(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

lily, u r fortune. i have an ex colleague who gained a total of 7kg throughout her pregnancy.. she is abit my height and build.. so not necessary must gain alot la.. so long yr water is sufficent and yr bb is growing well..

she managed to lose all within 1 month lor.. she is the one who teaches me to eat more fish, drink more soup, less rice and less meat..

btw, what is yr bb weight?

if u really want big bb, u shld eat durian and beef during 2nd tri

Lily: wah!!! envy you leh!
i'm gaining 10Kg in week 29 and my baby's weight is only 1.3Kg => meaning the remaining 8.7Kg weight is on me.

He he he ... so lucky ya
last time checked my gynae say my bb wt ok ( 29 wks ard 1.2kg ) n ask me to gain another 3 kg. I hope all wt come to my bb leh ... So now still can eat durian?

now eat durian abit too late.. i heard that whatever things u eat now goes to mummy and not bb.. not sure abt this saying..

also last tri, we r not suppose to eat too heaty stuff.. shld start more cooling stuff

Lily
It's okay, so long as bb is growing well, should be okay. My mum told me she has never hit the scale pass 48kg even when she was preg, starting weight was about 42 kg..

Oh ya forgot to report, i've rec my diaper yest at about 1+pm.. so fast!! now super addicted to online purchase keke..

915, cannot imagine when waterbag burst while i m in office -- flood! :p

lily, u very lucky! i m watching my diet after sudden growth spurst at end of 2nd trimester (1kg per week)... now, i keeping to 0.5kg per week -- total weight gain 9.5kg @ 31-week... baby weighed 1.5kg at 30-week...

shers, yup heard that 3rd trimester weight gain goes to mummy... now dun dare to eat alot... but this is the time that baby's weight will increase very fast?

Shers
they said can eat durian but just dun eat too much.. a bit should be okay, ya dun eat too heaty stuff, i heard ppl said when bb come out will have lots of baby pimples (will clear away tho) but the baby pimples are due to the heaty stuff that the mom eats during preg.. so eat everything in moderation k ladies!

adv_sport,
i super diff to gain weight n easy to loose wt
thats y my gynae ask me gain another 3 kg within 3 weeks n i cant make it.

rc_cola,
Baby also can get pimples ? I like to eat chili n chocolate now. Thanks so tm can buy n eat pancake :-o

rc_cola, ya.. i rem my mama told me abt eating heaty stuff during 3rd tri can lead to bb having pimples..

my mama asks me to start coconut drink when i turn week 34 which is next week.. once a week.. then when come to week 37 onwards, 3-4 a week.. like that bb comes out will be very clean..

i did this for #1.. my gal doesnt have any pimples outbreak, no skin peeling, no head scrap.. and when she was born, she got red cheek.. i hope #2 will be the same.. #1, i ate alot of fish and tofu.. those which can enhance nice skin complexion.. but for #2, i didnt really eat healthy food.. just pray hard

Lily
Are you working?

Adv sport
ya cant imagine water broke in office - i got 200pairs of eyes in office keke.. coz i think i will panic first, then stunt and dunno how to move to toilet haha.. luckily last time mine broke at home, then i just quickly jump to toilet.. the water just flew non-stop man!!!!!!! my bed to toilet was about 1 mtr away (was having nap and suddenly i felt like balloon bursting sound) hahaha!! so funny

bb weight vs our weight:

#1 - gained 12kg, bb only 2.5kg
#2 - gained 18kg, bb only 2.8kg (I ate a lot to gain tt weight)

now #3 - gained 10kg so far (as off 3wks ago)

my conclusion: I don't give birth to big bb.. hence, this pg, eat moderate..

Labour sign:

#1: water bag leaks at midnight, follow by contractions
#2: bleeding - 1 day b4 follow by contractions, water bag burst minutes b4 bb crowned.

I can't remember.. but I took when supply low.. ie after delivery after confinement..

Anyway, it does not help me a lot.. while bfg my boy for that 22mths..

Lily
Baby pimples is like our pimples, red dots with whitish head.. but it will clear up no need to do anything to it.. my girl got! :p but it clears up within few days after birth..

"fenugreek" is one of the supplement to increase milk supply.. I never take before, so cant comment.. actually drink more liquid and feed bb more (more demand = more supply) will do..

Shers
coconut really works? i think it's also part of genetics, if both your hubby and you do not have any allergic history, normally bb will be cleared of skin allergic or nasal allergic..

My girl is very reddish when born, then the nurse told me, red is good next time she will be fair.. ya indeed now she is very very fair :p

coconut drink is to prevent Jaundice in bb.. well.. there are other factors that triggle jaundice in bb, eg blood type differs from mother, bfg jaundice.. etc.

my girl's blood type differs from mine and had very high jaundice till she nearly had to undergo blood transfusion.. her skin was still a little yellowish at full month celebration.

my boy's blood type same as mine.. he had jaundice too, but it clears faster, fully bf.

for both, I drank coconut since 7mth, twice a wk.

Lily
Same like you lar, during my #1, i also scare no milk.. actually i am not confident at all if i would have milk.. dun care lar, after give birth, nurse asked me want to total breastfeed her? i was like "hm okay lor" then they mark on the baby's card "TBF" (TOTAL BREASTFEED) then hor.. mid of nite i kept hearing bb crying so loud from nursery from my ward, i was wondering.. whose baby is that.. it was mine hahaha. coz not long after that nurse pushed her in, and told me, "i think she is hungry, she cried so loud that all bb woke up" hehe.. so i just feed her lar, *dunno got milk or not* anyway she suckled already then fell asleep haha.. that was how i started.. by end of 2 months when going back to work, i pump out quite a lot ler... 340ml for both breasts :p

moral of the story: i think we all got milk.. the more feed you give, the more supply you will have! jia yio!!!!

Lily you can go out till the day u deliver.. dun worry to much, walk more during last stage, they said easy delivery, dunno how true but no harm walk more as form of exercise.

Survey shows that only 1 % of the women can't produce milk..

problem is how much & how persistant we are.. so. must mentally prepare ourselves.

HTHs

oh..we can drink coconut..? I thot will be too liang.. does it make a difference on the type- the small one or the big & green one?

hoops: i think okipoki mentioned b4 it's the thai coconut: the brown one.. bt wondering if the green one works as well? cuz the green one fleshier can eat the flesh!! muahahha!!

hi to all mummies,

hope everyone is doing well and all the bbs are alright

i just came back from KKH.. had the diabetes n glucose test in the morning.. thank God no diabetes.. cos both family history have diabetes..

my bb is now about 1.8kg and i'm in my 33 week already.. seems like bb is abit small..

anyway my gynae says that i have started experiencing contractions but its nothing serious..

these are the signs of labour (instructions that she gave me)

1. waterbag burst
2. bloody show
3. contractions which are 5 mins apart

she said anything other than that, its nothing and ask me don't need to waste money coming down..

she ask me to stand by at my 36 week which is another 3 more weeks.. so fast..

KKH doesn't tell us what to bring.. the admission pple say marriage cert also don't need to bring. just bring IC and appointment card can liao.. really ah? cos i read the other forums, the mummies all bring marriage cert leh.

anyway i checked out the maternity pads, they are only about 28cm maximum.. laurier n other brands got up to 34cm so i think that one better la! and got wings. the maternity pads like got no wings leh.

my gynae say today must talk about labour, den she say its like having food poisoning and diarrhoea cramps.. just that its 3-4 times more jia lat haha.

hope this is useful to all first time mums.. i'm getting more n more excited. been dreaming about bb almost every nite

hope all mummies are healthy n well, we are going to pop soon

adv,
try not to hv epi lor. cos heard some women get bad side effects.

lily,
fenugreek can only take after birth. during pregnancy cannot take.

epi does have the bad points but not forgetting the good points as well.

if really cant take it, ask for epi is better.. reserve strength for the real pushing.

some women do experience after effect of epi such as shivering, itchiness, puking etc.. but these are temporary only..

Anymore to add in??

Last Gathering before we pop

Venue: Hotpot Culture Ala Carte Buffet #02-138D (near to Thai Express - quite close to Center Stage)

Date: 19 March 2009 (Thursday)
Time: 6:30pm onwards (last order at 9pm)

Attendancees:
1) Shers (will reach around 620pm)
2) 915
3) Adrienne
4) Adv_sports
5) Feb_mum
6) Irene
7) Muffintop
8) Okipoki
9) Porky
10) Sallen
11) Joyce
12) Yvette

Can let me know roughly what time u ladies will reach? since its buffet, whoever reach 1st will start?

Woo hoo...need me to take sometimes to finish the newer posts.

Visited Dr Adrian W this morning. Baby weighs 1788kg at wk 31 n 2 days now. Commented that baby is of healthy weight and will be more than 3kg at birth. However, I had a little shock as I was told that she weighed 1146g at wk 29 (3 wks ago). I was surprised to learn that baby has gained so much within 3 wks eh. Amazing! No wonder I had backaches for past 2 wks and could not walk continuously for 2 hours.

Dr always ask if I have good appetite so just wonder if I have not been gaining much wt compared to other mummies. Was 87Kg before preg but am 91Kg today. Dun care lah..so long baby is doing fine.

Lily > That day at Taka, I already had back pain haha...we barely walked 2hrs ya? Did you feel the same?

I have frequent urination lately during daytime too and once at night. Had observed that my tummy had spurt growth for past couple of weeks. A colleague was telling me that if tummy suddenly grows very big meaning mummy is going to deliver soon. Oh my oh my....

After reading you mummies' post, I am quite tempted to take early ML ...if possible from early May cos dun feel comfortable to let waterbag burst in office. Dun want trouble ppl to wipe and clear my mess.

Forgot wic mummy asking abt the checked fitted sheet at aussino.. I went to PS outlet today. they have the checked fitted sheet (pink or blue) at $14.90 (shld be b4 30% disc). Plain color oso have blue and pink ($19.90 b4 disc).

Re. Terumo M30 thermometer
NTUC Unity is selling at $97.75. Cheaper than watson/KKH. If u have elderly folk above 55, can get 5% off every tues..

Hello gals,
Haven't been sleeping well these past few nights. Been having dreams and I dreamt I was in labour pain and delivering bb last night...oh my...I woke up took urgent leave and started clearing up bb's room cos so much more needs to be done.

Btw, can someone adv if we can drink plain water during confinement?

chocolat- relax for a bit... i think ya anxious/excited abt ur little one's arrival.. take one step at a time... you'll do just fine...

and no- heard from so many old folks tt we cant drink plain water during confinement. but i did for my first one.. **hehe** dunno wads the reason behind it though..

lol............ i tried to log off to sleep at 1!!! n till now.. my freaking eyes are still wide open though the rest of the world's sleeping le...

Morning Ladies,
so many of us cant slept
... me so early wake up liao.

Chocolat, adrienne,
yes also got auntie around my place tell me to not drink plain water during confinement they said to help clear all the gas n the water inside our body. Can drink hong zao sui she said

Any mummies got drink this one before?

Morning SK,
haha ... same me also get backache after that n last weekend i clear room with my hubby make me very very tired this 2 days.
Good hear ur bb doing well

Chocolat, adrienne, lily,
My friends told me to drink red dates water, and another friend highly recommend to drink brown rice water.

I drank red date+longan water thru' my confinement. SUPER has the instant one which I brought to the hospital, after discharge my mil boil for me.