(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff6000">OMG, 12 days of not bathing is almost 2 wks leh. It's something as essential as brushing of teeth leh I feel. How can compromise on personal hygiene one? But if your MIL really insist, there's nothing much you can do unless you do it behind her back lor.

Wow, so many different versions of what to pack for the hospital bag. Besides bathtub, Mt A also gives a newborn hamper consisting of newborn diapers, formula milk and can't remember what. Think no need to bring diapers to hospital coz hospital will use theirs and charge us for it. Unless we can bring ours and tell the nurses to use ours instead?

With swaddling blanket/receiving blanket, still need mittens &amp; bootees? </font>

pink_piglet, u r welcome! cos in the past i used to have leg cramps quite often even though i wasnt preggy. then i found abt the drink. It works for me.

i'm thinking of that 3 drawer unit from Ikea. Will prob go n measure the size n compare with the toyogo box.

erm... early postings are on bathtub eh... how about what brand of baby shower do you mummies intend to get arh? have you all ever heard to bathe baby with stout? the black beer?

thanks for the list... better save it up or else forgotten again...

me bathed for my #1 but not everyday lor...

I'm glad for my MIL. cos she said..dun bathe how can. in fact she even share with me that she actually showered during her confinement days too. So I'll have less 1 worry.

so envious of u marie.. my MIL was reverse, she actually din do her confinement well and went out on the 1st week and got caught in the rain apparently, and from then, she's been sickly. after my hubby she din have any more kids so no chance to remedy or do another good confinement i think? so she doesn't want us to end up like her, so she is quite insistent, and very hard to secretly bath cos we live together. i also dun wanna argue with her abt the climate in the past and poorer sanitation and now got hot shower water stuff cos hubby will be caught in the middle. hehe so just remain neutral and observe what happens in 2 months i guess.. maybe when she see how smelly n dirty in 2-3 days she'll force me go bathe *fingers crossed*

Hm...a little trick my sister did during her confinement. She stay in the rm n rest..then my bro in law shower..she sneak in and take a quick shower no hair wash lah. not so obvious lor. then when bring bb out for check up during confinement, my sis will go to the hair salon n get her hair washed up squeaky clean before gg home.

pat, i think mittens and booties protect the baby's lil hands n feets from the cold? and also prevent the nails from scratching the face or eyes.

think can use the swaddling blanket together also?

pat/bonbon, if you swaddle ur baby. there will be no need to have mittens n booties. cos their little feet and hands will be tightly swaddled.

Sorry mums, just went to have drink with ex-colleague. Going in to FB to check out what's happening now. Who is still facing problem ah???

I better start asking my dearest gynae about my medical reports to bring hospital also!

Leereiner: ICA so out one ah, still must write the Chinese characters ourselves? Hmm, then I better go find dictionary to match my gal’s Chinese name liao. If can, wanna get it done in the hospital itself.

reiner,
stout?! will bb get intoxicated breathing in the alcohol fumes? haha..

the other time i had my son's birth cert done at Mt A.. also handwritten for chinese character leh.. worse, my hb wrote them in his horrible writing! I heard that ICA (or KKH) is type-written.. *confused* anyway, this time round i'll wait for my dad to write the birth cert.. hehe...

tingting, how come ur boy's chinese characters in the BC are handwritten? i also had my son's done at Mt A but it's type-written leh...

re bathing during confinement...I mUST bathe. esp since im gonna breastfeed. it's a hygiene thing loh!!! can imagine the germs n bacteria baby is gonna get if we dun bathe!!! those practices are outdated, because in the past in china water was not easily available and the weather there can be really cold in winter. but singapore is a TROPICAL country!!! how can not bathe!?!?!

anyway regarding aches n pains later...aiya my mil's spinster fren who has never given birth before also suffers from them!!! so what gives?? impt thing is we must take enuff vitamins n calcium when we are young, so dun suffer osteoporosis n other probs later in life mah.

that time when we went for hospital tour at TMC i think we asked the lady and there is a timeframe to apply for BC for baby. but i forgot the details after she said it haha.. so bad.. but i think we usually stay 2-3days post delivery so for those who wanna wait for the timing of the birth to calculate the characters, can send a family member to do so if the hubby wants to stay near mummy n baby in hospital those days. and anytime before discharge can go to the counter to register the birth. after discharge have to go ICA is it?

my nephew as born Mt E my frenz's son @ Mt A... both regretted they didnt do the registration @ the hospital coz hospital one can computer type the chinese character. they were waiting for shifu to get the names for babies so they ended up @ ICA. somemore they used "fan di zhi" coz of the numbers of stokes requirement.... all hopsital registration can do computer typed chinese characters leh, as to my knowlegde

<font color="ff6000">I'm having problems with the facebook thingy coz I am so outdated haha.. Gone for so long but still haven't gotten it done keke.

reiner, i don't know which baby shower gel is good but I got the head-to-toe wash from Pureen wor. Yellow yellow colour one.
Why must bathe bb with stout leh?

bonbon, think it's good that your MIL dotes on you too. Want to protect you from the misery later on. Just follow Marie's sister lor. hahah Go and bathe while hubb goes keke. Can hanky-panky somemore. Kill 2 birds with 1 stone keke.

marie, your sis is very 'cunning' leh. Won't MIL be able to tell from the salon-blown hair? go out oily oily, come back with fluffy hair. a bit obvious wor.

So confirm huh? if there's a receiving blanket, I don't need mittens &amp; bootees.

Sigh, totally no idea about the Chinese name thingy leh. But it really would be more convenient to get all names ready for registration at the hospital instead of going to ICA after that. I think we are being given up to 2 wks to register the bb's name, if i don't remember wrongly.</font>

tingting, oh i delivered in 2007...mebbe they hadn't had the system in place in 2005 loh...

btw u also intending to do confinement on ur own rite? i've ordered a trial meal from Natal Essentials to test on Mon, will let u all know how is it

maybe that's why lah.. well, at least it's good news that my gal's BC will have nicer chinese characters.. :p

yup, me DIY confinement. I'll most likely be getting fr new baby, bcos natal essentials doesn't deliver to my area.

marie, from the TMC webbie http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm

hospital tours are conducted Mon-Sat 11am and 2pm. just register from the counter near the seating area, near the valet parking area also. that time i went for the 4mth NT scan at 12pm so i went for the 11am tour. takes about 30min i think. have to register at counter early before 11am, then the lady will call for all couples when the time is up.

first is walk thru on admission procedure, where to go and stuff, then tour of delivery suite, but pity the day i went all 10 delivery suites had mummies inside. then went on to tour the rooms, but they only show you the Suites and single rooms. so do keep ur eyes open if you wanna stay 2 or 4 bedded cos along the corridor can peek inside.

pat, haha i will consider lovebirds shower together but i think my hubby will complain on me type. he is the type will follow instructions cos he say he rather i suffer and hate him 1 mth that suffer when i old
LOL

pat, it's the confinement lady that nags. not MIL.

btw, names for bb we are given 2 wks to register the birth. but if there's any changes within the first 12 mths. we still can make the change for once at no cost. Cos my sis made changes for my niece name at abt 11mths.

<font color="ff6000">sorry arh I really don't know how to join. I've followed the instructions but it showed me the Apr'09 Mummies from the Global network - Baby Expert. Can't change to Singapore network also leh.

"u type at e search for april'09 mummies, den will haf e grp on e page, go in to e one in Singapore Network! den u can see the join thing dere liao..."</font>

Pat: there should only be 2 results from your 'april 09 mummies' search. One is Singapore Network (the picture is a bear with mum word). Join this one...

i think i'm confirmed switching on the aircon whole day during confinement and beyond liao.. today stayed home bcos my son is sick (but still managed to drive me nuts!) and i already cannot tahan the heat..

<font color="ff6000">Haiya no wonder lah. I had to go and change my settings to connect to Singapore network. So confusing one leh. I think i should be able to do it now.</font>

<font color="ff6000">kekek finally in liao.. wah the doggie very cute leh keke.

JamGal, the photo is taken by your hubby huh?</font>

hee now gonna 430pm.. so happy to those mummies who can knock off soon. today seem to pass slower.. i waiting for my dinner break at 6pm then still gotta work till 9pm tonight.. lol.. thinking of my comfy bed and pillows at home now!

<font color="ff6000">I nearly wanted to curse and swear liao! %&amp;*$!)#$@#*(^&amp;@*%&amp;#@($)#*#^&amp;@$&amp;*#@ Luckily, can go in.
I upload my greedy doggie's pics ok? haha. Quite fun leh. I'm such a suaku.</font>

the stout thingy for bathe... not a whole can lah, just 2-3 drop kinda of thingy... heard it "cure" the baby skin if the baby has red spots or rashes kinda of... this method is from my hubby's frenz one... but my mum said gotta use what flower lah, can get from chinese medical hall lor...

chinese character on NRIC is long long time ago have liao leh... unsure of BC leh... anyway hubby has already come up with the chinese character and we even confirm the dialect hokkien name for #2.... we e-mail to hokkien huey kuan the name list and they "translate" into hokkien for us... so 1 thing settled...

hi bonbon,
gotta work till 9pm, conference meeting eh?

marie, i replied you alr

just go to the information desk, or call the line to fix a day to go down. its avail mon-sat 11am and 2pm

yah, agree the weather's super hot today.. i think singapore is quite fortunate to be near the equator already.. not having the extreme weather currently faced by australia down south and canada up north...

leereiner, not meeting haha, but more like related to service line cos those kids enrichment centres that's why operate till 9pm daily.

RE: TMC hospital tour
Marie, BonBon just posted the details a few messages back.
Just need to call 6250 2222 or sign up at the counter. They have 2 sessions 11am or 2pm Mon to Sat.

RE: FB
Pat! Me also very lost in FB ah.. I got the invite but I just can't join the april 09 mummies group leh... it just say LOADING loh... till I give up. Think later I try at home!

Btw, not sure if u all noticed, ntuc is having mummy poko diapers promotion from S to XL at 21.90, sadly, newborn no promo, but can stock up on S first since its 3-8kg:p

Marie! I just realise u r my sister's ex-colleague!! What a small world!

Sigh.. I am suffering from aches.. now munching on biscuits to keep myself awake!!