(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Ya lor karrie, I was thinking along the same lines also leh. Auto open, then if the baby can auto crawl out, maybe gynae only need to charge you for stitches only kekeeke.

But if the baby can auto crawl out, I think I will faint first. Then maybe got higher hospital charges for the doctor to revive me.. hahahhaaha

Pat! U are super funny in your description!

Ya loh I also eat snake... shhh hope don't get discover soon. Alternating between 2 screens. *wink*

Heee my voice not nice to admire leh! So irritated ah.. so I just press on my nose and swallow. It will unblock in a while.. But the action looks very stupid especially when I was in the middle of a conversation.. or walking against the traffic.. People walking past must be thinking who is this crazy woman loh!

Pink Piglet! Thanks for the info on white fungus!! Alamak! I always make the white fungus dessert and leave it in the fridge for a few more servings over the next few days!! Didn't know I've been poisoning myself!! I better make small portions from now on!

I love Hashima! But my dear mummy don't let me take coz Hashima is "liang" as in cold.. so not suitable for pregnant mummies. It is sooo much cheaper than bird nest!

RE: Natural after C-Sect
My mom has 2 natural births after 1 C-Sect due to low placenta!! So I think it is POSSIBLE!! So Karrie you do have an alternative!!!

RE: Birthing Plan
What is a birthing plan? And what do you write in it?

RE: Chicken Essence
I think this should be good coz I read about experiences from mummies who nearly lost their babies in the 1st trimester who went on a Chicken Essence diet daily managed to secure their pregnancy to full term! They are really hardworking! Double boil their own chicken essence!! Lazy me just drank from the bottles.. (using the NEW bottle/food warmer I bought for baby.. heehee)

baby mummy, forum is a place to destress mah. so sometimes talk a bit of rubbish, although not very informative.

Then Pink Piglet, birds nest can keep for a few days to more than 1 wk? My MIL makes for me, then my mum also makes for me. They very funny one, both make for me at the same time every time. So end up, I either have none to drink or too much to finish. So I keep for about a week or so.

Think about chicken essence I feel like puking already. I find it so horrible tasting leh. Last time my mummy used to force me to drink it especially on the mornings of impt exam dates. I remember emptying the contents into my mouth and then just keeping it there. Cannot swallow. The throat just won't open leh. So now, got natural aversion to chicken essence.. yeeks!!

I'm also curious about the birthing plan. You mean you write down if you want caesarean or natural birth right? Then write down the steps arh?? hahahhaah The more I think, the more I am giggling..

Step 1 : Change into hospital gown and wait for contractions.

Step 2 : Watch tv and listen to MP3 while hubby massages me

Step 3 : Wah contractions come, faster press button call for nurse

Step 4 : Gynae must break my waterbag if it is still not broken coz tah bolek tahan, very painful. Baby better come out fast!!

Step 5 : okok, my imagination is going wild liao.

How does the birthing plan work huh?

baby_mummy, yah i heard of so many cases can have natural after c-section! so i made sure i found a doctor who would be supportive of my decision.

birth plan contains your preferences so ur gynae and the hospital staff will know what u want in certain events (coz u may not be able to communicate it very well when you're in the midst of giving birth) e.g. no continuous electronic fetal monitoring, no induction before 42 weeks, what kind of birthing positions u wanna take etc etc lah. but u would need to go thru it with your gynae and communicate your preferences well in advance, coz some gynaes would rather do things their way.

Reading Pat's "Birthing Plan" reminds me of this book: Shopaholic & Baby by Sophie Kinsella.

Becky has a really cool birth plan including aromatherapy, some lotus flower water birth etc and she shops in those high class baby shop and even has a celebrity gynae!! There is even a section on the coolest strollers!

Nice read for a good dose of laughter, anytime!!

baby_mummy,

i bought an avent manual breastpump prior to delivery, cos it's supposed to be value for money. around 1st week post partum, i had some engorgement so the pump was useful in helping to drain off some milk. It's a bit risk taking, whether u want to invest in an expensive electric pump like medela right fr the start. For me, my initial thinking was to buy a cheaper manual pump, then upgrade to an electric one after my supply is confirmed there. i stuck with the avent manual eventually cos it worked fine for me, so saved some money lah..

re: blocked ears

u're referring to the situation where u can hear your own voice, like it amplifies inside your ear? or u can't hear others clearly? these are 2 different conditions. I've got the 1st type, but then it's a pre-existing condition, so not attributed to pregnancy.

pat,

u're quite lucky to get freshly brewed bird's nest leh.. only my hb buys those bottled ones that tasted like sugar water, even though it's new moon brand. anyway, heard that we shouldn't drink bird's nest in 3rd tri? trying to clear my stock of bottled ones (cos previously guarding it too preciously to drink.. haha). supposed to start on coconut drink closer to delivery...

Pat.. U can off work so early one..

By the way, thanks for the website,as I having first child.. think i entitled for the 4k cash gift, and another 6k for the CDA Account. So is separate right?

pat...
our salaries will go up... but bare minimum which is not enuf to cover much..

hashima is xue ge is it???

if so, und fm my MIL tat its high in cholestrol.. if mummies are taking, watch for diet.. dun think too much.

re: bbsitter's price
think its more less that region, and some still need to top up at later stage when bb starts to eat porridge, cos they have to buy fish, rice grains, etc to cook porridge for bb lo..

LovJ,

Ya i think we should give our feedback. other benefits include tax relief..childcare leave, cash bonus etc...can refer to the website Pat mentioned.

U should be able to get the info (flyer) from your hospital (cust.service counter)

Pat,

what Hashima, izzit "Yue Har"?? If its Yue Har, I did enquire from the TCM (Fu Hua), they person dont really recommend it to preggie mom, cos if not mistaken he said it maybe be a little cooling for MTB.

They would probably recommend some other herbs..but i said we may not be able to tell the origin or quality of the herbs..so i think in a way we are taking at our own risk ba.. aiyo...bb sitter also not cheap leh...sianz..

huh "rib fractured by her kicking baby", jialet leh, must b a bb boy...potential football player sia..

wah so are so lucky leh...having 2 mamas to make birdnest for ya.. keeping birdnest for up to a week..hmmm...i guess there wont be chemical effect , but i not sure whether the nutrient will still be there after keeping so long nia.why not take one at night another next morning kekekek...siok man!

But i know some pple said the best time to absord the nutrient is in the morning after waking up. some said before sleep.

Baby mummy..

same here...now i'm taking the bottled essense, intent to take the double boil one during my confinement. cos got pple to do for me ma... but i m thinking of using just half a chicken then using one.. cut cost and in case i put on alot drink so much everyday ma..kekeke

Ciarie,

Yap Yue Ge/ Yue har is the fats from the "frog"... but if not mistaken they r healthy fats (also info from TCM)...so they not supposed to be fatty.. if they r fatty i guess we would have see a thick layer of fats when its cooked.

wow another flurry of posts just after half a day!!

oh dear! I've been eating pineapple tarts after i baked them over the weekend leh, i reckon should be safe ba, although i dun quite fancy the fruit, pineapple tart is another story!!

my mil will call me almost everyday to remind me to drink the chicken essence b4 when i'm going in to pop and pack 1 or 2 bottles to up my energy level, think it helps abit ba. My no. 1 i was in labour ward for 20+ hours and still up and about next day, eh and maybe age also makes a diff!

hahah i also got my fix of lychee red tea with pearls after this talk about bubble tea!! it has been kinda like my fav since getting pregnant

wow juxta..
nt too much essence of chix... everything u take, do in moderation..
cos i heard too much can cause high cholestrol..

nt too sure if true or nt..

pink piglet
oic.. bt moderation is still the no 1 rule for everything..

re: bb absorbing nutrients
understand e body goes thru regeneration is during our sleep.. hence, usually i'll take all these before i sleep, so tat my body can absorb all these during the regeneration phrase when i sleep..

but of cos, some pple said its in the moni..
but any case, it will nt be wasted so long as it gets into our body..

and now.. its even more value-added... why??
cos, its 1 person take, 2 person benefit!!!

wahaha... :p:p

Ciarie, no lah, i dun like the after taste of it leh, esp now tastebud so sensitive, is only the day to deliver must take according to mil to boost the energy level.

I also take some cordyceps, i'm asthmatic leh, and my no. 1 got very bad respiratory issues also, hopefully can help the no. 2 ba haha

3rd tri cannot take birds nest? i havent quite start to eat also, lazy to boil, how i wish i got someone to plonk a steaming bowl on my table, hahah wishful thinking!!

this thread is moving super duper fast! must be the sinking in of the impending EDD and the CNY spirit invading... =) thanks to all those who answered my previous questions - theres some really good advice, especially on baby insurance/breastpump. =)) yes, yes all the way april MTBs - we're almost there! welcome to sanni, pamela, joyce and SKS. be prepared for my superduper long post [never post for almost 2 weeks liao lah - tahan ok?]

yvonne: its funny what u wanna read to ur baby - scarly out comes a baby bernanke! =D i also had a bit of bleeding on-off in the past week, now much better, and scan is also fortunately normal. but what we must be very aware of this entity called abruptio placenta [separation of placenta from the uterine] - any time you feel painful contractions or increased bleeding, u need to go back to the obs to check up...

dodos: sleep disturbances are quite common in pregnancy i think. for urinating problem, i think its probably contributed by constipation [no space], but maybe the next time u go to ur obs, can ask for a urine test and check. why do u think u have a chance of popping early?

juxta: perhaps its hormonal [also some women do get prenatal blues which has a psychological aspect to it], but watch out for prenatal depression

eunice: try not to nurse negative thoughts lah and pray hard that baby comes out just in time... =p

kittybride: hows the GTT? wah u really have to control ur weight gain sia... anyway i dont understand the logic of naming ur son after ur FIL's grandpa? is ur hubby's name ur FIL's greatgrandpa's name? with regards to the markedly increased discharge, maybe its better u see ur obs and do a vaginal swab/further checkup [i hope its not amniotic fluid leaking, especially if it's watery...]

bargainhunter3: i presume u mean cervical polyp [at the other end of the vagina], otherwise i think its strange to do a pap smear. with regards to genetics, it pretty much depends on how strong the genetic component is. did u manage to ask the insurance agent what exactly the FBI free 6mths covers? in heartburn, u can get a burning sensation behind the chest bone and an acidic sensation in the mouth. also can't
remember which mummy strongly discourages PETPET because the lining is very stiff and cut into her kid's skin... better go for quality than cost for disposable [consider cloth nappies?]

ciarie: if u r keen to update the tracking list, dev19 [who has since moved to the march MTB thread] last updated it in either nov/dec, so u can search in the archives for it... =))

baby_mummy: at 300g at 24 weeks, your baby is really quite small... is it consistently small and did the obs say anything special about it? also, have u been checked up for ur bleeding - u are anaemic and u r bleeding from so many places... must watch ur sugars horh - so much hi-chew! birdsnest i find quite yummy too and that's why when hubby makes it, ill merrily chomp it. and yeah, im the same as u, i like the avent designs and nuk teats! well, my post is gonna be much longer than any of urs... kekeke...

kidzskidz: i always find your comments so practical and helpful... =)

pink piglet: have u gotten ur blood pressure checked recently? otherwise, some people with migraine can get worsening headaches with pregnancy, or caffeine withdrawal as mentioned by a couple of mummies... regarding infantcare, at least uve got a backup nanny now...

jacqueline: when u go to ur obs, just make sure ur BP is ok and ur urine test has no protein [beware pre-eclampsia]... but i have been having mild feet swelling for maybe 3 weeks already - better in the morning and worse at night, probably due to fluid retention.

patpl: i think the obs gauges if u need an GTT based on ur family history or past history of gestational diabetes, and presence of sugar in urine test. wedding anniversary depends on u, but i think most people celebrate on the customary marriage day [fortunately my ROM and customary same day]. kekeke - i like ur sense of humour about C-section scars and birthplan... think a lot of pp take traditional date as wedding anniversary, but guess it's up to u [well my ROM and customary dates are the same, so no problem]... for C-section, the chances of normal delivery decreases progressively with each C-Section, and with the increasing risk of uterine rupture [it's just like scar tissue is much weaker than muscle], when there's 2 previous C's already, your obs will push u for a 3rd C [and no more kids after that]... and i think an unforseen uterine rupture is a much more complicated surgery than a calculated C-section - so it's gonna be more expensive! =p

pravina: forgetfulness is quite common - its called 'pregnesia' =D

SKS: please go to your obs and get a vaginal swab - u r probably having an infection. if u r recently using pantyliners, u may need to change frequently or stop completely.

lovej: do read the baby bonus website thoroughly - it will help u understand better. it elaborates on the CDA account and what u can use it for - basically for every $1 u contribute, the government puts in $1 the next month, up to the max for the birth order.

re: baby movement and talking to baby
my baby loves to disturb me with his successive kicks when i lie on either side, so i can adjust to a more comfy position for him, most of the time that's face-up =D i can feel him move more when i rub my tummy than visually though, but maybe that's coz im not really looking [lazy...] even though he likes to wake me up with his kicks, especially around 5am in the morning, it gives me such a sense of joy just to feel him tumbling around [i guess i would feel more worried if he didnt move]... yeah, my hubby also only talk [more or less the same few words too] to baby, mostly after i remind him to. as for me, im talking to baby a fair bit since the beginning of the year, though not really reading stories...

re: stroller
so most babies tend to outgrow combi strollers fast? what about maclaren and peg perego? mummies, where's the best place to shop for strollers? my hubby is looking for a stroller we saw that has a removable component that can serve as a car seat/baby carrier - any clue what brand it is? any brand that can be used from 0-3yrs?

re: weight gain, bloatedness
it's pretty scary - think ive gained 7kg or more, the most of it was early to mid 2nd trimester... sometimes i bloat so much after i eat that it's actually painful, so ive to eat less, but its a bit difficult to gauge coz the bloating frequently starts 30min after finishing my meal...

re: name
i liked the names u gals have chosen for ur kids though - nice! ive had a christian name in my mind since a couple of years ago, but its kinda tough finding a unique yet nice-sounding chinese name though... im just glad that my husband's family has no 'jia pu' entity... for the hainanese in my parents' and my generation though, they still followed the 'jia pu' which is located in the village back in hainan island, though i think it highly unlikely that my brother will continue that... think what ciarie suggested about asking ur FIL to contact a relative back in hainan island is reasonable, rather than starting ur own 'jia pu' without even trying to find the real 'jia pu'... but it's a bit scary to rock the boat if u cannot tahan a worse-sounding name or offending your FIL... =p

re: hainanese men & women
interesting to see so many WOHM [wives-of-hainanese-men] in april MTBs. well, they are difficult to generalise. my dad's pretty MCP and self-centred, and i have never seen him dote on my mum [seriously]. on the other hand, however, both my uncle and brother are pretty opinionated but they do respect and care for their other halves. as a pure-bred hainanese woman, dont think im fierce horh - what does 'chia' mean [u better 'exprain' properly... OoooKkkk?] kekeke... as for the language itself, its quite coarse, but i always find a whole bunch of hainanese old folks yakking fun to watch - like a lost culture... all in all, it really doesnt matter what dialect group your spouse is from - im just so glad to have my sweet and loving teochew hubby... =))

re: cravings
mmm, hi-chew is one of my fave sweets too. dont think ive much craving except for pineapple tarts and muay [yes, good ole simple cai beng muay]...

re: confinement & confinement food.
babymummy, thanks for the list of confinement food providers! does anyone know what's the website for select? we were looking at confinement food menus & prices - kinda ex - my cute hubby offered to make me confinement food [after the 1st week] wor... kekeke... he's a pretty decent cook. =) for those mummies who have done confinement, can i ask if u spent 1 whole month confined in the house also? i think i won't be able to tahan that... also don't think i can tahan not bathing [will probably do every other day with warm water as suggested by some mummies...]

re: lower-income mummies & baby bonus
i think it's hard to generalise; sometimes they are so cash-strapped that they can only afford that for their kid? look at the infant formula - so ex! also remembered reading a newspaper article where the single mum had to juggle expenses between her 4-5 kids, and the youngest just drinks milo instead of milk because its cheaper... of course i could've said 'no money why have so many kids - cannot control meh', but then i always have to tell myself it's easy for me when i look out at the outside world from my bubble of comfort... regrettably also, the government cannot save everyone, and equally amazingly, not everybody in need stands out to get aid [self-esteem and probably a gross lack of the very knowledge that the savvy have easy access to and utilise to their benefit].

DTSmummy,
that's a very long post..financial and stock market news is the only reading that i will do everyday plus now we face global financial crisis..

re: eating birdnest
i use slow cooker to boil and portion it into small portion for 1 week supply, i will keep the cooked birdnest in freezer, take 1 container out every night before sleep to de-froze and drink it in the morning like 4/5am when i wake up to pee, apparently that's when our stomach is empty and able to absorb the birdnest well..

Hi DTSmummy,

I am also getting servere backpain and I think it's still very early in my 3rd trimester....still worried. Will check with gynae in 2 days time.

Today my colleague keep phycoing me to go for c-section because I had C-section in my previous pregnancy (twins).....

Hi all mummies!

This thread is moving so fast i can't even find my own posts, lol....

RE: TMC Prenatal Class in Feb
I am also taking the Prenatal class in Feb! For those signed up already, hope to cya there!~

RE: cravings
I do not have cravings (my hubby was so glad about this) but I couldn't help but drinking cold drinks...I can tahan not drinking fizzy drinks, but at least the plain water must cold...is it bad for the baby?

Tingting, I think we are referring to blocked ears as in we can hear others but we can't hear exactly how loud we are when we're talking coz we hear our own voices in our heads.

Not supposed to drink birds nest in the 3rd trimester? never heard that leh. I thought it's too cooling for the 1st trimester. Subsequently, many mums actually drink it weekly prior to their delivery wor. Says it will give bb nice skin or what. But think coconut works the same way plus it results in 'cleaner' babies?? dunno leh, heard from ppl one.

LoveJ, no lah. I logged off coz no one chatting but I was still in office. Earliest I leave is 530, which is not very often wor. Must geh geh work harder so boss will give better bonus. haha

Yayayaya, hashima is xue ge or shi kup keke. that's high in cholesterol? didn't know that. seldom take that also but it really is a good substitute for birds nest lor. I thought it's supposed to be very nutritious too leh.

I don't know about when is the best time to take it but I always try to take it on almost empty stomach. I always overstuff myself at night, so I don't drink birds nest at night one. I only drink the next morning when I wake up. Coz that's the only time i'm sure my stomach's empty.

Actually yes lah. I am quite lucky to have 2 portions of birds nest but scared wasted if i keep so long, then cannot reap the nutrients already mah.

I thought bb absorbs most of the nutrients from birdsnest right? Mummy absorb meh? I don't find myself prettier or healthier after taking birdsnest leh. Only happier coz sweet sweet (again) keke.

wah juxta also bubble tea lover.. kekekek. next time we should arrange a bubble tea outing. haha last time there used to be a lot of bubble tea cafes around but now none to be found liao.

wah seh, Ciarie, financial & stock market news leh. Please give us some tips leh. Then we can all be very happy April mummies..

CNY is almost here. HUAT arh!!!!

DSTmummy,

Ya. He give me a list. Maybe copy the list for you all tonight cause keep at home le.. Free coverage start from after first month till six not 0 month. Look like my acidic sensation in my mouth is heartburn sign. Now I know he he.. Think I will re-consider Pet Pet. Thank you very much for your info k.

Hi Pat,
Wa... Thanks for the baby bonus link. Very informative le... I think blocked ears is normal cause I have it too.. Think is because we taking too much heaty med and food. But just uncomfortable la.. Maybe reduce heaty food will helps cause I avoid chili now. hehe... Very pity.. Chili lover can't take chili

RE: Bird Nest
I don't like Bird Nest. Especially when I have to select the feather out by myself. My eyes almost drop out by doing this. But still have to force myself to take it for BB's nice skin :p

All,

Anyone have any idea where can we feedback on the maternity benefits? not sure whether the baby bonus website does allow us to raise our concerns..

Today papers is talking abt increasing salary of the childcare teachers. i think they r trying ways to increase the price of infantcare & childcare after govt increase the subsidy. most slightly NTUC childcare will increase another $130+ on their childcare price in near future.then what the point of govt increasing childcare grant from $150 to $300. ot very sure of infant care yet..most slightly they will do the same.

DTS,

Hmmm...check my blood pressue once every mth during my appt lor..so far still ok, tomolo going for next appt and see how. but last two day i stop having it liao. hopefully its ok.

I was reading the baby bonus information provided by pat and I wish to ask everyone about this...

Government mentioned about <u>Cash Gift</u> of $4000 for 1st child. What does the Cash Gift means? Is it in real hard cash or something else? Just wanna clear my doubts

pat, haha good idea on bubble tea party, they must be like whats this group of preggies doing!

candigal, yes is cold hard cash given in 4 instalments to defray costs which is never enough! haha but better than nothing lah. And now there's the CDA for 1st baby too, so good! When I had #1, only $3k cash.

jacqueline,
i hv a pre-existing back problem and it has gotten worse in the last 2 weeks.
mebbe you might wanna look into getting a belt support for pregnant women; it alleviates your pain somewhat..
i also apply some topical muscle cream and best you check with your doctor which ones are suitable for you.
benaryl( i think its spelt wrongly) is effective and available at pharmacies.
always check with your gynae before trying.
a hot pack might also help which are also available at pharmacies.

heartburn
its a strange burning uncomfortable feeling between the breasts and where you measure your chest size for bra sizing.
it can feel like a burning sensation, bloatedness, or feel like food is stuck in your throat.
ENO helps, Rennie and TUMs help too.
Gaviscon helps too but does not work for me..=(

pat,

if i m not wrong, whatever we ate will be absorbed by our body first before going to placenta and stored there as food supply for baby..

anyone has a complete list of things to prepare / get ready to welcome the new born, i mean stuff that are needed for both mummy and baby when we are in hospital for delivery as well as at home after delivery..i m a bit lost now, got things a bit here and there, not sure if i missed out anything...

HI,
its confirmed i have an infection but not to sure how sever it is. so keeping my fingers crossed.

Pineapple tarts:
Its ok to eat them as long as u do it in moderation. I was eating them during Depavali n Hari Raya and I was only 3mths then.

Chicken essence:
Yes the taste sucks but i am forced to take it by my wonderful mothers' but i do so only 2-3 times a week. afraid of the cholestrol level.

insurance:
i'm so lost with this topic. as am with the FBI program with TMC, will be meeting the agent soon. wat wld be the best insurance plan to recommend? i heard abt the NTUC one. am still so confused abt it..hehehe...

i have severe back ache as well and it seems to get worst, i woke up this morning at 3 plus and my back ache like hell, i din get back to sleep until 5 plus..very siong ah like that...

hi mummies!!
GOOD MORNING!!

re: DTSmummy... u r like a summary machine wo... long posts to sum up all our topics for e past few days.. wahaha...
:p:p

re: white fungus
yesterday, my hb told me tat e news was talking abt white fungus was tested with poison in dunno which country...

was looking ard for e article but cant seem to find it..

fm wat i know, capella offers e infant carrier &amp; pram 2-in-1 together.. maybe u can go Robinsons to check out their wide selection of prams and try out their handling for each and every brand.
as for price, i wld say its more less controlled pricing, probably will make a diff if there's a sale going on.

next sales going fwd:
till 18 Jan: Expo JL sale
Feb: Expo Babycare fair (Confirmed) -- Refer info in prev posts..

Mar: Taka baby fair (TBC)
Apr: all of us delivering.. no time for sales.. :p:p

re: Baby bonus
any bb #2 mummies here?? any idea, if its better to open e Baby acct w SCB or OCBC better??
heard there's another thread that's talking abt tis, but cant find it wo..

re: Back problem
maybe like wat pravina mentioned, go get some muscle cream to relieve e pain cos right nw, its better nt to take any medication to relieve backache... think cream is still e better solution. if nt, heat pack also works wonder to relieve backache.

hey, i've got pre-existing backache prob too, lately also worsen. And i've been having sleepless nights, wake up like 3am and cant get back to bed until 5-6am, so duh, i'm literally a zombie rest of the day. So tired but still cant sleep at night, is a torture!

re: chix essense
juxta.. think other than e chix essense tat u mus take on e day of delivery, suggest u can cook some fish porridge to eat as well..

cos once u r in e hospital, u cant take food anymore...
so better to take some porridge before u admit..
of cos, tats on e scenario tat u still hv time for tat.. and nt those suddenly water bag burst la.. etc rushing to hospital, yet still want to take porridge.. :p:p

have been dealing with back probs since 1mth ago. am so afraid of wat is to come in the next following mths

Ciarie, yeah the last time my contractions started, i washed hair and showered but forgot to grab a bite b4 going in cos was like 3am. i was so so hungry as I was in the labour ward for so long the 1st time, So desperate to eat, then the midwives were like, dun worry u wont be malnourished cos u've got drip on. Is not that! I was just starving to death!

DTS Mummy! That's a long but nice summary of all previous postings!!

RE: Strollers
There are 4 "warehouses/showrooms" style where you can test and check out strollers.
1) Baby Avenue - Balestier
http://www.baby-avenue.com/index.asp
520 Balestier Road, #01-02 Leong On Building, Singapore 329853
2) Baby Hypermart - Kaki Bukit
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park
3) Baby Kingdom - Kaki Bukit
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 #01-00 Shun Li industrial park
4) Tai Sing - North Bridge Road
http://www.taising.com/

The two in Kaki Bukit is located just about a 2-3min walk away from each other.

<u>Baby Hypermart</u> has the widest range of car seats, Peg Perego/Maclaren/Maxi Cosy range of strollers &amp; Carseats. They don't carry Combi. I see cots, Baby Bjorn carriers too! I like this shop too for the many many stuff they carry. But a bit cramp to really try out strollers and its quite packed with kids, infants, parents and even grandparents!

<u>Baby Avenue</u> has the neatest range. But to enjoy the best discount, you will need to join as member. Not really worth it as you can get the same products at the discounted price in the other stores! But they have really helpful sales people, gives good advices and I like the neat displays and more roomy space to try out the strollers.
They carry most brands except Capella. A good first stop to get the basics right before moving to those in Kaki Bukit! They have limited range of cots, bottles, toys etc. They also carry the "Bfree brand" of bottles. More "high class" in short.

<u>Baby Kingdom</u>
They carry combi &amp; capella as well has a range of car seats, cots. 2nd storey has baby clothes, bathtubs, baby wraps etc. Similar to kiddy palace retail stuff. So far this is the only shop which I see selling "capella" brand.

<u>Tai Sing</u>
Never been there before! But I heard it is like the "distributor" of Combi products. Will make a trip there to get my short listed combi stroller &amp; car seat! Check their website! They have price range listed too and the products they carry.

Combi is a Japan brand but most of their products are made in China. Think only combi has the lightest weight of strollers in 4kg range. On the down side, light = less stability. The one hand close is good! Good for petite sized mummies. Also, if you would like the infant facing position, Capella &amp; Combi has this function of changing the side of the handle so you can push and see baby at the same time!

Maclaren strollers are also made in china so.. not much to fuss about unless mummies would like to go a class higher to Peg Perago, Britax etc. (Made in UK, I think). Maclaren strollers are very stable. But heavy!! 6kg range. They close up to quite a compact size. Like umbrella like that. But u will need to bend down to do the final closure.

Peg Perego's strollers are so cool looking, just like Maxi Cosy. I think both brands offer the baby carriers that double as car seat and also the strollers! Note that infant carriers only last till 12months!

I actually don't know much about strollers &amp; carseats until I did a 1-day exploration trip to the 3 showrooms mentioned!! Yup, it takes just 1 day to learn the basics &amp; check the cost. After that, it's research and matching of your needs/ preference and cost!

Don't be surprise that those Baby "Palaces" are all very industrial looking!! You won't miss it as they place so many strollers/ car seats outside their showrooms!

Happy Shopping!!

with all these backache and sleeping problems, by the time we deliver, we all will have panda eyes...i seems to lack concentration also, especially when i drive, so now dare not drive fast..

Thanks pink_piglet &amp; juxta!

I agree that no matter how much they give us, it will never ever be enough!!!

RE: Insurance
I am also planning to get one for my Newborn. If anyone knows of a good plan, please do let me know too!

RE: Strollers
I've bought mine at Mothercare. Not really sure where is good to buy at but what i bought was Capella 705.

My hubby doesn't like all other brands especially Maclaren cos Maclaren strollers' cover cannot pul all the way down (he' afraid of baby getting exposed to sunlight during strolling or shopping). Combi was my next choice, but too bad I do not see one i like.

I suggest to mummies to opt for strollers that easily foldable (in case hubbies not around), and try to get one that has reversible handle.

RE: Pain!
I also here pain there pain leh!! With the amount of weight pregnant mummies are expected to gain, it almost like an addition of 40-50% of my original weight!!

I have posterior pelvic pain on top of all those mentioned!! Haa I learn this term from Babycentre one! It is a pain that one feel deep inside your buttocks (on one side or both) or in the back of your thighs. Mine is inside my buttock! When I go massage, I told the gal buttock pain.. but she just cant seem to locate the "site" and massage it away!!
I think I sit, bend, twist and walk too much! Anyone got the same problem??

RE: Bubble tea Party!

Sounds good leh!! Yum yum!!

I think there are those taiwaness snack shop that sells bubble tea + food in bugis, amk &amp; TPY!

We can makan, sip bubble tea, chew the pearls and CHAT! heeeee..

Baby_Mummy
i share the same prob. its worse when i get up after lying down for some time. the pain sometimes is so unbearable

SKS! Ya!! Sometimes I can't even walk... need to pause for a while.. and wait for the pain to subside!

The amazing thing is, we can do nothing, just sitting and lying and we can get this problem! Wondering if it is my "posture" that's giving such problem!

My hubby and i go for peg perego P3 all the way for my kids. We bought a new one for my coming bb. Can last till 4 yrs old. 25kg weight limit. Can stand one kid behind the stroller. Put heavy stuffs. hang bb bag etc. Stable and have good suspension. Very comfortable, wide and spacious. Have all the parts you want to go with it.

re: sweet stuffs
It's advisable not to take too sweet. Hi-chew and bubble tea are too sweet liao. I love bubble tea especially green tea with peal. But i dare not take during my whole pregnancy. But i love sweet stuffs for this preg. I take ice cream occasionally.
That's why put on so much weight.

dodos
i eat ice-cream almost everyday.. i still love sweet stuff .. but sadly not so much of chocolatee stuff

baby_mummy
not sure if its the posture. i understand tat we shldnt sleep lying on our back.. so sideways is the best but sometimes i feel my bb dont like it as he kicks me. then i change sides ...hehehe.. then after sometime he kick again... dont know wat he wants...heheheh ...and i always forget to ask my gynea why this happens...