(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

rc-cola,
Me 1st May leh... To be exact 25 days to go. Actually 35 weeks still ok as long as bb is above 2.5kg. I delivered my ger ard week 38

Re: Placement of #1 during #2 birth
Shers & Xue,

Same as you gals..I am worried where to place #1 when i go for labour coz i have been bringing her home to sleep every night...So now thinking if my waterbag burst in the middle of the nite then prob have to wake my ILs up and carry #1 to ILs then go hospital liao.

ak,
my friend has fibroids and she gave birth naturally at 38 weeks on feb 3rd.. she was induced becoz bb was too big due to gestational diabetes..

juju,
i'm not sure when the direction map was posted and i forgot who posted it alrdy.. but its opposite the chinese temple.. if your back is facing the temple, its directly opposite the temple but its the 2nd row of shops.. not the 1st one..

Yeh u have been MIA for a long while and I thought u might have popped. Hahahaha... Well, have been wanting to take the pics and finally I did it

juju,
Noted, would have guess is you

Ak,
Actually how to say is ready ? Keke I still havent wash all the clothes yet. Then still got some minor stuffs need to buy

nineOnefive - would it be easier for your ILs to come over to your place while you get ready to go to the hospital? At least don't have to carry your #1 around.

audrey - yup, i've heard of ppl with fibriods who give birth naturally. but i have quite a number of them and some of them are quite large. but more importantly, some of them are at the lower part and blocked the exit passage for the baby. sigh. i should have done my checkup before conceiving.

oki, if i popped, i sure sms u and those whom i have their numbers one....
i think u will prob go before me

AK, i think difficult to ask ILs to wake up in the middle of the night and come over leh coz my FIL has to distribute newspaper at 430am. anyway i think 5 mins drive shld not be too bad...i juz worried wait #1 wake up cannot see me only

talking abt that i haven't bought the present to bring to hopsital for #1 !

Sure sure will sms.. Me too thinking of where to park my no1. I was thinking to let me no1 stays at MIL's place from week 38 onwards.

ak,
my friend was initially at TMC and the gynae there told her from the start cannot have natural and only c section.. and then frighten her by saying if she want natural, she will die when she deliver!! she was very upset cos how can gynae be so tactless n insensitive one?? den my friend was very frightened cos her own mother passed away after giving birth to her due to fibroids too..

so she was frightened by the gynae at TMC, she went over to KKH and the gynae there checked her and when she was nearing 38 weeks, the doctor say can monitor and try for natural.. last minute her fibroids moved up and wasn't blocking the passage for the baby..

don't worry ok! be positive and everything will be ok.. even if its c section, also ok. as long u and baby are happy n healthy then its ok

oki, i tot of that too..but i think will be challenging to park her there for so many nites..she will protest for sure!

Now she can tell her grandparents that she wants to go home...so i cannot act blur dun bring her home

915, shers, xue - i oso hv same prob. #1 comes home every day. so if #2 decides to come at nite, then i will need to send #1 to my mum's pl first before getting myself admitted into the hospital. quite a bit of logistics involved.

xue - y dun you ask for mc from your gynae to rest at home? then no need to use maternity leave. next wk will be my last wk at work (36wks), i'm gg to go on mc until i deliver. i delivered #1 at 37wks previously.

ak, i also got fibroids and i didnt know abt it until dr tham cut me!! he removed 2 for me.. hehehe.. can consider its fate that i have to b c-sect..

icic.. no wonder.. i went for GA and this time also GA.. because my hb says he doesnt wan to trouble dr tham if epi.. in case he fainted.. whahhaa..

recovery is almost the same as natural, dont worry.. the only pain i rem is 2 times.. 1st is when the nurse woke me up in OT. maybe because i wasnt prepare to have this pain? or in sleeping mode then ganna disturbed?? u have to wake up in OT else, they cant push u to ward.

2nd time pain is the next day early in the morning when nurse woke me up. she removed my urine bag and helped me to get up from bed.. she said must go toilet and pee and i must be up from bed to be admitted from chalet.. hehehe..

these r the only 2 pain.. other than that, its ok.. quite bearable..

i c-sect in the morning, i took pain killer think only twice.. by dinner time, i requested the nurse to remove my drip and no pain killer.

dont worry too much abt recovery.. just that certain food, u have to avoid to speed up..

chicken (1st 12 days)
seafood (100 day)
there is a type of fish also cannot eat to help in healing wound (1st 12 days) because inner wound not recover and if consume that fish, will have scar!
dark soy sauce

i think thats all!!

Oops,
suddenly so many postings during lunch time

Shers,
Yup maclaren sturdy, lightweight, easy to push with one hand, compact, but no front bar..
Quest mod (5.8kg) is suitable from 3 mths onwards (when bb is too young, i will sling him also).. price about S$368 latest..
Tehno XT is suitable from nb, but heavier at 8kg plus..
The one i had is quest, which is about 6.2kg..
Btw, price range for maclaren pram should be somewhere around S$300 - 600.. depend on which model..

I think 3 wheelers tend to be heavier.. so far we have no intension to buy 3 wheelers, coz i did some research, 3 wheelers are more for jogging, arent they? Not very sure :p u can consider for your #1 on macclaren, i think by this age, they wont be bother with front bar or non-front bar rite? :p
I personally prefer the reclinable, coz my girl is napping everywhere anywhere, if those that cant recline, then it will be quite strenuous for her neck.. quest one, just nice for her..

Xue
Yes I had epi, coz the pain was already at 8/10, but i only 2 cm dilated! so the midwives told me probably would deliver tomorrow morning (it was about 7pm when the pain was 8/10), imagine! i told hubby i didnt want to die on labour bed hahaha! so he said okay ask for epi.. but never realise by 11pm already 10 cm dilated, if i knew, i wouldnt ask for epi, hubby said i dun even use half the doze! wasted

Juju,
My midwife is rather rough.. actually not the case, coz when i was admitted no contraction at all (water burst), she said uterus is very high up, so she gotta pull it down.. oh oh.. i also dun understand what she said, but it's very painful

Ak, 915, shers
I am having prob of where to place my #1 in case i deliver in between 30apr to 3may

We got no choice but to bring her along if really i am so lucky to deliver during that time...

Feb_mum, hopefully ur mum's place is not too far from yours...

RC_cola, if u bring #1 to labour ward, will she cry if she sees u in pain?

my#1 will cry when she sees me lying on the bed during the normal gynae check during the 1st 2 times..she will pull my hand and say "up up" then she will cry...

so i'm not the only 1 who have this fear... whenever my gal is home overnite.. i couldnt slp well.. kept thinking 'what if'... haiz.. until my eldest sis called me and i cried out... she is so worried that she asked me to pack and go home.. but sometimes its good to cry out.. at least after that, i feel much better.. and there is someone (my eldest sis) who understands..

moreover, my gal is at T2 now.. so naughty at times.. and i must admit that my temper isnt as good.. and i beat up at her leg for the 1st time.. gosh!! she just stand there and refuse to look at me into my eyes..

i feel so guilty after that.. when i hugged her, then she smiled back.. showed that she forgave me?? i'm such a bad mum!!

Agreed lor but bo bian leh.. worst my in laws stay soo soo far away from me.

Well, u are right Chloe also knows when to go home unless we "lied" to her that we are working.

Arielle is so cute
Almost every visits, I brought Chloe along and she kept asking where is didi. Guess she cant visualised well..

cola, i had a pram which is 3-wheeler for my #1 already.. just that i feel i need to change it because some accessories came apart already.. not safe.. thats part of reason my hb and i insist on buying new items esp when come to bed, pram, and anything got to do with hygiene..

maybe 3-wheeler prams is heavier.. no choice la.. even heavier, i think i will get it.. coz i prefer to have it more sturdy and easy to rotate..

Normally if she saw gynae scanning me, she will call for mummy mummy, something like dun want other ppl to touch me at all.. I dunno what will her reaction be, but we really have no choice, no relative here at all.. i told my mum just in case i have not delivered by end of apr, i hope she can come to fill in the gap.. my gparents are staying with my parents, so in a way she cant just pack and go..

Shers
dun be so guilty, at times i screamed at my girl as well, sometimes coz i am so tired and she keeps wanting this and that.. after awhile i will hug her and she will happily hug me back, guess it's one way to show us that she has forgiven us.. dun think they know how to bear grudges rite? :p

i dun spank my girl too much, coz i realised she followed what we did, if we spanked her when we are angry at her, she spanked us back when she is angry! i've learnt this lesson, so now only scold her most of the time, if she is still persistent, just ignore her.. normally this works...

915 - your gal is such a sensitive gal, so sweet. my mum is 10-15min drive away from my place. juz worried dat i got to carry her even when i'm experiencing contraction pains!

shers - you've juz beaten her for the first time, i've beaten mine many times!! i must be a terror, oh no. but it's really trying when they reach the terrible 2 stage, it's often battle of the wills.

915, whenever i brought my gal to check up, she tot doc will give her jabs.. whahaa.. then she will give doc a look!

when i'm having scan on bed, she will sit there on the bed with me.. keep looking at gynae what he is doing with my tummy..

once i stepped out from the scanning room, she will immediately say 'bye bye' to gynae.. whahaha..

my gal doesnt understand.. she is more worried abt herself being inject..

Afternoon mummies..

I also having pains in the evening for the past two days.. but when its painful, the tummy is not hard, so is that considered contractions?

Xue - u mean we can just go the nursery and ask for bottles? If so, I can go try my luck hehe

cola and feb_mum, because i dont believe in cane.. usually i will talk reasons to my gal.. dont know she understands ornot.. just talk lor.. whahaha.. that day is really buay tahan.. then i beat her at her leg.. the reaction that she gave me really shocked me!

xue, after u post can get free bottles.. think next time TMC nursery sees preggie, they will ask 'here to get free bottles?'

whahaha

shers - ya, i oso dun wan to cane her, not at this age. in fact, it shd be for very serious offences. so if she doesn't listen to reason and continue to insist on her own way, i will give her a smack on her hand. but like wat cola says, she will imitate us and do the same when she's upset!

Shers
Haha u are right :p xue is the pioneer here!

I think our temper goes haywire at this stage haha.. i scolded her more often than before, her T2 is driving me crazy.. and hubby is driving me almost mad, coz everyday play game!!! when i see him playing games, and my girl is cranky, my blood sure boil ahahahha

By the way, my girl dropped my cane to the gap in between the kitchen cabinet and fridge, cant take unless we shift the fridge, so just forget it..

cola, ya lor.. same lor... when my gal is cranky and my hb doesnt move!!! his eyes will be on tv or his games!!! made me even madder... urgh~~ y do we have to suffer!!???

Feb_mum, u cane her?? kudos to u! i wanted to but still cannot bear to....but usually i will smack her hand..then she will know i am angry...she will start crying and say "Sor Sor" which means sorry...

Shers, ur gal very cute leh...so fast know how to protect herself first....hehehe...so what did she do when u beat her leg?

915, yr gal knows how to apologise when u smack her?? thats good!!!

when i beat her leg, she just stared into the wall. when i asked her to look into me, she refused! she just continued to stare into the wall. when i finished my 'talking', she just stand there. until i cannot take it, i hugged her. then she looked at me into my eyes and smiled.. that made me even more guilty!

pigmo, hmmm.. i think for natural, almost the same.. got to avoid chicken but i think 1 week only.. seafood can eat.. that fish also cannot eat for natural.. same goes for dark soy sauce..

i think u got to check with exp mum who went for natural b4.. i'm better in c-sect?? whahh

Shers, Feb mum
I think they do not really understand what is right and what is wrong at this age.
My girl is worse, if my hubby flicked her hand coz of scratching her own legs until got scars, instead of scared, she will tell my hubby : " hai you yi ge" (another hand - not flicked yet).. faintz!!

Normally what we did is, warn her 3 times, if really dun want to listen, then we smack her hand or flick her hands.. it's always warning first.. sometimes very very naughty, until my hubby will say ONE!!!! TWO!!! then she continued.. Three four five! see faint of not!

Shers
Ya y women have to suffer, while guys just sit down and play games.. even if the sky falls down, also wont move wor!! that day we were about to go out, so i asked hubby to put diaper on my girl, he really just put diaper for her, that's all!!!! then come out, play games again.. i almost puke blood.. i thought after wear diaper for her, can help to get her changed rite.. that is not the case.. learnt another lesson ,tell guys what u want them to do exactly, cannot assume they will do!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
Yea. I feel very blessed too.. With my mum to look after my active #1... I'm sure he's at safe hands...

Juju,
Actually the bottles are used one leh... It is from the bottles of FM... NB will drink and nurses will keep the bottles
For me i'll bring it home, clean and scrub then sterilise... At least for glass bottles u dun have to worry
abt bpa stuff... Can use the bottles to feed or to use as storage bottle. Just only need to buy caps and disc.

915,Feb_mum,Shers
Seems like all of us will hv this prob of placement of #1... haha.. I'm still thinking of a way to solve this...
My mum stays Queenstown and I stay Boon Keng. From my place to TMC is definitely much more nearer...
I also haven got any present for #1.. Dunno wad to buy as well... U have any ideas?

Feb_mum,
Hmmm... Maybe I can request MC from gynae during my next visit which is 2 weeks ltr.. Provided I have not deliver
yet... lol..

Vera,
Yea. I just went straight to the nursery and request for glass bottles.. =)
Shers,Cola,
Hahahaa.. Mayb 2 weeks ltr i go for my checkup and wants to request more, they ask me to fill in application form le..
hahaha...

Dealing with #1,
I also tends to raise my voice at him when he's being naughty and being stubborn. Sometimes I also
hit him on palm and legs.. Agree with cola that they will learn.! but after that, I feels super guilty.!
thinking i carried him till 10mths and delivered him... So now whenever he's being naughty, i try to divide his
attention somewhere else so he will stop doing things tt annoys me... </font>.

915 - no no, i hvn't start caning her. she's too young for caning nw.

but in the future, when she's older and commit very serious offences, i will consider caning. i strongly believe in 'spare the rod and you spoil the child'. but will get hb to cane, haha.

I saw the thread on cheap baby clothes at bugis, earlier... Can anyone tell me the shop name or address of the shop? I would like to get some things there...

Thank u in advance.

cola, yr gal really says that?? hehehe... i will laugh if its not serious case..

i will ask my gal to say sorry when she did something wrong.. she will say 'soli' with hand signs at head.. then run away.. dont know whether she understands the meaning of that ornot.. whahhaa..

dont be angry with hb.. i'm used to it already.. whahaha.. so usually i will put her clothings to be changed on the bed.. then ask hb to change.. he will do so la.. but after he lets my gal rocks and rolls on the bed nuked for few mins..

but anyway i think i have to appreciate what my hb did.. when i praised him hor, he will be proud and wldnt refuse when i ask him to help me.. whahhaa.. so i praised and praised although at times, i see the after-effect of my gal, i want to faint~

he super tuck in my gal's top.. then socks pull until very high.. and the diaper (from behind) not centre.. whahhaa

but i know my hb is trying his best.. he got no exp at all.. he doesnt know how to carry NB..

Re: present for #1

Xue, I'm thinking of getting her either an elmo or a BJ coz she has Barney and Baby Bop, so BJ will complete the set...

My crazy hubby suggested buying her a bike :eek:
i asked him how to bring a bike to the hospital and tell her that this is from her baby sister? so cartoon leh

915, i got my gal a present already.. just a toy cage with kitty inside.. she likes cat now..

my fil bought my gal a bike too! she doesnt really like.. she likes to see and touch only.. whahaa.. think she still prefers her tricycle..

xue, maybe u shld ask the nurse whether got referral fee ornot?? whahaha

i intend to ask the nurse for glass bottles when i give birth..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> 915,
You made me burst out laughing with bringing he bicycle to hosp!!! hahahaaa...

Cola,
Meg sure makes you feel angry and funny.. lol</font>.

Hello gals..
juz bk fm my chk up.
At 35 weeks 6 days, my bb weighs 2.3kg. I had my VE today. I'm 1 cm dilated. My gynae asked me to get ready my hosp bag cos she says 2nd one may be faster.... I may not even have time for epi... *nervous* She mentioned will do another VE next week.

shers, that is fast!

u know what, i haven't do my cordlife yet! jiak lat man, this is 35th weeks liao...think i better call them tonite!

Re: Getting the men to do the kids'stuffs
Shers &amp; RC, same lah..ask my hubby to shower my girl also a headache..i must prepare the tub, the towel and diaper and the clothes...coz he tot shower means he juz sit there and wash her up, no need to prepare all these stuffs beforehand....dressing her also one pattern, the way he put on her diapers...is too loose liao, like anytime can drop kind...but then again, cannot expect too much lor

915, actually can be quite cute if yr hb brings the bicycle to the hosp.. hehehe.. not sure whether yr gal will wonder how bb can manage to buy the bicycle.. hehehe

give it a try?? then tell us!

Shers
We cannot laugh, coz if we laugh, my girl would think we are not serious/are not really angry, so what we did was.. stunt and looked at each other (tho at heart both of us are laughing keke)..

Re: hubby
My hubby is really not into housechores or taking care of kids.. so every effort that he does, i appreciate it.. i only cant take it when he keeps playing games!!!!

Xue
I got Meg a winnie the pooh towel

Ya how to bring bike to hospital

Tinkle mum
here's the dreambag website www.thedreambag.com.sg
Buy 5 pcs entitled for 15% discount..

Btw the dreambag is considered quite moderately priced compared to the one i got for my girl from mothercare, range about S$72-90!
I am collating order..

I need 5 mummies ler..

chocolat, i'm nervous for u!!! quickly standby yr bag.. whahahaha...

915, ya la.. same la.. when i ask my hb to shower for my gal means shower only.. beforehand preparation, i do.. luckily he will run in water in the tap.. then when done, he will wrap her like sushi and he will ask my gal will shout for me..