(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Joyce,
Oh.. Natural dun need ar.. Anyway doesnt matter la.. Will still shave lor.. I cant stand mess down there. hahaa... When I first shave and yes it's pricky.. But after few times, it's ok le... =) Think it's up to individual ba..</font>.

this is a very good write up from a childbirth educator: extract from:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/asiaparents/message/189325

Re: When should I go to the hospital?

I'm commenting on this as a childbirth educator. Personal
convenience, doctor convenience, fengshui convenience etc. all do
not take into account baby's own timing - which is always perfect.
There is a reason why the system works as it does and the old adage
of "don't fix what ain't broken" always rings true.

Elective inductions, as in elective cesarians, always carry risk.
They carry risk to the mother and to the baby.

To the baby, it is the risk of prematurity (note that 37 weeks is
really an estimate. If your dates are not right, the baby may well
be younger than what it is projected to be). There is also the risk
of respiratory distress at birth because the lungs are not ready and
do not have enough surfactant to inflate the airsacs. Additional
risks include a higher risk of operative births because the baby
does not take the stress of uterine hyperstimulation well. If you
can understand the analogy of holding a person's head underwater and
only allowing him to surface for a quick gasp of air before holding
him under again - well, that is the sort of stress that induction-
contractions gives to the fetus. Some babies can take this stress.
Some can't - hence the increased risk of fetal distress and all the
other cascade of interventions that follow ie a c-section.

To the mother, inductions bring the added risk of very painful
unnatural contractions with no rest/intervals in between. It takes a
very heroic woman to withstand the onslaught of such contractions
without drugs and very often, understandably, they call for the
epidural - which again leads to other risks, namely the increased
risk of operative births.

Inductions also carry the risk of uterine hyperstimulation (as
mentioned above) and hence the risk of PPH - post-partum
haemorrhage.

Finally, if at 37 weeks, the cervix is not ready, tightly shut etc,
then no amount of oxytocin induction or prostaglandin induction will
work. All this does is to hyper-stimulate an unripe uterus, leading
to the increased likelihood of a cesarian section for "failure to
progress".

Inductions are a serious medical procedure and should never be taken
lightly. And unless medically indicated, should never be for
convenience sake.

Your previous experience may have worked well for you. That does not
mean that this experience will turn out the same way. There are just
too many risks associated with inductions, particularly elective
inductions.

Underlying all these posts seems to be the disdainful fear of home
births, or giving birth at home. If you study the literature
carefully, it has not been shown that home births are more dangerous
than hospital births. In fact, the outcomes are almost similar.
Indeed, homebirths might even be safer because the risk of infection
is minimised. I'm sure everyone has read about the risks of MRSA in
yesterday's newspapers - these are serious bacterial infections that
take place in hospitals due to poor hygiene. And Singapore's
infecton rate is 35% - not good at all. I'm not sure what the stats
are in private hospitals, but I don't think the deviations can be
much.

Home birth is safe. It is not as messy as people think it is. By all
means, if your preference is to birth in a hospital, do so. That is
your choice. But birthing at home if you had to, is no tragedy
either.

To choose an elective induction simply because you wish to avoid a
home birth does seem rather drastic. Might it not be better to
prepare yourself better, be equipped with knowledge of risks,
benefits and alternatives to all scenarios before deciding? And then
in the event that a homebirth does take place, you'd be better
equipped to deal with that too.

I'm also not sure what you mean by your statement: "Normal delivery
signs are no longer accurate signs for peoplel like you and
> me. By the time you see it, it's probably too late."

Labour signs are labour signs. I always tell women to best rely on
their gut - anywhere between 5min and 3min and if their gut agrees,
that would be the best time. If you mean that some women dilate
before any signs of labour, that is true. Some do. But that does
not happen all the time with the same woman. Every labour is
different. And as I said, giving birth at home unexpectedly is not
necessarily high tragedy.

pat
childbirth educator
birthright

at TMC, both natural and c-sec also need to shave by the nurse leh...my fren just kanna...they anyhow shave one...then grow little bit very uncomfortable and itchy wor...

i also wanna do BW...but first time feel shy lah..those first timer...wanna go together ?? hahaha...

jean:

I will reject totally.. BIG NO NO for me! already stated in birthplan.. they better follow!

I'm delivering in TMC this time.. all 3 different hospital!

porky,
i'm doing another BW in another 3 wks. wanna go wif me?

joyce,
trying out various hospitals?

audrey / xue,
i think 1st few times regrowth after shaving is prickly. after dat, once the hair follicles thin out, actually quite ok.
1st time after BW also a little bit, but 2nd time onwards shld be a lot cleaner

porky,
think the current promo is 20% discount.
can call to make appt &amp; tell them u 1st timer to get 20% discount.
dat time i took the 1-for-1, so had to go down &amp; pay first.

juju,

no lah.. #1 want to save $$ so goto KKH.

#2 - know Mt A is good... so choose loh

#3 - want to do ligation after birth, so cannot birth at Mt A, 'cos they can't allow the op.

ju, ya...i saw the 20% for first timer...btw why u need to do again aft 3 wks ? so fast need to do again ah ? really very sore aft the 1st time ? aiyo...i cant imagine tat loh...

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Audrey,
Carnival design is very nice.! but many ppl take leh.. Hub choose Allison design cos he thinks wont look too ladylike la... hehee

Juju,
Agree.! the first few times super prickly. But after tt quite ok le... Btw it's quite a gd deal tt you've got...! $55 for 2 times.! I just book online leh... If they can get back to me before I go to Strip, I'll change my mind and go to urs.. haha.. Btw they change the stick after each waxing for you or use back the same thru'out ur session?</font>.

joyce,
i see... ligation is to tie the fallopian tubes?

porky,
make sure cleaner lor... cos do 1st time wun be 100% clean one... i will do again in wk 38 or 39 if haven't pop yet

xue,
hee... dat was a promo for mth of feb (pay by end feb can liao). but u can enjoy 20% discount this time, jus say u 1st timer lor.
yes, they will start wif diff ends of the stick, after both ends used, they change sticks.
i kept chatting wif the therapist so she talk &amp; do, then when she remove the hardened wax, very fast press on the waxed area to relieve the pain. pretty good skills, i guess

wah...39 weeks already still do ah...emmmm i consider first...mayb i go with u for the next appt..i only 35 weeks then...

Thanks Audrey! We just finished Tinkles's BD celebration at home

Hi Mummies, just finished reading most of the posts... the hot topic is abt shaving huh... I din know have to shave also! Wonder how it's like to shave when we are pregnant? Does it make the skin more sensitive thus more painful to the waxing? When is a gd time to shave - nearer to delivery like Week 36?

porky,
can always try mah. maybe make me pop faster! lol!

joyce,
MORE is the policy now! no limit!

nites all! tmr work loh

Hey Mummies,

I written in here b4. My baby will be due in Mid May...

Just wanna check, do you all experience itch on your whole body, especially breast area?

This is my 3rd baby, but my 1st 2 I have nvr experienced such bad itch... '

If you have the same problem, can share your remedies? Pls advise... Thanks!

Morning ladies !!

All talks on shaving.. My #1 at Mt A the nurse didnt shave either. But I know if u are having c-section, the nurse will shave.

re shaving - mine was natural at tmc. i rem the nurse checked and will shave if there is a need. she only shaved a bit from the sides for me coz i did my waxing earlier on. i didn't go for the full BW, only wax the sides. will do it again for #2, tink less messy with all the lochia and all.

good morning ladies

rc_cola, i haven't met u in person but "seen" u in FB

re: shaving
erhmmm, i never try BW -- scare of pain leh :p

hmm, y c-sect need to shave and natural no need? thot should be the other way round??

re: coconut juice
last nite, bought a young coconut @ shop &amp; save -- drank it during my evening stroll after dinner... so shiok! went back to buy another one for next week

Morning ladies

Shers
Thanks for the webby on confinement food, i might need that :p

Re: shaves
I think so long as not too bushy and not blocking *keke* nurses will just leave it. Nurses didnt do any shaving for me during #1 at MtE, i didnt do any BW as well keke.. shy shy to bear all for strangers :p can just trim trim lor haha.. ya hor, now cannot see, how to trim, use own feeling and dun use the sharp scissors bah haha!

Joyce
U tried out different hospi hehe..

Dodo
I've not get nipple cream yet!

Hospital bag:-
to add on to my hospital list is the sandals (like those hotel type!), must put in tonite..i didnt bring breast pad coz milk will only come in after day 3 or 4..

Adv
Haha.. ya we all met thru FB.

Ling Lim
I've approved your request last nite

hi dodo,
the lansinoh nipple cream is selling for $6.50 for the small tube at MOMS IN MIND.

but u can get it from suntec or TMC at $8.50 i think.

mothercare sells the big tube only, at $36 or $37 i think.

morning lily,

i think its up to individual. as long not too messy then no need i think!
but i personally will do it before i go into hospital.. for hygiene purposes..

audrey &amp; lily,
thanks for the info on the lasinoh nipple cream!
paisei hor, big one is how big huh? as in how many ML? now not at spore, cant go n research on this... thanks!

rc cola,
hee.. faster go n get one! i still cant forget the pain of my cracked + sore + bleed nipple when my aggressive boy sucked!!!!!

Audrey
I can only access FB at home.. will approve when i am online at home k ( i rarely go online on weekdays at home..)

audrey,
before this i also got do but after cant see i never do ... just trim by my self not go for BW.
I ask my hubby he say he dont dare to do that cos he scared cut my skin

Dodo
Yup must go and get 1 tube, i also remember the cracking and bleeding nipple, super painful.. ladies, actually can start applying the nipple cream now, just to keep the nipple moisturised, this is what i was told.. i would probably buy and start using it...

Lansinoh one, so expensive..

Lily
can.. better if you wear tights, coz it will keep all the saggy flesh in place haha!! dun wear jeans, coz pelvic bone still has not returned to original size haha!
wear maternity pants best

dodo - yes, nipple cream is a must have, esp 1st time bf mummies. tis is one item you shd pack into hospital bag. apply b4 bf, will help to protect nipples from getting sore.

rc cola - i still rem i wanted to cry each time hb pass bb to me for feeding becoz of the sore nipples! got my hb to buy more tubes of the cream for me.

lily - we will still be big after childbirth. for discharge clothes, shd pack maternity bottom for comfort and maybe a looser nursing top.

hi mummies.. gd morning!

I am using Medela Nipple cream - gynae recommended leh. Is lansinoh better?

adv_sports: my mum said must drink those bigger green coconut that need to be chopped one? Damn leh cheh if can drink the smaller Thai coconut - wah then I will start immediately man!

hi tinkles mum,
i have both the medela and the lansinoh one.. both also same la.. sticky and yellow-ish colour..

after trying both, not much preference..

thanks audrey &amp; lily!!! muacks!

rc cola &amp; feb mum,
true.. everytime bb cries for milk i also wana cry... got a few times i expressed milk till my nipples bleed and i duno.. then puzzled why the expressed milk colour so different.. aiyo, so PAIN la!

I havent done BW for more than 8 months. Cos i had irregular contractions detected every other month and dare not do it for fear it ill bring on the contractions.

Did anyone check with your gynae if it's safe to do BW? Maybe i should do it after 37 th week , by then it should be safe even if the contractions come on?

audrey,
for shoo shoo shoes, u can get it at bulk purchase thread see if anyone organising, usually cheaper than what mkt selling.. if not i think u can get it at Mothercare also

shaving is the topic this morning???

i have been trimming.. so for #1, i trimmed till very very short.. but nurse says not enough.. so she shaved for me abit.. just the top part only.. not pain or messy la.. just lots of giggling.. Mine's at Gleneagles!

I use scissor to trim. used a mirror to help me.. got to be careful la.. i think its more hygiene to trim/ shave.. else so many spider legs, very gross le!!

i dont intend to BW now coz hb asks me to wait till after birth.. then we go for couple BW.. wonder they have it ornot.. whahhaa..

beco carrier looks good! at least the baby doesnt look as if they r hanging there!!

BTW, xue, which spree u join?? me keen to get this..

or how many pple r interested?? maybe we can bulk purchase?

Feb Mum
Haha ya i also felt like crying on the first suck everytime, one time when she puked out the milk, it was bloody! My MIL was so shocked, she thought how come bb puke out blood, could it be anythign wrong inside.. so i told her my nipple is bleeding, maybe mixed with the milk that bb sucks.. then she said Ohhh if you are not bleeding, then better bring bb to see PD.. coz she was only few days old at that time.. scary encounter..

First time mum, dun panic when your bb puked out a littl ebit of milk after each feeding, it's pretty normal

I am stil thinking whether to buy lansinoh or avent nipple cream, some mummies said avent one is good as well.

Lily
Got stitches, sure pain, but stil bearable lar, gynae will prescribe you painkiller.. anyway u still need to wear your panties, it's the same thing :p

Dodo
I've often pumped out strawberry milk :p

Shers - the bebo carrier - is it warm for baby? my friend recommended Bjorn cos they have breathable netting.. but i like bebo for the design leh.