk!

'cos BM consist of 70% water, there is no nid to feed water to 'clense' the bb's mouth also.

Joyce
I'll have my maid who has three children breastfed. I hope that my MIL won't stay over at least for the first week, else she will sleep with baby and will nag at me if she knows I didn't prepare FM.

I read somewhere or watch news that mentioned baby before 6 months old should not be fed with water at all.

My own mum & sis nag at me not giving my #2 water too.. I just simply ignore...MIL is the one doing confinement wif me.. she has no problem, will respect all the things I do.. I ever brought her to BFG talk.. so she understand pretty well the advantage of BM over FM.

Muffin

My EDD should be somewhere from 3rd - 7th may..
I supposed so, my back has been aching since few days ago.. if i popped so early, i would need to cater confinement food liao!!

See when bb wants to come out lar.. during my #1, everyday i asked bb to come out early, she didnt want haha.. now i am lazy to talk to baby about when he is coming out, if he is ready, then just come out :p

JasC
Yes, I am feeling super stress now! trying hard to think what is undone! another colleague of mine went for ML already.. oh.. stress!!

Muffin

My EDD should be somewhere from 3rd - 7th may..
I supposed so, my back has been aching since few days ago.. if i popped so early, i would need to cater confinement food liao!!

See when bb wants to come out lar.. during my #1, everyday i asked bb to come out early, she didnt want haha.. now i am lazy to talk to baby about when he is coming out, if he is ready, then just come out :p

JasC
Yes, I am feeling super stress now! trying hard to think what is undone! another colleague of mine went for ML already.. oh.. stress!!

Shers
Haha.. mummy is ready!
I need to browse thru the confinement food webby that you posted earlier haha.. just in case, if not my confinement daddy sure dunno how to cook! hehe!
I drank like 4 times of milk per day hahaha, over doze? :p

Actually i also didnt count the timing of colostrum feeding haha.. anyway my girl survived her first week with only suckling on my breasts! wondering if she suckles anything hahahahahaah.. this time round, i didnt have any FM at all at home.. hm.. perhaps can ask from hospital rite? I dun wanna stress myself too much of BF, if enough feed, if bb is really hungry, just give a bit FM :p i wanna be a stress-free mummy this time..

Joyce
I still prefer to give my bb a bit of water after BM.. no regret coz now my #1 is a water baby
actually dun need, but i prefer to do so...

cola,

good to know u r prepared!!! hehehe

ya.. be prepared for catering in case.. else dont know how to survive.. anyway u prepare the confinement stuff for cooking?? my mil just settled for me yesterday.. felt so thankful!!

4 times of milk?? hehhehee... not over doze la.. maybe u will have leakage of milk before u deliver? hehehe..

ya.. me too.. i dont want to be stressful over feeding with BM.. my gynae always says giving birth and BF-ing shouldn't be stressful.. still be something enjoyable.. which me and hb agree..

i didnt standby any FM.. not sure suitable ornot.. anyway before discharge, i will ask for FM which i did for #1.. so use that as standby.. anyway my hb is experienced daddy.. he knows where to get the FM..

me also will give water though not require for BM.. i still prefer to rinse my bb's mouth with water.. cola, my gal same as yrs.. everywhere she goes, water bottle is with her.. on and off, she will drink water without me prompting her..

i think individual mums have diff patterns.. so no need to emphasis on TBF, no water, go for natural etc.. i think got to depends on situation..

i have seen cases where the mummies who have alot of supply.. but bb not on high demand.. so in the end, infection.. so got to be on antibotic to stop BM.. no choice la.. just see how when we reach that step right??

jasC,
u wanna check this link out?

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html

its a rough guide to how much milk baby really needs when they're born.

@ the hospital, u just need to feed the baby colostrum, its more than enough. if u want to build supply, have to keep b-feeding, better not give FM.

with my #1, my in laws kept hovering over and saying that baby's not getting enough milk, etc. when i tried to pump in the early weeks, they kept commenting how little milk i have (duh???!!!)
so in the end, i stopped pumping and feed direct all the time (not a good idea also coz my girl later totally rejected bottle). But by 3mths, she grew to 7kg just on breastmilk alone without water or FM so my in laws stopped commenting.

basically if baby poos and pees alot, u're doing fine

Anyways, joyce is right, can intro bottles by 6 weeks. I did it @ 8 weeks and she rejected it all the way!

in fact my lactation consultant told me to intro @ 16weeks! thats too late i think! but it also depends on ur baby lah...

xue,
just came back from tampines 1. I wanted to check out mums and babes but its only opening on friday!

went there to satisfy my craving for carl junior!

yummy!

i just came back from tampines one...u can check out the store directory from the link i posted earlier. there are alot of baby stores there.

I checked out the nursing rooms. its not bad. inside, you have a changing station with a sink and then a small cubicle that you can lock to nurse. So, if someone needs to change baby, you can still use the nursing cubicle instead of that one person hogging the entire room to just change the baby.

this so much cleverer than most nursing rooms in SG where all is in one. i think there are nursing rooms on alternate floors. also the female toilets are big with many cubicles and are available on every floor.

any mummies living in the EAST? mebbe we can hang out there after confinement once in a while

Shers
Ya just see how, I dun want to force myself at all..

Yup i bought those herbs for brewing confinement soup already, but for food, I didnt prepare.. and would be too tired to prepare when the times come...
My mum can only come earliest after 17th apr.

Yup my girl will also auto prompt for wanting water.. which is quite good, as they dun get heaty easily rite?

Hubby's just updated me on my girl, he is on leave today and now waiting below my office for me to finish work with my girl..
He said today my girl is super duper sticky and cranky, at home FIL kept yelling at her, coz she was cranky and misbehaving, so hubby cant stand her kept being shouted at, he brought her out along.. what's wrong with my girl... last nite also kept crying in the middle of nite..
If tomorrow she is still cranky, i wont have mood to work, coz FIL might lose temper at her
haiz mummy's dilemma..

Cola - Poor thing..can talk to your FIL, ask him dun shout at ur gal anot, probably make your gal more cranky? Sometimes my gal oso get cranky, I've taken 2 days maternity leave but I told my boss I will leave 1-2 hours earlier for this few weeks on random days so I can get home earlier to spend time with my gal before I pop. Coz by then I will be so bz with #2.

Am spending as much time as I can with my gal now.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cola, so exicted for you.!! I'm having loose stools today as well. And lower backpain... But the lil one always give me false alarm one leh... Anyway better to stay till next week too...</font>.

Floomy
FIL is not easy to talk to one.. hm.. so what i hope everyday is that she sleeps till late afternoon, (sleep at 11pm till 11am - her normal sleeping schedule), on somedays dunno y she woke up so early at 8+.. the more she sleeps, the more time FIL will have for himself, so she wont get too much scoldings, i will be back at home about 6+ liao mah!

I am also spending as much time as I could with her.. Hope tomorrow she will be her ownself again..

Xue
I dun want any false alarm at all, if bb wants to come out, then please come out quickly, if wanna stay longer, then just stay.. I am worry about Meg

Floomy
FIL is not easy to talk to one.. hm.. so what i hope everyday is that she sleeps till late afternoon, (sleep at 11pm till 11am - her normal sleeping schedule), on somedays dunno y she woke up so early at 8+.. the more she sleeps, the more time FIL will have for himself, so she wont get too much scoldings, i will be back at home about 6+ liao mah!

I am also spending as much time as I could with her.. Hope tomorrow she will be her ownself again..

Xue
I dun want any false alarm at all, if bb wants to come out, then please come out quickly, if wanna stay longer, then just stay.. I am worry about Meg

cola, i agree.. like that the chances of getting too heaty is reduced.. and recovery from fever also faster with sponging and lots of water..

oh no.. seems that all T2 gals r cranky!!! mine also.. she was cranky on sat.. made me so mad at her but in the end, she came to me, signal and said 'sorri, mummy', i melted~~

cola, is yr gal in school??

i realised my gal will cry in her sleep too.. but my mum says everyday she hops happily into the class and waves good bye to my mum.. other than that, i dont know what causes her to cry in her sleep.. maybe its normal??

flommy, its good that u take leave on and off to keep yr gal accompany.. i will take 3 days before my schedule date to bring my gal out to play etc.. because after my c-sect, i must rest and cant carry her.. so my mum asks my hb not to fetch my gal home during my confinement.. we havent decide on that yet.. we ask my mum to bring her to my place every sat and sun.. at least there is bonding and i can see her too..

shers - i gave in but dun ve problem latching on later but e nurse told me wrongly in e feeding timing, said every 4hrly.. i found out should be 2 - 3hrly instead.

JasC - grandmothers normally will feel grandchild very poor thing if not enough food..
my mum kept telling me to feed my #1 FM cos said so poorthing cry till so chiam.. my mum not pro-BF type but my MIL is very pro on BF.. this time round, i telling my mum to let me try again on BF (hoping to make it work)..

my mum thinking said BF kids not enough nurtients but my SIL proved her wrong cos her bb is full BF n her child is like a mini sumo... when she 1st saw her she was so surprised..

mommies - so loose stool meant going to deliver soon??
today i just experience e 'loose' stool, going to monitor tmr onward n see see cos till now dun ve these 'loose' stool feeling leh

jen, my mum and mil r ok with BF-ing.. just that they prefer me to mix with FM esp at nite so that bb and myself can slp better.. but they say 1st 40days best to give exclusive BM because of the food we eat during confinement.. my gal was on FM only in hospital for 1st day and nite feed. after that, she was on TBM but expressed..

so i see how it goes this time.. anyway i have been motivating myself that if i dont sterilise the bottles (still in packaging), no FM.. i will be firmer.. once again, see how it goes in hospital..

my hb also prefers to mix because he saw the size between my gal and his nephew.. his nephew is TBF and is super small size.. he was bigger when he was 4 months compared to my gal who was 6months..

but i think mummies shldnt be too worried abt BM or FM because the FM now is so good.. fill with DHAx4, AA, blah blah.. even better than BM.. hehehe..

my 1st gyne not so pro-BF cos she said want to BF (try for 3mths can liao) cos after can give FM which e nurtients r very consistant not like BM which will depend on e food intake of e mother.

but my 2nd gyne told me dat TMC is very pro-BF so if dun know BF is ok, they will teach u till u gets it (which i'm very happy to hear)

frankily, i got buy e bottles but i din get any FM cos i thinking to express (if ve excess) into e bottles for storage... keeping my fingers n toes crossed on this.. :p

thanks joyce, if my gynae still insist to induce,i may go n consult him for second opinion by this week. i am not thinking of changing entirely to him coz i am comfortable at raffles now but i really want to know if its just my gynae's opinion to induce.

ur fren to change to him entirely, does she like have to bring her whole medical file from her previous gynae?

also i read other mummy who has 2.1kg baby at 35-36 weeks , gynae also never say anything..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cola,
meg very poor thing.. keep getting scolded by ur fil.. but i thought they will dote or spoiled them?
You're working till tt day?</font>.

Jen, i had stomache but nothing and then the usual time is loose stool. my colleagues say that's part of getting ready..
in fact, the stomache is actually contraction. dunno if that's true or not!!!

but my dr is on holiday and I really dun want to pop now.. and havent finish my work here.

Flommy
Thanks, ya hope she is back to normal by tomorrow
Yup she will have afternoon nap somemore.. at 4.30pm - 630pm (if i am at home) kekeke..

Shers
Nope she is not schooling yet, just stay at home with FIL, that's all..

Jen
Not really lar, but from the babycentre webby, it is considered as one sign of labour..

Flommy
Thanks, ya hope she is back to normal by tomorrow
Yup she will have afternoon nap somemore.. at 4.30pm - 630pm (if i am at home) kekeke..

Shers
Nope she is not schooling yet, just stay at home with FIL, that's all..

Jen
Not really lar, but from the babycentre webby, it is considered as one sign of labour..

Dunno y i kept double post.

Xue
Yes he dotes on her, but loses temper at her as well when she misbehaves.. u know, T2 kids are sometimes very cranky and curious, Meg likes to touch ,try, and open up everything! so close supervision of her is necessary.. perhaps that drives my FIL mad..

muffintop &amp; rc - i'm having contraction very often now... initially taking medicine but gyne told me after easter dun take liao n like bb come naturally cos already consider 'full term' liao.. so now clearing work n waiting to start my ML.

initially wanted to start on 27th of april but i scare stay home, nothing to do n will be bored to death so now thinking to work till birth so dun ve to wasted my ML :p

some mums are unable to come into the 2009 and later mums thread.. how ah? i tried to open another tab and go into the same page..cannot leh. lily also having same problem.. so i not going to close this window.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cola,
understand... at least ur fil will lose his temper... My dad wont.. Everything oso give in.. So lervin is kinda spoiled.! Still hv chance to correct him now... Gotta educate him and solve this prblm soon.. If not he will be sitting on the floor in public and fuss.! I cant imagine tt.... </font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Audrey,
wad u bought from ninemonths webby? Any gd buys?

Btw, for the couture bag, when will you submit the orders? </font>.

xue
the obuba shawls cos the design nice..
plus i'm going to collect my rompers from her next week. i want to see her cute daughter also la haha

i emailed the couture supplier alrdy but she never reply my emails the whole day.. i just told her wat we like and ask if she can bring in stock.. she havent reply yet..
getting abit irritating waiting for her.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Audrey,
oh... i saw the moomoo romper quite cute.. She can take in order for 1pcs only anot? hahaa

maybe u can get her contact no for easier liaising? which bag u're looking at? Some bags are of different measurements...</font>.