(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

WOW Marie Kwek! haha.. i totally agree with
"God made everything for us to consume, just eat n believe that it will nourish us and our babies"

Even when we r nt preggie, we also hafta watch our diet n eat in moderation! haha.. jus tt during these period gives us abit more excuse to craves for food! =P

i m craving for long john silver now... all these non healthy food..=X

ow_mummy, i put red dates and american ginseng when make birdnest, it does taste better when boil with red dates and american ginseng..
orangepeel, my hubby also clever liao these day, will call and ask what i feel like eating before coming home..
i love durian but gynae ask me to cut down cos too high in fat..

Orangepeel: DURIAN is so NICCCCCEEEE!!!!
durian is the antidote to anything during my 1st trimester!

And i like the Four Seasons Durian's DURIAN PUFF!!
and right nw, i still like durian lo!!
and also apple.. hee.. :p:p
seems my bb is quite a healthy one, though always indulge in fastfood! haa..

i ate alot of fastfood throughout, use to be like daily leh..but nw try to stop n consume more nutrition food..haha..

but i haf one colleague, who cant consume rice or other food when she is preg, she wil vomit whenever she eat rice or stuff. all she eat was MACdonals n KFC all e fastfood! haha...

heard that mutton may cause fits in babies so shd avoid..

goat's milk, so far have not heard anything bad abt it but best to practice caution yar... bro and sis have not shown any symptoms in the last 20 years so guess okie lah..

ow-mummy
i take coconut water but not coconut milk cos i dun like the taste... but been wanting to eat laksa.. have had it once and had super bad heatburn

all this talk abt food is making me hungry.. just wolfed down a banana cake and papaya; couldnt resist a honey great tea with pearls for lunch!!

Anemia
Please be careful mummies, fainting spells come so suddenly and very hard to predict.. so always travel with someone.. i learnt it the hard way when i went to temple alone one morning and starting seeing stars and blackness... managed to squat before i fell to the ground.. and not everyone lends a helping hand!!
i take iron supplements.. still cannot stomach most meat... i try to force myself to eat some chicken and fish .. but mutton cannot.. and i cant take beef at all cos of religion.

Just to share with all mummies,
I went to River Ang bao ( Chun dao he pan09)with my hubby n MIL. There are many nice spots for u to take pictures, food of course was everywhere within our reach.

I was so surprised but happy that they actually sells durian.. Of course, I bought three packet immediately when I saw it..Its packed with Four Seasons Durian's sticker. U know wat... it smell soooooooooooooo good

I stay in the north side, so we took a bus to get to yishun interchange before changing to MRT back home.
In the bus, the fragrant of the durian was so strong that I had to grab tightly to dilute the smells..

Bus-stop after stop, we were so worried that we might be chase down by the bus driver.

Luckily after some time, our bus stop by little indian, Lots of bangadess got in and amazing the pungent smell of the durian was covered.

Eventually we got home happily n had our victory.
Hahahaha.. Sorri for being so long winded...

is cheng teng good during pregnancy? cos i like red dates and ginkgo nuts but hopeless at boiling anything ....ha!!

ooh .. LJS fries are GOODDD
hmmm mebbe shd have that tonite...
dun like durians.. love mangosteens and dukus.. so had quite a bit of them too..
so tempted to go buy them mandarin oranges but cannot leh ... so much phelgm and coughing still!!

can all mummies help, me and hubby can't decide which name to use for our girl..let me know which name you prefer, nadya or rayne?? nadya has a meaning of 'hope' whereas rayne means 'queen/mighty/pure'...
i take a total of 3 supplements, floron (iron tablet), fish oil and calcidan calsium..my next visit my gynae will give me more supplements to take..

mandarin oranges will cos phelgm to mummy or baby??
i have been eating mandarin oranges, 2 to 3 pcs a day, we buy mandarin oranges by the carton leh..so far i m ok (touchwood) no phelgm problem..

LovJ: don sigh la.. jus tahan abit lo.. for e sake for ur baby..=)

Pravina: cheng teng is normal bah. nv hear any saying tts its nt gd..

Yvonne Yeo: Both name meaning is nice, haha..wads ur hubby surname?
Mandarin oranges my mum kip tellin me nt to eat too much. she kip restricting me eating em, ur 2-3 pcs aday is e whole of it or slices? if its whole of it i think too much leh.. better cut down abit..

Marie Kwek: NOTED! shall start hunting for e big green coconuts!=)

YSL
i think Rayne sounds nicer.. Nadya common name in SG..but what you think? does it sounds nice with your surname and chinese name??

i took a few mandarin oranges and then got sick on CNY eve and still sick..and my colleagues say its heaty.. so now avoiding it leh..
the coughing is really painful now cos tightens the tummy and scared i will hurt baby .. my coughs are violent.. whole body shake..^_^

i take folic acid, pre-natal supplements from gynae, iron tablets (GNC) and fish oils(from GNC)and calcium too but not when i take iron tablets.. prefer to drink milk than take calcium.. trying lah...

ow_mummy, my hubby surname is chee..
i ate 2 to 3 pcs of whole mandarin oranges a day leh, i will cut down cos heard a lot of people saying not good..

pravina, we have not got chinese name for my girl yet, got to wait till after birth then get feng shui master to name her..
i know how u feel with the cough, i got the same problem when in my 4th mth, i was sick for 1 mth plus, i felt so sick that i thought i can't make it..

Yvonne Yeo: u shld cut down e intake of mandarin oranges!haha.. can eat but nt so much..heaty..
As for e baby name, i think its a gift from u n ur hubby for ur lil baby so u shld decide..haha..

LovJ: 8 more weeks only leh.. nt long liao.. haf to enjoy e last 2 mths..after baby come out den diff liao...haha

Hmmm.. Chinese name is a tough one.. i also facing prob.. every nw n then will haf new name tt pop in my mind..haha

names are tough...
heard from my chinese colleagues that must check time and date of baby's birth and go see astrolger or fengshui master to find out what characters are good for baby.. same goes for indian names.. plus must start with correct indian letters and all that lah ... if very into it...
still cracking our heads on a good, modern name for our baby... but first ... gotta confirm the gender... heheheh ..so far have had only one indication that baby is a boy ... i will ask again on my next gynae visit.

Ya.. Chinese name i ask fortune teller to calculate when my baby is born ba..

Dun feel like cracking my head.. As for Christian Name, We named ourselves.

YSL,
i got sick in nov and still shudder when i think abt it ... and now sick again ... immune system really gone bad lah ...

OKie mummies, home bound.. hungry!!!
have a good rest and LEGS UP!!
sleep tight!

Just back from my check up. BB weight about 1.5kg(30wks). Not so good news cos the position is not ideal. It's transverse. At 26wks was head down and now change position again. Will baby change position again from 30wks onwards? I don't want c-sect.

dodos: don wry la.. still gt 10 more weeks to full term.. nobody know when baby will change position... mine last checkup was 28 weeks my baby also nv head down.. =)

hi yvonne, i think rayne more special too! is it pronounce "rain" or "rainie"? hehe sorry for the example..

my cousin's baby born last mth, they went to a chinese astrologer in TPY hub i think, the naming package is $68. They see the time of birth, then the horoscope and i dont know if they consider the parents and grandparents horoscope. cos some say the immediate family is impt to ensure no "clash"

my cousin was give like 5 words for the first name and 5 words for the second name so they just mix and the nicest sounding one was Yi(2) Xuan(1), match their surname nicely also.

i had long john silver for lunch today n BBT also. think i must control the tea intake.. take it very often like 3-5 times a week opps..

bonbon: WA long john silver..yumyum i want to eat! BBT i have e craving too.. but hor bonbon must nt take so much of bbt leh e tea sugar lvl VERY high n aso eating too much of e pearls is no gd wor...haha..

But hor gt time to go let ppl n 'suan" e baby chinese name meh? like tt do e birth cert very troublesome wor..

bonbon, is pronounce as "rainie"..i also prefer rayne..
i will use feng shui master to get a chinese name for my girl also..

bonbon: I also thought of naming my gal yi xuan leh. I like the xuan(1), so thought of yi(3) xuan(1), yu(3) xuan(1), jia(1) xuan(1), or ke(3) xuan(1)

ladies > sorry to disturb.I'm a Jan 09 mum.I have excess "da feng cao " to let go at $2 per pkt.Still unopened and unused.

I also have some gluntinous rice wine,sesame oil and black vinegar to let go once i'm done with my confinement nxt week. Do pm me if u keen.

ow_mummy: On lah! We both name our princesses xuan!
My hubby surname is very difficult to think of a chinese name. It's Wu(1)

jamgal, yor hubby surname is ok wa..mine worst, chee (chu), the same as pig in chinese..
that's why got to think very carefully when naming my girl, don't wan next time when she grow up, people make fun of her name..

JamGal: wahaha.. ur hubby surname is same as mine WU.. haha... my hubby's is Ow..han yu ping ying is "Hu"... both of our surname sounds quite alike..haha.. but seriously... WU is a very diff surname..

ow_mummy: what a coincidence loe. Hu and Wu...

Yvonne: hmmmm..yours also very difficult

I also trying to think of a name so that it will rhyme nicely with the surname and my bb will not get ka chiao by other people next time

So coincident ah...im thinking to name my girl Yixuan. Yi is confirm cos my 3 kids all starting with Yi. Yi doesn't sounds good with anything except xuan. But have to consult the master which Xuan should i use and if it's good.

Actually Xuan En is nice but cannot lah have to start with Yi.

<font color="ff6000">wah so many posts. I feel so tired, I didn’t feel like going through everything but I still did keke.

I went to see gynae just now liao. Jinglebel, I asked gynae about the turning @ 30 wks. She said even at 32 wks, there is still a chance of bb turning but the possibility is quite small unless this is not your first bb coz for ladies who have delivered before, there may be more space in the womb for bb to turn.

LovJ, massages are good. It keeps the blood circulation going well mah. Keek and it relieves muscle tension. Work so hard, so need to relax also. Just like you must buy 4D. You buy hope, I buy relaxation ma..

Oh Ciarie, so all those items are for you. I thought you were intending to get for bb one. Lots of excuses arh you. Mummies not only need lots of rest hor, mummies need a lot of expensive new items also.

I was telling my hubby that time that if we have intuition, we should buy 999 numbers. From 1000-1999 or 8000-8999 to cover all the 4D combinations starting with that first number. So if intuition is accurate and it happens that the 1st 3 prizes all start with the number you’ve picked hor, you will really be MRS HUAT ARH!!

<font color="ff6000">bbmum, glad to see you back although you are still sick. Drink more of yr miracle honey. Give bb nice nice skin in the process also. Those cute icons arh. Need to go under “Help”, then you’ll see that every emoticon has got a code one. Very mafan just to insert an emoticon actually keke. Haiyo, no need to insert lah, just use more colourful language to tell us how you are feeling lah.

jamgal arh. you very kuazhang arh. still can do massages but prenatal massages lah. mani/pedi still can do ma and you will be going for your brazilian right? I think you also need to see a brain specialist to wash your brain so that you won't self-pity yourself so much keke.

ow_mummy, what’s gao li shen? I have only heard of gao li dai before leh.

Wah…… I also want to eat durian. This thread is so sinful. Reading it is already adding calories to my diet. Everytime I read about someone eating something, I also want to eat leh. I have been enjoying my cheeseburger and big mac too. Think our body is automatically replenishing our iron reserves bah.

Haha Orangepeel, you a bit mean hor? You indirectly saying that the Indians brought in their own smells is it? Keke but I think I fully comprehend haha.

<font color="ff6000">Those Malaysian coconuts nice? I thought Thailand ones are sweeter and tastes much better. I think when we reach 37 wks, however cooling the coconut is doesn’t matter liao. Going to pop anytime anyway.

Yvonne, what’s your hubby’s surname? I think I prefer Rayne. Nadya is nice but somehow it sounds not so local. Maybe coz I keep thinking of Nadya Hutalog. Ooh so many ppl voted for Rayne too. I think you can settle on Rayne already but be prepared that she may become Queen of your little household.

Bonbon, I take green tea everyday leh. Is that considered tea also? Buay tahan leh. Must drink green tea.</font>

hi bonbon,
thk its ok for hubby to wear berms for the class... most prob my hubby will also be wearing berms... c u on tat day

marie, c u thr

<font color="ff6000">Update on my gynae visit.

I'm wk32 today. My bb has been in a down position since wk28. Gynae says there is still a possibility of bb shifting but chances are quite small as I am a first-time mummy. So my womb doesn't have that much space for bb to play around with.

Bb weighs 1.75kg now. Gynae did a detailed scan to track bb's growth and reported that all measurements are within the average range although the head a bit small.. Hmmm. wonder what she meant but she says it's likely to be no big issue. Bb also veered towards the small side coz hubby and I are both petite.

Out of curiosity, I asked gynae how bb's weight is estimated. She says it is based on the circumference of the tummy and the femur length (length of the thigh bone) *wah thinking of KFC thigh meat!!* She mentioned that my bb was very curled up so it is difficult to get the exact measurement. But in all estimations, there will be a +\-10% variation.

I also took the chance to ask her about the change of EDD and she says there is actually no such thing as a change in EDD wor. She says the EDD is just a baseline to see how far we are in our pregnancy. It's a guideline for gynaes to know what action/precautions to take should the mummy deliver before 37 wks wor.

I asked gynae also if she could let me know the estimated size my bb would be when delivered and she says it is difficult to estimate coz bb may suddenly gain extra weight at wk36 or 37.

I gained 3kg this month arh. I thought I only gained 1kg and was so proud of it but I kena conned by my weighing scale. Keep showing me 1kg increase when it was 3-fold!!!! &amp;*^$)@*#!$^#%&amp;*(@$&amp;*#*%&amp;@($&amp;

So to all the 'heavyweight' mummies out there, I have officially gained 16kg @ 32wks. So sad! I think I need more massages to melt my fat!!! </font>

<font color="ff6000">a word of caution!!!

Gynae says that we may eat a lot one week and only gain 1-2 weeks later leh. So be careful hor. Don't get conned by your evil weighing scale too!!

Ooh I know I very loh soh but forgot to add that gynae also said the increase in bb's weight depends on a lot of factors.

Besides eating more, which is the most obvious factor, resting is also impt leh. Apparently, if the bb is not gaining enough weight, gynae actually put mums on MC so that sufficient rest can help pump up bb's weight. Eating more protein instead of carbo also helps.

So if you want big bbies, rest more (advised by Ciarie and demonstrated by Jamgal who took 2 days of MC) and eat more protein. In short, just take time off to be a piggy for a while.

I think my baby has got potential to be bigger. Just that I am blocking its potential by always staying up late and posting on singaporemotherhood forum wor. keke</font>

<font color="ff6000">ooh. gao li shen is Korean ginseng. such high class thingy, no wonder I have no idea what it is lah. haha</font>