(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Thanks Bean. I hope I am not diabetic. My gluccose level on the high side too.
Looks like I have to go on "diet" liao,I dun want to put on too much weight leh.

Poohwei

ME too! I always wake up at 5+am to go toilet. That makes me feel terrible during work! Now i vist more often. My baby moves a lot and often makes me feel like peeing.

When will water retention start appearing?

Porky (porky_jean) - sorry i did not receive your PM. Its okie btw... I just bought two maternity dress.. should be ok.. gonna avoid leggings for a while =x

My gynae appt tmw... I also v scared of gestational diabetes.
Then a lot of things cannot eat n cannot drink coke liao. that's very tragic esp when CNY is coming. referred to baby centre... for me its 25wks this wk. So baby can only be between 660-700plus grams. Hope thats the case!

Cherise, Ya now baby moves a lot. I realise she likes to sit on the right of my tummy. Always feel her there. Or is it her legs kicking? haha.

JRT, y ur gynae says u put on too much weight?
u only got 8kg put on right?
i m 10.5kg lei. i ask gynae if i m putting on too much weight, he says e report is fine lei...cos he says last time i was underweight, tats y i put on this much. i actually read from book and internet tat if a pregnant women is underweight she wil gain abt 14-18kg during delivery. but if a women is normal weight, she wil gain abt 11-14kg. Overweight women wil gain mayb 8-11kg. something lidat la.

Re: calcium
yesterday visit my new gynae, she asked me to try to consume all together and see how.

Re: diabetes
cos one of my family members got high sugar, my gynae want me to do blood test on my next appt also. need to drink the gluoose drink and wait for 2 hrs.

Re: weight
i put on ard 9.1kg since week 6 to now week 23....OMG
Before pregnancy my BMI is at those high side.. ard 26.4
do i shld not gain so much....

Re: BB weight
dunno my gynae got measure wrongly or not.... she said bb 800g. but the average fetal weight for 23 weeks is only 501g.
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/chart/

good morning ladies

welcome mummy kian & cherise.

JRT and JasC, wish ur blood test results will be ok!

hoops, congrads on ur good DS results for ur twins

SK & 3wkold, every morning i take my fish oil and multi-vit in at 7.30am and follows by calcium pill at 9-9.30am... no problem for me...

poohwei, yup, i had to visit toilet at 3-4am every night... lately my bb is very active at nite -- unable to sleep after the toilet visit... every morning feel beri tired

Baby movement
Same here, my baby move alot.. especially when his daddy talk to him he got kick every sentence he heard he got response de hahas

Now he can kick very hard i can feel and always stay on my left tummy and tummy sharp look *weird*

The postings are going so fast!

Meeting:
Where and when r u mummies meeting? Or have I missed that?

Night pee
I will wake up once, but I learnt nt to drink after nine, or just slip a little. Keeps to keep waking up. Usually no prob gg back to sleep, dunno if I nt light sleeper or baby still quite gentle

Weight gain
I put on 6 kg by 24 wks and my doc said I put on too much, shd b 2kg!!! But he did say it's still within reasonable range. I was normal wt before preggy

Leg cramps
Anyone experience cramps in the middle of the nt? I get it sometimes and the calf muscle will ache till next day even at work. Always happen to my left legg only.

Blood sugar
Higher risk of gestational diabetes if family member has it. Mine too. Just watch it before the urine test, dun take too much sweet things. I had the st michaels puff for breakfast and my test was high. My sis had to cut down on milo cos also high sugar.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cherise,
Which part of Queenstown u stay? My mu stays at Queenstown too. Meiling St...

JRT,
the last time i heard from you is u had gained 8kg. Now still increase alot??

3wkold,
woah! big bb u have ! tt time i went for my scan @ 23.5wks and bb weigh 760g. gynae commented bb abit plump liao...

Weight :
I've gained arnd 4kg in total... and last checkup i only gain 1.2kg. hope all goes to bb and not me. lol

Leg Cramp :
I dun have tt anymore. It's only during the early part of 2nd tri.. And only on my right calf only...

Vomitting :
Anyone still experience this? Since the start of this week, I've been vomitting acid AGAIN when I'm brushing my teeth. I read from books tt for some ppl, the vomitting/nausea will comes back during the 3rd tri.. =(</font>.

RE: calcium

i got no problem in passing motion.. maybe my body is used to the taking in of pills? hehhee..

RE: weight gain

think no need to worry too much.. glenlyn has mentioned some guidelines on weight gain, i have read this somewhere also.. even exceed, there is nothing much we can do la.. dont eat also jialet le.. so long eat healthy, dont eat junk food often, i think still can enjoy cny goodies

RE: nite pee

i also wake up at least once per nite to pee.. once i lay on bed, i can slp again.. so no problem for me.. but as usual, will be tired at nite maybe because i didnt have continuous slp?

RE: leg cramps

i havent experience this yet (choy!) just calf will be aching feeling so i will lift my legs on bolster when i lay on bed or sitting on sofa. not all women will encounter leg cramps.. in my last pregnancy, i only experienced less than 5times and these few times only occurred during my last tri..

RE: water retention

my gynae mentioned that some women will experience very early stage of pregnancy. some wldnt.. i had mine during the last month of pregnancy..

but dont mistaken growing fat as water retention la.. hehehe..

btw, GOOD MORNING MUMMIES!!

bean, yes better not to bring hubby..then we can have girls talk...hahaha..with hubby around..not convenient to talk so much lah...

JRT, when i look at ur photos in fb..u dont look like overweight mah...why ur gynae say that...is ok lah...just cut down for the time being until the blood test..

cherise, is ok..no worries ! i can keep the leggings until after birth then wear loh..hehe

re : weight
i bought a weight machine from ikea...now everyday can weight myself liao..till date i have put on 6.5kg so far...hope is not too much..my next gynae appt is 13th feb..will ask my gynae am i the normal range..since he never ask me to weight before..

re : baby movement/kicks
now every morning, my hubby will say "Good Morning" to his boy..then baby will kick..hehe

re : night pee
i also wake up quite often for toilet visits nowadays..must cut down on water after 9pm liao..

xue, u experience puking again? thats pretty bad for u..

is that true that we will experience that in 3rd tri?? gosh~~~ i hate that!!! btw, i'm in 26 weeks now.. which mean i'm around 6 months plus.. am i in my 3rd tri now??

xue, this morning i also vomit out yellowish liquid after brushing teeth leh...so shocked...is my MS coming back again ?? after vomit, i feel so xin ku....

re : water retention on feet...
yesterday night my mil told me tat my feet looks hum hum...she say mayb i start having water retention le...no wonder when i wear my shoes, a bit tight..ytd went to amk hub mondo to buy 2 pairs of new shoes..

Morning ladies !!

Re: Leg Cramp
I had it for my no1 and it was so offen and darn painful for the next few days. So far I had 3times now and keeping my finger x. I remembered wearing socks to bed will prevent which I did right now.

okipoki, i have been wearing socks to sleep even before preggy..so far no leg cramps...TOUCH WOOD !!!

i am working half day today..what abt u ladies ?

happy CNY! hope it will be a good time of rest and catching up with family and frens for all of us.

re waking up at nites - i read somewhere dat it's nature's way of preparing the body for the nite feeds when the bb comes. the waking up at nites will worsen in the final mths
try not to drink water after 8pm to prevent the need to wake up to pee.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
Yar... Although I'm used to it, but still it's a yucky feeling.. The acid tt i vomit is very yellowish... Yucks.. It never happen when I'm having #1... But still the puking of acid in 3rd tri doesnt applies to all... Maybe I'm the unlucky one. =(</font>.

Porky,
Ohh thats good, so keep your finger x !! Btw, did u return to get ur leggings at Suntec ?

Your coy so good, I need to work full day leh

grace, i think the reason for 'cant' eat so much kangkong is because its 'cooling'.. not so much on leg cramps..

porky, me no half day but i'm taking time off today..

feb_mum, after 8pm cant drink water? hehehe.. i think i will die.. because my dinner time is at 8pm..

xue, is it because u r hungry the moment u wake up? i puked yellow acidic thingy during my 1st tri because of hunger..

Hellooo Mummies,

跟你们拜个早年!

Hereby wishing all of you good health, abundance wealth, happiness &amp; prosperity. Happy Happy Lunar New Year!

Cheers...

Hi Mummies! Good Morning!!! i realise the thread here is super fast! trying to catch up.
Anyway, <font color="0000ff">poohwei</font>, when is ur next Dr Sim appt? haha maybe can meet up there bring ur girl along!! @ least some1 to play with my girl cos she keeps bugging Dr Sim &amp; Janelle.

Seems like u all meet up very often @ Charcoal (formerly Petals)?
I used to be from SHATEC in 2003. used to get good discount @ all shatec restaurant including SHAvilla. 1 of my former trainer is going bac Charcoal so... i also wanna join in meeting up.. hee.....

Any mummies from SHATEC too?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
I don't think so leh.. Every night before sleep I will drink a glass of Similac mum.. Wont feel hungry.. And I don't think it's because of the milk leh... Sometimes I forget to drink next day oso puke... Sigh~ Morning puking + terrible backaches + lack of sleep! ='(</font>.

Hey all,

I just came back from my gynae's appointment! My baby is weighing 916g already! Its about 26 weeks old. Doctor commented that the baby has long legs that's why its so heavy! haha

I passed the glucose urine test! Lucky.

hehe...my company absorb 1/2 day for today. then we start work on 2nd Feb..need to deduct 2 days AL..

okipoki, i did not went to buy le..cos i say someone here has already swop with me her L size in 3/4..so now i have 1 long L size, and 1 3/4 L size..enough already...

bean, congrats to u ! wow another long legs baby. can train her for ballet liao..hahaha

halo mummies,

i'm logging off soon.. i wish ALL and families a happy and prosperous lunar new year!!! chat with u ladies again when i report to work on 29th!!! GONG XI GONG XI!!

HUAT AR!

Bean:
is it fast, then took glucose drink, then blood test? how's the procedures?

wearing socks to bed:
is for better blood circulation

gd afternoon ladies

err..MumMyKian, we have not met up in Charcoal yet...hehe... we are planning for a 2nd dinner gathering to meet up &amp; charcoal is one of the suggested place.

We had the 1st gathering @suntec in nov i think.
u r welcome to join in the 2nd gathering, juz vote ur availability

Ya ya. Its the normal urine test that we do every visit. I think the gynae will only ask us to test for glucose if we didn't pass the normal uring test. So I was happy I passed it.

Afternoon mummies~~~~

Visit Dr Woody at 10am but he's not around at clinic, appt was supposed to be 10.30am. Think he got delivery this morning but lucky I saw him at around 10.35am, no. 4 in the q.

Baby is 24wks now and weighs 691g. Dr Woody told me not to worry about baby's weight or growth...said she's doing extremely well. Hehe. Cos think last time I told him me quite worried abt bb's growth and movement etc.

Reported that I had numbed hands and swollen feet for sometimes esp the former and he said it's water retention. Then prescribed me with some vit B pills. Said it's normal. *shrugs*

With regards to the loose stools, he said that's normal too. *shrugs shrugs* Everything also said normal.

Then I asked him abt my little weight gain, got "told" by him that that's okay. Cos I gained 2-2.5kg since day 1 of pregnancy. Think most weight gained comes from the water retention part. As long as baby is growing well so nothing to worry about. Not even on gestational diabetes. Yet to take the glucose test. Find that the procedure seems haywire abit, should have taken the glucose test before seeing doc (doc was not around in the morning when I reached too).

So, I cant walk or stand too long. Both feet will get tired and puffy very fast.

Had not experience cramps or peeing at night *touch wood*. However, I will still wake up at least once to ensure both feet are elevated on hubby's bolster and not kick them onto the floor. Hehe.

Porky,
Ohh no problem cos I thought u are searching for it urgently mah

Re: Gestational Diabetes
Keeping my finger x cos detected for no1 at week 35.

sk, like i say...dr woody everything will say is normal de...unless is really not normal then he will tell u straight away...otherwise he will not tell u anything and make u worry loh...share with u something about my last miscarriage..out of sudden, he ask me to take blood test at week 8..i thot is normal routine..after that then i realise my bb have problem loh...he did not wan to scare me..only after the blood test result then he explain to me...

so now u dont worry so much ya ! we are in good hands. hehe

went for the Glucose tolerance test and i was over the normal range though i only put on 5 kg ... sob.. gynae asked me to draw blood twice a week to monitor and each time , i have to draw 7 times a day! before and after the 3 meals and 1 before bedtime
i am so scared to poke the needle into my finger and let alone have to do it 7 times a day!!

Now i have to seriously cut down on my favorite durian , famouns amos and pineapple tarts

Porky, thanks for the advice. :p Must be so hard on you for ya previous preg.

Let's look on the better side. Together with our babies, we must jia you!

Came back from gynae and am glad safe from the gestational diabetes test. Gynae said she will test only if she comes across either of these factors:
1) strong family history
2) change in dipstick color
3) oversized baby

Baby Sarah is now 880g... she knows CNY. Give me lucky no. Gynae said based on percentile, baby will hit abt 3.2kg by the time i deliver. And she said that's the max it should grow or otherwise i mite haf problems "squeezing" it out as im petite... sigh. Otherwise gotta C-sect already leh. And she gave me a list of stuff to pack for hospital!!! Told me to be ready by 34wks. Other mummies she say 36wks. She thinks i got potential for April baby....hmmm...

Hospital tours
Have u all gone for the hosp tours? She said next mth gotta decide. Then she'll book. Seems so little time left...