(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

good morning ladies

re: backache
hmm, m feeling more backache lately -- maybe due to my growing tummy
thanks xue for the contact of massage lady!

re: cordlife
juz called up the hotline this morning and a consultant called me back promptly. hv arranged to meet up with her at their office (very near to my workplace) this evening 6.30pm with my hubby -- to gather more info and visit the lab. any MTB wanna join us?

re: CL
wah, 2.4k -- so ex! btw, how much ang pow to give? my mum is doing confinement for me -- cook n take care of baby in daytime. my hubby will take care of the grocery and housework.

Adv - for my case, i gave my mum 1K (for her 'service' - day work consist of bath bb, look after bb in day time, i look after myself at night, cook meals for me plus i staying at her house), after 28days, angpao is $128 (for good luck)
grocery is exclude.

RE: Meet up for Cordlife
I will be going alone. My hb and i confirm taking up but on which package only. I can decide and pay on the spot. Glenlyn, i have yr HP already. PM u also.. Sorry for replying late because yesterday i took leave to take care of my little gal. Stomach flu.. gosh~~ I want to eat MacDonald. Maybe i meet u there? Porky, once u reach, call either 1 of us

RE: CL
I confirmed mine also. 1.9k for 28 days. She is Hakka and i wanted to do proper confinement. Hakka has the most traditional confinement. Not too sure abt it also. Anyway my sil used this CL twice and i have met with this CL many times to chat. Paid her deposit also. Ang Bao when CL reaches and leaves is for her 'heng heng' because confinement is supposed to be 'dirty'. As for food, 2 diff food will be served. 1 for me and another for hb, CL and any family member (kid, maid). CL mentioned that she will cook simple dishes for themselves. Marketing will be best done by hb or mil. in my case, my in laws will buy everything for us.
for mums bf-ing bb with jaundice, best to avoid eating ginger initially. coz can worsen. mums with c-sect also to avoid eating ginger coz can cause scarring. after 12 days then can eat as norm confinement food. this is what the CL told me.. i'm not picky with food so i can eat except i try to avoid meats.. coz hard to shed off.. will eat lots of cord fish.. certain veg also cant eat coz quite 'cooling'. my CL passed me a list of what to prepare and buy.

I also plan to give my fren 800-1k Ang pao, she no experiance but me and hb will teach her ..

We already sign up the course how to take care baby and i'll teach her ..juz abit worry when i teach her and she not follow/listen to me (make me angry) =.=
Pay her and cater food still need2 spend $2K (She stay wif me 1 month + food all mine) I got fren mum do confinement w/o CL last time..she told me, all she& hb do coz CL too ex for her and until now she dont hv 风湿

My hb prefer my fren instead outsider(other auntie) no other option coz all CL so $$ face + hb cant trust them

btw, you all will plan not shower/wash hair for whole month? i want shower/wash hair every day wif ginger warm water..

RE: Ang Bao
I paid my previous CL $28 when she reached. and when she left, i gave her $88 and my mil gave her $168 ang bao.. she is very good.. but too bad, 1 yr she took only 4 assignments and last yr her grandchild was born so she cant do for me..

anyway amount of $ isnt impt. most imptly, is whether the CL can cook and take care of bb well..

spending of $ on this 1 month is nothing. must take in lots of tonic to 'bu' our health. food is impt also.

Re: CL
I am engaging one from malaysia thru hubby's fren recommend.
she charge my hubby's fren 1.7k 2 yrs ago...my hubby called...he said wanna to charge 1.9k...after tat my hubby told her...his fren recommend one..then reduce to 1.8k.
also nvr mention work permit.
Liewbb 2.4k too exp...then u rather get a SG one.
understand CNY period is more exp...becos some ppl pantang...but not in May lor.

Porky:
mine no need deposit...even no need to take down my hubby name...seem she very ah zai(no worries).
i also worry wait she fly me kite.
she said the same thing as your CL "when i admit to hospital for delivery, my hubby must call her".

Understand grocery is separate...we need to buy from her. my hubby fren said she use 7kg of ginger. and she slept very early at 9pm every nite. so able to wait up at midnite to look after bb.

forgot to ask abt breastfeed.

last time used to require work permit for malaysian. but now no need already because so long they leave for home within 30 days, its fine.. this is what my CL told me lor.. hehehe..
CL wldnt fly kite 1.. esp its 'who and who' recomemnd.. because they need us to recommend to other pple..
oh yes, CL will slp early because they need to wake up in the middle of nite to feed baby.. also some may require nap.. they r consider old also.. 40+/50+ so they need to rest la.. dont just think that our 1.8/1.9/2k is so BIG that CL has to 'zhuo nui zhuo mah' for us.. ehhee

shers - i tot those less than 2k r day time only n goes back in e evening.
if less than 2k still need to do night shift then very cheap leh cos night shift very siong wan, imagine night time ve to wake up 3 - 4 times n morn still need to work.

liewb - maybe yrs 2.4K is 28days stayed at yr house for day n night.. cos wat i know is less than 2K is only day time n goes home in e evening.

jen, ya lor.. engaging CL isnt that exp also.. alot of pple have that mindset that its exp..

my CL is malaysian and charging at 1.9k isnt exp to me. for full 28 days.. do everything. if home no maid, she will do basic cleaning, washing clothings, ironing, cooking for whole family and taking care of bb.. so i think its reasonable lor..

u r right. even if we r not doing confinement, we wake up 3-4 times at nite to feed our baby also very tiring..

of course if u engage a good CL who can ease yr mind and body, u can have plenty of rest and BM of course.. ehhehe..

liewb, yrs is local CL who stays in yr place for full 28days? Local CL is more exp.. and that isnt exp..

In my opinion, anything that's between $1.8-2K for CL is quite reasonable as a deal (talking abt Msian CL that is).

Abd if it's Msian CL, she is supposed to stay-in with you till end ofthe confinement. That's what my friend told me. She paid her Cl $1.8K 2yrs ago and $200 for AP when she was done. Her 2nd baby also the same Msian CL cos she's really good.

Not easy to be CL. However, CL can be choosy and picky too. Better not let them rule ya house.

just had my check yesterday. My baby is weighing at exactly 1kg at 27 weeks. gynae mentioned that my baby will have reasonable good weigh when she is born. Will be around my#1 weight.. 3.2kg..

i have put on 6kgs so far..

jen, thanks for sharing... will prepare something similar for my mum

shers, great that ur baby will be at a good weight
my colleague juz gave birth to a 3.2kg baby -- 6 hours labour, natural w/o epi
hope mine will be like that... i put on abt 6.5kg so far...

ladies, she's msia and the 2.4k is for overnite stay but a few agents that i've called only quoted me 1.8k for overnite and 2.3k for day only. plus the work permit and stuff, will come to abt 2k. btw abt the work permit, once my hubby's coll engaged a msia CL and she was rejected at checkpoint coz they saw that she had too many entries to SG and suspected that she was doing biz here. so better be careful.

i hv a maid at home already and i'll be doing total bf so having CL stay overnite is really not necessary. but it really seems like day only is even more ex than overnite CL. so now i'm in a dilemma...

adv_sports (adv_sports)...

u wana join us, tmrw ? cos if u wana sign up, sign up together with us, so tat u can get the referral sharing with us too. at least u can get back some $ la, tats wat i thnk. or if nt, u can go and listen, then if u really wan, then join us tmrw and sign la.

btw, u do not nid to go to their office then can meet u somewhr or ur hse. :)

Shers.. i m thnking i hav put on too much weight, so mayb mac nt gd for me lei.. cos i wil hav it for supper (24 hr mac delivery) every 3 times a week lei. if u wan u can eat those la, i mayb settle at food court or wat la.. mayb wil hav yong tau fu. :) (acting healthy sia) haha

and i'm starting to wonder if i shld just cater confinement food instead of hiring a CL. my only worry is that my elder boy will feel very neglected in the first few mths when everyone's focus is on the infant.

btw, i'm only in my 24wk and hv put on 8kg already. baby only seems to want fried rice plus egg.. hahaha. terrible..

yo gals.. btw, yesterday i went for the TMC pre-natal class conducted Mrs Wong Boh Boi. She is quite gd. Sazw miko-jade there.. well, it was nice to hav some1 u knw in the class. if not, we wil look dumb. haha

but better go early and get the front rows if nt sometimes u cant c her exercises.

glenlyn, i think we settle own dinner.. i wanted to get something before eating.. so i will settle myself.. then see u gals at macDonald ok? i try to chop seats there..

oh ya, nearly forgotten. Mummies! there wil b a singapore expo bb fair coming on 27th feb - 2nd mar... so all can go c c look look la.

btw, if u r thingking if signing cordlife there. the promo wil nt so gd as this CNY $888 ones.. jus for ur info. jus initially i also wanted to wait for the fair, but heard its nt gg to be better savings.

glenlyn, i looked back my package signed with cordlife for my #1.. the total amount for 21yrs package is $6k+. so if u r saying that if i take up 21 yrs packages for this CNY.. i only need to pay $5.1k, thats very cheap le..

Hi all MTB,

Can ask whether you all have any encounter of your baby gender scaning not exact.

Cos my first scan during the 17 wk is a boy and on my 22 wk scan is a girl.

So I not sure abt how accurate is the ultar scan going to be.

ya lor.. nw this promo the best i can find lei. urs is only $5050. pay for 17yrs but got 21 yrs. urs cheaper than us.. cos my bro inlaw sign at the seminar last yr may i thnk, he paid $5.6k plus for 21 yrs lei. somemore by cash.. only recently they got approve by government that we can use CDA to offset, tats y we r the luckier ones. :)

glenlyn, my hubby cannot make it 2molo -- hence we arrange to meet the consultant this evening. cordlife is juz across the street from my office -- we thot it will be nice to visit the lab
anyway, we will decide by fri if we wanna sign up. update here after we gather more info.

re: pre-natal class
mrs wong like very famous -- m reading her book on BF and saw her on TV many times
i juz started mine @ KKH last sat.

re: baby fair
glenlyn, thanks for the reminder on the bb fair -- still have more things to buy. oh, saw that many stores at KKH is having sale -- 50% off at mothercare... will check it out this sat...

3wkold, did u ask ur CL need to give her deposit or she never say at all ? she also never take down my hubby name leh..but she ask me sms to her my hse add..so i also write down my hubby surname and hp for her in the sms loh..i just check with my fren again..she say last time she also never pay her deposit, but she will not play u out de loh...i hope so lah..then she say the grocery, my hubby can go to buy with her..else she dunno where have market..cos my house there punggol very ulu lah..she say will get lost..

shers & glen, we settle our own dinner then meet at mac. i am fine with that. anyway when i reached, if have time then i go foodcourt..else will grab a burger loh..hehe

porky, yup.. for those tonic, can buy before hand.. for grocery, can ask yr hb buy with CL better.. they know what to buy and yr hb just needs to drive her there and pay..

i think by the time u reach, u eat at MacDonald ok? think glenlyn is arranging to meet at 730pm.. its ok to eat while listen.. anyway burger is easier.. i worry i shop too much till i forget.. i'm heading to kiddy palace to grab something 1st..

During my #1, I didn't have CL but my MIL took leave from work to help me cook for 10 days. My HB wasn't used to have extra person staying in the house, at the end of third day, he sent her home. My MIL came to my place to cook in the morning and afternoon. She'll go home to prepare dinner and my HB would pick up the dinner from her place. This continue for 10 days and after that I was on my own. My HB did the laundry and housework for me while I took care of the baby, wash bottle and bath her from day 3. My mum came every sat to do cooking for me, help me bath my baby and ironed clothes for my HB.

I may be on my own for current #2 as my HB doesn't want to have an outsider to stay in the house. We may cater confinement food while my HB take leave for a week and work half day on second week.

u all are scaring me...

i put on almost 10kg at 22 wks. bb is 800g tat time.

now is 24 weeks...guess another 2kg gain on me.

shers, not sure whether the sale is @ all mothercare -- din get to shop last weekend.

re: cordlife
wah, sounds like a good deal for this cny promo! my colleague also said we r lucky coz his time no CDA for 1st child and he paid cash...

re: fast food
the prosperity burger is very peppery -- i like

the ultrasound should be quite accurate if the baby position is good. for my 1st, we were very sure it's a boy coz he only liked to show us with his legs spread.. hahaha. for my 2nd, gyne told me is a boy during 16wks but i was not too convinced. then during the 20wks scan, it was more obvious coz i can see for myself already.

glenlyn, i just called cordlife myself.. for repeat customer myself, this package doesnt apply to me coz i'm considering 21 yr storage. hehee.. yup.. i only need to pay $5,050. i cant use the $150 voucher i have.. so i can pass to u gals.. can u gals share? i only have 1 condition. put me as referral. also its good to use CDA account since we cant withdraw this money out. let government pays half!!!

this package is good because when i stored my #1, we dont have CDA account for 1st kid.. so we have to pay cash.. somemore i pay $6k plus.. so its good saving for us since there is CDA account.. hehehe

porky, i also dont buy enough 1.. dont forget i still have #1 at home who needs necessarity as well..

regine, at 17weeks..my gynae dont dare to confirm...cos he say still not fully develope..but at 20 weeks he say 100% confirm..then at detail scan also 100% confirm..

goodness, i've been making so many calls on confinement ladies, i feel like i must know all the agents in the market by now.. hahaha. just found one SG lady who's willing to do only day and charging only 1.5k. i wanted to meet up but the agent told me if wanna meet up, hv to pay $50 extra. even live in SG also still hv to charge extra for meeting up.. *sigh..

jasc, ur hb very hands-on. tat's good!! my hubby till now still doesnt know how to change diaper ok!! last dec my maid went back to indon for 1mth, i was babysit for my 10mths old and also part-time maid at home. it was so tiring.

jonna - can explain more on the 'womb hardening'

even this is my 2nd preg, i never experience this during my 1st.

my top half of e belly felt hard n uncomfortable, n i felt 'hot', today i felt this 'feeling' twice liao 1st in e morning n now n each time lasted abt 20 mins or so... is it a cause for concern? already left message n email e gyne, waiting for her to rtn my call..

liewb, if though agent, no need to meet CL.. its ok de.. if CL is no good, u contact agent will do.. they will do necessary replacement for u..

jonna - ok, i confirm liao (gyne just rtn my call), those e contractions n i will be seeing her tmr lunch timing.
*siao liao*

Jen,

I checked with my gynae before regarding hardening of the tummy. Its contractions. She says to monitor them if its more than 5 times a day have to let her know.

bean - thks for e info, gyne just called too, she will be seeing me tmr instead of next wk, she said tries to relax (she thinks i too stress) n dun think too much.
she confirmed is contraction n needs to see me 1st before she came me medicine to stop e contraction.

bean - frankily i abit panicking liao cos my 1st wan no such feeling n now this wan so early got contractions (like not a good sign)...

i very worried i will go into labour 'too early'

shers, i actually got her contact from an online classified ad. anyways, my hb is more particular..so i guess it might not be a bad idea to meet up.

think i ate too much during lunc, now feeling very bloated and sick.

read from website that, we shld sleep on our left side....however these few days when i remember to sleep on my left side...bb seem not happy ....will kick me....

is it ok for me to sleep on right side or sleep lay flat?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Hi All,
Come to ofc in the afternoon.. So tired... Been doing OT till 10pm+ for the past 2 days... And this morning, I had 3 times consecutive cramps on the same calf !! During my early 2nd tri, I experience cramp as well. But it's seldom and I still can tahan &amp; only a short while. But not this time.. Too painful and I had to ask for help.. After subsided the next cramp comes.. =(</font>.