(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

915 / porky,
thx!

adv,
i had it done at NUH, $117.17. (heard KK dun hv)
nurse say increasing price soon.
my edd is 6 may. hoping will delay till 18 may

I just went for my gynae checkup on Monday at my 30 weeks and my gynae says that it my baby is at 1.9kg.

Hi Muffintop, I realised that Dr Lim told you that your baby is also 1.9kg at 30 weeks. Is it the standard weight he gave everyone at 30 weeks? Yeah, 1.9kg seems big. I asked him whether the baby is big, he says he estimated my baby to be 3.2kg at birth. 3.2kg is a good weight (I think around 3kg +-2kg is good). But 1.9kg seems big compared to the rest.

Hi Porky, in the end I went to the Babycare Festival after work.

Initially I wanted to go weekend, but when my husband fetch me from work, I told him that you all are getting good buys from the festival but I don't mind going during the weekend cause I also want to listen to some of the talks on Saturday and Sunday. Then he suddenly says that its ok, we can go tonight too since Expo is very near Siglap. I was wondering what it has to do with Siglap. Then he says his friend ask him to go to his house at Siglap.

So in the end, we go to Expo for the Festival and dinner. I only spend about 1hr + there and shopped about 1/3 of the Festival. Our damage is 37.80.

My damage at expo is near $700 !!

I got 7pcs of Dr Brown's milk bottles and 1 training cup at $106. Amdela Dual BM pump at $399. 4 in 1 Cadi Themometer. Lots of Toys and 1 nursing shawl at $30. Palmer nipple cream, stretch mark cream, baby lotion and nappy rash cream at $58.

Joanna,

There is another store that sells Ameda Dual pump at $333.. but without the Handsfree thingy..

my nursing poncho cost $24 only!

I think best buy of all is the Palmer's Bottom Cream, 1 for $11.90 (normal: $17.plus) free travel size of 30g..

Also the Palmer's travel size mother/baby set which include Nursing cream/moisturizing baby oil/bottom butter/stretch marks cream for $13.90

I'm new to this thread. First post.

Hv read the earlier postings by all of u.. v informative!

Yest i also went to the baby fair... only bought the huggies NB and S pack which give a free mothercare baby bodysuit. Read that Nepia diapers are quite good.. but ordering 4packs are quite alot if baby dun suit.. any idea if i can get just a pack to try elsewhere? The ntuc at my place punggol somehow only sell M size onwards...

Also, have anyone try Sebamed for the baby bathing/shampoo?

babymay, wow ur bb 3.2kg at birth is good weight leh..i also hope my boy will be this weight..so wat have u bgt at the expo in the end ?

hi ling2009, welcome to our thread. i also stay in punggol...the ntuc at 168 very small only...u may wan to try hougang point ntuc ? actually u can order 4packs of the nepia with mix sizes..i also do that

anyone went to the mums n babes sales in AMK hub ?

mums n babes having 80% sales leh..yesterday's strait times..AMK hub and vivocity..seems like gg to rain so i did not go today...u stay in AMK right ? wanna go check it out ?

Joyce

I didn't get the travel set. But they gave me a free sample for the buttom cream.
I got the nursing shawl for only $8. The rest are the toys.
Sucks !! Wasted money on the pump!! I was too tired to walk around!!

Porky,
yesterday i got go to mum n babes sale at amk hub but not much thing leh
... mini electric pump frm $193 bcome $139,diapers pouch, changing mat traveler, others got disc 20%.

Where u got mittens n booties moo moo, mouse toy? I go around the fair not found
... Bought baby sling carrier at mum n r us for $40

Porky, is it 3 pairs for $5 or something then 1pair for $2? If it is, then the selection in the basket not many. Left mostly green colour. Not moo moo type.

My damage is $200. Mostly from Pureen products. Bought Avent bottles and non spill cup. Plus 2 nursing bras there. Think early birds got better deals. I also signed up for the antenatal classes but not from Mrs Wong cos fully booked. Last min persuaded by their staff. :p Hope to be able to attend my last class on 19 April. Damage excluded antenatal class fees.

sk..no..not that booth. is $1 per pair of booties and mittens..have a lot of pink colour..but mine is boy boy mah..so i get green loh..blue left only booties..no more mittens..

OIC...cos thought already quite cheap. I din get to walk thru all too. Cos bought those items too heavy to walk around.

Wow good that all mummies seem to enjoy themselves buying stuff from the fair!
Pity i didnt get a chance to meet porky and the rest of the mummies
was quite tired from the walk .
My damage was abt $500 plus too! Vera, i got the same mat from the expo too! Got $100+ worth of Gaia bath and moisturiser products etc , 5 nursing bras , baby safe products .
i nearly got the Bumwear diaper too but decided to wait till our baby is born cos we are afraid we will be too lazy to wash! But i really love the design;p

Went again today to chk out Mrs Wong 's baby massage workshop, was really quite interesting. And ended up buying more stuff.. the Pureen wipes. Any idea if the antibacterial one is better or the one with aloe vera and vitamin e?

Star > did u get to try the texture of the antibac wipes? I got a sample from them and it's really soft to touch. The other kind slightly harder. I bought both though.

Hello mummies...
Aiyohh, all of you suffer big damages in the fair ar haha.. i didnt buy anything.. went there today at about 2... nothing much ler..maybe coz this will be my #2 so i know what is baby's need..

The only damage i suffer is the subscription of magazine.. but we got free photo of our family taken hehe.. after hubby scans, i will post here k.

Really love to be able to meet up with you all, but with work and my girl waiting for me at home, sometimes i dun feel like going out after a day of work, and just wanna spend time with her at home..
U mummies will understand what i mean after your bb is born hehehe..

mummies, have you got your steriliser and breast pump?
I wanted to take advantage of the sale at the baby expo /mum n babes fair to get the pump and steriliser today but mrs wong advise not to get the pump first till the 2nd day baby is born as we should try the different kind of pump at parentcaraft! And without buying the pump , i cant buy the steriliser cos dun know which brand to buy!
Aiyo... am in a dilemma , i was so tempted to get the avent bottles and steriliser at the sale today.

Have you all bought?

Anyone wanted to buy night dress with front zip opening?...pattern look like "Malay" Sarong....I'm not selling it, just that i saw near my place selling one piece at $7.90. Let me know if any of u interested...I can get it for u ..no extra cost! I'm a April MTB but my EDD on 30 April...So i might give birth in May too

star..

pump and steriliser no connection what, u can use the steriliser to sterilize all bottles and teats.. as for pumps.. hm.. it depends on individual, but u can buy those recommended by mummies that have ever used lor..

Hi Lily,

Thanks for the info... think even the hypermart at AMK hub oso dun have...hmm.. maybe i will try go seiyu/isetan to check out first.. else have to see if anyone want to share the carton

Hi Porky,
Is the pureen wash that you bgt at the fair 3 for $14 much cheaper than mkt? seem like this brand is well-like by mums too...

My loot from Babycare Festival is as follows:
2204634.jpg

1) Magazines @ $10.50
2) Bootie @ $1
3) 3 Little Feet socks @ $7.50
4) 3 Pureen Head to Toe wash @$14
5) Pureen Nappy Liners @ $4.80

Joyce and Vera, what is included in your bumwear package? My hubby and I were also very tempted when we went to the booth to buy cause look very convenient. Initially, we were thinking of buying cloth nappy for the 1st month when baby's skin is sensitive, then will use disposables after that. But buying bumwear will allow us to do with disposable. But only consideration is that have to wash often. Bumwear can be purchased online also, only without the free gift. I remembered package A got free 2 inserts.

Joyce, yours is package D, right? is it free 2 inserts and 1 wet bag?

Vera, yours is package E, right? What is the free gift?

Anyone tried Rustic Nirvana? Is Rustic Nirvana good? I am also considering signing up for the 1-for-1 post natal rejuvenation package at $838. They will go to your house for 5 times (you have to pay $80 for the 5 trips), for the free massage, you can visit their spa for 5 times. It worked out to be around $89.70 per time, looks expensive hor. But if it really good, then still worth it. Anyone got any advice?

If I am signing up for the post natal package and buying the bumwear, I will need to go to the fair again today (third time liao), so abit tiring also.

We are also considering cordlife. But this Saturday is the stemcord seminar, so thinking of listening to both before deciding to go with which. But hubby says he prefers cordlife cause it is accredited. Maybe I can join you all for the pig out too. Anyone can give me your ID for cordlife?

Another thing we are considering is the thermometer. Wow, so many things to consider, maybe end up all never mind cause very tired now.

hi baby_may, i signed up with rustic but i am not going to use their home visit coz $80 is really expensive lor. I will be using their package for post natal at their shop coz last time i tried was good coz they have a herbal steaming so i find it's useful. if home visit i dun think got steaming leh..if juz plain massage and wrapping then not worth $80 lor.

Hi 915, so you will be going to their shop for all the 10 visits? Are you going after your confinement? We can't go out during the 1 month confinement, right? I think the home visit include the sea salt applications and portable steamy wonder, but don't know whether it is same as herbal steaming.

hi Irene,
can share the shop's address? would like to go & see

jus came back frm mums & babes @ amk hub. dun see anything to buy. but looks like good discounts for those who have not bought much.

i spent abt $210 @ bb fair, mostly pureen products & cadi forehead thermometer.
- the forehead & ear thermometer (free thermo flask) @ $79
- 5 x pureen nappy liners (100s) @ $24
- 5 x pureen fragrance-free wet wipes (2x100s) @ $30
- 2 x changing mats @ $10.40
- 2 x pureen ABD liquid detergent (1L) @ $9.90
- 3 x pureen liquid cleanser for bottles mint/orange (750ml) @ $15.50
- 3 x pureen head-to-toe (750ml) @ $14
- 3 x pureen shampoo 2-in-1 (750ml) @ $13
- 3 x pureen bath regular/peach (750ml) @ $13
2204943.jpg

Ling,
if u wan to get nepia NB/S size, think only sell at meidi-ya. can see if anyone wanna share a carton wif u. or, u can mix sizes, heard can exchange unopened pkt for bigger sizes.

May baby
Dr Lim measured the head then said 1.9 and he said I need to b on standby by 25 april. :e said bb good size shd be 3 + kg but we will only know when bb is born.

Expo
My damage
Baby mozart cds - $60. Quite nice n I have been looking for this

Huggies ultra.- 2 packs nb and small. I was hoping to use diapers but too much washing lah

Magazines

And I wanted to get the avent sterlizer at 138 and I thought there's a lot of stock but when I finished one round and walked back, it was all sold.

Breast pump
I didn't get any yet cos was hoping to borrow from a fren a medela dual pump. So didn't get bottles and bags too cos heard that medela only works with medela and nuk bottles. Anyone know anything abt this?

Anyone experiencing heatiness now? I get pimples aroubd my mouth and forehead and dry throat. Drank a lot liaoz. When can we starting taking liang stuff like coconut?

I get pp asking me how many weeks / months iam pregnant and then comment I look too small (already gained 11 kg) and say I never eat enough for my bb blah blah blah. One auntie, after I told her bb is good siZed and she commented that my water bag nt enough water. This is pissing me off that everyone thinks they are expert on the subject and keep commenting. .... Just ranting out my frustration

Sorry for interupt.

I have following brand new item to let go.
1.Avent Storage Cup (10x) Bought at $26.90
2.Avent Washable Breast Pads (6x) Bought at $18.70
3.Pigeon Disposable breast pads (36+6pcs)bought at $11.90
I willing to let go all the above at $40.00

If interested please PM me.

Thanks..

hi baby_may, i went to rustic or their postnatal 2 mths after birth.during confinement i hired a malay lady to come my house for 7 days.Think i paid ard $45 per visit.
i actually continue postnatal for 6 mths, doing once a week. As for the steamy wonder, i dunno what it is. anyway rustic said i need to deduct 2 shop visit for 1 home visit, that will be $140 for 1 home session!

babymay, where did u get the shears wash cloth 6 for $3 ? we cant find leh..haha u also found the moo moo booties..

ju, u also bgt a lot wor..mostly pureen products..

re : heatiness
muffintop, me also suffering from heatiness liao...my nose bled last night...btw, who is tat auntie ? why she comment ur waterbag not enough water ? my tummy seems big leh...today went to ntuc..got one lady ask me is it giving birth next month...

Hi rc cola,

thought if i buy avent steriliser i have to use avent water bottles hence have to use avent handpump when you pump into the bottles?

baby may,
i sgned up for rustic nirvana pre, post and confinement massage package abt a month ago. so far, have only gone for pre massage and scrub, it relieves me of the strain and tiredness and i am able to last through the day longer.

I have started to drinking coconut water last wk. Once per week and at M'sia only. Cos I dun know when will be my 35th/36th week or when Im delivering soon. Could be premature too.

Ju > I bought almost the same items from pureen too. That's why got more than $130 from that booth. Bought their diapers for night use. Trial cos not sure if bb is suitable or not.

My tummy also grows bigger lately. Been looking at the mirror before shower and gradually notice that. So interesting. Little one has been kicking alot lately. :D

RE: Pump/Sterilizer
I already bought the Ameda dual electic pump.. dont plan to buy sterilizer since I will be using the boiling method

BabyMay - yup mine is the package E. It comes with 15 diapers and 35 inserts. Freebies is choice of 3 inserts + 1 wetbag OR 5 inserts + 1 box of nappy liners.

star, previously i use avent steriliser for my piegeon bottles and medela pump accessories. So i supposed u dun have to stick to avent products although u r using avent steriliser lo.

when i asked the sales girl , she told met he avent steriliser cant hold other brands of bottles! How did you it your pigeon bottles in , do you remove the rack in the steriliser?

hello, i've been reading the forum but didn't register til today. haha. anyway i wanted to ask, how do i check if anyone has PM me? cos i PM some to ask about the prams that they are selling but i dunno how to check they have replied.

can someone help me? thank u. and my EDD is 3rd may. i hope its earlier!

you can check your email which you have registered with in singaporemotherhood.com . If they post you a PM, it will appear in your inbox for eg ; if you register with your yahoo mail then it will appear in yahoo inbox