(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hey Daec, thanks for the info... Ya must make the $1300 worthwhile. HAHA. But a bit weird also to have a stranger in the same labour room hor?Till now from what i read, i have a better feel twds Four trimesters.

SK - from wat i know, both PIS and FS are similar in terms of function except that FS is lighter and more portable. It also comes with a rechargeable battery so you dun need a socket to do pumping. Helpful if your job requires you to move around quite a fair bit. FS is slightly more exp than PIS and is currently not available in spore.

xue - i'm ok with PIS' weight. lugged it around during my #1 too. i drive so it's alrite and my job doesn't require me to move around so i dun need a FS. furthermore, there's a nursing room at my workplace so very convenient. so i dun tink i wan to spend more for features that i dun need.

JRT> I want to hire CL but dun think hubby wants to spend that kind of money. Feel he more willing to help me out. :p

feb_mum > Ok, maybe I will make effort to pop by baby n mum's corner at dept stores to learn more.

Jacquise > Same sentiments. Think Bengawan solos vchers kinda outdated too.

SK,

Ermmm.. Will anyone (MIL or mum) besides yr hubby be helping you during confinement? We are hoping to find a CL who is ok with dogs, not optimistic that we can find one easily tho.Sighz... Will start calling after my exams.

I have been naughty, standing infront of those sitting down on MRT, touching my tummy... once i managed to make an indian working class guy very confused and unsettled. he must thinking if she fat or pregnant? i was telling my hubby, maybe i shld take out the mini album that i stick my bb's ultra scan pics and stare hard at it. wonder if anyone will give up their seat anot. haha

in conclusion, lotsa inconsiderate pple in singapore, or rather many foreigners are taking MRT nowadays if u realise, esp during peak hours...

btw, anyone keen on this pair of pants which is too small for me? the material is good for office wear, and the measurement can be found on the website. price is negotiable...
http://www.coozfashion.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=100

good morning ladies
TGIF!

re: seat
so far no one gave up the seat for me
many gave me the "questionable" look -- not sure whether i m preggy LOL... my tummy not very obvious yet but i m wearing maternity clothes oledi...

m feeling more tired nowadays -- cannot stand for too long else will feel dizzy... one time, i had to ask a lady on the bus to gave up her seat as i was feeling faint -- so paiseh...

Morning all,

Yeah, its Friday!!

Regarding seats, i believe there is still good and nice people around. Just that whether you will meet them somewhere out there.

Morning mummies, yeah TGIF!!!

Re: seat
I remember one time i was on a bus, there were 2 seats just behind the driver, and one fat lady was sitting there alone, as I was so tired, i also wanna seat (the other seat was empty), then I was like squeezing and told her "I am preg so i want to seat", know what she told me, "it's very squeezy here, if you dun mind then seat lor!!" walau!! already told her i am pregnant, still like that, feel like slapping her ler and told her "u fat lady, should have sit on the floor!!!!" then after that stop, got ppl got off, so i moved to the back seat!!!

Opps, sorry mummies, but in my opinion most inconsiderate ppl are Singaporeans..

Yeah, some ppl are nice tho, i remember a lady giving up seats for me in a crowded bus and told me "it's not easy to stand and squeezing among ppl so you better sit down"

SK same situation as me lol.. my hb same as your hb but he only help me out 1 week off nia ...nw he willing to find 1 CL for me help for another 3 week if not good he nt going to blame her is blame me lor ..zzzzz

RE: breastpump
I was reading on one thread, they mention that Ameda breastpump is quite good.. have anyone tried it? Some mummies said its better than PIS since its lighter and not so noisy?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> feb_mum,
gd tt you drive.... don hv to carry tt bulky stuff around... since both my #1 and #2 is at my mum's place, i hv to bring the EBM to my mum's place everyday... its gonna be tiring travellin here and there. But no choice... So i will need a lighter pump like FS....
My co oso dun hv nursing rm... hv to use their meeting rm if no one is using... some smaller rms dun hv the plug.. sigh~... i think its better for me to get FS after considering all this.. Anyway its only additional 100-200. SO its still ok...</font>.

Hi, I have extra clarins huile "tonic" body treatment oil for sale at $64, brand-new - for prevention of stretch marks during pregnancy. Tangs etc retailing at 80. Pls PM me if interested.

Anyone here already started to look for confinement ladies if you need them? I donno where to start looking for one. Can those from agencies be trusted?

Hi Bean,

You should get some referral from friends. Those from agency might be quite X.

FYI - There is another thread on one bad confinement lady called Linda (i think)

xue - ya, can imagine the amt of things you need to lug. used to do that with my #1 too. have to bring a cooler bag filled with expressed milk, breastpump, plus push stroller with my bb to my mum's pl every morn.

for #2, i tink i might juz need to do dat for 1mth. will take no pay childcare leave on top of 4mth maternity leave, so likely gg to work for oni 1 mth before yr end sch hols start. by the following workyr, i would have stopped breastfeeding. shall spend the $100-$200 on other things, hee.

JRT > Good luck...still got time to look for a suitable one. Plenty out there just try harder. =)

Grace > I hope not to end up situation likes yours. :p Think mum has suggested to get her maid to come to our house once weekly to do housecleaning then maybe pay her some money for the time spent.

Mum will be bringing foods to me I think, we stay quite close. Else hubby can do the job. He works at mum's house. Then...else PIL to visit me during confinement period to help out abit loh. They stay not far too.

Tentatively plan that is. *shrugs*

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> feb_mum,
i duno if i can tahan for 1 yr... i intend to express for a yr.... i regretted for not bf-ing my #1 longer... so i shall invest and motivate myself and of cause BM is the best.! Jia you

Full month :
Im looking at Melrose too. And for catering most likely will use Neo garden. Their food is quite nice actually....

Checkup :
Im so excited ! Tmr is my checkup. Hope i'll be able to know the gender.. =)</font>.

hi jacquise, are you confirmed hiring a doula for your delivery? is this first time using a doula service? Actually they will meet you couple times so you won't find them so strange when actual delivery comes la. i find their help to massage was really good tho. But it does seemed expensive...

btw, a separate qn. can any mummy here recommend a good cream for stretch marks? i used medela before during my first birth, since like 2-3mths, but my stretch marks still came out pretty awful
... any good brands to recommend?

SK,bean bean,

Re: Confinement lady

I got a PM from a forum member and she got her CL from agency. I think coz I have dogs at home,I think it will be better for me to go through agency. I very scared the CL backed out last min or not knowing that one of my dog is not small,if there is agency maybe something to fall back on?? I have the whole dec to look for it. hehe..

Xue,

Excited for u!!!!
Hope you can see the gender tml! My next appt is still some time away,24/11... Looking forward to it too.

Re: Stretchmark cream

I am not sure what is good coz this is my first pregnancy. I am currently using Clarins. Maybe the other mummies here can tell u if Clarins is effective?

good news to share -- KKH juz called to inform us that our bb is low risk for DS
after blood test results, ratio is 1:4000+!

xue, waiting for u to share news of ur bb's gender 2molo
what's ur preference?

gd afternoon ladies

Re: Stretchmark cream

I am using clarins too. I used that for my #1 and so far no stretched marks..

I hope i will not get stretchmarks for #2 this time round too.

This morning i was listening to radio 93.8, they were talking abt prevention of stretch marks. The recommendation is to :
(1) eat a a balanced diet, eat more fruits with high zince and vitamin A &amp; C contents.

(2) Drink more water. if u drink coffee then make sure u drink 1/3 more water coz coffee cause dehydration.

(3) put on weight gradually and keep a healthy weight gain between 11-20 kg.

(4) do not scratch your skin when its itchy. Scratching will stretch the skin more. Apply stretch mark cream on itchy part instead.

This is all i can remember from the radio, hope it helps

btw, if ur skin is really itchy, can try the nappy rash cream too..i find it helps for me.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> JRTlover, adv_sports,
thanks.! actually i wanted a girl. But even if the scan shows a boy, I'm happy too. hehe.. save $$ on clothes. Can share with #1 too... Btw, #1 has been saying didi recently... mayb he wants a didi...</font>.

Xue,

I wish to have a boy leh! haha..
I heard before that the older sibling's "guess" is usually correct wor... haha.. Maybe really a boy!!!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> JRT,
haha.. i heard about it before.. Doesnt really matter la. hahaahaa...
How abt you and ur hb? Prefer boy or girl?</font>.

@Itchy Skin
My tummy very very itchy...i using Palmer's cocoa butter oil bought from Guardian dont know good or not but i still scratch my skin really cant tahan lol

Re: Itchy Skin

Try not to scratch when your tummy itchy lor.. But sometimes really cannot help it.... haiz... I am trying not to. I cannot stand the smell of cocoa butter that's why using Clarins. :p

JRT, sama sama... me 2 hoping for a boy and gave bb a boy's nickname but hubby prefers girl and gave bb a girl's nickname LOL

xue, best of both world if u hv 1 boy #1 &amp; 1 girl #2

Adv sports,

I got name for my boy and girl liao...lol.. Long time ago we thought of it..
My boy call "Charlton", my girl "Chelsea".. For the time being, bb is "sexless", so we call "baby cow"... haha..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> JRT,
'decorate' hahaa.. but oso tends to spend more money if is bb girl... From head to toe have lotsa accessories to put on... hahaa..

Grace,
Tt time i had #1 my tum tends to get itchy too. But its when im in my 3rd tri and the skin is stretching... Can understand when it gets too itchy and u wana scratch it.. Im oso lidat. hahaa. But I only scratch lightly....

Adv_sports,
Yes. tt's wad im thinking. haha.. I've already kinda decided on the Christian name for #2. I've got the boy and girl's name ready. hehee.. KS hor. lol</font>.

Re; BB gal
actually bb girl also must see whether she allows u to decorate her ornot...like my gal, she will pull off anything we put on her head.so no way to decorate except her body..heheh

AFternoon ladies

JRT - me just change my appointment from 28th to the 21st cos hubby not working so can go together for checkup...

agreed with 915 - my gal not much hair (almost 2 liao) so only can put a small hair clip n nothing else, wan to 'deco' also can't

wah, JRT &amp; xue, so fast oledi hv names for ur bb!

me n hubby still "trying out" new names for our bb

re: baby gal
i always enjoy "deco" my 2 nieces
love to buy pretty dresses for them... well, that's one way of "deco" LOL

ok, ladies, enjoy ur weekend!

Jen,

Wah.. your check up earlier than mine! 21st is my last paper! Yippie!

Ya lor..Ah Belle not much hair..no worries,I was like that like Belle when I was 1 year +..hehe... U see now my hair though still thin but look good. (hehe... bu yao lian..)

Phew,

Just finished a 3 days 2 nights camp with my students. No choice but to stay in for 1 nite cos another preggy mummy is also stayed in. Now i am so tired...Need to rush SEM report next week...

Re: appt
My next appt for oscar scan is next wed at 0830. Another one with the same appt. My belly button has already popped out...

Thought I came into the wrong thread.

How come you mummies going for 2nd appt for the "Oscar" test? My next appt is end Dec. A detailed scan of my bb.

Then think I read earlier posts that mummy can know the gender of bb at this stage?!? Thought to be more confirmed of bb's gender, need to wait till 4.5-5mths old?

xue > Melrose is one of my preferred choice cos got fruit tarts and they are quite yummy. My ex colleague had Melrose for her bb's full month earlier this year so thought of getting their service for mine too. :D If hubby wanna do away with the traditional then will get packages from patridgepears liew.

Doula
J, u got doula b4? I haven decided on that but I'll go for the hypnobirthing course. hehe.

Gynae Visit
Xue, ur visit is for 16th wk is it? So soon. So lucky. Mine is 20th. Excited to know boy or girl too. Most pple guess boy. haha. Hope thats true! Hiack.

My EDD is 04/05/2009. Guess I'm in the right forum.
We are supposed to be in the 4th month right?
I have dry skin on my waist and putting cream does not seem to help.
So far, I have put on 1.3kg. I am small size but I can't put on my jeans anymore. But maternity pants are still too big along the waistline. Anyone can share how many kilos you have put on already?

joyce
read my earlier post.

jacquise
agree the FourTrimesters website gives a better feel. its also why I choose them. this time I see how - I got better feel for ParentLink after I spoke/met Di.

norm u get more comfy with the teacher/doula after go thru the class.well if u go hospital - also have stranger nurses/midwives looking at u hehe.

Just had my appt yesterday....saw baby turning and moving around during the scan. So cute. Also ask doc to let us heard the heartbeart.... quite strong at 150. hehe

Currently I'm at 14 weeks and with Dr Joycelyn Wong. Also took up pkg, sign up FBI and Mrs Wong's class yesterday when at TMC. Spend more than 1K.... having BB veri exp.

I hv book my amnio test appt on 3rd Dec. Any mummies like me need to do this test ? Quite worried abt it

Hi Soh,

So far I put on 700g since my last appt but guess abt 3kg for my 1st trimster. I am nw moving into my 2nd trimster...tummy showing liao.

Hi Firefly,

I will be doing my amnio test on the 25th Nov... Feeling very nervous about it and like you, yesterday I saw my little 'xiao niu' moving and turning....

Naturally, we will feel worried but I try to set my mindset to whether I see it as a glass of water half full or half empty. My gynae has told me it's all numbers. He has a patient with twins and her risk was 1:4 for one and 1:6 for the other. Her babies turn out beautiful and normal. I'm looking at a glass half filled with water now, it wasn't easy for me to conceive and a positive mindset is more than half the battle won.

I'm very sure our babies are looking forward to us showering them with all our love when they arrive into this world. :)

went for my 15 wks checkup today. Gained 1kg. Gynae said 90% is boy boy. Can see bird bird oso.. hahaa.. So #1 is right... He always say didi didi... BB is super active today. Keep turning here and there thru'out the whole scan.! And grow from 50mm to 87mm today.! Did not do any other test except the normal blood test.. Btw, had signed up for SBI today and there's a goody bag too.

Adv_sports,
me and JRT are those kan jiong type ma. hahaa

Jac,
today is my 15 wks heckup. Detail scan will be on 13 Dec. =)

Xue,

Blood test??!! Thought they draw my blood on the 12 weeks appt liao leh... How come there is another one? This one test for wat de? I hate blood test as my vains are very thin, when draw blood will develop blue black... Eeeeeks.

Ya lor.. hehe.. I kan chiong mah.. Looking forward to my 16 weeks appt. Hope can see bird bird like Xue too! hehehhee...

Hi all. I am Oct mummy. I have a Medela PIS for sale. Bought it online from US for $500. Willing to sell it at $400. Price negotiable. Used it once only. Giving it up coz deciding not to breastfeed. PM me if you are interested....

I din take any blood test at all when I was scheduled for the NT Scan. Maybe my package is different?

Had visited my gyne twice and he told me blood level profiles wont vary alot cos I showed him my blood test report done at KKH a week before I first visited him. Dunno if next visit will take my blood sample or not.