(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Can add me to your face book, my email address [email protected]

SK
I'm not sure if my hubby wants to celebrate baby's full month. #1 celebrated at home and really caused a mess as my relatives and my hubby's friend all came. I didn't even invite my friends because I know the crowd will be overwhelming. I told my hubby, may be we do a small one for the two families at home and he can invite his friends while we do another celebration on the following week for my mum's relatives at one of the cousin's function room or at my mum's place which is much spacious than my place. If not will do at my cousin's function room in the east side then all brother / sis and PIL have to go all the way from CCK to east side!

Re: Insomia
I sleep between 10-11.30pm, sometimes wake up at 1 or 2am and have to stare at the ceiling for 2 hours before I fall asleep again! Last 2 days super tired and managed to sleep through until 6am!

Re: Constipation
I do feel having it but managed to clear everyday. I remembered after I gave birth to #1, have constipation and couldn't pass for few days and sat on the toilet for nearly 3 hours! Almost want to go hospital already! I'll make sure I have enough fruits after delivery. Currently I can only take small portion of fruits due to the gestational diabetes.

Re: Insomia

i think i kana hit this the most...weekdays cant slp well...end up slping alot on weekends to recuperate...

Re: Full mth
woot machiam can gather all may mummies and babies and book a hotel venue buffet for mass celebration...abit cranky mood...sorry...

JasC:
Full Month celebration
I came from big family too.. father side got 9 siblings, mom's side got 11 siblings.. Plus cousins & friends...

We usually does in 2 session thruoghout the whole day.

Lunch sessions for friends while evening for relatives.

Constipation:
I had it on & off..Gynae advice to drink prune juice (I didn't) also take more water (which I did). I think sometimes Constipation is due to the iron tablet we took (this time I did not take any iron tablet) Just take Multi vits, calcium & fish oil.

when expecting #2, I had piles which I could not bare.. my gynae give me insert & it really helps

Hi JasC,

Re:Insomia
I have the same problem too..will normally wake up between 1.30 to 2.00am.. Can only get back to sleep if i watch TV for half an hour or so..

Re:Constipation
Like Audrey, my constipation got worse only 2 days back.. been drinking yakult but didnt really help. Will try the prune juice today..

looks like we are all facing the same issues. i'm oso having constipation. got to drinks lotsa water and have more fibre.

sleep is oso a prob now dat i'm bigger. i told my hb i need to do a 3-point turn should i need to turn from left to rite in bed. sometimes, it's so hard to find a nice comfy position to sleep in coz the bb kicks no matter which position you are in!

mummies who are now co-sleeping with your #1, what's your arrangement during confinement? i'm afraid that my #1 would be woken up by the bb's cries but it won't be easy getting her to sleep in the other room. any ideas?

feb_mum,
Our arrangement during confinement is #1 still sleeps with us and #2 slp with confinement nanny and helper. Anyone helping you with confinement?

hihi mummies!!!

RE: Constipation
i think this is normal la.. esp 1st tri, will be worst! subsequently, our bodies r used to the pills we pop. if prune juice, yakult and water dont help. try eating papaya, kiwi and prune fruit. these 3 types help me alot!

RE: #1
my gal is 21 months now.. so far so good for Terror 2, Terrible 2 etc.. except when she is cranky, the droplets of tears... WOW!!! but all kids have to go through this stage.. just be patient, mummies

RE: Consuming of placenta
maybe when u see the sight of placenta, u wldnt want to touch, not to mention keep it, wash it thoroughly, dry it!!!
the sight is like pig stomach (where we have to eat during our confinement cook in soup) but plus its super bloody!!!! whahhahaa.. the way i describe it!!! ii'm evil!

Irene, i cant imagine staying the same floor (will be the same floor anyway. think they have 1 floor for all women) or same room as u... u have 2 kids.. i have 1 only.. so i lose out to u in term of noise le.. whahaha... but we keep each other in the loop when admit to hosp.. then i will try to avoid those few days! whahahha

RE: full month celebration
#1, we held it at in law place because staying together and space is not an issue. just long hrs that i cannot take it.
#2, my hb says have to celebrate as well to be fair. relatives have to invite.. but for friends/ colleagues, have to be selective this time.. will hold at my own place function room provided got slot. but will keep the celebration the most 4 hrs.

feb_mum

I've been sleeping in separate room from my HB, previously sleep with my #1. I'm now sleeping in single bed with the baby cot while #1 sleep on mattress in the masterbed room and my HB sleeps on the bed. #1 is quite used to sleeping in the masterbed room for about 2 weeks now.

Hopefully if 2 doors are closed, #1 will not be disturbed and get up when #2 cries.

feb_mum, my arrangement will be the same as moon..

#1 sleeps with us and #2 in cot with CL and helper.

after CL, we will all squeeze on the same bed! whahhaa... want to see our cozy bed again??

2284125.jpg

we customised jointing bed so that all of us (4 of us) can rock and roll). recently i got a good buy at kidzloft - bed rail.. then no need to worry kids will rotate and fall from another angle

Re: full mth celebration
This is also a headache to me. Trying to source for a place outside to hold the celebration coz for #1 we do it at home end up the hse very messy n very cramp. Anyone hv any recommendation?

re: yakult
my gynae says its alright to drink yakult but not too much because its sweet and will cause gestational diabetes and baby might become too big..

cheyanne:
its alright to feel moody n cranky.. u can come here n let out ur frustrations ok.

to all other mummies:
another day closer to popping!

Re: Constipation

I am eating yogurt and it helps.

Re: Rashes attack

I am having bad rashes on my tummy,start from lower tummy then now spread to side tummy. My arms kenna too.
I tried to apply cold aloe vera gel on my tummy twice a day and it did help to ease the itch a bit and the rashes also not so red liao. Tahan,try not to scratch it coz it mic leave marks on yr tummy.

moon, u can try hotel where they serve mini high tea buffet? they will do up decoration for u.. but ask whether they have spare room for u and baby to BF and bb to rest.. there are some items u need to bring along as well.. such as rocker/ pram (for bb to rest)

at least just a call and maybe a trip down to view and make payment? and they settle for u?

shers,
We also plan to all slp together aft confinement. We went to buy a super single bed to joint with our bed but super difficult to find the same height. Same layout as urs. But i like ur single bed coz there's a protection panel at the side and at the end of the bed. Where did you get the bed?

moon, mine is custom-made bed because that side, i can barely squeeze in the single bed mattress so got to customised the bedframe.. then i asked for protection panel at side of wall and at leg so that my gal wldnt bang onto wall and fall down.. its worth it because i dont have to measure the height and kept sourcing.. i sourced for nearly 1 month before i gave up. then go for custom-made..

u still got time.. if u want, get a carpentry contractor to go down yr place and take measurement and choose colour of bedframe and panels. then tell them to start work after yr confinement. within half day, they can finish.

maybe in the meantime, u measure yr own mattress height and buy similar height?

then its time for bedsheet shopping spree!!! whahaha

if u need my help, i can intro u my uncle.. he is the one who did it for me.. he gave me the idea of protection panel

tks mummies for your suggestions. my mil will be staying over at my pl to help me with confinement. tink a bit mafan to put bb in her room coz i will be bfg. oso, wan mil to be able to rest at nite. so bb cot will be in my room.

jac c - dun tink i wan to sleep separate room with hb. oreadi verie sad dat we hv to share bed with #1 ;p

looks like we will hv to make do with 4 folks in the room. shers, i like your bedding arrangement.

re:full mth celebration

maybe can source for nice hotel for buffet...well din have wedding dinner cuz as mummy's health not gd...so cant sit thru...so just had simple tea ceremony n tat is it...

now maybe spent abit to let my MIL & PIL show off their grandkid...since they rather nice to forgo wedding dinner despite only son...

ya...just cried in office...thinking of mummy...so paiseh...but got nice colleagues ard...so still okie...

Re:constipation
ya i also took yoghurt...no trans fats and less sugar so wont so fat...

cuz i lactose intolerant, cant drink milk...hope my baby wont be like me...i grew up drinking milo...then i used to eat cheese but this baby so naughty dont like...

RE: bedding arrangement
my hb and me dont like the idea of sleeping in separate room. i cant sleep without him by my side and vice vera. and we cant bear to let my gal sleeps in her own room.. i dont dare to sleep alone, i cant imagine her being so young to sleep alone.. hehehe.. even if i sleep earlier than my hb, i have to switch on the light.

thats y we came up to have this idea.. jointing beds.. we have limitation because another side of our bed is touching the side ledge and bed edge will be facing the door. so the jointing bed side space is limited (fengshui).. if u have a choice, source for ready made bedframe and get a right bed mattress. will be much cheaper.. because outside, single bedframe cost only the most $500.. the custom-made single bedframe cost me nearly $900 already.. but i think its worth it la.. esp this will last for a few yrs and we will have 2 kids sleeping together.. plus got protection panels..

my sil saw my idea and she went and buy a jointing bed as well.. hehehe.. she got much choices because her room is big.. whahhaa..

she is excitedly waiting for her bed to arrive

shers,
haiz.. shld hv asked u earlier. Coz we already got the bed liao. Last week juz sent over to my place. We got the super single bed at $1.5k ah. Tink we kana chop liao.. Din tout of custom-made. Haiz...

moon, yr super single is expensive le.. my sil bought super single at robinson sales few weeks ago, also not that exp.. she told me its less than $900.. something like that..

actually i have posted this pic of my bed in jan when sk is asking abt bed..

anyway its ok la.. since u have bought already.. so no problem for u?? except for super single bed mattress?? y not buy back the same brand as yr mattress? like that sure the same height.. i'm lazy so i just buy back the same brand

shers,
ya lor... we got it at IMM. It's bed frame with the mattress. I tink the mattress is the 1 that cost more. Ya we buy back the same brand but the frame that we hv 3 yrs back they dun carry liao.

Shers > Yeah...saw the pic once again. Pretty nice arrangement but think my room is too space-contraint so cant opt for this kind of arrangement. Will prolly either place playpen next to me (in masterbed rm) or will get another single bed in baby's room to sleep with her. Need to sacrifice sleeping with hubby liew.

During confinement period, hubby is "INVITED" to stay-in with me if he can tolerate his baby's cries and regular "disturbances"...hehehe.

JasC > Yup...it's better to plan properly how we gonna do the full-month celebration else not only tire ourselves but baby too. I hope I could organise 2 functions (1 for relatives 1 for friends) however need to see when the time comes.

I rem I had 3 separate functions for my housewarming. 1st for hu=b's colleagues, 2nd for relatives and 3rd for friends leh....damn tiring loh. Poor hubby did all the manual chores till so shag.

Porky, i bgt 2 of the bras w/o lace.. it's already not bad looking.. not ah ma.. :p anyway, gg to try for 2 first .. later if really need more, maybe get my mum to buy for me.

Lily, similac mum milk can ease constipation? i olways thot that milk powder kind will be "heaty" stuff.. anyway, just got a voucher from similac.. maybe can try..

RE : Yakult
I've been drinking this everyday. It din help in my constipation but took it with my multivits and fish oil cos I couldnt take plain water with it.

Shers & Cheekz,
Our EDD rather close...may have a chance to meet @ delivery suite ya

The ice-cream tok is making me wanna eat ice-cream.. shall reward myself to a strawberry milkshake this weekend..hee...

I'm not suffering from constipation but I have slight piles.. strange..

Irene
my EDD is 28april. initially it was first wk may, then 2nd appt - the gynae say april.hoping for april baby. feel sometimes feeel certain tummy area tighter, thk its the baby moving so the area tight

re: constipation & piles
heard normal coz baby weight heavy and resting down on that area. all our digestive, elimination system affected, slower during preggy. I drinking noni juice, it helps.

re: itchy skin
mine on lower tummy. I think coz its stretching. I try put more oil and rub rub rub

chocolat, i wldnt see u and cheekz at delivery suite coz me c-sect le.. hehehe... if to meet, will be ward? hehehe...

re: baby car seat cover
any mummies knows where can i get baby car seat cover? our fren passed us a baby car seat and we like to get a cover for it...

adv_sports, what u mean by cover?? car seat protector (to protect leather of car) or padding for yr bb car seat?

ice-cream...yummy...make me want to eat also...

re:itchy skin
recently been getting alot below the tummy...hope wont kana stretch marks...

feel so sleepy now...how i wish i can take a nap...

adv_sports, i bought mine through a BP. the BP-ist is call 1giftstop. but i cant find the thread already. havent try yet because got to upgrade #1 to booster seat and let #2 on infant seat.