(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

My advice for successful breastfeeding..
My record: fully breastfeed #2 till 22mths, no supplements with formula. working freelance then, out of house from 9am to 6pm. I pump on the go.. meaning, I have to carry my pump (Ameda Dual Elect) everyday, together with my cooler bag.

At clients' place, I try to search for empty room to express.

Rule #1: Prepare NO bottles and formula at home
Rule #2: Ignore oldies advice to give water in betweens feed, stand firm in your belief that you can bf.
Rule #3: Feed on demand, do not monitor time or intervals
Rule #4: Rest when bb rest.
This will stay till your bb becomes about 2mths.

Training on bottles only starts after 6wks min. Now we have more Maternity Leave, we can start bottle training during 3mth. However, remember only give once a day or twice, the rest still bf. Try to pump after feed, to keep supplies.

HTHs.

I am drinking mamil mama, mixed wth coffee in the morning and mixed with milo at nite.. overall the taste is acceptable.. Have been drinking it since i found out i was preggy, hubby more kanciong than me, so he rushed to buy, i have 3 more tins as stock at home

Xue,
Take care

Joyce,
I dun think my gynae will rec me to do any of such test, so cant give any comment.

Hi Joyce, I asked the same question on testing OSCARS too. Think try not to think so much. Think positive.

Just wondering how long (in average) does one need to express milk usually? Lets say if a mum has not much difficulty in milk expressing.

Hi all, i was wondering if anybody knows if there is any danger to the baby if i have a fibroid in my womb at the same time.sorry,but i'm a first time mother so a bit blur...

Actually, what are the points to look at when looking for the right gyne for you?

Seems that good gyne mostly work at TMC. Only a handful at certain neighbourhood area.

Eh...count me fickle-minded but really like to seek a gyne who can fit into my criteria.

Can someone advise me to make my choice clearer? Thanks.

- speaks good chinese
- night clinic in the west
- explain details clearly (not rushing type)
- Reasonable-priced antenatal & delivery package (preferably w/o the need to start package from wk xx)
- nice & good in stitching (bonus)
- female gyne (optional)

OSCAR is rec to be done if you are aged 35 and above, just like the amniocentesis which is done only at wk 16. 'cos the chances of getting a Downs Syndrome baby increases as our age increases.

I'm 35 this year, so.. this explain why I am concerned. I gynae only suggested the test, not compulsary. So, I have not decided whether to take the test yet.

SK,
The duration of milk expressing really depends on individual. Some pple can use manual pump and yield more within 15mins, whereas some takes the same amt of time with Dual Elect pump.

I used to take 15mins using dual pump and the most I get together is only 60ml, hardly went to 80ml. Even with the fullest breast.

HTHs

SK,

I highly recc mine: tho not chinese speaking, but, very patience, knowleadgeable, has night clinic in Woodlands on Wed. No package, but, I think his price is reasonable. Usual charge comprises consultaton. Scanning is charged seperately, he dun normally do scan, 'cos not required. He uses traditional method, measuring the size using measuring tape. His approach is pro-active.

MY advice is, dun do Gynae Window shopping.. money will be wasted on 1st consultation which will be pricely.

Joyce > exactly. Im trying to seek the right gyne. However, short travelling distance from my residence to the clinic would highly be preferred. Woodlands is kind of far. Think furthest I would go is clementi or cck. Thanks for your valuable advise. =)

Hey gals,

Is it true that if you are 35 or below, then u can skip the OSCAR test? My next gynae appt will be OSCAR test counselling,maybe by then I can ask him more about it.

SK,

Dr Jocelyn Wong got good feedback and she is from TMC also. But I dun think she has a clinic in the west.

I choose my gynae,Dr Don Wong coz
1) His clinic near my place- Woodlands.
2) He delivers at Mt A.
3) He is patient and explains things clearly,hubby and I are comfy with him.
4) He speaks good mandarin too.. haha..

Yeah..headache when comes to choose the gyne you are comfy with. I read from this forums on mummies' feedback with their gyne..sometimes the more I read the more confusing I am.

I hope Dr Adrian won't disappoint me. Had shortlisted formerly. Might visit him either tomorrow or coming Thurs.

SK,

All the best. For me as long as I am comfy with the gynae, I am ok with it. Initially, I was considering between Dr Lawerence Ang (Sun Plaza),Dr Don Wong (Admiralty) or Dr Kenneth Edward Lee (Marsiling). My first priority is the clinic is close to my place as when u gets heavier later on, it will be tiring to travel. Furthermore, we dun drive.

SK - i stick to my current gynae (clinic in SGH though i stay in Punggol), no night clinics and only specific tues, fris or sats for consultation. Nothing favourable to me but i am very comfy with him. He delivered my no 1 and i always like his approach. His method is similar to Joyce's gynae. No scanning unless necessary as he uses the traditional method of measuring the tummy
i think dun tink so much, find one that u are comfy with since he will be delivering ur baby in future. No point u find one near ur place but u can't discuss issues with him in future.

Joyce - Am going for my OSCAR test on 24 oct (when i am 12 weeks), well, i can't answer ur question if i find out that the result is positive. Will have to discuss with my hubby and family, i guess...I wana go for the test as to be mentally prepared for any bad news
*keeping fingers crossed*

Taurus - Me taking Anmum since I knew I was pregnant, about 7wks then.. so far so good.. I take in the morning as breakfast cos my MS kicks in at night..

Rina Devi - I got a friend who got fibroid and the gynae actually to go ahead and try for pregnancy.. I think its best that you ask your gynae on the size and whether it is serious.. cos my fren's gynae told her that as long as the size dont increase, it should be safe, but then again it depeends on individual..

RE: Breastpump
My hb asked me not to buy now, he says what if spoilt and we only got very little warranty left, so I guess I will wait till later then see got any BP then..

RE: OSCAR
Piggy_cow - My OSCAR also on 24 Oct and its at 830am.. so early in morning.. =(

I also dont know what I will do when the result is not favourable.. but lets just pray for everyone to be safe..

JRT - yes, i did for my #1. For OSCAR test, what they do is to perform an ultrasound scanning to check the fetal size and age. They will then draw the mother's blood to do some testing. If i am not wrong, they have a way to calculate the % using these data so u got to go back to the gynae 1 week later to know the results. The one u mentioned to extract from the waterbag is called amniocentesis and only done if u are under high risk grp after u done the OSCAR test.

Vera - mine is 11am on 24 Oct

i hear from ppl the milk powder for pregnant mama is quite fattening..baby become bigger, mummy become bigger, then after pregnant need to do more to lose the exces weight..dont know how far is it true? and i dont want to buy and throw it away if i dont like it at all
i still haven buy milk powder..only occasional drink HL milk, soya milk.

jaime,

My gynae also mention the milk for preggy is fattening..
I very vain one, also hope not to gain too much weight. So right now not taking Enfamama regularly yet,intend to start from 2nd trimester as advised by gynae.

Piggy_Cow,
Thanks for the info.

Good morning. Have a great week ahead

Milk Powder
I have just finished one tin of Enfamama!!! Opps, that means I am going to put on loads... Die!

Vera,

Wahhh.. you are the 1st one here to pass 1st trim!

I am counting down to next Thurs to 12 weeks. Looking forward too.

How many kilos u gain? I think doing some light exercise like brisk walking might help to control weight gain?

Hi gals, good morning.

RE: milk & weight gain
I have also been drinking milk - Anlene and Anmum. But recently has not been drinking regularly as was not feeling well. I put on weight during my 2nd month - about 2.7kg in 4 weeks. But I have not increase any weight in the last 2 weeks (maybe because my appetite has decreased), so abit worried.

RE: Maternity clothes
I went to cloud 9 yesterday also. I bought 2 pants, 2 tops and 1 dress for $65. Good buy, thanks for the advice.

RE: OSCAR Test
My gynae never mention anything. I shall ask him about it during my next appointment this coming Saturday. But I will be around 12 weeks then, don't know whether it will be too late for OSCAR. MTBs who are going for the test, all the best. Hope that the test results are good.

Seems like some mummies are still deciding on which gynae to see..
My suggestion would be find someone whom you will be comfortable with.. coz you will be with him along the way till your delivery.. and it's good to have someone who has same view as yours.. ie. didnt say things that are against what you want.. and encouraging..

Yup i think choosing one which is easy to travel within is also another plus point, when you are in your last tri, you wouldnt want to travel to and fro 1 hour just to see him for few mins, not thinking about the waiting time.. i personally think it will be very tiring..

Re: oscar,
for those mummies whose gynae never mentions anything about oscar, i dun think it is necessary to ask whether you need it or not. coz a good dr will be able to assess if you are to go for one.. for me.. i will keep my mouth shut about any test, coz my gynae doesnt like me to worry for the unneccesary things hehe..

Re: M/S
Today i vomitted for the very first time
M/S is really not fun.. my first tri wil be ending next fri, hope M/S will end at the same time too

Baby May,
U are drinking normal anlene rite? it's not advisable for preggers to drink milk with low fat hor.. pls bear in mind..

mornin mummies,

piggy_cow & vera:
my oscar test oso on 24oct...

re: M/S
since last wed my evening sickness stop oredi.. no more vomit....dinner appetite back to normal... hmmm mean i'll put on weight vy vy fast loh.. oh no

re: milk for piggy
i not start drink any milk yet... i told my hb the milk will put on weight... hb replied: [dun blame milk.. no drink oso not much different] @#$%! haha

MOrning mommies

so long never come in n chat liao, last wk was a very very busy wk for me..

regarding Oscar:
from my gyne she said is more accurate compared to the current test.
Also this test can be done at wk12 the other is later.

if positive then need to take the 'water' thru the umbrilical cord (high risk of miscarriage)

frankily you dun ve to be over 35years old to worry just dat over 35 years, e risk is 'higher' but everyone should test it (dun ve to be oscar, the current test should be sufficient) cos yr bb is a combination of u n yr hubby's genes so there is always a risk. the test is to elimate the possibility.

morning mummies

long time no come in too...last week has been eventful.seems like my staining is getting bad. So took a jab last sat and will be on 3 days bedrest this week..Really hope that next monday oscars will be good man!

Iceyen,
congrats that you have passed your MS!!!

Your hubby is so funny

Jen,
You are so informative. But mummies dun worry, if need be, sure your gynae will advise one..
I am more concerned about the medications that i took for the past months, have been having bad flu, so went twice to see GPs, have been taking some meds on and off.. haiz now quite worry on the effects to my baby, tho the gps were fully aware that i am preg..

As for my gynae, i told him i had flu, he said at this stage nothing much can be done as baby is forming, so he didnt prescribe me any med.. will let him know i went to see gps and have been takin gon and off medications..
worry worry worry...

Re: OSCAR
Actually Oscar test is pretty harmless as it only involves a NT scan (normal ultra-sound) and a blood test. Only if the test is positive, then need to go for amniocentesis (which is an invasive test that carries some risk of miscarriage). Hence, the only impact of OSCAR is $$. The risk of having a Down Syndrome baby increases steeply beyond 35 yrs old. But I choose to do it for #1 to get peace of mind =)

Re: Cloud 9 Sale
Is the sale still on? Would like to go get some tops and dresses. I love their dresses. Btw, are the closing down?

RE: Milk
Hi RC_cola, why preggy ladies cannot drink low fat milk? Even for fresh milk, I also go for HL milk. I am more afraid of constipation if I drink milk cause I feel that milk is heaty so have not been drinking everyday.

RE: MS
My MS also becoming more serious when I am approaching 2nd tri. I vomited 3 times last week before dinner.

good morning ladies!

wow, the thread is moving so fast!

re: MS/ES
rc_cola, take care... me also started vomitting since last friday

icyen, congrads that ur ES stopped! wish mine will be over soon!

re: sleep too much
nowadays, i get tired easily.. will go to bed at 10pm and wake up at 7am... maybe i sleep too much, always wake up with a sore back... juz to check, is sleeping sideway advisable? which side is better(read somewhere that one side is better but cannot remember)?

good luck to all MTBs doing the oscar test! m scheduled to do a blood test when i m 12.5 weeks(another 3.5 weeks to go)

RE: Cloud 9 sale
Today should be their last day of operating. They won't have any shops left, but you can still purchase their clothes online.

i'm selling away my Medela PIS-Shoulder Bag that purchased on 1/7/08 from First Few Year (paragon) at $530. Warranty till 1/10/09. Reason to sell, and when the babies arrived in end Sept 08, decided to stop breast feeding completely after a few days.

For more info, please email me at [email protected] or sms 93664880

I will also be giving away my - :
-breast milk storage bags (75pcs)
-a pair of 30mm medela breast pump funnels
-disposable breast pads 6 boxes

rc_cola: if u info GP abt your pregn, they will prescribe medicine safe for the bb.

i also got a cold 2 wks back, told e nurse i wanted to buy flu medic but safe for pregn n e nurse turn n told another nurse to info e doc dat this patient wanted 'flu medic for pregnancy' :S dat nurse laughed all e way into e room *faint*

Baby May,

Coz low fat milk, i think the fat content has been reduced, whilst when you are preg u need those fats and everything, so it's not advisable..
cant remember the exact reasons, read it somewhere last time, better take those specially cater for preggers as it has everything that your bb needs to grow, no just calcium but folic acid and DHA.

Btw, mamil mama is alright, coz it has high fibre content, i have been drinking prune juice everyday coz i was a bit constipated few wks ago.

Adv sport..
It's all right to sleep and rest more haha.. you tend to get backache during preg, dun worry about that.
during my #1, i asked my gynae why i always have backache, then he replied me back "Are you pregnant?" hahaha coz it's very normal..

I wish i could sleep at 10 haha tho i wake up at 7 as well.

Actually during preg it is advisable to sleep side way and not on your back. I think when your womb gets bigger if you sleep on you back it will be pressing against some major nerves in your spine.. when my tummy is very big i wish to sleep on my back, but i know it is not advisable, nowadays i am still sleepin gon the side, i think there is not much different which side you prefer to sleep.

Re: OSCAR
due to my age .. i only need to go for amniocentesis (keeping my fingers cross for having a Down Syndrome baby). Anyone doing the detailed scan? cant remember which weeks for it to be done though.

Re weight gain
I can't button for all my normal pants liao and for my skirts, i muz pull up higher to wear them. haha... but then hor, my weight gain is less than 1kg leh. Am a bit worried lo cos me not vomitting but eating normally so why not gaining weight? am also faithfully taking milk every morning, hope everything is going on well for my little one inside

Any mummies who take prune juice has very soft stools (almost like diarrhea) and super smelly ones when u go toilet? that's what happening to me, i hope it is normal?

What cola say is true. When u grow bigger, it is advisable to sleep sideways, that's what my gynae says too so take note for those first time mummies.

915 - hope you will feel better soon...

May - i've PM u prof tay's no. Hope you are ok cos u sounded very urgent..

Hi ladies, good morning..

So much talk about OSCAR test.. My gynae never say anything about it at all..

I'm having very bad headache today. Didn't sleep well for the past few days. Sigh.. wanna cry already..

JRT - From 8wks to 10wks, I gained 1.1kg within 2 wks.. but since then I have not weighed myself yet.. but I can feel waist expanding..

RE: Milk
Yup, gynae said that we should drink full cream milk, cannot drink low fat like HL, daisy etc.. think its no good for bb..

BabyMay - like what rc_cola mentioned, those milk for pregnant mums contains folic and DHA which helps bb growth and brain devt too.. so u might consider stopping HL for now?

Adv_sports - I worse than you.. I can sleep as early as 7-8pm one... and all the way till next morning.. I sounded like a pig haha..

Noi - take care, hope u get better soon yah..

hi Piggy cow ... it's normal to have less than a 1kg weight gain during the 1st trimenster .. in fact it's better that way cos if you gain tremendous weight during your 1st trimenster the weight goes to you after birth ... cos feotus doesnt need much food now. as long as you eat moderately and healthy.

my gynae just told me .. only woman with reserved could get preggie ... those thin ladies usually cant get preggie fast as they dont have reserved. so this reserved actually feed on feouts. so dont worry much as long as you are able to eat.

ya, as your tummy grows bigger, sleeping on your left side does give you a nice sleep .. try it out.

Hi Tiny M,
my gynae didnt say abt OSCAR test to me either .. only tell me i need to go for amnio test .. heheheee

Have been having headache every morning and evening from 5pm since am aware i am preggie ... very tired but cant sleep well ..

Txs Vera,

I have been drinking Magnolia milk ... not necessary full cream as long as it's not low fat.

Ya baby May, you may wana consider dropping HL milk .. drink it after birth.

Like Adv_sports, I dont have the luxury to sleep till late morning, cos baby wakes up for milk around 5am follow by 7.30am ... then my older gals will be awake ...

in fact, during the 1st trimenster, sleeping is the best food for our feotus ... that way, it grows faster leh ...

mommies - no worries abt sleeping position, as u get bigger, u will auto sleep on yr side (there r pillow u can buy to support yr tummy when sleeping on e side), dun ve to care right or left, there will be a position u r more comfortable with or should i say, e position yr bb more comfortable with..

i sleeps on my tummy, now still sleep this position cos still ok but when tummy bigger, i auto sleeps on my side..

still remember my last pregn, a few times, i sleep on 1 side, my bb move or kick non-stop till i turn position n then she quiet down as well.

Noi,
Takecare k.
Btw if you dun mind may i know how old are u, considering u are going to have 4 kids

Piggy
I still can button all my pants and shirts.. i think my big tummy is due to bloatedness coz of constipation last few weeks, after taking prune juice okay already.
Nowadays, my tummy is like a bit preg, but not 4 months haha.. i still can wear my low waist jeans, i dun think my buttock has expanded yet, but yes for breast, it has definitely move up a bit from the previous B- cup hhahahaha

Hm.. soft stool? Mine is stil normal ler, not like diarrehoe at all, just normal softer stool.. may be u dun drink everyday, try to drink on alternate days.. perhaps you have a fast metabolism

Dun have neg thought, dun worry of not gaining much weight, some ppl just dont gain much.. During my #1, overall i only gain 10 kg.. i ate like a pig
not to worry piggy, later on you gain non-stop then u should start worrying how to slim down after that kekeke..

Tiny,
Y feel like crying? tired is it? then get some rest k. dun cry too much during preg, your baby can sense it
try to be happy and laugh more, your baby will come out to be a smiley one!

Jen,
Thanks for the reassurance