(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Lalitha,

I have gone for my 35weeks 5 days check up last Saturday, but forgot to ask about my baby's weight. Will ask this Saturday. I am also going for weekly check up from last Saturday. Between, my baby weigh 2.5 kg during my 34 weeks checkup and my gynae says it is normal and he estimate my baby to be 3.2kg when born.

Same, my baby's head is down (down since week 31+) but not engaged yet.

Gynae says not required to do GBS Swab test and he did not do VE for me.

tinkles mum,
no probs!

adv,
can lah... we will nvr be fully prepared one, they say. i also dunno wat else to do, though there are lots to do in front of my eyes lah...

xue,
i see... maybe if can tahan, then i also do 44 days. anyway, can help build back health.
placenta :
i only found 2 providers doing this, so jus chose the more convenient one lor. my frens haven't do before... i hope made the right choice.

baby may,
people say faster to build back health. hubby also encourage. so i try lor.
esp since we need lotsa energy.
but need to consume during confinement, else not much benefits.

Sharon,
I try to order gymboree but cant leh

Joyce,
how to entry the SMH Marketplace? They say Im not have permission.

baby may,

thanks for sharing. Is there any way to make baby grow fast so come out fast too.

I feel baby kicking ribs. Difficult to sit straight or drive the car. Even standing for some times, getting up from a chair seems painful.

Hi Lalitha, you are welcome. Actually weigh of baby is just an estimation. Can take beef and durian to beef up the baby. Can take more diary products too. But don't know whether the weight goes more to the mother or the baby.

hi lalitha,
i just came back from KKH..

had my 36 week 4 days check up with my gynae.. she said bb's head is engaged already and she's ready to deliver bb anytime. the funny thing is mummy is ready, gynae ready, bb not ready haha!

at 36 week 4 days, my little girl weighs about 2.3-2.4kg and gynae said its an okay weight. not big, but because i'm small sized, so chances of having big bb won't be high. plus i don't have diabetes or any sorts of other pregnancy issues, so bb will be smaller than those 3kg babies. also, she said that smaller bb easier to push out. its the bigger ones that might need emergency c section.

i don't have to see her on a weekly basis yet. my next check up is 22nd april for the 38 week check up. she will conduct a CTG for half an hour before i go for the normal checkup. however, she said that from now til 22nd april, if i happen to go into labour, she will gladly deliver the bb.

i also asked her if bb at 36 weeks is premature, she said still towards the premature side, but bb at 36 weeks survives very well. so if i go into labour, she won't stop it.

she told me not to beef up the bb because doesn't mean bigger bb will be healthier next time. as long its in proportion, organs functioning well, its ok.

KKH MUMS:
i checked with the admissions regarding B1 classic and B1 premier, the $1280 deposit that i paid is for B1 premier. i can't remember which mum paid $1550, but mine was only $1280.

B1 premier is exactly the same as A1 premier, only diff is 4 bed and single bed. so pls check if u were overcharged because the nurse said B1 premier only need to pay $1280 and B1 classic $880.

my chosen gynae will be with me throughout the entire labour process and will still conduct the checkup the next day.

wow congrats on the next milestone, where baby head is engaged. so I guess u r next in the popping list.

Thanks for sharing on the admission deposits too. I also tot I have to pay $1500++.

Take care,

lalitha,
no need to pay $1550. i paid $1280 and they chopped EPS on my appt card.. it means that we are under the premier scheme alrdy. doesnt matter A or B class..

hope this info helps!
take care!

915, wah ! u can eat a lot leh...i only take 2 bread and milk powder for bfast, lunch is noodles/rice, dinner home cook...thats all...no brunch or teabreak...but i still put on more than u...now already 17kg...

ling, can lah...wah slowly loh..we usually went to punggol 168, heartland mall or hougang point...dinner and short shopping..my feet more swollen last week..but this week is better liao

tonight can sleep
baby keep on move n feel very hungry. Must wake up n cook noodle.

Audrey,
glad baby Andrea doing well
tm I go for check up also n do scan. Want to make sure about admission also. Thanks for info.

hi Lily - glad you're still here. feeling a little moody tonight because i need to return to office tomorrow after my check-up. i'm currently on hospitalisation leave. are you working?

lily - i sent you a pm with my msn account. if you like, we can have our little chat there without cluttering this space.

gd morning ladies!

Porky, glenlyn, dun worry...i think usually 1st one u will tend to put on more wt...i put on 16kg for my #1 but managed to shed 12kg+ after 6 mths of breastfeeding.

Porky, i also find the way i eat very gross..hehe...and i will eat even more after birth coz of breastfeeding...hopefully this time round i can shed my wt quickly after birth too...

Hi Audrey

I was the one who paid close to $1600 for the initial deposit for B1 premier. Will call up to check why I need to pay so much later on. If not will wait till my app next thur. I remembered it took me close to an hour to sign those forms and settled the payment.

My check up yesterday, at 36 weeks 1 day, baby est weighing 2.7 kg, gynae said should be another three weeks, still not engaged. Birth weight est 3 - 3.1kg. My gynae app will be weekly from now on.

I'm hoping to give birth early because it's painful when I walk after sitting down or getting up from bed. However, for the sake of the baby's lung and liver, better to heed gynae's advise for now.

hi jasC,

i also don't know why the deposits have quite a big disparity. i thought i was under the classic scheme but when the nurse at TPS scanned my ic, she said i'm under premier scheme. mine took less than half an hour to sign. i paid at the admissions side. not at TPS.

but i signed up 2 months ago.. u?

my gynae appt is still every 2 weeks.. almost everyone is weekly already.. i forgot to ask my gynae why.. but think shouldn't be a problem la..

good morning ladies

re: KKH admission
my hubby very frustrated with the confusing info given -- we paid $2380 for my "full dress rehearsal" at A1 premier! dunno whether i still hv to pay deposit for the actual delivery...

re: tummy ache
though i m taking medication to stop contraction, i started having tummy ache this morning at 5am... gosh, hope my bb will kuai kuai stay for another week!

would a gynae induce labour if the mum2b has alot of pain in movement, getting up from sitting position or sitting down, if the baby is in week 37-39?

Morning ladies !!

Piggypig,
Maryann is the photographer and I can only collect it 2 weeks later. Hahaha I might have popped by then
Anyway, I will get to have my softcopies.

Hi audrey

I think it just followed my previous package 3 years ago when I gave birth to my #1. Paid in mid March at Admission office. Just dropped a note on KKH website, will wait for the response.

Yes, A1 and B1 is only diff in type of bed and $$, only one night for natural delivery and A1 charges could really balloon... I'm having gestational diabetes so better stick to B1, else any extra test for baby will cost a bomb.

Lalitha,
I think if it really post a problem in your movement & bb is fine. I dont see any reason why your gynae will reject to induce you.

I will be seeing my gynae on Sat for my week 37 checkup. Will share more...

mommies - i went to my gyne checkup last fri.. bb @ 2.6kg @ wk35.. gyne said to go easy on e durian (cos i been eating them twice in e last 2 wk n bb gain 600g :p). she said if not when i'm due bb will be 3.6kg (if weight gain 600g per 2 wks)... how come so diff from some of yr gyne's comments?

baby_may - u also ordering e flatout bear?

Hi adv_sports

You pay so much in cash without medisave? I believe you still have to pay the initial deposit at the admission.

Morning MTBs and mummies

Joyce
Last preg i gained about 10 kg, so i think this round, i got 1 more kg to go before popping..

Audrey
Wow engaged huh? I went for my 36 wks check up on Tues, on scanning, gynae said bb head is not engaged yet..
You will be the next to pop on the list, most likely haha!

Shers
What's your girl's weight at birth last time? I think 2.6 kg now it's okay.

Haha.. ya i also drank home made avocado juice, made a very big bowl for my little family, hubby and my girl also love it hahaha! This wk didnt buy avocado, normally after buying i will just put them about 1 wk til it turns black and then blend the avocado, add fresh milk + choco hot fudge, yummy!!

Re: deposit
I need to pay S$2050 for deposit.. and it can be done during admission while I am in labour :p

Re: contraction pains
I think the pains felt during sitting up and sleeping or turning when we changed position, is more of ligaments stretching and not really contraction pains ler..
coz now bb is heavy, if we changed position too quickly, the ligament will be stretched and hence painful..
That's my opinion.

jasC, i think the price has reduced.. and yah, they shouldn't charge u for the previous package!! because.... where will that extra $300 go to.......? hopefully they don't give u 101 excuses..

i also wanted A1 premier but the deposit is $2380 whereas the deposit for B1 is $1280.. so much difference and the nurse advised me to take B1 instead cos if i stay one nite, no need to waste that extra money..

adv_sports,
my friend who chose A1 premier had to pay a deposit of $2380 also..that is just for the delivery and admission package..

so i think u also have to pay another time when its the real show and not full dress rehearsal..

the bill for the full dress probably used up the $2380.

jasC,
yah its without medisave yet.. medisave for all classes at Kkh can claim up to 1.8k only.. excluding deposit! so much money!

morning to all

re:admission fees at KKH
i jus paid mine like last week...staying at B1 premier for $1578. hopefully i can giv birth during daytime...cuz cant allow hubby to stayover night...

but i have checked with them that if i admitted at night...i can ask to change to A1...then hubby can stay wif me in the room...after all i only have him around now to give me support...

audrey...

ya i think u are the nex one to pop...hmmm...if u pop and i happen to be at kkh for antenatal classes...i can go visit ya...

rc_cola,
when my gynae checked for the engagement, she pressed on my stomach at the lower abdomen area.. is it like that? not painful but she press quite hard. poor bb's head.

dunno whether i'll be popping anytime soon.. bb seems to be very comfortable n cosy inside my tummy haha!

re:weight gain...

wah u all gain so much weight...

me from 38kg to now 50kg...only gain like 12kg...n baby is 1.6kg...hopefully when i see doctor on 20th...it will grow bigger...

cheyanne,
how come u also pay $1578 ah..
i double check with the nurses yesterday and they say b1 premier is $1280. do u have a chop on ur appt card? the front page.. usually after paying they will chop EPS.

Hi cheyanne

I'm paying the same amount of initial deposit as you for B1 while Audrey paid $1280!

If you change your mind for the type of ward, must do before you go to delivery suite.

For myself, I prefer my HB to rest at home, will use the cash saving to buy myself a new handphone this saturday, nice clothes for myself after confinement and pay for my #1 school fees!

Audrey
You should get some cash back for the regular checkup from your medisave if you have been paying at every gynae visit.

audrey

i duno...i went to the admission and told me to pay $1578...maybe my doc is snr consultant so more expensive for his delivery charges...haiz...

ya i got tat EPS chop liao...

rc_cola, ya i feel the ligament stretched pain when i change position while sleeping or get up from bed nowadays...can be quite painful for a moment..must rest and wait first then get up...i dont think is contraction also..

cheyanne,
my doctor also senior consultant.. every time i see her i pay about 80 (if i don't take any vitamins).. and can go up to $160 when i take all the supplements..

jasC,
how do i get cash back from medisave? yeah i have been paying cash/nets every single visit since oct 2008..

Audrey
Yup exactly, he pressed on lower abdomen, and said bb is not engaged yet, it's okay lar, gynaes know where to press
hahaha!
Ya maybe bb is still wanting to be unseparated from mummy yet
just enjoy the hardening and tightening for the time being, I love being pregnant coz i can feel bb moving, kicking, squirming, and feel very magical when my BH kicks in haha!

Porky
Yes, must slowly get up.. normally i will feel the pain that is most excruciating when i turn from one side to the other side during sleep... and to get down from my bed.. i need to crawl backward coz my girl's cot is just next to my bed, and i need to get down from the end of bed instead of pushing her cot away :p

Re: dreambag
I am not collating the order already, I've bought mothercare's one for my girl yesterday, she simply loves it. Mid of nite, she still shouted out NICE? NICE? hehehe

rc_cola,
your daughter is so cute! make u laugh in the middle of the nite

anyway wat does bb engaged mean? i know it means head down but i dunno what it exactly means.

Audrey
I think i mentioned to xue yesterday, engaged = stuck to birth canal already, if not engaged means sometimes depends on your position, bb head can move up a bit from birth canal, move down again when u stand.. (not stuck down there yet).. I read from babycentre, for #1, bb could be engaged weeks before labour, whilst for #2, engagement can start when labour starts..

My girl is a super ai mei kind as well that's why she was super thrilled with the new and bigger size dreambag
she still told me to to "give to didi" her old pinkish - flowery dreambag haha.. anyway, i've got another blue dreambag for didi.. gosh i got so many of them!!

cheyanne,
u paid the deposit at the admissions side or inside TPS?
yah must check with them.. because how come they charge differently?

rc_cola,
i hope my girl will be ai mei too haha! girls are so cute to play with haha!

Morning Mummies,
so confusing about paying admission ... later will check back with the nurse. Me for A1 is $2196.

Cheyanne,
I think u pay $1578 cos we r frm Specialist Clinic n ur gynae is senior consultant
n u gain weight more than me only 6 kg

audrey..

i paid the deposit at admission side...ya i will go chk with them...

feel slpy today...woke up at 3am & din slp till 6am...dreamt of mummy...gosh...terrible...

chat wif hubby but he working...wah biang i really miss him around...he been working so the last time i saw him was on sunday where we went out eat...i clumsy almost fell...hahaha