(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

My weight gain is probably abt 5kg.

As for the supplements, hehehehe never religiously take them leh. Just can't seem to swallow at all. Got folic, calcium, iron and fish oil. The last 2 are really huge. Now my new gynae gave me his supplements and guess what, both the folic and calcium are huge too!!!!

Arrggghhh!!!! Now major problem in swallowing liao.

Shers, I also only drink HL chocolate, but not regularly cause can put on alot of weight.

maya,

i tot HL = High in calcium Low in fat?? can put on weight?? i have been drinking it since secondary school time...

ya.. those pills are hard to swallow plus horrible smell when burp.

Jas J,

the ingredient yr dad cooks for you sounds similar like what my mum made for me.. my mum told me this is only good for 1st tri.. after that, got to switch to another tonic drink..

Shers/ Maya, me too. I can only take HL milk. I tried Fresh Milk and tried Enmum vanilla, but cannot take the smell.

For me, my first one I gained alot of weight during my 1st and 2nd trimester... Think by 21 weeks, I already gained about 8kg. Keke.. Maybe I ate alot.. But this time round, I cannot eat... That's y not much weight gained. And this time round, after every meal, I am sure to release it very fast... So no constipation this time.. In and out very fast..

I feel so guilty towards this baby. My #1, by now, I already ate tonics, bird nest, etc.. This baby I have not eaten any tonics at all. And keep on having bad cough, flu, etc...

re: weight gain
me in week 18, gain 3kgs so far... dont want to gain too much wt leh... hard to get rid leh...

dont think mummy weight gain will reflect on baby size/weight, correct me if me is wrong....

coz my auntie said she gained 12kg, and my cousin birth wt was near to 4kg... whereas my SIL gained near to 30kg, my nephew was 3.5kg....

re: tonics... "bu"
me didnt have any "bu" soup as MIL doesnt know how to make and no time to make too... so gotta rely on my mother instead... me like bird nest... started bird nest in 2nd tri for my #1... still thinking whether to start on #2, pocket bit tight leh...

Rachel, think we have the same gynae, Eunice, yalor she also gave me ventolin to prevent tummy hardening, scared BH start early at this week, i am now 19 weeks

U how many weeks now? tummy harden since which wk?
Looks like only 2 of us gt tummy harden

All,
I gain 4.5kg at 19 weeks liao

Appetite normal, no big cravings except potatoe :p
Think I will start tonic after 5 mths, but isit neccessary? Last time our mums pregnant also never take tonic but also gave birth to all of us here strong and healthy mah...

Dodos, just saw ur post, u also gt tummy hardening ah? Isit very often?
If you worry abt bb movement, go n do a scan with ur gynae for ease

Jas J
lucky u got a very hands-on doting dad to help you brew tonics weekly!

we're now into our 2nd tri, time to 'bu' lor coz by 3rd tri, all the tonics will be wasted liao.

for bird's nest, i heard can start to drink after 5th month onwards. now is good time to take fish oil too as baby's brains are developing fast - but i still have problem with the fishy smell

devil,
sama sama... my #1 i also started to drink 'ba zhen' and even cook 'black chicken soup' by 2nd tri but now, so tired every day i hardly have time to care for #2... a bit guilty lah.

and seems like my immunity systems also getting worst, easily catch the flu bug lor.

Cos it is chocolate mah. I don't like to take white milk, so anything with choc is fattening right? At least that's what I have been told.

My first 2, the weight gain was enormous, more than 19kg! Hence both babies were past 3.5kg. Therefore, sometime a bit conscious trying to eat less fattening foods lor.

I received good and not so good news yesterday went to my gynae and did a detailed scan on bb. Goods news was instead of a boy, i m actually expecting a girl. The latter not so good news was i have a low placenta

RE: bird nest
hb told me i can drink more bird nest. Hb so pai1xin1 huh...anyway good for me and tks to bby girl haha...

cynthia :
gynae told me the same things as your gynae and if bby is a girl, bby have 3 bones lines in between the two legs. That make me n hb the happiest momemt yesterday.

coolzy:

I was in your shoes leh, when expecting my third one at 16 weeks, gynae told me is a boy
my first two were boys...but juz when i was abt to come to term tat as long as bby is healthy nvm, God is good. He make miracle happen. Amen. Dnt give hope.

Devil: hope to be double sure then update okie.

wonder anyone knw wat e cause of low placenta, if yes please share, tks.

Hi Kittybride,
I'm in same situation as Limus... ha. My dad actually said sinsei only recommend bird nest from 7th month onwards. But because scan shows a little princess, so he wanted to start now. ha...

yar, i also take fish oil, calcium pills and iron pills daily as daily supplements...

limus

i had low placenta for #1 but mine was serious case - meaning low placenta all the way so end up hv to had C-Sect.

i asked my gynae previously abt my current situation after the scan showed my #2 position is at the lower end of the womb. she said still early and there are potentials for bb to move up as they grow bigger and the placenta will position itself by the 6 or 7 month.

keep the faith that it will be better, ok?!

Hi Limus, congrats to you for getting what you want.

Mangogal, i get the hardening quite often but wasn't given any medicine. After taking the medicine is it better? Must take everyday for how long?

Limus, glad u can close shop liao, finally a princess for u

Low placenta could be cause by many reason, did u ask ur gynae?
Anyway so long as it is nt extremely low, if not become serious as placenta previa, so think ur case nt that serious, dont be to worry.
here's a link if you want ot find out more:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_placenta-previa_830.bc

Dodos,
Ya the ventolin helps to relax my womb but I still gt to be careful and dont walk too much, so in office I only go toilet and dabao lunch at office downstairs,
I take 3 times daily,regarding how long my gynae will monitor and advise me.
When is ur next appt? I am those gan jiong type, anything find nt usual for pregnancy, will rush dwn to see my gynae, but she is very assuring everytime la, hehe :p
I just saw a link and this may help

http://www.babyzone.com/pregnancy/health_wellness/complications/article/contractions-irritable-uterus

Limusfamily, congrats on a princess. Looks like this month many princesses. Dun worry about low placenta. I think should be ok as long as it doesnt bleed.

dodos

yesterday i go for check up but stil dont know the bb gender yet
have to wait for next month --- detail chk
so disappointed

i have ask calcium from doctor but doctor
give me multi vitamin because multi vitamin already hv calcium

shers

the ingredient u said only suit for 1st tri
then do u hv any good ingredient for 2nd tri ?

and may i know 2nd tri is from what mth onward ?

hi chris,

Most likely a gal... I am too fat to see clearly... haha.... anyway, will confirm again when during my detailed scan in 3 weeks time...

TO ALL MOMMIES

last mth i have check up and i tell doctor said i have white discharges

after that doctor take up some discharges for investigation and found up is a virus (group b streptococcus) and this virus will spread to bb when bb born --- yesterday i go for check up doctor tell me abt this

so i have to consume antibiotic when bb born if dont take medicine this virus will spread to bb

chris,

sorry. I didnt cook the tonic myself. my mum did that. I only drink what she made for me. maybe when she makes for me in my 2nd tri, i will ask her

veron

so u prefer gal o boy ?
u is may be gal i aso wori mine is gal aso i prefer boy
my detail scan in 4 week time u earlier my 1 week

shers

ok thks
remember to let mi know
but do u know 2nd tri is from how many week onward ?
now mine is 17 week is it 1st tri ?

2nd tri starts officially from 12 weeks on wards.. but my mum says after 15 weeks then start to drink safer.. coz 2nd tri will be very 'bu'..

me really sotong on tonic.. whatever my mum and neighbour make for me, i drink..

hi chris,

I prefer gals... but then.. gal or boy is not impt to me now... I am contented as long as the bb is healthy...

Re White discharge
So scary... maybe i should asked my gynae next time... mine is a bit yellowish now... and it is not as wet as last time...

mangogal: ya, we have the same gynae. She is really nice isn't she?
She puts me on ventolin as I need to go for amnio and I believe I have to take it till early 3rd tri.

Kittybride: better dun walk too much then. Hope this time you will not have low placenta.

Chris: I had that during my 1st pregnancy. And had antibotics and it all cleared up. Don't worry won't spread to bb one after it's being cleared up.

mummies, intially gynae also said that I am expecting a girl, last week she saw something in bet, so can't confirm as saying could be a boy or a cord in bet. So for me, I need to do amnio to confirm the sex of bb.

kidzkidz: after yr amnio, will u given MC to rest? u still work as normal and go back to work as per normal?

limus family: dun be too sad. I have heard that it will move up one if u have low placenta. Think dun carry too much heavy stuffs and try to rest more. But so far no bleeding for u right?

actually bird nest cannot take at so early stage.. best to consume at 7th month onwards.. dont know the reason..

but i think take once a week or alternate week should be ok bah.. just dont take too often..

limus, yes.. dont need to worry abt low placenta.. just rest more and no heavy stuff.. yr gynae will be the best person to consult.. if need to, u will have to put on a belt (to hold up placenta).

a friend of mine is like that.. she was put on bedrest for whole of her pregnancy.. was 'forced' to quit her job to stay home.. then put on a belt. and was ordered to c-sect.

so yr case is still ok.. just take extra care now

Rachael, yalor she is very nice, wah u start birdnest liao?
When u doing amnio? Think Eunice will give u 1 or 2 days mc to rest at hm, better rest lor to replenish ur water frm ur womb

wld like to find out more about confinement lady charges.... as this is my 1st time to engage one... coz MIL cant do for me...

1) marketing... do you give monies to CL to do marketing? how freq? will the CL ask what you prefer to have? or else how do you do the marketing part?

2) how much shall the ang bao be? when CL arrive on 1st day and on the last day?

3) how about the "bu" tonics? do we have to buy ourselves or CL will do it? how much to set aside eh?

4) what are the barang barang need to prepare? like for double-boil utensil...

me gotta do some budgeting for the CL part so need your inputs... thanks.

or what other things me gotta consider one, please enlighten me hor... esp involve the monies thingy....

chris,

thanks for the info.
i think lately my white discharge has also incresed - more than usual lor.
will ask my gynae when i go chk up end of this mth; and hopefully can see bb gender liao.

rachel,
i no choice, every day have to walk leh... from home to nanny's place. in office also must walk here n there like police patrol... heee heee heee...

this time round, i PRAY hard it will be better but i think i squat a lot more, then my gal keep want me to carry and sometimes she will want to SIT on my tummy... sigh...

re: bird's nest
i thot 2nd tri (5mth onwards) can start to take liao... but actually i oredi took 2 bottles (concentrated version) when i found out i pregnant - kiasu lah... and that time i also wana 'bu' my self. hee hee...

will start to take toward the end of my 2nd tri as now thinking most impt is to drink more 'tonic soups' as i need the energy myself; plus wan my #2 to be "bui bui" and strong! :D

Wow this thread moving so fast. I couldn't log in one night and "boom"... gotta catch up!

<font color="0000ff">Shers:</font> The 3 stories are real ones -- I really know the people but I did "change" a bit of facts so identities cannot be recognised (don't wanna kena sued). Understand that you are upset -- I would be too if I cannot be there for my kid (which I believe is every good mom's desire). Unfortunately, your circumstances forbid. But from your post can tell you not like that mom I met -- I think all mommies here can faint right at the reason she gave for not wanting her son stay with her: "I want my sleep". Alamak!

Her way of thinking has already caused damage in a 5yo boy who is obviously sensible and sensitive. We must all learn from stories like these -- what I like to term "horror stories" because the lessons are so much more starked for us to gleam. You know good ones just make us feel good, horror ones leaves indelible mark in our minds and on our hearts. I still worry for this boy and I told the mother frankly to reassess her situation because she was correct in her guess: her boy was starting to become insecure.

End of the day, as I stated in that earlier post: weekend parents must manage their situations well. Btw, weekend parent is term I picked up from the media: mark of what's real in our society today.

leereiner,

here is my inputs based on no 1

1) marketing... do you give monies to CL to do marketing? (I DONT GIVE MONEY TO CL FOR MARKETING. 1ST DAY, WHEN CL ARRIVES, SHE WILL SEE WHAT U BUY. IF NOT ENOUGH, SHE WILL GIVE U A LIST. OR IF U BLUR BLUR LIKE ME, HB WILL BRING CL TO MARKETING AND HB PAYS) how freq? (ONCE A WEEK MARKETING FOR FRESH FOOD IS SUFFICENT. FOR DRIED FOOD, CAN BUY IN BULK IN ADVANCE) will the CL ask what you prefer to have? (YES. CL WILL ASK U WHAT U PREFER TO EAT. I TELL CL THAT I DONT WANT EAT TOO MUCH MEAT AND WANT FISH AND VEGE FOR EACH MEAL) or else how do you do the marketing part?

2) how much shall the ang bao be? (1ST DAY I THINK I GIVE $88. LAST DAY THINK I GIVE $188 BECAUSE MY CL IS VERY GOOD) when CL arrive on 1st day and on the last day?

3) how about the "bu" tonics? do we have to buy ourselves or CL will do it? (WE WILL HAVE TO BUY IN BULK IN ADVANCE. U CAN GO TO BUGIS OR CHINATOWN TO BUY IN BULK. CAN ASK MEDICAL HALL WHAT TO BUY FOR CONFINEMENT. THEY WILL RECOMMEND. IF CL ARRIVES AND SEE NOT ENOUGH THEN HB WILL HAVE TO RUN ARRAND) how much to set aside eh? (I ALSO DONT KNOW LE.. MEDICAL HALL WILL RECOMMEND.)

4) what are the barang barang need to prepare? like for double-boil utensil... (SLOW COOKER, RICE COOKER, LOTS OF VINEGAR, GINGER, RED DATES. BARANG BARANG... HMMMM IF YR HOUSE HAS THE NORMAL COOKING STUFF, ITS ENOUGH ALREADY. IF GOT SLOW COOKER, NO NEED DOUBLE BOIL ALREADY.)

DONT WORRY TOO MUCH.. 1ST DAY WHEN CL ARRIVES, SHE WILL SCREEN THROUGH YR HOUSE AND TELL U WHAT SHE NEEDS. OR BEFORE SHE COMES, U CAN CALL HER AND ASK HER WHAT STANDARD THINGS SHE REQUIRES?

<font color="0000ff">Rachel:</font> I did amnio on Fri so had weekend to rest. Dr Koh told me usually 3D MC. But no exercise. Don't try heavy chores (thus can't carry my 10kg girl). To monitor for next 2wks for bleeding -- contact dr immediately. He actually had to put needle in twice as in the 1st attempt, baby moved slightly and got close to needle. Needle is same as type they use when drawing blood but can definitely feel a diff (no pain) when it passes from flesh into womb. When done, he told me to cough and very quickly drew out needle so there was NO pain at all -- I was surprised
. Results takes 3wks tho. Btw, the fluid looks like urine, he showed me the vial and assured me it's not

<font color="0000ff">Veron:</font> Amnio is short for " amniocentesis" -- the drawing of fluid from the womb to test for Down Syndrome. It's an option for women who crosses age 35 when they concieve. Can read more here www.babycenter.com/0_amniocentesis_327.bc Actually, one girlfren had to do it when she ws 31 -- coz her baby's head was "big" so her gynae was worried... Turned out okay.

JTS: My colleague's sis delivered few mths ago. The M'sian CL she got insisted they get tonics from certain shop she says knows very well. Make them spend close to 1k. In the end they suspect she gets commission from that medicine hall -- like tour guides bring you to specific shops for their kickbacks...

So it is a safer option (like Shers said) to get from the wholesale plcs instead.

Hi mommies thanks for the useful link, care and concern. so far so good, no sign of bleeding but running out of breath these days also dont knw why when walking for a short distance or climbing up stair. I dont to go out to work but two boys are equally stressful to care for them.

Have to really take heed to rest more and totally shut my ears with them from now haha...
these days the kids are too demanding and climb over yr head even without u knowing, headache.

chris,
Thanks for the very helpful info on GBS. For my #1, my gynae did not suggest doing a GBS test and I have no idea whether I'm a carrier at the point of delivery! Looks like this time, I must remember to ask about GBS testing at about 36 weeks. From what I read in Babycenter, it seems the most effective prevention is antibiotics via IV while in labour. So taking oral antibiotics may not help as much?

<font color="119911">Chris:</font> Me got Step B too. Dr gave me one course of anitbiotics the moment he knew the results. When delivering B1, they administer another course through IV drip. Dr did say in rare causes, baby may hv breathing difficulties -- that's why must administer the drip during delivery as a precaution (not guaranteed). I'm expecting the same procedure this round since Strep B stays in our system once we get it.

Shers,

Where u shop for these dried items at Chinatown or Bugis? Any recommendation can PM me? There are so many similiar shops selling similiar items just dun noe where to get them...

Now staying with my mum but she dun really cook special tonics for me. Just the frequency of her boiling soup is more.

I oso took a bit of bird nest aly but I buy those ready ones. Ha ha... Not very frequent though, xpensive leh...

emo,

my mum brought me to those places.. last time we used to buy dried stuff at 3rd storey of the old market behind bugis V. Now closed already. so my mum says can buy at those shops infront. actually buy anywhere also the same, just that if u go to those older medical hall/ shop, u can get at cheaper prices because bulk purchase and bigger pack.

there is a medical hall whom my mum and in law trust. Hock XXX cant really remember already.. got alot of branches.. the grocery bags is in yellow and red in wordings..

not too sure abt the benefit of bird nest le.. i dont really like bottle type because got a smell and not enough to drink.. i buy bird nest from my bro in law because he 'grows' birds in malaysia so super cheap for a big pack..

then i wash and soak in water for 2-3 hrs then pour into double boil and let the bird nest boil for another 1-2 hrs.. add in rock sugar and of u like, put some ginseng slices.. woooo... very nice already.. 1 1/2 slices of bird nest can easily serve a family of 3 (me, hb and 1.5yrs old gal)