(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Lily, you are up so early! Summo you can sleep in.

the post are going so fast and it's hard to catch up! Anyway, i read somewhere that we are expected to gain about 1 pound per week in the last trimester, and it's to prepare bb for the weight gain and also to prepare mummy's body to handle the delivery. So pls go ahead a eat in moderation, ideally splitting the meals into many small ones. (which i have difficulty doing).

mummies past your 30th weeks, do u feel that the bb get growth spurt. one day you look like this and the next the clothes become tight>???

dunno if it's true, but heard that bb who are born red also higher chance of jaundice.. any 2nd time mums have to comment on this? cos my friend's bb very pretty and clean and red but got jaundice too

good morning ladies

sk, great that ur baby is doing well
my tummy also like ballooning so fast... hope can hang on till full term
backache also getting worse... quite frustrating to go toilet frequently but only urine a few drops!!

re: epi
ju, yup, i will try to give epi a miss -- in case my allegry reaction to pain killer is more serious... my worst allergy reaction so far was eyes swollen till i cannot open! take 2-3 days for the body to flush out the medicine...

re: drinks during confinement
my mum is making red dates+longgan drink for my sil who is doing her confinement now. seems like she dun drink plain water...

re: gathering
shers, i will reach ard 6.30pm...
porky, oledi put the vouchers in my bag

Morning ladies..

Re: drinking plain water
I stil drank plain water during my #1, dun care coz after birth, nurse will prepare 2pots of water (1 warm and 1 thermos).. during hospital stay i only get to drink plain water.. and after back at home, i asked my MIL to cook red dates + wolfberries water for me.. as I am a water person, i stil drink plain water, so scared of constipation during confinement hehe.. old ppl said it will cause water retention on body if drink plain water.. for me.. no reaction so i just drink.

Re: cot
SK, lily, my cot is finally here.. my girl is delighted with her chair and table set haha!! i took some pictures of the cot but have not downloaded yet, too lazy to do so.. have also taken pict of the disposible panty that juju wants to see... again have not downloaded keke..

Re: jaundice
According to my hubby who is studying the area on public health, one cause of jaundice is the delay in cutting off the umbilical cord.. during my girl's time, hubby was about to cut, and my baby's hand happened to hold onto the scissors, luckily hubby didnt cut her hand!!!! so they need to carefully remove her hand, and proceed to cut.. caused some delay, she got a mild jaundice, but clear up about 2 wks after birth..

Lily - Buy the longan and red date from medicine hall. Can purchase the instant one from NTUC, abit too sweet for me though.

Hi Ling Lim,
I went to Aussino westmall last night to get the fitted bed sheets.
checkered fitted sheets - S$10 for 2 pcs (Usual price: S$14.90)
coloured fitted sheets - S$13.90 for 2 pcs (after 30% discount - Usual price: S$19.90)

my CL also mentioned that cant drink plain water during the 1st month...everyday drink red dates longan drink..also take with medicine..

adv, so u are all prepared for tmr's gathering ya..hehe

btw, i hv apply half day leave tmr..in case i wont be able to reach by 6.30pm..now can go shopping first then meet u gals for the buffet..haha

RC_cola> Jaundice.. not true.. my girl's cord was clam & cut almost immediately (prolonged Jaundice case), but, my boy's was delayed as & want it to stop pulsating b4 cut by hubby.. Both different Gynae..

piggypig, nope, haven't put up the wall sticker... will do after my baby cot is delivered in mid apr

porky, wah, take half day leave to go shopping --and work up a gd appetite for buffet dinner
my hubby jealous that he cannot go for the hotpot buffet *haha*

RE: plain water
cant drink plain water coz of water retention. got to drink longgan water throughout confinement. in hospital, ask for hot milo with no sugar. we r not suppose to take in any salt, dark soya sauce, sugar stuff..

RE: Jaundice
i think most bb have it. my gal didnt got it for 1st 2 days but 3rd day, PD said that she has mild but not serious at all and its very common. like what joyce mentioned, blood can be 1 reason. then PD asked us to bring bb to 'suntan' at certain time of the day.. my gal was cleared of jaundice within few days..

also i heard that if serious case of jaundice, PD will ask to stop feeding bb with BM and replace with FM. but mummies who r persist of BF-ing, should eat alot of ginger coz that will cause jaundice to be even more serious.. dont know how true.. also there is herb that can be bought at medical hall to shower for bb to reduce jaundice.. is that true, joyce??

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for ex pectant mothers this Saturday 21 Mar 09. We already have some expecting mummies who have signed up eariler for this scan. However, we need just one more expecting mum who could come for the scan this Sat, from 1pm to 2pm. A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

If you have signed up eariler, please do not response again to this post.

Details:
1) Preference: 18-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 21 Mar 2009 (Sat)
3) Time: 1-2pm
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: The Siemens Center, 60 MacPherson Road
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to OB doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies.?http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/m essages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

hehehe.. i also dont know le.. 7 mth is how many week? 30th?

my mum asks me to start only at week 33 with 1 per week.. then come to week 36 with 3 per week..

but i will double her amount.. whahhaa..

start earlier is ok la.. anyway 3rd tri onwards, we can eat more cooling stuff..

then u still eat bird nest or xue ge?

yah.. we'll see each other before pop.. the next gathering maybe during Jul/Aug.. ??

Aug is World BFG month.. hence, some nursing online shop will have big discount then, we can get nice nursing tops b4 we go back to work!

shers, ya hor..i forget joyce will be joining us tmr...haha...

joyce, next gathering on jul/aug cannot lah...we will be busy with the little one...inexperience mummy like me...dunno how to bring a newborn out alone...

BFG = breastfeeding!

Jean> Can lah.. use sling plus nursing tops.. bfg in discreet.. can go momsinmind for demo on sling.. they may have bfg gathering too..

joyce, thats very cute... i can imagine so many mummies carrying their little ones and big ones to BF... whahaha...

Muffintop,
yes 6.30 my eyes open already wait till my hubby go work then open the forum

Flommy, thanks will try buy n drink first.

Piggypig,
sure long queue one cos got coupon can buy some item very cheap. I want to go also but scared fainted cos many people

Adv_sport,
quality of the sticker ok or not? Now got winnie the pooh design like want to get that one 2 set

just to share from what i have learnt from my antenatal class - Jaundice is resulted in most babies a couple of days after they are born, this is due to newborns have higher turnover of red blood cells, and this chemical waste Bilirubin will be produced from the destruction of the red blood cells. If our babies' livers are unable to cope with the breaking down of the high level of Bilirubin, the excess Bilirubin will cause yellow pigmentation on the babies' skin and the whites of the eyes. But after the liver breaking it down, the yellow Bilirubin will be passed out thru their stools, and that explains why babies' poo is yellowish green!

hope this scientific explanation is not too overwhelming and boring... Not sure how Ginger can cause Jaundice though, or issit just a myth?

oh ya, if your family history has G6PD record, and u are carrying a boy, u will have 50% of chance that your boy will have G6PD as well and baby sure will sure have jaundice... i'm praying hard my boy don't get it, coz my bro and uncles (maternal side) have it! =(

joyce, *clap clap*

u can carry stroller and sling bb up the bus alone??? WOW

i cant le.. because still got a big bag, a little 1 to sling.. too much for me..

porky, bring along yr sling.. let joyce demo..

joyce, u try the piggyback style b4?? i havent try that b4..

my gal loves the kangaroo style but my mil doesnt like.. said bb legs look so uncomfortable

btw, i requested for side tables.. so hopefully we wldnt draw much attention.. whahaha... from so many bumps and demo..

Thanks gals,
so think better to take only red dates drink.
u know, during my last confinement I was craving for plain water!! plus I had constipation n serious piles prob too..w/o water it seems to make recovery even slower and difficult...

muffintop > yes, I do notice that my tummy is getting noticeably bigger & heavier each day. Well, that's a good sign!!
Btw, the brown rice water u got fm Tangs is those instant ones? What brand is that? Any other place carries?

Anymore wish to join us??

Chocolat? ling lim? twinkles? sharon? rc_cola? audrey?

Last Gathering before we pop

Venue: Hotpot Culture Ala Carte Buffet #02-138D (near to Thai Express - quite close to Center Stage)

Date: 19 March 2009 (Thursday)
Time: 6:30pm onwards (last order at 9pm)

Attendancees:
1) Shers (will reach around 620pm)
2) 915
3) Adrienne
4) Adv_sports (630pm)
5) Feb_mum
6) Irene
7) Muffintop
8) Okipoki
9) Porky
10) Sallen
11) Joyce
12) Yvette

Can let me know roughly what time u ladies will reach? since its buffet, whoever reach 1st will start?

Joyce & Shers > I also love the sling. I used that for my boy till he's 1. Tho it's stressful on the shoulder n back when he gets heavier but I still loves it. Furthermore, cos I'm a weekend mummy, so really appreciate the closeness n some precious intimate moments for bonding. And yes, I depend on it a lot too even at home during the early infancy days cos it seems to be able to calm the bb down. But I will still have the habit to have at least a hand to support his back while slinging.

Shers > Hotpot is my fave!! But I cant make it as tmrw I'm goin back to see my son. Enjoy!!

Porky > I also have the similac mum's voucher. If u still need I can pass to u since we're in Pgl

chocolat, okok, u can pass me the voucher if u dont need it...i stay in blk 636B..wat abt u ? now so many ppl knw i drink similac mum's milk...

u gals knw something very funny...i think someone peep into our thread and realise tat i got the free milk vouchers from adv and shers...then recently i receive a few emails from other mummies...they wanna sell me their similac mum's milk !!!

wah..this thread is moving soooo fast..cannot catch up *pant pant*..

Saw some threads on brown rice water.. this is how my mil prepares.. she suns the brown rice until very dry.. then she stir fries it with ginger to further dry. When needed, just add hot water and drink. She asked me to drink only during my confinement on top of the red dates drink.

Guess what..? My waistline is 40"....urgghh....haha..

chocolat, ya.. i also have the habit of putting 1 hand to support the neck and head esp.. and i sling at home too.. whahaha.. but later on my mum asked me to put my gal on the bouncer.. not to carry too much.. hehehe..

i'm going to see my gal tonite.. so at least tml i can join in for the gathering.. how abt changing yr visiting to tonite?? then u can join us tml?

porky, serious?? alot of pple peep into each other threads.. hahha... aiya.. i think u dont need so many vouchers.. going to pop soon..

sallen, meeting at marina sq..

i will be taking bus.. think my only bus will stop at suntec and i will walk over.. u want to meet me to walk together?? then we can get lost together?? whahha