(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">Bear Bear Alfafa Surprise -- peek-a-boo...</font>
4618089.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Lift up Bear Bear &amp; surprise! Alfafa sprouts hiding underneath!</font>
4618090.jpg

Created diz unique cheese toast breakfast 4 e kidz y'day. Used a cookie cutter 4 e Bear shape.

Time to plan the XMAS PARTAE FOR OUR LIL TOTS!!
lemmknow your interests to attend and any new ideas you might hv.
a few things to decide

DATE: Sat in Dec ( 4th, 11th or 18th)
VENUE: ??? Please suggest
FOOD: to be decided - need headcount, to cater or potluck or snacks
ACTIVITIES: please suggest

1)Pravina + tot(boy)+hubby, Sat preferred
2) Eviangal + tot (gal) + hubby, (all dates look ok - hopefully I can make it this time round)
3) Kidzskidz + tot --> 4th Dec's out, wedding anniversary lah
4) Kris + tot(gal)
5) Catherine + tot (boy) so far all 3 sat are ok
6)

<font color="aa00aa">Ow Mummy:</font>
Drop-off PG progs 4 18M generally r 2-3hrs. Or sign C up 4 consecutive 2hrs sessions if allowed + she can take it. CS Montessori in Bt Timah Plz has 1 such case bt he's abt 3-4YO - so he's there 9-11am + 11am-1pm. Their fee is $1200 per 10wk term of 2hr PG @ 5x wkly. Bt like Rose said, CC wld b more worthwhile. Non-wkg mum gets $150 4 FD CC n usuali onli 50% if kid's in 1/2D. IMO no pt putting in 1/2D CC as itz onli $100-150 less than FD fees. Somemore restricted 2 drop kid off between 7am-1pm or 1-7pm (where kid goes in 2 nap onli...).

<font color="0077aa">Rose:</font> i tink govt onli subsidise CC?

<font color="ff6000">JTS:</font> In my case aft i had B1 i switched 2 wkg 10am-4pm so it was less rush bringing her 2 &amp; bak fr CC. Thus i had 2 opt 4 FD CC. Bt i was getg full subsidy coz was wkg >56hrs P.M. W diz arrangement in plc i cld take leave 2 chiong sales, run errands, meet friends, aft sendg her 2 CC 1st . Or put her in @ 7:30am when i had 8:30am mtgs, seminars, etc. &amp; when I was ill I wld send her 2 CC then go home 2 rest peacefully while hb pick her up in evening. Now w 2 kids, paying 4 B1 2 go FD CC allows me flexibility 2 spend x + take care of B2. Tho now rarer 4 me 2 move abt as a Lone Ranger - until they r older or i chng my mind abt maids
JTS B1's CC fees' around $800 P.M. incl Speech &amp; Drama, milk subscriptn, &amp; itz oledi less $150 subsidy. Bt she's on old fee structure coz now her CC charging >$1250 coz "branded" liao

Ow_mummy, agree w Kidz. 4 hours is close to half day CC. Have not heard of playgroup that is 4 hours. Why u need 4 hours?

Rose, so confirm your Ponyo starting next Jan? Hahaha... till now i have yet to decide n we both started looking for a cc around the same time.

Kris, Dexter also likes soup. He has fasted so many times till i dont bother so much when he does not eat. Only scared when he does not eat diinner as don't want him to wake up at night and party away.

Kidz, i thought u were considering to change B1 to another CC in view of the repeated HFMD cases?

<font color="0000ff">Powerball:</font> Yah, nxt yr B1 goes 3hr N2 class in standalone kindie. &amp; wl move her CCAs (4 now itz readg, CL, ballet) 2 wkday aftns. Bt i'm stl undecided abt B2's fate e.g. 3hr PG or reg 4 FD CC n hv him attend 9am-4pm most days so i kan settle B1's CCAs + i wk freelance. i've gotten a few FL job offers bt kant commit til kid's schedule r settled whc is stressing me somewhat

Kidz: thks! But I m still blur. Haha. If 7-1 , den I must pick her up by 1?

Powerball: I starting work, home based though, but need to go offc twice a week, 3hrs each session so plus travelling approx 4hrs lo.

<font color="aa00aa">Ow Mummy:</font> Yah, datz e idea abt 1/2D CC prog. Rarely got 1 dat wl hv flexi hrs -- if do I suspect they may charge a higher premium. U chk w e 1s u r interested 2 send C 2. Some may say pick up by 12:30pm coz by 1pm e rest of e class aslp liao &amp; tchrs won't b able 2 jaga C 1-2-1. If u nd 2 go office, you shd consider chalking up 56hr 2 get full $300 CC subsidy.

<font color="aa00aa">Ow Mummy:</font> Alternative is finding 3hr PG near ur office? Dan itz more temp i.e. u kan take C out of it when u chng job. Other option wl b find bbsitter near ur home or near e office. Bt I wld also suggest retaining bbsitter on full fee tho, so u hv flexibility ovr when u send child 2 her.

<font color="ff6000">FT Wk vs PT/FL Wk:</font> Now hv kids, itz reali difficult 2 juggle schedules &amp; try 2 squeeze in some wk. Hard enuf 2 find flexi wk vacancies 2 start u... Reali, i now realised decisions r so much easier 2 make if I was wkg FT -- juz send kidz 2 FD CC lor. Tho wkends wl b running around sending them 2 CCAs -- like now w B1
Haiz, gonna b another full yr b4 B2 old enuf 2 join his jie2 @ e same kindie, reading &amp; Chinese progs... &amp; definitely won't let him join her 4 ballet

<font color="0000ff">Powerball:</font> U bak @ wk liao or going bak? I've lost track... Bt Dexter oledi attending some enrichment progs rite? I feel so guilty abt B2 losing out for 18M compared 2 B1 who started infant care @ 3.5M -- her tchrs oledi taught her a lot by 18M. I've onli sent him 2 Gymboree whc oledi has him learning 2 climb high &amp; low... @ kpg him @ home I hvnt done anything routine w him other than teaching him cutie stuffs. Bt realise he's a quicker learner compared 2 his jie2 (mayb coz she models 4 him). Like he's oledi learnt 2 wash his own hair aft I taught him once. I think also dat we kinda over-protected B1 &amp; did most of e things 4 her. Bt w two kidz I juz hv less x so it makes life easier when I start teaching B2 2 do things 4 himself

Suping, yeah, we are still "on" about sending Justin into half day CC in Jan. I just hope that I have the heart to persist on after seeing him cry for days/weeks. I know will surely cry.Cuz there was a few weeks when I brought him to the CC that was owned by my boss.He would cry if I do not stick around with him. He would cry if he see me in the office but not together with him.So I know for sure he will cry when I walk away leaving him alone at the CC!

Re: Half day/ Full day. Yes it is definitely not worth the money when compared to full day as it is only about $120-$150 cheaper than full day. But heart pain leh.And from what I see at the CC I helped out in briefly, the half day kids look much happier than the full day ones.and time passes so quickly for them...

Kidz, think B2 is actually the luckier one to have mummy spend more time w him. I currently have no plans to work yet but keeping my eyes opened for other options as sometimes Dexter just plays with his cars all day long. If he is not playing w cars, he is looking at books w cars or looking out of the window for cars.

Ponyomummy, guess sooner or later, they all have to go thro the separation phase. We just have to cross our fingers that they get used to going to school quickly.

Ow_mummy, i think some CC have "flexi" hours ie 8.30am to 3pm or 3 half days and 2 full days kind of scheme. Do check out the CCs near your place.

<font color="0000ff">Powerball:</font> Yah, B2's much more blessed as i stay home. Let's nt 4get much more sticky 2! C how he fares nxt mth @ 2hrs drop-off prog :)

<font color="aa00aa">Rose:</font> True, i also tink sad if young tot goes in whole day. Datz why i switched 2 PT wk. Bt 1st day was hardest 4 B1 - she was angry w me n dint want me 2 carry her aft seeing me handovr her things 2 e tchrs. I actuali cried when she buried her face in daddy's shoulder... Bt she always run 2 us happily when we pick her up - even now n wl even tell her frenz 'datz my mummy/daddy'. I kena console myself dat when i send her in 9:30-4:30pm, itz less coz i shd deduct 1.5hrs naptime :p actuali i'm hoping nxt yr when new SC opens nxt 2 Clementi, wl hv some preschs, enrichmt ctrs like AMK Hub. Hoping wl hv 3hr prog 4 B2 n we kan greatly cut down traveling back n forth.

<font color="ff0000">Spree for customised NAME LABELS for H2Obottles:</font> Okay, we got 4 mummies to share shipping costs liao so I'll proceed to order diz wk. I'll PM each of u regarding 1st payment details whc wl basically b e merchandise price x 1.45 exchange rate 1st. But I'll strictly go by what e credit card company will charge me, no extras

1) Kidzskidz
2) Pei
3) Rose
4) Pam

<font color="ff0000">If any other mummy's interested, pls email me by this Wed. Note below my earlier post abt this product:</font>
Any1 interested to share shipping costs 4 BumpyName Orbit Labels? It'z an expandable band whc is customised w kid's name. Then we stretch it &amp; snap around their bottles, cups, etc. whc they bring to CC... Labels r BPA-free, etc. &amp; dishwasher safe. Different price 4 different variants but e H2Obottle type is 4-pc pack @ US$12.95. I gotta chk if there's sales tax for diz website (main distributor). E advantage I c abt using such labels is e name won't fade + can remove &amp; reuse on a new water bottle, sippy cup, etc.
http://www.inchbug.com/1a1.html I'll proceed to order if there are min. 4 mummies 2 share shipping costs. US ground shipping is fr $4.99 up (tagged to $ amt of merchandise ordered) - to be split by no. of mummies ordering from diz website. Int'l shipping wl b via vPost. Or possibly direct int'l shipping fr the distributor.

<font color="aa00aa">HFMD all clear:</font> Saw GP earlier. B1 rec'd e "All Clear" ltr -- tho GP stl suspicious if B1 reali had HFMD. So past 1.5wks she was on "holiday" @ home while her frenz in CC were 'blooming' away for a while bt think now situation stable liao. I also showed GP e spots on my hands &amp; she said "not HFMD" -- so I'm cfm paranoid
Just praying 4 e rest of e yr B1 wl b clear of anything &amp; enjoy a fresh start @ kindie nxt yr!

Hi Kidz

Yeap, Little Learners is stand-alone playsch...quite small setup...but hv decided to put Jarell in e 2 hr playgrp for a start...since my Mom is still caring for him.

Btw, was told tt playgrp will follow school calendar, i.e. no class during Jun &amp; Dec but we will still need to pay e fees.....any idea if this is e standard practice?

<font color="119911">Tulipjo:</font> Yah, most ctrs practice it. Or they lump e fee by 10-13wk term bt wld built in Jun &amp; Dec oledi. Bt e one i'm sendg B2 to nxt mth follows CC-type calendar.

Kidzskidz: Think what hubby said is very true. stabilize yourself 1st (i.e. find a free lance that is acceptable within what u wanta). Then decide what CC/programme etc u wanta send yr kids...

Hi all, i'm actually from the June 09 thread but the bubs was born on 23rd May 2009.Anybody sending their kid to White Lodge?That's where Sophie goes.Its a 3 hour drop off program and we can pick 1, 2,3 or 5 days a week.

<font color="0000ff">Cath:</font> I nvr thot of it dat way. Tx ur hb 4 e insight. How's ur M&amp;M? Melting in ur hands or in ur mouth?

Hee.. Nice to know tt quite a handful of us here are feeding our kids outside food. I really felt so guilty initially!

Hey, any parents brought yr kids traveling via budget airline before? Is the flights as terrible as I have heard? I booked a travel for my family to Thailand via tiger... But now I getting a big worried...

kidzskidz: Nope....I'm the one melting...;-)

Claudia: Yap...feeding outside food cos of grandparents who always feel we "ill-treat" our kids ;-p

Claudia: no need to worry about budget airline. U can bring yr own portable DVD player and still show video. U have to pay for yr own food but kids-wise, no problem...I took my 1st son alone with hubby to Bangkok using Tiger....just prepare all games, etc that he likes...

<font color="0000ff">Budget airline:</font> I think itz also easier when these airline use smaller planes so less wait 2 get on &amp; off = less cranky episodes fr kids... Bt e one time I took budget airline 2 BKK, on e return trip a 1+YO toddler threw up juz aft e plane took off. Somemore e boy &amp; his mother was sitting right nxt 2 entrance. So gotta watch stuffs like air pressure (get kid 2 drink a bit &amp; swallow 2 relieve e pressure) + dun let e kid b too full on e flight (small principle when bringing kid swimming)

Claudia: I brought my daughter to HK via budget airline.. Quite tough though... Cos partly bcos whole family fell sick during the trip. Mum having diarrohea, bb having diarrohea.. Toilets are small and they dont have diapers on board (we ran out of diapers). Seats are small and uncomfortable.

If given a choice, I would prefer to travel with young toddlers by non budget in future.. Unless its like a 2 hours flight.. The Hong Kong flight could be bcos its too far.. the whole flight experience becomes very dreary and long..

Ponyo Mummmy: Ya.. It was a night flight somemore.. Val was struggling to get some sleep from the discomfort. We have some spare diapers in the luggage. So upon arrival, we change her at that time lorz..

We had some diapers initially.. but bb diahorrea la.. so shortly after changing her, she pooed again..

Very tiring trip...

<font color="119911">Eviangal:</font> Oh dear, tink ur's is worst case scenario type. Bt u r probably rite 2 dat 2hrs may b 2 much on a budget air-flight plane. I tempted by Air Asia's promo 2 Penang since kidz older &amp; it's also relatively short flight. Bt suspect limited to evening &amp; night flights too so mayb nt worth...

<font color="ff0000">BumpyNames Orbit Band:</font> Pls note dat some mummies fr other threads hv expressed interest so I'll only b placing order diz wkend.

Wonder wat lobangs going on in other threads. Any1 chk lately?

travelling on a plane with babies/toddlers
can be done.
just be very prepared for all sorts of senarios.

i flew with SQ and UA on economy so its doable.
SQ is def better and soo much better equiped. the attendants mostly were nice.

we had diapers in our seat area ( mags were replaced with diapers by us.) and in our overhead luggage. hubby was grumbling why we had to carry many diapers ( i packed 24) and it was appreaciated later. during transit, i transffered new diapers, plastic bags, wipes and meds to a smaller bag so i just tuck that under the seat.
SQ we had a bassinet ( he was 8MO) and for UA, did not get ballot ( he was 15MO) so he just slept on me.
Oh we flew to phuket with him ( he was 11MO) and same prep, no issues.

lifesavers >> binky ( we each had one, total 3; adults carry backup), toys, magnetic boards, portable fan and at least 2 sets of spare clothes for baby ( layering type) and for parents ( incase of accidental pee, poo or vomit on you)

if you transit at narita, and you hv a few hours o spare, check into the hoourly rooms near gate 27 ( i think).. really helps cos you can get a nice hot shower for yourself and baby, do some repacking, lie down for a quick 40winks...
not cheap but really worth it for a long-haul flight and if you still hv to drive or hotel is not nearby after you land.

<font size="+1">Cupcake Making Lesson Anyone?</font>

Mummmies, Pravina and I are attending a Christmas topper cupcake making lesson. If we can gather 5, we can request for a private class. Anyone keen to join us?

Course fees is about S$75 per person.

At a home in Yishun.

Here's the details.

http://bakincalf.com/

please reply to eviangal if you are interested in baking class ASAP ...
let her know if you can make it for class on 14th nov or 31oct.
Thanx

Catherine: Have sms you. Its from 2.00pm to 5.30pm.

Its to learn to use fondant to make Christmas cupcakes. So far, Pravina, Rose and I have signed up for 14 Nov. Need at least 7 peeps to make it for private class. If private class, its $72.80 pp.

Private class on 31 Oct. We have booked for 14 Nov.

Enjoy your trip in Tokyo!

Hi mummies... Tks for the travelling advice. We have booked ourselves on two holidays now. One to Penang this year end and another to Phuket over CNY period. Both via budget. Hopefully all will turn out alright since they are relatively short flights.

Cath, hv a good trip and dun worry abt stuff!!!

eviangal, Thanx for email and sms... see you 14th!!

Claudia J, IMO, takeoff and landing can be stressful for babies/toddlers cos they cant equalise the pressure in their ears.. so PDs recommend latching them on ( if still bfing), giving them the pacifiers or a bottle of milk or water to drink from... or lollies if they are allowed sweets!!!
it'll be fun!!!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Parenthood Fair -- 26 November 2010 - 28 November 2010</font></font>

Venue : SingEx Hall 4A
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Organizer : Motherhood Pte Ltd

<font color="0077aa">JTS: Motherhood mag is organising a 2nd Bb Fair (last one was in May). Hopefully wl b as good as their annual ones - I find theirs e best as biggest w most variety of vendors.</font>

<font color="ff6000">Baby Expo on this wkend:</font> My fren is there now &amp; updated me dat nt much 2 c. Got Huggies Ultra @ $14/pk. Hv Mammy Poko bt she thinks SMH BP price better. Got Moo Moo Cloth Diapers @ $30/pk. C if any1 wanna chk out it's on til Sun.

<font color="aa00aa">Neurogain DHA supplements:</font> Any1 keen 2 buy? Its Neurogain S (pink box &amp; label) -- 325mg of DHA, 32mg of EPA, 23mg of AA, 50mg OA, 4.6mg natural tocopherol. Can get @ $30/bottle of 30 capsules. Price may b lower if we combine buying power. My fren buying as she's preggy &amp; I'm keen as I'm stl bfdg. Currently she get fr her Obgyn @ $36.50/bottle. NeuroGain is manufactured in Japan under licence fr Mederis HK.

<font color="0000ff">Baking Class:</font> I've juz emailed my registration for one last slot left. Awaiting their payment advice.

Kidz: Able to secure buddy rate? If not, let me know I will talk to them. neurogain, i may be keen. Let me see if thats the one i want.