(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

i got that from baby centre website..
oh shit man.

and my gynae is not around and they cannot contact her.. and they ask me to call 1900-KKHNURSE which is 80cents per minute.. machiam chat line......

my left feet is much more swollen than my right side.. and my entire calves are tight. AAAH

adv sport,
Jia you ! We will be rooting for u for a smooth delivery

Audrey,
Pre eclampsia is not to be taken lightly. Is your face flushed or do u see a butterfly shape red patch on your face? u can go to their 24 hr emergency in kk? Then they will page the doc or at least get another doc to attend to you. That's what u did the last 2 times but mine was contraction pain and constipation.

hi star,
face flushed i don't think so.. no red patch also.. everything like normal, except my swollen feet, ankles and calves..my right side just normal swelling.. its the left side that is very bad..

but then, i don't know if i'm being overly paranoid or maybe it is just normal water retention? i'm still trying to call kkh.. but they don't like to answer calls...

yesterday went for checkup, everything was still ok..

Shers,
Wow...u will be planning ur c-sect at the same period as my EDD...haha..perhaps we will really meet in the ward...So excited! At least there is someone around! That day after the Hospt tour..i'm still thinking if i shld take the single bed so hubby can company...the hospt so quite and "cold"!

Cheez - u giving birth at GlenE too right...hope the 3 of us can meet there! wahaha..that would be just great! Looking forward to pop man....

Audrey,

To me,breastfeeding is the tough part now.Everything else is well taken care of by CL.
I had engorgement on the 4th day after birth which make me feel very xin ku. My CL is great,she handles the night feeds. I try my best to bf Chelsea in the daytime.

To me, Motherhood is amazing but overwhelming too. It's like overnight there is nothing moving in yr tummy (but u still got a tummy.haha),you bring a new life home..etc. There are things to adjust bah (mentally.) I am glad that my hospital stay at Mt A was great, the nurses were nice and warm, the confinement food they serve is fantastic.
Those who popped at Mt A before will know. I am not kidding..haha

iBite,
chelsea is really so adorable..

i think i will miss the feeling of baby kicking n moving in my tummy..

mount A is so much nearer my house (upper thomson).. if i know i go there liao.. im' at KKH cos when i first found out i was pregnant, wanted to opt for govt hospital..

how come chelsea decided to come out so early??

Hi iBite, congrats to u!

Lily, have you got the reply from the gymboree coordinator? can still take in order?

Today I went for checked up, gynae said my baby is too big, 2 weeks later will do another scan and if is really growing big then gynae will wants to induce my labour.

Now finally got the feeling of going to give birth le

iBite,

totally agree wi u, a good help during confinement is so important. being a 1st time mummy, there are so much things for us to learn, glad to hear that u are managing well! dun worry abt the BF part, as long as u persist on, it will be an easy task...

and yes, we will surely miss the feeling of bb kicking & moving in our tummies! rest while bb nap gal, ur supply will come in when u are more relax... have plenty of hot drinks (red dates tea & milo), for me i think they helped in my BF... take care!

adv sport,
wish u a smooth delivery!

audrey,
u take care too.. is the swelling sudden?

sharon,
did gynae mention how big is the bb? actually many give birth big bb naturally w/o induce.. i was induced when i have my 1st boy, coz gynae mentioned his head circumference was too big for 1st time mummy like me, but i had a long labour and little dilation, so had a c-section at the end.. so i think it's better for us to deliver bb when they ready to come out, unless there are some medical issues to be concerned...

dodo,

when 32weeks, bb weight was 1.9kg.
now 36weeks, bb weight is 2.9kg.
gynae say if wait till full term then bb will be too big... so 2 weeks later he'll review again, and he needs another gynae to do another check first before he decided to induce.

So 38wks check up, i need to go another specialist clinic check first before i go to his clinic to check.

luckily I've already bought most of my things. now can starts washing and double check whether all the necessities are enough.

adv,
believe ur high charges is due to the stay in delivery suite. i was billed about $1.4k (including medisave) for my stay. 20 hrs in delivery suite & 1 full day in B1 labour ward. delivery suite charges comprises abt half of the total bill.
have not chked wif hubby how much he paid when he pay deposit for admission package during my stay the other day.
r u still here? or go pop liao?

audrey,
so swollen... gonna pop soon?
u gone to 24hr alrdy? think they will re-direct u to delivery suite liao!

iBite,
glad to hear u & chelsea doing well. continue to try to BF!

Hi mummies ...

Adv_sport, take care n have smooth delivery

Audrey,
wa lau ur feet so swollen ... how m still can go? How if I want to order romper at nine months later? Oreder online direct or can email the one u give?

Sharon,
same today I went for checked up also, gynae say my baby tiny n I must eat more in this 2 weeks. My baby 35 weeks 2 days only 2 kg. Another 2 more weeks scan again n hope baby still like to stay at my tummy until full term
. The gymboree coordinator got email me but not confirmed my order yet.

Lily > How's your checkup from ya gyne?

Just got home from my gyne's appt. Was kinda disappointed after seeing Dr Adrian W frown for the 1st time. It was also the longest chat ever had with him..(yah still within 10min lah). Weighing at 2.23Kg at week 34 and 4days, he commented that baby's small. Advised me to beef up by eating more junk or hi-cal foods. Argh...no wonder he has been asking about my appetite during last few visits. Told him that im eating normal, no cravings or not eating. Eat till only when feeling full and no more.

After reading recent posts then got to know that my baby's weight seems similar to some mummies leh. Another pc of sad news is Dr Adrian sort of "warns" that if baby still not heading down/engaged when nearer to EDD then I need to go under the knife. He was sharing with me on the consequences of going natural birth when baby in beech position...terrible leh. He said he once went thru with a patient trying out natural birth with bb in beech position then got stuck at the crown then no choice but to crush the baby's head and bb died. That was 14yrs ago when he was at KKH then was telling me dun ever try it. He laments that once is enough for him. Quite disturbed upon hearing his story. *Pray hard for my baby as I really dun wan to go for c-sec*

Does baby really know how/what we feel/think? *puzzle*

dodo,
thanks! the swelling went away few days already.. den last night and today came back suddenly.. one side more swollen than the other..

ling,
thank u.. their office line close liao. i told hb i try to put my feet up 45 degress.. if by midnite still never go down, i will call their emergency hotline..

juju,
don't think going to pop soon la. alot of false alarms.. yesterday gynae checked and said baby engaged already.. now just waiting for bb to come out when she's ready.. she never say excessive swollen feet is a sign leh..

sharon,
haa! i just looked thru my preg diary for my 1st boy, he was 2.98kg when i was at 36 week too!
well, just wait and see what ur gynae suggest, in the meantime, do some read up on the implication of induction birth so u may have a clearer idea...
ya, prepare all the necessary stuff, dun worry much and look forward to the day

ibite:
I read that ur bb is fed by CL at nite.. by bottle or cup feed? At this stage, it's better tt you direct latch bb as bb may be confused switching btw Breast & artificial Teat! Hence, she may reject ur breast (as u mentioned tt she crys when u give breast)

lily
i just sms the ninemonthlater dealer, waiting for her reply. i know her obuba shawls can email her direct to get it at BP but i will check for the rompers k..

can still go tomorrow la don't worry. i want to faster collect everything then wait for bb to come out

audrey
I had pre-eclampsia. basically indicators that my dr looked for
1) water retension
2) protein in urine ( the urine test show up something)
3) high bld pressure
4) baby not growing well

the main thing is when see all these combined factors. I had water retension from ard 5th 6th mth. dr was worried but that alone wasnt enuff to say it pre-clampsia. my water retension was so bad till I cant feel my fingers and my feet/face
swelling. shoe size went up 1-1.5 size up. my dr told me come every week then every few days when see things not gd.

hope this helps clarify

re: baby's weight
i really think every bb and gynae is so different.. i reading thru ah.. den we're all around the same stage.. some gynaes say this weight is too big, some say just nice, some say too small.. mine at 35 weeks was about 2 - 2.1kg.. gynae say ok.. but lily, ur gynae say too small..

i think don't need to worry la. our babies are all going to be alright!!

juju,
dunno leh.. tahan lor.. so tiring somemore must keep going toilet cos need to pee.. just make sure my feet is always put on a pillow or bolster.. tiring ah. hopefully gets better by midnite if not i will call emergency line to ask..

audrey,
ya, i think excessive swollen feet is not a sign of labour.. dun worry, just relax if it's not much discomfort to u, but i think shd voice out to ur gynae and seek her advice, hope all is well

SK,
dun think ur bb size very small leh.. beef up by eating more junks?! not a very good idea bah..
hmm.. he did sound abit discouraging here... i heard of cases bb turn from breech to engaged position at 38 weeks, so dun feel so down gal.. talk to bb everyday and ask bb to cooperate.. even if really the case that u have to opt for c-section, dun feel so bad, as long as both bb n u are safe, dun dwell on this too much.. i was rather sad that i had to go thru c-section also, coz i endured throughout my long labour w/o epidural but still gonna went thru the cutting.. but am glad both bb and me are well.. dun worry so much abt it now.. just talk to bb ya

hi day-C,
thank u for your info..

the confusing thing is that i went for my checkup yesterday, i took blood pressure and urine routine test..

my gynae never say anything about my urine test or blood pressure..

the only thing now is the excessive swelling.. so i also don't know if its enough to be classified as pre-eclampsia.

cheekz,
saw that u direct BF ur bb till 13th mth! kudos to u!

i din latch on bb that long, so only expressed BM till he's 1 yr old.. i hope i can do better this time and latch on more!

audrey,
agree wi u.. to me, as long as bb is "growing" within, getting bigger on each consultation, i think size is not really a big concern..

SK, dun worry too much.. the bb weight is just an estimate oso based on the measurement.. must stay happy esp at this final stage

audrey
no water retension itself is not enuff to say its pre-eclampsia - dun worry. gynae not say anythng means ok. at this stage of preggy, if there is any thing not so gd eg high bld pressure - normal practise is to induce birth

for me, I had c-section at wk 32. cant induce coz too early.

if also get own BP machines to check ur BP. I had to do that everyday at one point.suggest talk to ur gynae to alleviate ur concerns.

adv, jia you !

sk, so sad story that dr adrian share with u...didn't know that he can talk so much also..haha...i will be 34weeks next weeek when i see him..hope my bb's weight is ok..u talk to ur bb everyday, ask her to turn down loh

adv_sports: sounds like u'll be the next one to pop! jia you!

ibite: all the best for your breastfeeding! glad that the massage helps! will chat with u on msn about the massage.

audrey: your swelling looks bad! i went for pre natal massage the other day and the masseur said i got water rentention and concentrated on my legs. now still a bit swell but better.. u better see the gynae if the swelling gets worse. can't imagine cannot walk..

Sk: i went to see dr woody today too! and it is one of my longest visit also (but less than 5mins). i went to see him cos i got headache and he was quite concerned, took my blood pressure and weight and everything normal. then after the scan, he said my baby is a bit small (2.2kg at starting of 35weeks) only grew about 100g+ from the last visit (last monday). he also asked if i got appetite (asked twice in fact) and i told him my appetite quite good, eating a lot of junk and even eating durians. he seemed concerned (the first time i see him so concerned) and told me to see him next week. if baby never grow bigger, need to deliver earlier. but i checked baby center's average fetal weight chart (http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart) my baby seems quite an average weight mah.. and i'm quite short, dun want too big a baby. he made me quite worried leh.. heng he never tell me the breech baby part. i forgot to ask him my baby's position today, the last visit, baby's head was still on top. he only told me placenta moving up slowly when i asked, also never say high enough or not. aiyo, i also dun wanna c-sec leh.. made me so worried..

HiSK,
today go see my gynae also baby head already down but he say my baby abit small at 35 weeks 2 days her weight 2 kg maybe both me n my hubby also not big size leh.
U dont worry too much just everyday talk to baby ask her to head down. I try in this 3 weeks n ok liao

audrey,
u just email 9monthslater? If got info tell me ok I also want to order their romper n slipper
so cute ...

tinyM, wah u also see him today ah...very strange hor...i thot 2.2kg is quite normal weight leh...why he keep saying bb is small...so he mean if bb not growing then he need to bring bb out at 36weeks ? dont worry so much...at least he never say must c-sec..if bb small can go for natural easier

audrey,
I also dunno y my gynae say baby abit small n I need to beef up baby in this 2 weeks about 500 - 600 grm lor. Thats mean baby Andrea almost same weight with my baby

Just hope my girl tahan inside until full term n enough weight

audrey...if your legs really still swell...better go hospital tml...

if 9mthslater no discount for romper, i still will buy la...so cute...cant help myself

sk:dun worry...i think baby weight is alrite...maybe now u can sayang him n ask him to engage....

lily & tinyM,
dun concern abt bb's weight so much, as long as bb gaining weight i think it's really ok...
true, give birth when full term is the best, coz bb's lungs are the last organ to fully mature, if give birth too early, their lungs may not be fully mature... i remembered my PD ever told me many kids in spore have respiratory prob due to our humid weather.. so give birth a full term bb is still the best, unless there are really major health issue involved... size doesn't equate to healthiness of bb... just share some of my thoughts.. like what ling lim said, stay happy esp we are at our final lap!

lily...

yup..realize that we din buy any clothes for baby..so should at least get some cute one..

as for the baby...as long as healthy can le...too big also hard to natural birth wor...

wah there's this super emo advertisement on tv.. about family. have u all seen it yet? its about this indian woman talking bout her late husband.. mcys coming up with alot of touching advertisements.. i watch alrdy i cry.

cheyanne,
the 9mthlater dealer haven't reply my sms yet.. i know obuba shawl she will definitely sell at BP price. i not sure bout the rompers.. i wait for her reply den get back to u and lily k

lily,
tmr how we go to bukit timah? i will be following hb to parklane at selegie road from 8am onwards cos he want to set up the music studio.. den from there i will take bus to bukit timah..
let me know how u want to meet ok!

Re: emo ad

i watch tat long ago...very touching...i was it like 5times...very related to me...cuz tink of hw dad feel since mummy jus passed away...show tat to my hubby too...then he also heavy hearted...

audrey...dun worry...take your time...

Mummies dodo, ling lim, Porky, Tiny_M, cheyanne & Lily > Thanks so much. Felt so assured after reading your posts. Was quite reluctant to leave his office and wanted to hear more of his advice and there were couple of questions to ask him and I totally forgotten abt it.

Then he made me come back to see him next week to check on baby's weight. Doubt bb's wt can boom so much yah? Had ate durian pancake, cakes, chocs etc but dun think they are able to do much on my weight too.

Come to think of beefing up, I dun think I can eat much cos still experiencing some heartburn after meals.

I have gained 6kg so far.

sk, u gain 6kg only ??? did u drink milk ? i have gain 17kg already....thot i might be overweight liao...but dr woody is not so concern of my weight yet...

take bus must stop after coronation plaza den walk inside.. i noe how to go

the buses that go

67, 170, 171, 74, 852, 157, 66, 154..... i think got alot more