(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

cheekz - i not so sure abt e BF often part cos i maybe a 2nd time mummy but my BF experience is zero cos i only manage to BF 4 2mths for my 1st due to lack of knowleg so this time round, i hope to BF for as long as possible.

shers - frankily, e only BF experiences i ve 'outside' are done inside e car so dun ve chance to 'expose' myeself yet.. hehehehe

as 4 bean spout pillow, i getting my mum to make 4 me cos my #1 pillow n all e kids she bbsit pillow all r done by her too... cos own make can put 'more' :p

jen, i also didnt manage to BF long for #1.. only 4 months.. haiz.. me too!! this time, i'm going to be pushed myself to BF longer.. with no stock up of FM at home, no sterilising of bottles!! hope i can do so...

i tried to BF outside using my MIM sling.. can do so la.. but i felt so uneasy la.. need to pull to cover this part and pull again to cover another.. ended up i sweated even though in aircon.. maybe i paisay?? hahaha..

thats y tot of buying a nursing shawl to cover every part of me.. hahaha..

my gal's beanspout pillow also made by my mama.. i bought from pupsik because i tot i can give my gal a bigger pillow.. but ended up, she doesnt like... now my hb is using as part of his pillow..

i never eat anything super salty..
all home cook food.. and i eat it everyday..

i dont add soya sauce and i drink lots of water too.. why like that man.. so painful now......

audrey - wa!!! yr feet is way too swollen lah, wat did u do!!!, fast put yr feet on a pillow, dat's wat i do every day , even now, my feet is resting on my printer :p

ladies, juz an update -- my gynae finally called me back after 3 calls to the operator to msg him *faint* he said if bleeding stops and baby movement ok, no need to admit *phew*

hmm, not sure whether the blood i saw is the mucus plug or trigger by a pineapple tart that i ate... it is definitely not brown discharge -- fresh red blood...

erhm, if mucus plug dislodged, will hv infection?? does that mean i am due in the next 1-2 days??

mommies - did anyone of u buy tummy binder to use after e delivery... n where can i get it cos 4 my #1, e massui lady came on e 3rd day of my delivery but this time round, i think e massui lady will come after 1 wk so think need a tummy binder to use 1st.

audrey, maybe u drink too much water?? did u ask yr gynae??

jen, u can get at guardian.. just buy their homebrand will do.. come in diff sizes..

my massage lady recommends me to use it immediately so that by the time she 'takes' over to massage me, much more easier to 'flatten' tummy..

adv - dun scare yrself lah, 1 pineapple tart can't trigger this lah, CNY timing, i took 1 pineapple tart once a day, n e only thing i got out of it is additional weight gain :p

shers - oh! can get at guardian? funny, i din see them, ok think i better go see this tmr, need to get a few stuffs so i can pack my bag n my stay at my mum's place.

adv_sports,

I had yellow mucus with blood when I go toilet that time when I was about to deliver Chelsea. Please watch the symptoms!
Take care hur...

adv_sports, then how?? yr bleeding stops?? baby movement ok as per what yr gynae mentioned??

hmmm... think u just be on standby..

audrey,
U called your Gynae abt your swollen feet? Look quite bad, must be painful to walk ard.

Adv,
Stay calm n monitor. Have u applied for leave or r u still working?

jen, yes.. they r placed together with those binders for arms, legs, ankle etc.. can find 1.. not exp also..

me also.. staying at my mum place from fri to sat.. then hb will fetch us home on sun..

Shers,

I am fine! My breast milk is coming after 2 massage by the malay masseur! hehe.. I suspect i had engorgement 2 days back tho...ermm..Now dripping..LOL I am trying to latch Chelsea on everytime tho with some "unsucessful" attempts. (She sees my nipples like see ghost..cry and cry...) I think patience is the key to it bah.
I will perserve!

ibite,

thats good!!! engorgement is horrible!! maybe can try to latch on once chelsea cries??

hahaha.. she wldnt know its nipples.. hehehe.. maybe its the way u carried her? thats y she cried..

dripping of milk is good le.. wow.. means u have supply..

Shers,

Maybe she is uncomfy with the way I carried her..ermm... Will try and adjust. I was taught by the Mt A nurses to try and open her mouth and talk to her to drink milk milk. I hope I am doing it all right. This morning bf-ing was good, but afternoon a bit of hiccup. So far so good lah.. I will continue to latch her on once she needs "supply"..

Chelsea is too small size mah..so frail..:p

ibite,

guess its the carrying position.. i had this problem.. hehehe.. after many sweats and crying bb.. u will do it well!! i'm not pro in BF but just sharing with u what i encountered b4..

did u supplement with FM or TBF?

its ok that chelsea is small.. can easily beef her up with BM.. do u know that BM can beef up bb easily?? within less than 2 months, u can see the diff already.. now its still early.. dont worry.. PD allowed chelsea to go home with u means she is healthy.. dont worry.. just continue to be moo moo mummy..

gleneagle nurse v rough 1.. ask me to use nipple to 'seduce' bb to suck.. urgh~ also bb cannot just suck on nipple... must be BREAST!!

i guess its the getting used to it..

ibite
Good to hear both Chelsea n u doing well
Do I have sleepless nights now? Does she wake up often in the night for feeds?

star, usually infant will wake up every 2-3 hrs for feeding because they cant differentiate day/ nite..

if u r lucky, bb will wake up 4hrs interval..

but dont worry, before bb is awake for feeding, yr breasts will be 'calling' u!! heheh

audrey, i think i will buy the nursing shawl from pupik studio at $28.. need it during full mth celebration.. else i dont know where to hide to BF.. i had v bad experience during #1 full mth.. so this time, i know i need that!!

audrey, but the more i see obuba shawl, the more i like.. whahaha... price is reasonable also.. u can get at $37?? i'm worried abt thickness.. i like this: Soft Pink Wrap with Fashion Dots

Shers,
haha ...when u say " your breasts will be calling u" , u. R referring to milk leaking or engorgement? Do I need to standby cabbage just I cases of engagement? How long do I have to keep cabbage in the freezer before I can use it?

star, depends how 'good' yr breasts r.. hahaha... usually will start with leaking.. if u ignore, will be engorgement.. hehehe..

no need cabbage.. just carry bb to latch on to relieve engorgement is the best..

i didnt try cabbage before.. but heard that its good way to relieve.. my massage lady asked me to use hot stone and manual express and squeezing out..

time to go home... chat again!!

Shers,

I supplement with FM in case she reject my breast..
My breast also dun seem to be very attractive leh...LOL... Also poor response.

hi shers,
the dealer will give BP price at $37 and no deadline to it.. just email her can liao.

star, jen bibi,
i never do anything to my feet.. dunno why become like that. the sensation at my feet now feel very hot. like want to explode. sian man. supposed to drink more water so that won't have water retention....

adv_sports,
hope ure feeling better!!

glenlyn,
sorry i was away from the com. thank u for letting me know!!

iBite,
chelsea is so cute! is the feeling better after given birth? yesterday my gynae's nurse tell me.. once u give birth, u wish baby is back in ur tummy.. den my gynae stare at her haha!

ibite,
congrats again

hope ur b-feeding will get smoother.

audrey,
wow, ur feet looks so painful. hope the swelling will recede soon! did u show ur gynae yesterday?

cheekz
yesterday slightly swollen only like normal water retention.. so never say anything to her..
only after i reach home from the appointment around 9 plus at nite and the whole of today.. become so big and suddenly ballooned up so much..

shers/mommies.. yesterday i went to vivo, this pupsik has one stall open there, so can take a look at the material and try it on. for nursing cover they have the one look like the bebe-au-lait, and another like obuba/shawl. the stall is on the 1st floor, in front of GAP/Aldo, the very first stall.
i also still don't know which nursing cover to buy..

shers,
yeah, i only saw the pupsik shawl after i got my bebe au lait shawl. so bo pian lah...

when u get the shawl, let me know how it is ok

i might get it later if really necessary!

jen,
i direct latch my #1 for 13mths...it was tough having to direct feed exclusively. this time round, i am planning to express and feed when we're outside. see how lah...

audrey,
i feel so painful for u...sorry, i don't know any remedy for this. really hope the swelling goes down soon.

re: swollen feet
i'm waiting for my gynae to call me back now.. cos now its numb and i cannot feel anything. i put ice also don't feel anything..

shers,
u want to try the shop that pigmohippo mention? or is it the same as the puksik website?

laides, i hv another round of blood-stained discharge
this time seems to be the mucus plug...

am gonna take a hot shower and get ready the hospital bag... if blood-stained discharge, still persist, will admit tonite...

star, have not stop working but on hospitalization leave this week...

ibite, thanks for sharing
guess my bb really wanna come out fast! enjoy ur moo moo journey :p

audrey, take care & hope ur swollen feet is better!

Audrey,

Yr gynae's nurse is right. Once u popped,u wish she is back in yr tummy again. (Really!) U need to have a good helper during confinement, at least u wun feel so bad. I am lucky that my CL can make it in time. She is doing great!

iBIte,
really? is it because the feeling is different? all the crying and feeding? my helper will be my mum who is not a confinement lady.. haha!

When should I be concerned about swelling?

A certain amount of edema is normal in the ankles and feet during pregnancy. You may also have some mild swelling in your hands.

Call your midwife or doctor if you notice swelling in your face or puffiness around your eyes, more than slight swelling of your hands, or excessive or sudden swelling of your feet or ankles. This could be a sign of preeclampsia, a serious condition.

Also call your caregiver if you notice that one leg is significantly more swollen than the other, especially if you have any pain or tenderness in your calf or thigh.