(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

yo mummies..

what do u do when u suffer from aches when u are at work, in office? Any solutions to relieve those backaches?

Sometimes I go toilet hide and stretch... but is there other alternatives???

<font color="ff6000">bbmum, thought you said you can't haha. succeeded already arh?

I am also suffering from aches. Having massage later on. Supposed to be last night but postponed to tonight. So looking forward to it!</font>

i suffer from lots of aches loh..

Plus ya I fell on my back 2 times and hurt my tail bone when I was abt 5wks.. so now the tail bone pain is aggravated when I walk too long.. and ya by that i meant 30mins leh!! So tail bone pain can be felt at the butt area.

If I don't move too much, it will be backache! Ya ya! I also go massages every week now.. shiok shiok!

I can add friends in.. but cannot join our group leh!! Dunno why..

Anyone here knows how to make glutinous wine?? Or know someone who knows how to make it??

My confinement lady asks me to get it leh... but I got no resources!!! May need to ask around and order. Got lobangs muz tell me ah..

i think i need about 3 bottles. (Shall go home and look at my confinement lady checklist!)

Thanks marie!! How much is 1 bottle ah?

it's about $20 per bottle.
thru my fren also.

bb_mummy, go to yor facebook a/c, go under 'setting', check if yor network grp is under global, if yes, change it to singapore network, then search for april 09 mummies..

Aches:
I get tail bone pain as well, esp if i sit for too long. I'll just try to take short breaks and not sit for too long each time, get up and walk around e.g. to pantry, toilet or printer when it gets too bad.

<font color="0000ff">O Bb mummy. saw ur face in fb.. You also pretty mummy leh.. heehee

Wah.. F1 thread.. I too busy today. so cant catch all the posting.. Please slow down leh.. cannot catch up liao hee hee.</font>

sanni take care of your tail bone.. i got whacked by a hockey stick and fell on my tailbone when i was in my teens and still have the pains in my spine !!! and pregnancy is actually making it worse.. get professional help and mebbe some physio advice...!!
hey, how come confinement lady give you shopping list already?? mine did not say anything leh...
hmm mebbe i shd go bug her ah...
cos i dunno how to buy them herbal bath packets and tonic drinks and stuff..
mummies can help me out here... what shd i ask the medical hall sensehs??

HI mummies, sorry to interrupt, i'm from march thread and i have a friend (from clubsnap, who was also my wedding photographer) who is taking photos at his studio at a special package price of $48(usual price $218) for 5x4R + 1xSuper 8R (w make-up &amp; hairstyling). Kevin w take about 30+ shots &amp; u pick the best ones for developing. On top of that, u get the original in softcopy (which normal packages dont give u back the softcopy originals). Only things is they only have 2 dates left, 14feb &amp; 21st feb to go take photos at the studio. If interested, pls PM me &amp; i can send u the e-brochures. Oh yeah, this is also his own project for charity, non-profit cause to raise funds for kids. He's really good for some of you who have heard of clubsnap members before. Just google to see some of their work, thank you

i also have sharp spasms at the tailbone area. and it's so painful sometimes that i cant get up from lying down position or stand up from the sofa. its attacks occasionally and Dr was saying maybe the baby is sitting on some nerves or cos of muscle relaxing due to pregnancy hormones.

hope all our pain will disappear with the delivery of our princes and princesses

Oh my god! So once tail bone injured its like the end of the world?? I want it cured!!

Not worth it leh... I kenna when I pregnant!! So now it's even more jialat! Even thought its normal pregnancy symptoms. No wonder when I told yoga teacher about my pain.. she gave me a weird look like I got some hidden medical problem!

My pain very weird one.. its perpectually there but not easily "located". When I lie on hard floor with a thin mat, I can feel the pain at the tail bone area. But no matter how much I try to massage the area when I lie by the side, I am unable to locate the pain area. So massage lady also can't help me.

I really hope it will ease up after delivery!! But i do foresee it getting worse from now till tummy pops!

My confinement lady to be is a referral from a friend. She sees me like blur sotong + first time mummy so she wrote a simple list and ask my friend to pass me so I can prepare those herbs and stuff before my confinement starts. It's handwritten in chinese!! If any mummy wants, I can scan and upload the attachment. =)

LovJ.. hee ya so many pretty mummies here wo! For me, that's a pic lah.. real life far from it. hehe

so sad today - Singpost called me with regards to my enquiry and said no way can trace normal post. Had ordered fr a BP some California baby items which were mailed out during CNY and todate i still never receive. Somemore spent quite a bit on it and the recent BP items are more expensive
kao_sad2.gif

powerball (powerball), actually they can. try calling the branch tat the sender stay to check if there is any ret mail. Is really up to them to help. I tried many times b4.

Alexis is a new launch CONDO is Alexlandra Rd. The talk abt condo .

Recently I got back ache till I cannot sleep. Pain like hell. Luckily for me it lasted 2 days. Pls don't come back!!!

Gap having 20% off. Anybody want to join?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2147237.html?1234284943

Just accepted a transfer maid. Nt too sure if she will be 'GOOD'. Sigh!

<font size="+1">UPDATES:</font>

Items to bring to hospital for birth admission
Check with the hospital if any of the items are provided as part of your package during your stay after delivery. If provided, then no need to bring.
For the Baby :
1. baby vests
2. baby mittens and booties
3. baby wrapping blanket
4. baby hat
5. diapers
6. car seat – optional coz u can carry the baby while Kelvin drives
7. pram – optional but good to start baby early on it !
8. store umbilical cord ? I did it for Isaac and used StemCord. If u quote me as referral, both you &amp; me will get some discount.
<font color="0000ff">9. 1 more set of clothing, incase soil</font>
For the Mother :
1. socks
2. maternity pads
o Recommend adhesive type for ease of use.
o The bleeding may last up to 1 month, so get ready some at home too. Think so far the Kotex brand is the best.
3. disposable underwear
4. protector sheet
o in KK, they use this during delivery and also in the ward to prevent soiling the bed as well as absorbing the bleeding
o must have some at home to prevent dirtying your bed coz you will be still bleeding for a few weeks after delivery and can be heavy in 1st week
5. clothes to wear home
6. toiletries – toothbrush, toothpaste, etc
7. hospital admission form or booklet
8. camera or video cam ? 
9. float – similar to those used for patients with piles. Depending on your pain threshold. I could not live without it ! LOL. You see how u cope after delivery, can get Kelvin to get it during your stay in hospital if really need it.
<font color="0000ff">10. A few pieces of breast Pads, incase yr milk flow has started.
11. Cardigan for hospital use
12. DVD players, Laptops incase you are bored
13. A clean towel, incase you want to massage yr breast b4 expressing milk</font>

<font color="0000ff">Reiner</font>,
If I am nt wrong, Raffles is using Nestle as their infant milk tis time round. I will try to find out again when I go there for check up...

<font color="0077aa">Ladies,
Nt too sure if you all want to do a check on yr hospital on what infant milk they are providing to yr bb if bb does nt want to latch on.

Another thing: be prepare if yr bb does nt want to latch on... the nurses will ask you if you want to offer guclose h20 or milk to yr bb.

Some bb once they are use to teats, they might nt want to latch on again.

Avent BPA bottles: Only comes in 125ml only. Is at $15.40. Regular bottle in 125ml is $8.40.</font>

<font color="ff6000">Anybody intrested:

Welcome to the 4th annual First Mums' Congress 2009!

Renowned healthcare experts will give you a glimpse of the exciting moments ahead and address some of your immediate concerns about pregnancy and delivery. Celebrity Mums – Zoe Tay and Ivy Lee – will also share their motherhood experiences with you!

Come and be equipped with savvy solutions to enjoy pregnancy and parenting!

This event is organised by MediaCorp, supported by Abbott Nutrition and Thomson Medical Centre

Venue: Fairmont Singapore, Raffles City Convention Centre, Stamford Ballroom Level 4,
80 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189560

Register by phone: 6277 6313 (Linda) / 6277 6254 (Ramlah)

Closing Date: 18th February 2009</font>

http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/index.asp#

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Hi MTBs!</font></font>

It's been a while... The past wk has been nothing but madness for me @ work. Had to prepare publicity for 7 parenting workshops my organisation, TOUCH Family Services, is organising next few Sats (which means I'm wkg!!!!).

But I want to share abt a particular wkshp for MTBs -- 'The Happiest Baby'. There's 3 sessions focused on bringing up infants up to 12MO. The 1st session is most foundational and based on Dr Harvey Karp's 'The Happiest Baby On The Block' book/DVD. We have a certified facilitator in this prog to run it. I've sat in the wkshp b4 and it's really good -- the 5 S by Dr Karp is critical for all 1st time parents to know how to soothe baby the moment baby is born. I only wished I had come to know about it before B1 was born. The wkshp includes putting Dr Karp's method into practice so MTBs need to bring a doll/soft toy of a newborn's size + swaddling cloth (we'll hv some of the latter on standby too if you don't hv).

<font color="0000ff">I highly recommend this wkshp -- nt just to expectant parents but to caregivers of babies too</font>. If you have time, check out www.tcs.org.sg/events (click on 'The Happiest Baby' for more info or PM me and I'll email you the flyer. If you want me to contact you on the phone with more details, you can also PM me your contact and I'll call you back during office hours. Btw, the baby on e-flyer at the website is B1 @ 9MO...

<font color="ff6000">Pain in groin, hips, etc...</font> The pain I've been experiencing in my groin (pubic bone) has been getting sharper, more intense and more frequent. The pain's usually when I'm changing position e.g. sitting to getting up (after some period or inertia), when trying to shift abt in bed, get up from bed... Found these two articles which explains why and think I gotta bring it up to Dr on my next visit. Putting the link here for your reference:
1) http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/ref/pelvicgirdlepain/
2) http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/ref/pelvicpain/

I actually had similar pains during 1st pregnancy though pain was more manageable and not as frequent. That round I also had clicky hips which I understood was due to the release of the hormone Relaxin. Everything was fine immediately after B1 was born. Anway, any other mommies with similar pains note from the two articles it may be one of the two conditions listed. I suspect mine is the more serious one with widening gap in the pubic bone area. <sigh>

Also, I dread to think how big baby may have grown already. Nowadays when I'm sitting up or lying down, he can pull pretty powerful punches which feels like he's got no space to move at all! And those moments do knock my breath away... Yeah, he's really active compared to B1. B1 only "protested" when I sat down, B2 is like kicking anytime and sometimes seems like all the time since he punches so hard... I gotta jiayou -- just 2 more mths to go...

Btw, my B1 turns TWO next Tuesday and a delightful happy tod (not necessarily 100% angel of coz...
). Share with you a funi story: I put my HP on spkr mode for her to talk to my sis. After some 'babbling' I told B1 to say "bye bye" and she just waved her hand @ the phone. I told her no, aunty can't see you, you must open your mouth and say "bye bye". She obeyed by opening her mouth wide open while still waving 'bye' at the HP. I had a good laugh tho i felt like fainting too - more impt taught me a big lesson on making sure I spk at her level of comprehension! Ah, parenting.... Mommies, it's a wonderful journey that makes us all for the better!

<font size="+1">Good morning mommies!</font>
2147541.gif

Saw you all in FB liao! But still don't know who's who except for Rose, Marie, pat (saw ur doggie pic!) and of course Jamgal! Super a lot of posts too, I had like 120+ new messages in my inbox and 90% all from this thread!

<font color="ff0000">Pravina,</font>
My confinement aunty told me to buy those usual stuff; which I wasn't aware of too - previous #1 confinement @ my ILs's house. Luckily my galfren gave me a short list on herbs to buy, can share with you but before buying them all, she advised one to check with the respective confinement aunty whether she needs/knows how to use (brew) them. Unless you know the medical shop well, it's better to go prepared else scared kena chopped. :p

<font color="ff6000">Powerball,</font>
Whom you ordered from? So disappointing...
2147542.gif

I have been ordering CB stuffs for my #1 from Ima, usually collect personally from her cos quite heavy stuff. I've joined her Feb BP for newborn creams and stuff too.

<font color="119911">Tktotts,</font>
Nice to see you in here, I've only joined this thread recently! Wa, so gian leh, saw your spree.
Good luck on your transfer maid; several years back my SIL got a tsf maid and she turned out to be the best my SIL's ever employed. Stayed on for several years and only went back recently cos my SIL's kids' were pretty grown up.

<font color="0000ff">kidzskids,</font>
Hello! I've just joined this thread recently.
The workshop looks interesting, my #1 was a difficult baby (or was it me being inexperience then??) and I have had a hard time soothing her! But location's a lil far from my place in SK and my hubb's working on Sats. Btw, your B1 so adorable! LOL! Wave at the phone! My #1 did that too when she was young; she also put her storybook at the phone wanting to show it to the other party. Very true, the ups &amp; downs in parenting really make a wonderful experience!
Happy 2nd burfday B1!!!
2147543.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Tonics - birds' nest and cordyceps</font>
Do we still take birds' nest at this stage? I've heard that it goes to waste cos BB wont be absorbing the goodness? But medical hall said it's good to take all the way; mayb cos they want me to buy?

Cordyceps - My mom recently bought me a bottle - ground and encapsulated; she said medical hall commented very "bu" for both mother and child. But my MIL said it'll make my BB grow bigger than usual as if I'm taking it at this late stage. So how?

Morning All!!!

Cyan: I'm still taking bird's nest (bottled kind)at this stage, not sure if baby will absorb ornot. But if baby don't benefit from it, mummies still do mah.

Re Cordyceps: I believe it is used more to "bu" the lungs of both mummy and baby, strengthen it. Don't think baby will grow bigger than usual bah.

Leereiner (reiner), can. but ifthe hospital is giving the chioce that you wanted, y nt take advantage of it...

If I am nt wrong, every mth they hv different milk to offer.. The last time round they had Similac &amp; Enfanlac...

Cyan (cyan), nice to see you here too. Buy la. Got 20% off lei... furthermore Vpost now offering 20% of shipping cost too.

I also got fr Ima. Think pregnancy hormones got to my brain and made me forget to request for registered mail. The latest BP by Clarval (i think)for Calendula cream is $18 now. Now not only back pain also heart pain to have to order again otherwise not in time to receive the items.

Tonics - i still taking birdnest. Like what JamGal said, mummies can still benefit. My hubby recently bought noncooked ones but i not a v gd cook. 1st attempt got egg smell and the birdnest dissolve. 2nd attempt egg smell reduced when i use red dates but still dissolve. After 2 attempts, now i signed up with CC for dessert making course.

hi mtbs/mothers.
what do you advise, a convertible car seat (that allows infant and then change to toddler car sear) or separate infant and toddler car seat? Any brands and models/ website/ shops to recommend? didn't have the energy to do much shopping and want to just zoom in. your advise greatly appreciated

hi ladies, found a very good offer for baby bjorn air at 50+usd only, currently combining with an apr mummy to purchase but can take in 1 more, and only 3 sets left, let me know soon if want to combine purchase

hi muffintop, are u interested to get maxi cosi car seat for 0-4 yrs?

There's a special promo now, can PM me..

Morning Mummies!

Cyan, I'm still taking bird's nest too. but got to take on an empty stomach. basically it's for our own health too. nourish the lung.

<font color="ff0000">jamgal,</font>
Ya hor, we mommies can get the benefit! Cos my #1 has dry skin, so I thot this time round wanna take more birds' nest so #2 will have better skin? If cordyceps is more to "bu" our lungs, then I can take at ease liao, thanks!

My MIL recommends "Lo Hang Ka" bottled birds' nest. A bottle cost $147+ and it's thickly filled up with birds' nest, very little liquid. I've recently checked it out at compasspoint, the SA said to take a teaspoon every AM - empty stomach, and PM - before bed. No need take a lot cos body can't absorb and it will be wasted and passed out. Think if you take the recommended does, a bottle lasts 3wks+. I told my hubb, if I only take 1 tsp in the AM, can last 6wks+, easier on our pockets! It sure looks good, a pity no sampling.

I cooked birds' nest last night, followed like what Lo Hang Ka did; added just a little water, then scoop and save in the fridge. This AM just took a tsp.

<font color="ff6000">SKS,</font>
So annoying cute hor these icons! I googled and got this link: http://sisiducky.vox.com/wang-momo-icons/
I'm sure there are more on the net, but me lazy lah, all these would satisfy for the time being.

<font color="119911">Tktotts,</font>
Feel like it but I already bot quite a bit for BB. But later I will still go in and see cos good deal since vpost has 20% disc!

<font color="0000ff">Powerball,</font>
Oic, yup, now's the time to order cos Ima's feb BP ETA early march. Still in time for April EDD. Re birds' nest dissolving, how long did you cook? Double boil right? I cooked for 45mins-1hr, double boil. If it still dissovles, then might be the prob with the birds' nest? You can try adding some "pao-shen flakes" too, my mom said can "bu-qi".
Else if all fails, go try "Lo Hang Ka".

morning mummies, regards to backache, i had a pre-existing condition, at 1point the pain is so bad it affected my daily life. So i went thru the usual x-ray and stuff, said is degeneration of soft tissues between the vetebrae so like ur bones are pressing on another. must go for physio and very careful of posture cos can lead to slipped disc.

I've checked with my gyane on this also, he says may not necessarily be the condition that causes ache and pains, can be just due to excess weight, bad posture, bb lying on some nerves whatsoever, but still gotta be careful

powerball, i cooked the bird's nest for abt an hour or past, still got very thick "threads", like what cyan, said could be the birds nest

<font color="ff0000">Powerball,</font>
Do agree that it's the hormones. I find myself more forgetful and tends to be slipshod. Stuffs have slipped from my hands and broken a few times since.

<font color="ff0000">Juxta,</font>
My hubb suffered from the same condition: degeneration of tissues and his is neck/shoulders area, had to go for physio also. Think nowadays our life too stressful, pple work too hard.
2147921.gif

<font color="ff6000">Marie,</font>
I ever jokingly told my hubb, good lor, nourish my lungs, next time more energy to scold you and #1!

Cyan, u r so funny. Cos i have seasonal asthmatic problem(comes once a yr) so my MIL worried that it will affect me during my pregnancy so buy for me to eat n in fact it prevented the coughing.

Oh I have slight asthma too, Marie. So it can improve our condition? My MIL was initially saying birds' nest will affect/worsen my condition cos of the impurities (birds' feathers, etc) left in the birds' nest. Another hearsay lah, but she still passed me her birds' nest cos I just loved eating it. It's an expensive craving which I can't bear to splurge on normal days.

Cyan, it will only help when u recover from the coughing. take when u are well. it will benefit and helps to strengthen the lungs. my MIL bought me the bottle ones cos more convenient for me.

marie/cyan, some say birdnest can trigger asthma if is not cleaned properly. I'm also asthmatic, btw my PD says if 1 parent is asthmatic, 60% chance the kid will get it. And my hb has bad sinus prob, my boy is totally sensitive from nose to respiratory and eczema, bad genes!! haha

marie, mine came in my teens, this few years been good only now and then depends on season and with bad flu. But the eczema is a very persistent condition, dry skin prone to irritation and rash, yucks!

marie/cyan, your MILs really nice to you leh!

for mummies with more than 1 kid, how do you intend to settle the older siblings on the day you have to deliver? esp for those without a maid/other adults in the family? i'm worried abt having to go hospital in the middle of the night bcos there's no one else in the house if hb sends me to hospital.

re: forgetfulness

today i was in the lift, and repeatedly pressed the button to close the door but it wouldn't budge. only after a while i realised that i had been pressing the "door open" button all this while!