27 February 2009 - 01 March 2009

Event type : Family
Venue : Hall 6B
Admission : Public - Free admission
Event Schedules : Time:
27 & 28 Feb 09: 11am to 9pm
1 Mar 09: 11am to 8pm

Show Profile :
A Baby Bonanza for the whole family where exclusive deals and great promition at our showcase of maternity and babycare products.

Organizer : MediaCorp Pte Ltd

Contact Details :
Tel : +65 6483 8341
Fax : +65 6483 8698
Email : [email protected]

Hi DTS Mummy,,
WAt a long summarise , I so worried that my name is not mentioned in your post.. Hee Hee.. lucky I involved, but i the last one. Hahahaha

Re: Bubbly Tea party..

Sound good.. Me also feel attracted by all of your bubbly tea posting liao.. yesterday also go and buy 1 cup to drink.. Hahahahaha

Re : CDA And Cash Gift..

Thanks Pat for your weblink

Re : Stroller

I bought my Capella S705 in Baby Kingdom. I bought at $329 . no discount price at all.I would say.. baby kingdom sales ger, really quite pushy.. and they really have good knowledge in their product.. but as for Baby hypermart, the sales ppl don't really entertain u unless u ask them..

I think mummies should go to departmental stores to buy instead.. as right now, alot of sales coming now.. even 10 % discount, is about $30 savings.

Re : Diapers

I heard that CK Tang had 30 % discount on Pampers Diaper.. Since like a good deal..

SKS,

same here, baby kicks whenever i sleep on either side, i ask my gynae, she said to negotiate with baby wor..
i do so and now better, baby let me sleep lying on my right but left still cannot, she will kicks still..

Re:Stroller
My bro used the McClarens for my nephew..it's very stable and good but the neg pt is that it's not very suitable for infants cos it doesn't bend down all the way..but it's nice and not too heavy
I have a fren who uses Capella..tink got a few positions, reversible handle and so on but it's quite heavy though....around 8.5kg..Actually some of my frens tell me that buying of stroller can wait till the bb is born if you can't decide..cos you can put bb in and try it out..then, for some ppl, you may then decide that sling like bb bjorn is more suitable...

Re: Insurance
Wow, you gals are talking about insurance already..I haven't reali plan for bb manz..oops..tink will leave this to my hb..he's always the one to take care of all these...

Re: Back prob
I used to have back prob years back but it improved a lot after I took up yoga and swimming..now unless I walk for very long period of time, then I'll feel it again..

Pink Piglet: Oh dear, then wat's your alternative if the infant care is fully booked le? Me oso haven't go secure a place for my bb yet but I tot since I only intend to put her in jan 2010 so still got time to explore a bit..wanna find out a little more about the different infant care first..you might want to find out more nanny and bb sitters in your area then or settle for other infant care that are nearby first den transfer your bb to the nearest one once they have vacancy

Re: Bird's nest
Bird's nest is to improve bb skin..coconut only supposed to take towards the end of pregnancy..so that when bb come out, wun be so bloody...

wow so many topics!

re: stroller
i think i mentioned before i have combi which is not bad but find it too small for my chubby babe. if i could buy one again, i'd go maclaren. Think the Techno XT can use for newborns too.

but my boy hates being confined in stroller actually, so it's become sort of a white elephant. when i brot him to phuket, i found my baby sling a lifesaver. he didn't mind napping in it at all...whereas the pram was so cumbersome.

he never took to baby carriers (like baby bjorn) coz i think he finds it too hot.

re: insurance
will prob do the same thing for no.2, get Medishield coverage for hospitalisation and illness. being civil servant i get a discount with AIA. and then prob get another endowment plan for her education.

re: diapers
yah no need to stock up so early, different babies have different physiques so they will suit different brands better. better to get samples

for my boy, Nepia is the best. I call the hotline and order 4 packs at $15 each, they deliver right to me and it's cheaper than in NTUC.

re: back prob
very common as baby gets heavier, just rest more loh...take it easy mummies! and yah light exercise might help like 4eva says

re: Sales
Try to go to Taka baby fair if possible mummies. I found a lot of good buys there last time. Like the Pigeon steriliser bundle only $139 if i remember correctly. Included a newborn bottle kit (with like 6 bottles and brush etc), and a bottle/food warmer with the steriliser. If get those things separately, would have cost over $200.

wah... need 2 days to catch up on the fast moving thread!!!

re: swollen legs
m experiencing it for the past 2 wks liao... even HB said my calf like hippo
sianz... other parts lucky still manageable lor, at least arms not too flabby though is oredi flapping around when i wave bye bye...

re: infantcare/childcare
pink piglet: yup, i also agree w u and even argue with the childcare principal abt them intending to raise the fees this year onwards! i enquired last year for my #1 - to enrol her in Jun. the fees last year only $340/mth and wif subsidy, parents only pay $190/mth. then this year onwards, she say will increase at least $100 coz teachers pay also up, then nid to sustain/maintenance of facilities, etc.... so much *crap*... ultimately is wana charge more coz of the additional $150 subsidy from govt lor.

so come back to square one liao, got subsidy or not oso the same. then end up we r worst hit coz pay cut/pay freeze, etc but others still increase their charges! grrr....

re: insurance
can someone enlighten me on the AVIVA policy which gives our kiddos 20years of FOC coverage??

candigal: yes, is COLD HARD CASH of $4K! hiak hiak hiak....

i went to check out the name ofthe pain topical cream, its called BENGAY.. got 2 types..available at Guardian..
but as always, check with gynae before application ...
my back pain and baby movement keeping me awake at nite plus need to PEE everytime!!
i also hv neck and shoulder pain now.. abt a week now.. why leh i dunno..
started prenatal yoga last sat .. and hoping will last for another 10 weeks.
Pain or strain or relaxing of muscles near the buttocks, inner thighs and hips, i hear is part and parcel of your body getting ready for birthing process..

This thread is really fast moving these few days!

re: Stroller
I also bought Capella S705 thru iwry at $260. I like the design with more cushion compared to the others and it's only con is the weight.

re: Bubble Tea
I also love bubble tea! Fav is bubble milk tea with pearls. But I restrained myself from drinking during pregnancy. Only drank once till now.

Have u all got ur cot already? Where do u all get ur cot. I'm still looking for my cot.

Hi Koi. O you bought your Capella so cheap.. Hai.. I bought it at $329 in baby kingdom.. A bit regretted..

Anyway, I also bought my cot.. It cost me $300 for everything included the bedding set, and it comes with free installation and delivery..

Also at Baby Kingdom..

kittybride..

though its hard cash hor.. bt tell u.. its really nt enuf to cover those initial jabs and consultations tat e bb will have to go thru before reaching 18mos lo. :p:p

BUT, better than nothing.. :p:p

anyone abt e OCBC or SCB bank to open the acct for the #2 bb bonus thingy??

re: bubble tea
i miss my honey green tea w pearls lo....
but tis #2 dun like bubble tea.. few times after bubble tea, i'll sure puke..

even now, e mr bean's pearly also cannot take...
bb dun like!
sob......

Jas J, Ciarie posted the details earlier...

next sales going fwd:
till 18 Jan: Expo JL sale
Feb: Expo Babycare fair (Confirmed) -- Refer info in prev posts..
Mar: Taka baby fair (TBC)
Apr: all of us delivering.. no time for sales.. :p:p

tks ciarie!

re: stroller

my son also didn't like to sit in a stroller.. so good thing we didn't buy an expensive one. in fact, we didn't buy a stroller till he was abt 2-3 months old, bcos we don't foresee going faraway places with him in the early stages.

re: bubble tea

yeah, we should organise a bubble tea outing!

re: sleeping posture

I'm trying to sleep with elevated legs to prevent swelling and vericose veins, but somehow always slips down during the night. so now literally "qiao jiao" whenever possible in office.. hehe.. but too bad fingers and brain still moving at fast speed...

hehe Ciarie, i also dun like bubble tea now. this bb is a carbo junkie. fries, mashed potato, noodles, rice, all i WHACK!!!

any mummies tried the Clarins Energizing Emulsion? Seems to have help my tired legs and already there varicose veins. There's a very cooling feel after applying it, very shiok! haha

karrie, my kids all carbo junkie, i was not quite into rice, this one is a "fan tong", my no. 1 was a bread lover and still is

Hi LovJ,

Ya...iwry was organising a bulk purchase for Capella S705 sometime ago. Think the standard retail price for Capella S705 is $329. Went to a few places to compare and all the same $329. I went to Baby Kingdom too. Dun quite like the SA there so didn't get anything there.

Hi Jas,
Iwry is a April Mtb too. Maybe u can pm her.

Hi karrie,
Ic. I'm looking for cot tat can convert to a toddler bed so tat it can be used for a longer period of time.

RE: Stroller
I bought a Capella S705 too at $329, Mothercare, but since i have the discount card, the stroller ends up at $290+

I realise Mothercare stuff is really too expensive..I bought my cotbed there too. Everything, including matteress (without bedding set) cost me $487. So regret buying from there...

hehehe...karrie my bb likes carbo food too ... esp fries..n now tat McDonald has curly fries its so hard to resist ... i try not to pass by a Mc.. gynea said i put on too much weight last mth..now must control

Hi Koi...
so embarassing.. sorry, I didn't realise that. =p

Hi Candigal,
I'm getting my stuffs from mothercare too! Cos I got the vouchers from all my credit card points converted... keke! So kinda makes it pretty worth it. Bed+pram will cost around 500+. =)

O ya.. u all bought the stroller at cheap price leh..
only me buy from the shop where no discount at all.. hai..

That why now, i don't even bother to spend my effort to go down to the baby kingdom or hypermart, (suppose to be warehouse) thought will be cheaper..

Waste car petrol and etc..

I also like carbohydrates food.. but gynae stop me. say i only can put on 2kg per month...

I got craving for durian as well..

Hahahaha

My hubby say i very jia lat.. Now also fancy honeydew Ice-cream from Korea.. only sold at Selected NTUC and Carrefour..

Hai.... Is so hard to resist...

Hi LovJ, i was still intending to check out babykingdom again this weekend... so it seems the price is the same as retail price elsewhere...? so disappointing.

Anyone knows where can get nice pink (baby pink) tubs to bath baby in (I'm not looking at the ones from mothercare... too ex - more the traditional ones we were all bathed in before)?

Hi jas42,
That's good for you. For me, I already plan to boycott Mothercare, lol...they also messed up my delivery too which made me very pissed off..

Hi Koi,
If you are looking for a cot that can convert to a toddler bed, it will be a cotbed. Based from what i learn from Mothercare staff (yes, i think that's the only good thing i get from them), they said that cot can only be used up to 18-24 months, but cotbed can use up to 5 years of age, depending on the size also.

RE: Bathtub
I am also looking for Bathtub. Anyone knows any good place that sells good bathtub? If can get with stand one will be cool.

RE: Strollers
Actually prices of strollers and car seats are quite "regulated" in Singpore.. I also dunno why!! Jus buy wherever its cheapest and convenient! Like Jas.J, vouchers are even better!!

I am still thinking of which to buy.. very fickle minded mummy!! Maybe I don't really think I will use a stroller...

RE: Mothercare
Is there any sales coming for Mothercare?? I heard the sales are good!!

Anyone has any idea which MotherCare shop has the widest range of baby stuff? I love 1-stop shop!! Kiddy palace has a super big outlet in TPY! Can shop and rest and continue shopping!

Candigal! Your stroller is a good deal!! What is the weight? Got reversible handle? 360deg wheel turn? Suitable for newborn (recliner)??
How to be mothercare member?

RE: Bubbletea
Hmmm maybe we shouldn't be encouraging each other to drink bubble tea hor?? Is there a naturally sweet and healthier option?? I drank avocado milk today! Yummy too!

RE: Carbo
I LOVE carbo now too! Rice, noodles, pasta.. you name it! See, baby moving now.. getting excited even as I type his fave "carbo" list!

RE: Baby Kingdom
Hee ya! I also dun like baby kingdom sales service. They kinda like scrutinising your every move in the shop!! They also dun have warranty one leh.. say anything spoil jus bring back... and still dare tell me combi is MADE in JAPAN loh!

RE: Coconut
Yes yes! I heard should take every week during the last month so bb skin will be nice and not have those red patches ah!

Hi candigal...
share more pls? I have not bought from them... but just exchanged the vouchers already, so didn't want to waste it. I thought they should have a pretty good standard in customer service...

'stand one'? What do you mean?
I know the bathtubs at mothercare looks pretty good, but ridiculously ex... I looking for those selling at those hardware shops with pails...

Hi Jas J.

Ya. think u shouldnt waste effort going down to Baby kingdom.. Is like the price is same as anywhere else.. even baby Hypermart is the same..
Somemore, I dont like to keep shopping repeating.. So when I go there that time.. I just bought it. thought that it suppose to be cheaper than departmental store..

So it really the same..

Ya. Mothercare bath tub is really expensive leh.. Close to $100 one. I seen the package.. Wah.. Bath tub maybe make of expensive plastic hahaha.. Heard Mount alvernia provide a free bath tub. so dun intend to buy .. I believe the free gift is usable ba..

RE: Bathtub
Ya!! Mt A so good.. help to save the cost on the tub! I think normal tub price is about $30+. More fanciful ones with foldable tubs and other stuff are super ex! Usually cheaper if you buy online too! But the shipping will kill us as it is a bulky item!

I am looking for one with the recliner thing so baby won't slip, bottom water release, and hopefully comes built in with a temperature sensor? I would love a bathtub stand too! Coz I think no tubs can fit into my toilet basin ah...

RE: TMC Freebies
Just check the TMC website!!
What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
. personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
. maternity brassieres
. cardigan or dressing gown
. bedroom slippers
. sanitary belt (optional)
. sanitary towels (optional)
. polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
. baby vests
. disposable diapers
. toiletries
. a baby bag
. wrapping blanket
. a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

So TMC only got freebies for babies, excluding bathtub!

re: bathtub

the Mt A one is quite useful.. but it's blue-green in colour

re: cot vs convertible bed

i bought a basic cot from kiddy palace, think ard $100+, and when my boy was nearly 2, we moved him to a regular single bed with bed rails. I find the convertible one a bit expensive (ard $300 range?), and u still have to buy a regular bed after that.

Hi baby_mummy,
I became a Mothercare member upon buying the cotbed, so i believe once you spent certain amount, you will automatically become a member.

As for the stroller, the weight is 5kg with reversible handle. Wheel can turn 360deg for all 4 of them and yes, the stroller seat is very suitable for newborn (can recline all the way to nearly 180deg). Most importantly, the shade cover can pull all the way, so when baby is sleeping while on the move, he/she will not be affected by the sunlight or bright lights. My hubby and I love this stroller!

RE: Carbo
I am also a CARBO lover! Also, i keep having the thoughts of McDonalds, LJS, KFC and etc...I also eat ice-cream occassionally....sounds bad for my baby?

Hi jas42,
I'm not sure if all outlets from Mothercare are like that. The outlet i went is in Harbourfront Centre...When I bought the cotbed and stroller, the sales staff told me that someone will call me on the very next day to arrange the delivery date. Indeed, someone did call me on the next day but when i asked her if she could deliver on a specific date, she told me that she needs to check and would call me back...After she called me again, telling me that the date i wanted was full and had to be after the New Year. Hence, I asked her for the closest Saturday after the NY. Once again, she told me she needed to check and would call me back again...This time, she did not revert to me.

I called them back on the next evening to find out how the checking she claimed is..and shockingly, she told me her logistic manager is not around and thus couldn't find out if my delivery date is available! So...she said, she would get back to me once her logistic manager is back, which she claimed to be the next day, again..Then, due to my work, i left this issue aside for at least 3 days before i called them back again. This time, i was so pissed off with them that i demand to speak to their store manager. Funniest part was...she said her manager wasn't around and got her delivery manager to talk to me.

I scolded that delivery manager for like 10 mins on the phone, telling him that being a first-time customer, this was the type of service i got, which made me feel that it's not worth to visit Mothercare again. He kept apologising to me for that, explaining that his staff did not follow up well enough, causing this to happen. He confirmed my delivery date later on, and fair enough, his delivery man is freaking punctual, making me wonder if he told his man that this is a nasty customer, lol! All in all, i felt it's a poor follow up done by the female sales staff which caused my bad encounter with them.

Oh geez! I never expect myself to type so much...but this is really frustrating during that time...

Hi Candigal... oh dear... I could feel your frustration... I would be if I were in your shoes too! Was it the same person you spoke to each time?

I can't wait to have the cot and pram in my home... I think that would set me right into the mood straight! =p

Hi jas42,
It was the same person all the time..that's why so frustrating, lol....And yes, ever since the cotbed was placed in the baby room, i couldn't help but peek inside everytime i walk pass the room ^^

Candigal! Thanks for the info! I like your stroller even from the description!! So rare to find a 360deg for all 4 wheels at such price and it is 5kg! I will go test it out this weekend! =)

Jas J, same like u... the more baby stuff I have at home, the more is the reality that I am going to be a mummy soon!!

karrie & SKS
we're in e same boat!!!
tis lil bb inside me is really making me super junk!
my fav food nw is McChicken or Mcnuggets! faint!!!

pink piglet..
nt too sure though.. cos i havent been there myself.. though i stay so near... :p:p

tonight gg to ikea to see see look look cos thking to reorganize my room to prepare e new arrival of my #2...
hee...

Ikea got sell bath tubs n I find it similar quality with Mothercare ones.. only $20..

i think babyavenue car seats r quite reasonable.. they also having promotion for baby cot now..

It's been a long time since I post...

Re. Weight gain
Am in 25weeks now, baby is about 650g and I have only put on 4kg.
Lass weight gain this 2nd time round, compared to when I had my boy.

Re. Stroller
For my boy, I have been using the sling for the 1st 3 months which is good for young infant. I only got a stroller at about 3 months cos HB was going for a business trip to UK and I decided to follow him and we brought my boy along. We bought a Combi stroller (at S$169 from John Little, that's about 3 years ago) and I must say it's a very good stroller. It's very light and very easy to manuever and hardy. It's still in good condition now and we have brought the stroller to Europe, Bangkok and Malaysia!
Only complains I have are that it is not umbrella-fold and it's rather small. After the baby turns 1 year or so, it's no longer very comfortable to sleep in it.
For my #2, I'm still comtemplating whether to get a new stroller. Am considering McClaren Quest this time but I don't think I will get one till after the baby is born.

Re. Insurance
It's a must, especially medical and hospitalisation coverage. I have learnt the hard way with my boy. I didn't get one for him and only got one after he was hospitalised for rotavirus at 1 year old. The hospital bill costs us more than $1000. So after that, I bought the insurance, and when my boy was hospitalised for HFMD at 2 years old, his bills are fully covered by the insurance.
Also, do get one before or immediately after baby is born cos the insurance is likely to cover all illnesses as long as it's not already detected at pre-natal stage or when first borned. For my boy, he has a hole in a heart which was only discovered when he was about 3 months old. When I bought the insurance, heart conditions are not covered.

re bathtubs...if u're not fussy, those little HDB shops sometimes sell like for $10 cheap cheap. i got a big looney tunes one for $10 at a baby fair 2 years back...

tho i must say the bathing recliner is useful. my son stopped crying during his baths after we started using that. i think i got the tub + recliner set from BHG Bugis...for less than $20.

Koi, right now my son using an Ikea cotbed which we got second-hand for $100, which can be converted to a nice toddler bed to be used until 4 yrs old. So if u interested can go Ikea and see...but drawback is the base height cannot be adjusted, and there's no drop-side latch. very hard for me to put my son in coz of my big tummy now...

Ciarie, yah, our appetite really influenced by baby hor. this bb v funny. hate pork. i usually love meatballs, minced pork (bak chor mee) but now the taste of pork makes me wanna puke.