(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

liewb

If my HB needs to travel during my confinement then I'll be left alone with baby and my little girl. I'm pestering him to avoid travelling closer to due date. Yes, my HB very hands-on since my last pregnancy with my girl except he doesn't know how to do ironing and can only cook porridge and noodle. ;p

3wkold - i sleeps more on my left which i find more comfy compared to my right. but frankily whichever u n bb feels more comfy

3wkold, I have been sleeping both on right and left. I just flip here and there at night.. sometimes when I woke up, I will end up lying flat on my back.

i sleep mostly on my right side and i put a pillow behind me, to help me stay on my right side. think either left or right is ok. it's just not recommended to lay on your back. if ur baby doesnt like the right side, try sleeping on the left. my 1st boy always kicked when slept on my right side previously. this one has no preference.

Hi Liewb and porky

thanks for your information.

No choice have to wait for further scan .

Cos my fre's fre also have the same gynae years ago also have this problem.

She scan a girl throughout the pregnancy but in the end is a baby boy.

So see faith lah

Same here, when week 12 the raffles gynae v confirmed for me is baby girl but after week 20 i went for detail scan they 100% confirmed is boy.

Since already confirmed 100% i bought alot baby boy cloth so dont come out girl i will faint =.='

Sleep position
I always sleep side way, either left or right and put pillow both side to support my back..baby kick v hard at mid night ..he like to squeeze my left corner tummy & sometime feel abit pain i dare not scold bb coz he v small gas =p

xue, ask otosan to massage ur calf before zzz... will help to ease the cramp... me also lately cannot walk too much in my flats shoes, else will experience cramps... but ok if i go for morning walk in the park with my running shoes...

jen, hope ur gynae able to keep ur contraction at bay... relax relax...

re: sleep position
like bean, i sleep on both sides though i feel more comfortable lying on my back -- but bb dun like coz not enough room for her to move *wacko* sometimes, either sides also cannot(bb kicking hard) and i hv to sleep at angle between side and flat *faint*

grace, ur baby beri cute -- so young oledi small gas :p

3wkold,
you are not alone. I put on abt 10 kg or so liao.
I actually put on 20 kg on my first preg. managed to lose all except 4 kg of the lot,..before finding out preggy again..

Jen

You need to rest more often. Don't walk too much. Mine was quite bad. So now on bedrest. I'm taking medicine and injections to control the contractions. Otherwise, will lead to preterm labour.

halo, shers and porky,

if its too rush, u gals wana do it at 8pm, or isit too late for u? i m fine. cos i dun work on thur and fri. or wana stick back 7.30pm?

Shers, i m ok with it. but i heard voucher cant use it for this CNY hongbao $888 right? i also not sure lei. pls check it out tmrw ba...

Hi advsports u joining us tmrw?

and also baby_may u joining us too? cos u email me ur hp abt ordlife so i dunno if u r meeting up tmrw or not.

RE:BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Original Classic
Hi, Anyone has any idea how much does a BABYBJÖRN Original carrier cost in Sg?
I find it at 83€ in France but wonder if it is cheaper in Sg.

RE:Backache
I see that some ladies are having backache. Me too. I just tahan with it. But cannot sleep well at night and in the day time, very sleepy at work.

I have already signed up with cordlife but paying on annual basis. Cos i have yet to pay any upfront fees (till baby is delivered) so im wondering if I could change my package to the current promo?

Can help ask for me? Cant rem who entertained me during my sign up liew.

bean > Same here. I also sleep on all sides. I still prefer facing upwards. There's once think last friday when baby kicks so hard when I slept on my left. I like to sleep on my left cos hubby sleeps on my right. Then I heck care cos v v tired. Hehe.

soh, my backache is also very bad..but when i lie down on my bed, i dont feel backache leh..very comfy and also can sleep well..only when i sit for too long..then the backache will get real pain...

OG Sale - 20%
Not bad leh.. Got my bottle warmer from there - tommee Tippee and munchkin changing pad. All got 20%!! Good.. The tollyjoy items all got 20%. The bottles too. Only brands like baby safe, Avent dun have. Even with kiddy palace card also only 10%. So i quick grab. Can chk out the thyme nursing bras too - $29.But the sizes huge leh. i bot the non-padded type. This one got smaller sizes. I went to the outlet @ People's Park.

Brands of Nappy liners/Shower foams/baby wipes
Can i ask exp mummies, is there any diff between the baby wipes? So many brands in the mkt. Any real difference anot? Combi? Pigeon? which one gd? Nappy liners also... got annaku lah, Tollyjoy lah... any real difference anot? Or just buy the cheapesT? I think i will buy all these during the baby fair. Personally i like Kodomo for the detergents cos of the brand, jap product. Haha. But nvr used b4.

jen,joanna,

i was admitted becoz of contraction 1 wk before CNY. was so worried as i had this sudden intense pain on my top right belly at at night and went to the TMC A&E, contractions were detected. gynae told me to rest more and not overwork. Did a few tests to confirm that the pain were not due to urine infection /overweight baby/ low placenta.
Praying hard that my baby will be delivered only close to EDD

Was wondering if i should take 1 mth maternity leave before so that i can rest well as i tend to zip around alot for my work.

re: cordlife
we met up with the consultant earlier... there r 3 packages to choose:-
1) annual plan - $1000+gst ($950+gst if hv referral), every year pays $250(up to 21 yrs)
2) 10yr plan - $2888+gst (CNY promo, no disc for referral or voucher)
3) 21yr plan - $5138+gst (CNY promo, no disc for referral or voucher)

amt will be deducted from CDA (grace period of 2mths after delivery).

glenlyn, we won't be joining u 2molo. u gals hv a good meeting with the consultant

Star

It's better to take your ML early. Early contractions is pretty dangerous. I had contractions since 22 weeks. I'm working in the retail line so a lot of moving around involved. My doctor advice bedrest for me. So I'm currently on hospitalisation leave till I deliver.

Are you on any medications? I'm taking Nifedipine and having Proluton injection.

There is a thread on premature babies. Mothers there actually have early contractions. Their babies were delivered early. They all advice me to rest at home. Bedrest will help to reduce contractions. Thus baby can incubate longer inside our womb.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/490727.html?1232125809

Hi Joanna,

Can i check with u how the contractions feel like? Cos I do experience some tummy hardening sometimes and nowadays having this tummy palpitations.. there's no pain but just wanna make sure cos this is my first baby , no experience..

joanna - i dun walk alot for my line of work. Only toilet breaks or lunch time walk only n not much standing too. so wonder how come ve e contraction.

even sitting down, i will put my legs up (rest it on my printer) :p

star - going to see gyne later but i dun think e contraction bad cos down dun ve, yesterday really bad (caused me to be in panic mode) cos happened like every half hr with hardening with slight dif comfort but not painful type.

Hi Glenlyn,

My hubby can't make it tonight, so we won't be going to the talk. But we are very interested in storing cord blood. Don't know whether there is group discount if we sign up together. Please let me know how much we have to pay for the 21 years package if we sign up together after all the discount. Thanks.

hi all!! yup, J8 has kiddy palace but it's not very big. i bought a foldable travel changing mat awhile back, it's very compact and i got it from mothercare. now they dun seems to carry it anymore. if anyone see any really compact travel changing mat, please let me know.

ladies with early contraction, please take lots of rest and dun walk too much..more importantly, dun stress.

oh, it's a mat that u can bring out when u go shopping.. so in case if u hv to change baby and stuff. i dunno how to describe the size. but u can fold it so it's not like u hv to carry a big bulky mat around. i can fold mine into a square of less than 1 A4 size paper and put in my diaper bag to carry around. it's very convenient.

oic..i think i have this leh..a fren pass it to me..it can fold into 4 and looks smaller then A4 size after folding it..the brand is kiddopatumas (dunno how to spell..) i was wondering wat was that..so now i know already..haha..1st time mummy no experience mah..

liewb,

mothercare still has compact changing mat. i lost mine in a shopping mall and i quickly bought again from mothercare.

porky, no hurry to buy the changing mat.if u r buying diaper bag, keep a look out. some diaper bags come with changing mat.

glenlyn, will ask abt voucher thingy.. but mine definitely cannot use. so if any 1 of u is looking into annual storage, maybe can use my voucher.

anyway, me and porky r going without hubby.. so any mummies can join us also... not necessary to bring yr hubby.. just listen lor.. if unsure and cannot decide, dont sign 1st.

Actually, the website did mention that by sleeping on our left side it helps blood circulation to the baby plus improve digestion.

I, myself try it. It really helps me go toilet break as normal.

You can put a baby pillow under your belly when you sleep on your left side. so that is soft enough for your bb to sleep on.

Above is my own experience can try...

shers, i no need to buy le..cos my fren gave to me..brand new one..

ya loh. i go without hubby. i told him liao, if ok then i will sign today..else will discuss with him tonight..

gd morning mummies...

It's been a long time since i logged in.. one week of CNY rest + 3 days on course, now finally free to come in and see see look look

Hope everyone's well!

Re: Brands of nappy liners etc...
Jacquise, i used tollyjoy, annaku and 'chappalang ones' nappy liners for #1, but from what i experienced, the brand of nappy liners does not matter to me coz they are used and throw, so i go for the cheapest brand. i even got some from m'sia..heheh

Actually of all the baby stuffs, only the following stuffs i am particular of the brands:
1. Wipes - Pigeon (not too wet & very easy to pull out. Comes with Plastic Box which can be reusuable for future reills)
2. Milk Bottle Detergent - Pigeon. (i hate tollyjoy's coz smells like bubble gum)
3. Baby Clothes Detergent - Kodomo (i loved the smell)
4. Breast Pads - Pigeon (coz it comes in individual packing)
5. Shower Foam - J&J Milk bath (coz i loved the smell. the Sebamed baby bubble bath is good but ex)

915, received yr mail! thanks..

my list is the same as 915 except for shower foam.. i cant remember what brand is that already.. i always store up when i go to the sg expo baby fair..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cordlife :
I'm meeting the agent next wed. U can actually tell the agent to reserve 1 slot for the $888 package for you 1st. This is wad the agent told me. =)

Liping,
Which yr u're born? You have the same surname and name as one of my fren...</font>.

re : steriliser
do we need to get this ? which brand is good ? anyone still using the old method to sterilise milk bottles and accesories ? the pot method..

Porky,

My mil still uses the old pot boil method coz she said it's the best

for me i uses the Avent Steriliser, but what my mil discovered was that the steriliser has alot of black particles from the inside after using for a few mths. Avent comes with some cleaning powder to clean the steriliser but i dunno where to buy refills after i used them up though, so I clean my steriliser with lemonjuice or vinegar, but still there are always dirt after sterilising it.

I am thinking of changing brand to pigeon this time round coz it's cheaper and i plan to change steriliser every year.

Probably one plus point abt using Avent..if u r using Avent bottles then u can only buy Avent steriliser,else other brands may not fit. But if u are using normal milk bottles, u can put them in Avent steriliser.

Milk bottle
hey, all mummy did you heard abt BPA for milk bottle? i just bought AVENT brand milk bottle set w/o "BPA Free" quite ex for newborn but my fren ask me to change wif "BPA Free" .. if w/o BPA free no good for baby health

porky, me!!! i'm using the pot boiling method... whahhaha!!! i used pot boiling method for my breast pump as well..

915, me too!! my gal also comes home for weekend.. so usage very little.. but i need to buy in bulk to store at my mum place.. when #2 pops, will u be bringing both back home daily?

915, i heard abt this on avent steriliser as well.. thats y i didnt buy... so i still stick back to boiling method..

grace, this BPA free is quite new.. i dont think without BPA is not good for baby health.. alot of kids r still using it.. if the package is not open yet, u can still go back and exchange

Regarding Sterilisers,
My fren told me pigeon is the best cuz it can be used with any bottles and its cheap. She is using Avent bottles and a pigeon steriliser. No problem.
What I heard about avent steriliser is that it can only fit avent bottles. Other brands of bottles cannot fit.

Shers, but they gt report in news b4 abt the milk bottle problem ..after tat issue they release "BPA FREE" for milk bottle

I cant exchange coz the receipts missing ..

bean, thats great ! i have decided to get the pigeon rapid steam sterilizer for 6-8 bottles...i dunno how to use the pot boiling method...mil will not be free to do that for me..cos she got work...

grace, i also bgt the BN milk bottles without BPA free last weekend from metro...but i break the seal already..think cant change anymore..

i'm also using the avent bottles but thinking of changing to the pigeon glass ones. i got an old sterilizer from a fren which i'm also thinking of changing this time around. probably will all change to pigeon. i just hope my boy wont get picky on me when i change his bottles. :s

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Sterilizer :

Mum using Pigeon and my place using avent. Pigeon one is slightly bigger thus can fit in different types of bottles and more teats,cover,pacifier can put on the top. As for Avent, I find it quite small.. And only certain bottles can fit in. Plus point is the bottles wont topple down tt easily.. Not much space on the top as well. But if u aren't using much bottles it's still ok.. </font>.

re: steriliser
oh oh, we oledi bought the avent steriliser &amp; warmer... now then recall my mum use the boiling method for my 2 nieces...

915, thanks for sharing abt the brands of bb stuff... we at a loss which to get...