(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

e list said bb will be given a set of clothing n wrapping blanket to go home.. (clothing include mittens etc).. so just a cap?

gd morning ladies!

jen, yeah,no need to pack bb clothing for TMC. They will dress bb sui sui for the discharge and will also give u a bag of bb stuffs like diapers and milk.

Morning mommies,

Went for my checkup on sat and my gynae advised that he will induce me at 38 weeks cos i am slight diabetic...so baby will now arrive 15 May instead of 29 May.. Can someone tell me how will my gynae induce birth? At 28 weeks, my bb weights 1524gms.

jen, as i remembered, got short-sleeves front-button shirt, wrapping blanket, mitten and botties. no cap..the wrapping blanket comes with a 'cap' to cover bb's head

915: thks for e info... so diff from gleneagle, e other time, i bought a set of clothing, mitten n blanket ended up my ger only wore e top cos bought too big :p

not sure whether cheap or not but TMC selling e desitin cream 2 tubes for $22.. if buy online will be cheaper.

good morning ladies

wow, this weekend very happening hor... so many posting till i m lost!

SK, wow, u r all ready for ur princess' arrival!

re: placenta
flommy, congrats that ur placenta has moved up! hope mine will move up soon!

bean & rc_cola, thanks.. will talk to my bb and ask her to help

my yoga teacher asked to me to do hip roll more often... dun squat and rest more...

re: driving
wah, all the mummies here very brave... i will try to drive as long as i can, too

re: water retention
i will take off my wedding ring every day when i reach home and put in on before going out in the morning... last sat, notice that my fingers hv "grown" puffy and takes a while to take out the ring!! gosh, that's a sign of water retention! any MTBs experiencing this?

re: KKH hospital tour
lily, ju and MTBs delivering @ KKH, hv u gone for the hospital tour? r u opting for 1-bedder or 4-bedder? heard that there is premier and classic plan -- diff of $500...

okipoki, wah 3 push and ur baby is out! wish mine will be like that :p

i hv been exercising since first tri -- swim 6-8 laps once a week, lotsa walking, yoga... let's c whether all these helps in labour

SK..
Wow!! Your baby will probably used up all the items when it turns 2 or 3 "P
I dun remember buying so much stuff for my #1 !!! This time round, i think mine is probably about 3% of what your are having keke..

Re: thermometer
I am currently using pigeon thermo, which i find it a good buy, bought at 79.90 at taka disc period, but too bad the thermo was not under discounted items.
Overall i gave it 10/10, it can measure within 1 sec.. if you mummies intend to buy thermo, maybe can consider this one.

Jen
Wow your gynae so fast gives you the list of things to pack, i think mine will give me when i am in my 36wks, just like my first one..
Dunno about TMC.. coz no experience there..

Yvette
I was induced (perhaps.. coz water broke without any pain/contraction) using drips.. not very sure about insertion of pills to V.. you may check with your gynae..

Adv sport
Y cannot squat?? I have been squating a lot since preg.. now even more coz coming to last tri.. hehe.. oh perhaps low placenta will lead to bleeding.. dun carry too heavy things k..

Adv - since my 1st pregn (abt in e 3rd mth) i already can't wear my wedding ring liao.. think after 'factory close' i will need to go enlarge my ring..

oh, another thing i went for checkup last fri, almost 31wks n bb is 1.5kg... gyne said bb is 'average' in weight, already put on 12kg... think jialit liao... :S

adv Sports - Thanks!! I'm sure your placenta will move up nearer to delivery too!! Downing milk now to "beef" up my little ox!!

SK - ya, u really bought alot, e other time, i din even get 30% of wat u got for my 1st :p
for my 2nd, i ve not gotten anything yet (but i got 1 pack of s size diaper - missed out e other time n never used)
think i will be getting a set of 1st mth clothing for (rest bb will be wearing sis clothing) n bb is a boy ... heheheh

rc - she gave to me incase she forgotten..

Yvette - dialation will depend on how 'relax' u can be when e contraction hits u..

eg me, i went in for induction with 0.5cm dialated at 08:00am... at 3plus, i lost my concentration n getting quite painful, nurse checked me n found only 1.5cm dialated :S so i opt for epid n by 7pm, i'm ready to give birth...
for me i tense up every time e pain hits me.. so below very hard to 'open'

Jen

U reminded me of my #1, induced at about 4pm, only 1 cm dilated, by 7.40pm only 2 cm dilated (no pain from 4 to 7pm).. so the nurse increased the drip doze.. becoming more and more painful, come check again, stil 2 cm.. so she told me probably gave birth by tomorrow morning.. (7pm to tomorrow morning with intense pain - i asked my hubby whether i would die coz of pain or not hahaha) opted for epi.. at about 11pm fully dilated - 11.20 pm bb out.. if i know so fast will give birth, i would bear with the pain :p Maybe what you say is right, if we relax the dilation will be faster..

RC, the last time i also induce coz same like u , waterbag burst but no pain no contractions. but i remembered got pill.maybe diff ba...btw when u on drip, means got needle poked into ur skin? *actually i blur liao*

Yvette, Jen is right..most impt in labour is must relax and breathe....

Morning ladies !!

Re: Induction
My ger was induced by dripped.. no idea on pill. So far am pretty fortunate cos I was fully dilated in 4hrs.

re: low-lying placenta
rc_cola, think squat is like telling the placenta to lower, that is to go deeper down... m not sure but from a gravitational point of view i think that makes sense :p whereas for hip roll, i m trying to use gravitational force to push the placenta higher... anyway, i m suppose to do 15mins of hip roll in the morning and at nite -- only managed to do 5min this morning :p thanks, hubby is doing all the heavy carrying stuff now... now feels like a tai tai :p

re: water retention
jen, ahhh, i thot can wear back the ring after birth

re: baby's weight
jen, ur baby is at good weight
mine is same weight as ur at 30week -- i hv put on 9kg so far... haiz, think i cannot keep it to within 10kg for the entire pregnancy...

flommy, what's ur baby's weight? drink milk can "beef" up?

Ya.. needle poked thru my skin on my hand = on drip.. nothing inserted down below.. i remember hor, the nurse so chor lor when checking dilation wor.. so painful

I remember during the intense pain, my hubby kept talking to me, i felt like punching him haha.. coz whenever i wanted to answer him, the pain was horrible, if i just kept quiet, it's not that painful haha.. everytime i opened my mouth, tears rolled down!! so i only remembered telling him DUN TALK TO ME NOW!

adv sports - gynae say I didn't gain any weight for the past two weeks, he check the bb weight say bb is quite small but I didn't ask him bb's weight haha...he told me me to drink 3 glasses of milk everyday to gain more weight, he ask me to treat drinking milk like I'm drinking water!!! I HATE MILK!!

ic...jiak lat now i starts to wonder if i was ever induced...:< coz seems like i'm the only one with pill inserted...i have no needles poke at all leh. Must go and ask my gynae in 2 weeks'time..

But i did remember during the intense pain, my hubby was shooting pics of me, i was so irritated that i managed to say one sentence "STOP Shooting!", then the worst was when the nurses ask me to push, they called the wrong name! i was so irritated but no energy to scold at all..

but lucky for me, my labour was ard 4 hours like okipoki's.

Haha.. so plus minus my labour pain was also about 4 hours 7pm+ up to 11pm..
Baby came out in few pushes also (cant remember how many but i think about 3 to 4 times push).. gynae stepped in - just to grab the baby and do stitches haha.. so easy job rite? he came about 11.15 pm, (i was starting to push) and by 12midnite hor.. he say bye bye to us liao haha..

After epi, really no more pain, but hubby didnt talk much to me, coz i scolded him earlier mah haha.. so he just sat there reading his book, and i was watching tv haha.. since no more pain, we took a bit of photos hahaha... i think a bit boring for him to just wait there and do nothing.. oh ya i didnt perspire, so he didnt do any wiping of sweat for me keke..

adv_sports,
haven't decide to take up which bedder, haven't go for maternity tour also.
but, the rates i got from admission counter is :

2 days + 8hr delivery suite
- A1 ($4,180), B1 ($3,378)
*** can deduct $1,800 from Medisave

3 days + C-sect
- A1 ($6,557), B1 ($5,646)
*** can deduct $3,200 from Medisave

gosh! i din noe it's so ex to deliver in KKH

915 - i heard of some ppl induce using e pill instead of e liquid (not sure wat's e diff)

adv - there r ppl who wears e ring till birth n some who got back into 'shape' after birth but i happened to those who can't

RC &amp; 915 - i lost my concentration when hubby when out of e room to pick up a call from his comp.. (think i needed TLC when e pain hits) n e funny thing is when i ve my contractions, i ended up rubbing e 'area' betw my brows n i only realise i left a 'mark' (so u can imagine how hard n often i rub dat spot) on e 2nd day when i looked into e mirror n no one who visited me said anything *faint*

flommy - my gyne just asked me how many glasses i drinking per day but hubby is e one who nags at me to drink as often as possible, now we can finish 2 bottles of 2L milk in abt 1 wk (with hubby drinking 1 glass per day)

mommies - FYI Isetan is having their private sales on e 12th as well n if u got old bottles of Avent can do trade in n get new Avent bottles for less 30% not sure do they carry BPA free

Juju, now u know KK and private really got not much diff in terms of hospital stay...i know they said that only when complications arises then u will see a diff in the bill size between KK and private. My fren had to deliver her bb @ 35wks due to high blood pressure, so she downgraded to B class and went for 6 bedders and her bb was in NICU for ard 2 weeks. Bill came up to abt 8K but after susidy etc, she dun have to pay anything. Imagine if it had been in a private hospital then diff story liao.

RC, ur hubby so good life , can sit and read book during ur labour....for my hubby, he had a backache after i delivered coz he was rubbing my back to ease the pain when i was in pain and pushing..

sk, yrs is very well prepared! *clap clap*...

yup.. like me, i have to prepare 2 sets of everything to put at my mum place.. hehehe.. u r the one who stay in sengkang and mum at tampines?? i'm the one who stay at kovan and mum at bukit batok.. we discuss abt baby fetching, rem? hehehe... i have something havent finish buying also.. but all the stuff u bought r very very good already.. at least u wldnt be so panic. i think well stocked up is better.. maybe u can keep away the 1st toothpaste.. u wldnt want to use until 8 months or more.. for infant, just use hankie with warm water to wipe the inside of mouth and tongue will do.

this week's topic will be mum's stuff!!! whahaha... i havent finish buying for myself.. so cant take pic yet..

MTB giving birth in KKH

When I gave birth to my girl in 2006, paid $1,100 in cash for 3 nights stay with epidural in 4 bedder. The cash paid is actually the deposit which I didn't take it back, just enough to cover the cash portion. Given priority to choose bed and admission. I may stay 4 bedder again. Will choose the bed near the window, away from the toilet. In fact in 2006, the first and third nights I was all alone in the ward.

Jen - I drink the powdered milk not the cold milk ley..Am trying to avoid cold drinks as much as I can..but the hot milk oso very yucky to me hehe..

so bad. like dat i dun book bed liao. when gonna deliver then go in and opt for the bed le.
hubby heard the costs, only can say ex.

juju, actually if u have no complications, then can stay on 1 bedder coz then hubby can stay over with u

Llike my fren, she last min decided to downgrade coz her gynae said must induce and give birth at 35wks.

re: KKH hospital tour &amp; bill
ju &amp; jasc, thanks for the info on KKH bill

ju, i juz called KKH -- hospital tour is every friday at 11am (need to make appointment before attending)

jasc, urs is c-sect with epi?

i prefer 1-bedder so that hubby can stay with me... but if i hv to go for c-sect with epi, may opt for 4-bedder...

re: hubby's role at delivery ward
915 &amp; rc_cola, haha, both hubby got scolding! think i better trim my finger nails -- else my hubby will get scratches *haha*

re: milk
flommy, maybe add corn flakes to ur milk will taste better? i m lactose intolerant but tried to have half a cup of milk with corn flakes twice a week... so far, no adverse reaction yet *touch wood*

irene, confirm piggypig and me will wait for u. once u finish, u call me. see which part r we in.. okok??

adv_sports

I had induced birth, inserted 3 pills over 2 days. I've thought to pamper myself this time round but I'm afraid 1-bedded will be too expensive for me if there's complication. I've gestational diabetes for this pregnancy.

Re: bed
My previous I had 2-bedded, this round am also thinking to opt for single bed but abit x leh. I doubt hubby will be staying over this round too.

Re: milk
I am drinking HL milk, cold infact. Hahahaha

flommy - powder milk, i also find yucky but most time i drinking meiji fresh milk, cold... think should not ve any major effect lah.

talked to gyne last wk, she seems to think i won't be going to be induce n 'predict' delivery either in wk 38 or in wk39 (wk39 cos my ger also in wk39) but i told her i wan bb to come on due day not over so e most induce on due day..
also she dun seems to think i will need epid.. (but i not so sure i can ' bare' e pain leh) :S

my SIL dun ve pics on both her bb's deliveries cos she was 'holding' my BIL's arm thru out e delivery includ internal tear (during 1 of her delivery) cos she dun ve epid or any pain killer... when i heard dat, i really 'bai tai'.. she really my idol... :p

re: bed
gyne also said no need to book, just come in n they will auto upgrade from 4 bedder to 2 bedder unless suay n kena 4 bedders.. so dun think i will book but her assistants kept telling me to book in e next visit.

also when to e parent craft area, there is a mid wife said to massage e breast in wk37 so BM will comes fast after delivery... not sure true or not but can try..

915: another thing abt TMC, when deliver there, e parenting class offered is it FOC?

Good morning everyone!

adv Sports - you do prenatal yoga? Me too...I went with Colleen Simmonds - you?

I have problem remembering all the sequences- what about you? So far I only do once a week, should do more hor? How often do you practise your yoga?

Re: Breast shields/ nipple shields

Adv, one is for breast one is for nipples

Breast shields can be used to collect dripping milk from the breast and protect swollen breast.
Nipple shields are used for flat or inverted nipples, so that baby can latch on properly.

Re:Milk
Okipoki, i have been drinking Meiji like Jen..dun like HL

Jen, i also dun have epi for my #1 and planning to do that for #2 too hopefully...but i am not bian tai lor...

Jen, i Also wished the parentcraft is FOC too
heheh
TMC parentcraft course is hot!
i heard many mummies going to TMC parent craft to attend Mrs Wong's class despite they r delivering in other hospitals...

Adv sport,
I've heard wife scratching and pinching the hubby during delivery hor hahaha.. ya to play safe and not to hurt your hubby, better trim your nails.
For myself, i normally would prefer "no disturbance" so very low possibility he will get scratch or pinch by me haha.. i will be grateful if he didnt ask me so many questions during the painful period haha.. i know he tried to distract me, but i just couldnt bear the pain everytime i tried hard to answer him :p

Re: bed
I have booked 2 bedders, coz prefer my hubby to stay at home with my girl when i am not around.. mt e, only has the option of either 1 bedder or 2 bedders.. dun want to waste money on the 1 bedder since our house is near to mt e, would rather let hubby go home and sleep on the love bed instead of in hospi haha..

Re: nipple shield vs breast shield
nipple shield is like teat so that your bb can continue sucking when your nipple cracks.. i find it no use coz i had one, in the end throw it away coz no use and the rubbery gets smelly after awhile..

Breast shield is to contain your milk on the other side of breast when you are feeding bb on one side, coz sometimes it might leak.. never use that before... so no comment on how useful it is..

Tinkles, where do u go for ur prenatal with colleen? i used to attend her classes for my #1 previously.

She is good but then to speak slightly softer. i attended her post natal yoga too.

The no of times u do yoga not so impt, most impt is u remember how to breathe calmly like in yoga classes during labour. Did colleen give u a self-photocopied book on breathing techiniques during birth?

Can teach me how to breathe calmly during labour.. i had tried to breathe as calm as possible, but the contractions are still very painful hahaa.. u know what i tried to count the lines on the curtain!!!!! i think i should bring a book with numerous circles then i will do counting for this delivery hahaahah or bring novel and count words by words :p