(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

SK,
divert ur attention.. dun think abt it and u will stop scratching.. ok, maybe u can think of bb's name, where to order bb's full mth cake.. blah blah blah :p

juju,
precisely!

audrey - i think it is still good to see your gynae about the leak. let her confirm what is and what is the implication.
i very KS when it comes to the baby. i had raised 2 false alarms (not on labour) to my gynae so far and he laughed at me. i think even if your gynae is not around, the clinic will arrange for a replacement gynae to see you. at least this is what nuh had done for me. my gynae does not see patients in the clinic on thu, and when i called the clinic they just arrange for another gynae to see me and he had my file with him.

In the case of the uterus, contraction pain is commonly referred to the lower back and sacrum; indeed, some women find that their labour feels more 'painful in the back' than in the abdomen. In other words, uterine contractions are typically felt over a large area of the body: namely the lower abdomen, small of the back, upper thighs and bowel. This distribution reflects the nerve supply to the uterus.

Contraction pain is caused by uterine distension and stretching of the cervix. Surprisingly, the uterus can be cut or incised without causing pain. Whether contraction pain is mediated by the direct stimulation of nerve endings sited within the uterus; the release of locally produced irritant substances or ischaemia (insufficient blood flow, similar to the pain of a 'heart attack'), is not entirely clear. Several chemical compounds known to produce severe pain have been isolated from tissues that have been injured. They include such exotic sounding names as histamine, 5-hydroxytryptamine, bradykinin, substance P and prostaglandin.

Whatever the actual mechanism may be, the lower part of the uterus has a rich nerve supply and it is these nerve endings which are stimulated to initiate the sensation of pain during a contraction. Contraction pain can also be caused by pressure of the uterus on surrounding structures within the pelvis, such as the bladder, rectum and nerve trunks going to the lower limbs. (Occasionally, the sciatic nerve itself is stretched - causing pain to radiate into the back of the thighs and legs).

audrey,
dr loh also HOD leh... but he reply most of my emails. i dun have urgent things to ask him, so nvr tried calling

dodo,
speaking from experience!

hey audrey,
wow..think ur bb cant wait to be in ur arms too

I still remember when I juz delivered my # 1 I was suffering fm the side effects of epi plus wondering how come my newborn looks like that when they put him on me cos he's covered with vernix..haha..couldn't really appreciate that moment then. Subsequently at the ward when the nurse brot him to me for feed. The first moment when he suckle next to me in my arms I cried non stop!! I couldn't control at all. It's was so touching and magical.....From then on, I knew he's gonna be a big part of me and I'll be loving him till my last breath.....

rc_cola: your gal so cute!!! I am sure she is equally excited to be a big sister soon yah. And when little one was born u have to give her a present and say it's from baby right?

Porky: you should go for the tour. It's available everyday. For me, since it's my first time, I thought have a look at the delivery room more than the ward ;P Anyway I went during one of my gynae appmt.

Thanks Flommy - I will check out the other branch

Okipoki: WAH your gal has so many stuff ah?? But not surprising also la, gal ma, must have many pretty dresses

Audrey: Your devotion to your baby gal is amazing. I can almost feel your emotion and excitment each time you talk abt her in the forum... haha...

dodo,
ya my friend is Oct07 mum.

Audrey,
I agree with ak, just call TPS, and tell them u not feeling well, if your gynae not in, just ask them let u see other gynae lor.

Not sure you can still see this message or already waiting at delivery suite le...

hi mummies, im a jan 09 mummy and i have a brand new tube of Medela Purelan nipple cream-- big tube. expiry 2011. im selling for $14 with normal post. retail price is $19.50.

interested ps mail me at [email protected] thanks!

Mornig all ...
so many happens yesterday
This morning try to catch out all ...

audrey,
r u still here? im so exciting to know about u n baby andrea now

lily...wat so exciting? gd that u are starting the morning with such chirpyness...

today i going for classes on breast feeding...me excited too...

good morning ladies

ju, wow, dr loh says u can give birth anytime? when is ur next appointment? my next appointment is at 36wk -- sooo long to wait

dodo, dun scare me -- i was a 4kg baby (overdue by 1-2weeks, happily munching inside my mum's tummy)... hope my bb is not that BIG :p

sk, aiyoh, ur itch looks bad! do take care and not scratch... last 2 nites, i subconsciously scratch my tummy during my sleep! *touch wood* so far no stretch marks but whole tummy has a pinkish patch...

re: waterbag
audrey, r u still here??!! one way to check whether the leaking water is from waterbag is put on a panty liner after u dry urself... then smell it -- if not urine smell, then it is from waterbag...

re: full mth celebration
any mummies tried lifesmoments before?
http://lifesmoments.inkstudio.biz/

morning everyone..

SK,
I also got rash around my stomach n thigh. U go gaurdian buy physiogel cleanser to wash and buy physiogel AL Cream ( this cream i can't get from outside only my gyne hv. U can try asking ur gyne). Aft washing and apply 1 week the itch is gone.

shers,
u interested in sending ur daughter for phonics class? me too! let me know if u know any good places
i heard of "I can Read" and "zoophonics" , but not sure which ones are good.

audrey,
my gynae said if water bag burst, must go hospital immediately. haf u called ur gynae?

chocolate,
i felt the same thing as u for my #1. such a wonderful feeling

there are alot of nice full mth packages in the market.. hehhe.. see until head spin spin..

anyway if i have to order, only abit.. coz better to hold celebration.. once and for all!

cheekz, yup!! actually i have a place in mind already.. called them as well.. u heard of GUG?? Growing Up Gifted at United Square and Suntec City??

Their next term starts at 3rd week of April.. but i can't make it.. coz one of the parents need to attend the class. i want to attend the class with my gal so at least when home, i can do revision..

so i will have to wait till next term which is ard June.. My sil sent her gal there and i found it quite good. i'm sending my gal for weekend program (once per week). if I'm a SAHM, i will go for 2-3 times per week.. but timing wise, i cant make it..

I can Read is a good place as well but i found that its more suitable for kids at least 3 yrs or 4 yrs?

Zoophonics, i didnt do research on that..

yr gal is ard 30 months right?? think u can go for I can Read.. my gal is only 21 months..

lily, i tot i saw min order is 10??

if u dont have much family/ relative members, best to hold buffet celebration. save yr time in term of distributing the cakes..

celebration really can tire mummy and bb.. but once and for all!.. hahah

we celebrated and gave out cakes for #1..

gave out cakes in the morning.. to mum's friends who gave ang pows, hb's colleagues.. then celebration in the noon time till evening in 2 shifts - families/ relatives and friends/ colleagues.. i nearly die!!! nearly die of engorgement and backache..

after the last person left, i told my in laws that i cannot take it already.. my gal had already showered and slpt.. i quickly express out!!! and lie down on bed flat!

for bb, not that tiring.. because they will be slping throughout.. just that change of hands in carrying only..

not sure if u have heard b4.. usually after full mth celebration, bb will be cranky.. because pple tends to say 'wow, yr bb so guai hor.. can slp so well' then bb will be pantang..

this is what my CL warned me.. so she asked me to whisper into my gal's ear and said 'bb, u dont listen to what those pple say. only listen to mummy ok?'

then after celebration, CL took bb to shower and 'clean' the ears..

my CL is a christian and she believes in this..

hi mums i'm still here.

very tired of all these signs but not strong enough to admit..

i checked sweetest moments, minimum is 10 boxes.

so sleepy.

cheekz, how u find sch with MMI??

btw, yr gal started attending pre-sch already?

audrey, can just buy 1 box or few of their varieties and try?? over the counter?

hi lily,
little bit but not alot.. yesterday more, today like nothing..

shers,
i just called, they say cannot buy over the counter, all they prepare when order comes in.. so if we want to try, we must pre order online den go down collect to try..

shers, wow, sounds very very tiring! that's y my hubby dun wanna to have the celebration... think 1 yo bday celebration will be better
hope my in-laws ok with it -- coz it is their first grandchild...

hi i'm ok,

same thing, cramps but not intense enough.. swelling of feet gone down a little again..

tthank u for asking

Hi Shers

What you said about baby is right! My #1 slept throughout in the baby cot during the celebration no matter how noisy it was. Everybody said very 'guai' then after that day, she very cranky, want to be carried and cannot be left alone!

Re: Full month celebration
Wow, Shers! Your #1 full-month celebration sounds scary! I can't imagine going through all that!
adv_sports, my hubby and I also thinking of doing away with the buffet. i have lots of relatives and i can't imagine them all squeezed into my house! and my hubby rears many many fishes and he very scared the kids go throw food inside his fish tanks and his precious fish will die! Will prob go for sweetestmoments cos the packages look really good!

anyway, i got a free 1 box with 10 boxes ordered (min. 20 boxes) coupon from sweetestmoments. got it during the last cordlife seminar, anyone interested? I'll be using the 10% dscount with FBI so dun need it. PM me if u're interested k?

audrey, sounds like you're gg to deliver v soon! must take care and update us when u do k?

Audrey

Seriously i think waterbag leaking is also quite dangerous coz it posed risk of infection to bb. Better get yourself checked...
tho the water will replenish itself, but leaking is not really safe, my gynae ever said, if leak or burst, call him up immediately.

Shers
Dun worrry i am also a KS mummy, hubby asked me to do volunteer work for pri sch liao haha! we have chosen river valley pri coz near to our house and it's quite a good sch

SK
seems like PUPPP, i had it during my #1, 2 wks before i delivered. the itch was from tummy stretch mark, spread to legs and trunks, and it's like mosquito bites red in color about 5 cents or smaller spots! the itches drove me mad, i woke up at 4am to bathe with cold water!!!! anyway I am not scaring you, it's harmless to your baby :p it happens mostly to first time mum carrying baby boy, i was very "heng" carrying girl also kana!

anywya, i went to gynae, he gave me anti itch jab, steroid cream + anti itch cream + antibiotic cream (all these cost me S$200) but it did stop the itches :p and the spots slowly go off, once i deliver all the itches gone, and the spots are no longer here :p
As a happy go lucky gynae, he didnt say anything, he just say: wow.. dun go and scratch hor.. later on left scarings

Joyce
My girl was 2.9kg when born much bigger than me ler at 2.2 kg..

so many postings to catch up.. let me slowly read up k!

Hi Audrey

Please take good care and rest more.

There is no sign of any symptons that my baby is coming out yet but I hope my boy won't be out within these two weeks as my HB won't be in town and I still have a lot of work to clear!

jasC, rc_cola, cheyanne,
thank u.. i will update if anything happens.. everyone take care too..

hi tiny_m,
how do we get the FBI?

Tinkle mum
Yes I have prepared both gifts from nb for my girl, and from my girl to nb haha.. drama ler me :p

I've packed my hospital bag :p (minus the discharging clothes for myself haha).
I only had very little things inside:

2 sets of bb tops (long sleeves)
2 sets of swaddling clothes
1 receiver blanket
2 pairs of mittens and 2 pairs of socks for bb
sanitary pad
1 pack of disposible panty
2 nursing bras
moisturiser, toner, and cleaner + powder
1 gurder (dunno how to spell this but it's for tummy binding purpose after delivery)
1 tights underwear (worn after we wear the disposable panties)

do i need to bring a towel? or jacket? i dun think so rite..

Today i will go chinese medical hall buy some herbs, just in case i deliver before MIL came, then i will cook for myself (at least brew some soup).. plus go clarins buy body shaping cream! hahaha super ai mei rite? :p

hi audrey, the FBI is first born incentive programme of TMC. u can find out more info here http://www.thomsonmedical.com.sg/facilities.htm#firstborn
i signed up some time ago and they have quite a few useful discounts.

rc_cola: wah!! u seem prepared! i haven't packed my hospital bag yet, had been procrastinating.. and dunno what i need in the bag also.. for baby's clothes, can i ask my mum to bring to hospital when BB is going to be discharged? i dunno what to let BB wear cos dunno how big/small she'll be..

Good morning mummies !

rc_cola, i will follow the same things u pack for your hospital bag..simple and easy to remember..btw, since u say u super ai mei..why u never pack ur makeup set also ? hehe...

just went thru april mtb thread...so many mummies popping already...today only 2nd april wor...