(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi mummies, I'm from March 2009 MTB thread. Dropping by to share with you that Tollyjoy will be having a warehouse sale next week 21 - 23 Nov. Held at 29 Changi South St 1. 11 - 7pm.

currently my no1 is taken care by nanny. I have a maid who is at home now to take care of housework, cooking, my dog and etc. So we pick my no1 from nanny on the dot and after our dinner we will spend time playing with him. So we will off load housework and etc to maid but caring of kids will be our responsibility e.g. playing with them, bathing, feeding them and etc.

So when no2 comes we intend to do the same except that the maid will go off to nanny's place to help out as I don't think she will be able to handle 2 kids at a time.

I intend to send no1 to 2 or 3 hrs child care when no2 comes but my friend told me it's better not, as when no2 is below 1 yr of age better dun send as no2 will fall sick easily.

I totally agree that it's not easy to live with a stranger and especially once you have taught them everything, the maid will show attitude and etc... kind of difficult to handle them. But if get good helper / maid, they really can off load our burden so that we can spend good time with the kids lor.

Good to hear from all your views about #2 caring arrangements! Seems like most of you are anti-maid...

Devil / juxta / kidzkidz / Shers,
My boy goes to 3 hours playgroup now and next year will also be 3 hours nursery. We have considered putting my boy in childcare but I know he'll have a hard time adjusting. He took more than 2 months to stop crying when he first went to playgroup. Now if he goes to full day CC, it's a new environment, we are so wary that the whole cycle of crying and adjusting has to start again. And we didn't want him to feel 'abandoned'. So in this sense, putting #2 in infantcare seems easier, though much more expensive. Then again, we are also worried about #2 catching viruses easily in infantcare.
Also, I'm actually worried that if #1 and #2 are apart, they would not bond as siblings... Am I'm worrying too much?

Coral,
My MIL has asked who will take care of #2 and my Hb said maybe will ask my mum to help. But my MIL says hire a maid instead, meaning she won't mind taking care, but need a maid. Sigh.
I have contemplated being a SAHM (stay-at-home-mum)... but the loss in household income is a bit hard to swallow. In fact, I was a SAHM for about 5 months last year and I enjoyed it! I felt that I have contributed so much and directly to my boy's growth and development. Although we can still make do with my HB's income (no yearly expensive holidays, less restaurant meals etc.), I know that the pressure on him will be much higher. In the end, I went back to work cos my HB and I decided that it is not the right time for me to stop working cos there's insurances to pay, allowances to give to my parents, and we want to invest for early retirement. Sigh...

Shers,
I have never had a maid, but I hear so many horror stories about maids from friends that I'm scared already. Your HB works 6 full days?
Wah... I guess maybe you'll need to go over to your mum or ILs' place on Sat so that you have help. If not, I guess can try handling 2 kids yourself first and see how it goes. Who knows, it may not be that difficult. Or you may just get the hang of it after a few Sat.

My mum stays in Jurong West and I stay in Sembawang. I think my mum wouldn't mind taking care of #2, but it's not easy travelling up and down everyday and I would want to bring #2 home every evening so that it's easier in terms of breastfeeding and I want my mum to have the night to rest after taking care of the baby the whole day. My HB and I were even thinking of asking my parents' to move house to near our place so it's easier for us to drop off #2 every morning. But I think it's quite of selfish of us to ask my parents to go to such extent...
Not possible for us to move cos my ILs stay only 8 mins drive away and it's convenient to drop off my boy every morning.

Sigh. Now having spelled out the options, I think infantcare seems the most feasible...

shers

u r very lucky --- hv both side want to look after u bb

if u mil want to take care so u can bring u bb back every day lo and for sat u can bring them to u mil house aso till u finish u housework since u hb work on sat if not u alone may not be able look after 2 bb

Rachel C,
Getting a good maid is like striking lottery man! I just heard from another friend today that her maid wants a transfer (she's with them for only 5 months) and my friend has absolutely no complains about her maid and thought her maid seems quite happy with her family as well. She is surprised that her maid wanted a transfer! First time I hear about such case, usually it's always the maid being asked to leave...
If hire a maid, the maid has to please not only me and HB, she has to please my ILs as well. If my ILs don't like the maid, it's another problem.

Devil,
I think CC is a good choice for your girl. 2 years old is just the right age to start... For me, I started my boy at only 2.5 months at playgroup and already he's putting up such a fight everyday when it's time to go to school. When #2 comes, he'll be almost 3.5 months old, I cannot imagine putting him through another environment, somemore for the whole day. Anyway, they do learn much more in school. I know my boy doesn't learn much from my ILs, but can't blame them, they are from the much older generation and not very educated. Initially I had wanted to delay sending my boy to school till nursery, but I realised that my ILs have been relying on TV to keep him occupied and I decided it's time he goes to school.
it's unavoidable that our kids fall ill very often once they mix around with kids. Take it as part and parcel of growing up...

Bldg up kidz' immunity: it's a sooner or later thing. The more they're exposed, the faster their body learns to overcome. My girl started infant care @ 3.5M, was often sick with colds, cough... But by 10M she showed marked difference. Her turnaround time was reduced from 2wks to 3-7 days. Now @ 20M, she hardly has colds or coughs. Of course I was heartbroken initially but so many mommies told me it's a natural process children needs to go through. Especially by age 2-3, their frenz will be falling sick left, right, centre but not so much ours

Maids: since my girl and I leave for her CC around 9.30-10am, we often see maids on handphones, talking to the cleaners or other delivery personnel (this @ a HDB estate). Even @ her CC, always got a particular grp (happens to be Filipinos) who dress sexily e.g. halter tops, tight hipster jeans or shorts... Basically showing off the cracks at back or in front (not referring to teeth...)

<font color="ff0000">Those who r weekend parents, pls read this story:</font>
I was @ an MNC some mths back, spending time w/ the wkg moms support grp. One mom held me back to ask if her 5YO son was becoming insecure. Why she suspect? Coz since birth, boy put with maternal grandma. Mom &amp; dad try to visit every day. Uusually sees son for 1.5hrs each night. When parents want to leave, son starts asking why, "why you send me out of Yishun to Sengkang". Boy is brought home on weekends and returned on Sun evenings. While with parents and when he makes mistakes, he gets very flustered, starts apologising profusely and asks "Will you still love me? I won't do that again..." etc. I asked the lady why don't want to take care herself, she says "I want my sleep". Then i asked if she and hubby thot of 2nd child, her answer was "now my son giving problems, better not." <font color="0000ff">I wonder how the boy's "problem" started?
Such situations muz b managed carefully so there's no long term damage to the child!</font>

Even my friend who practice weekend parenting tells me when son was about 1YO, start hanging on tight to their legs each night when they want to leave the grandma's plc. Up to now, child 3YO they still wkend parenting.

Another wkend parent's girl is already 28 - girl stl tells ppl her nanny &amp; nt mommy brought her up... coz itz truth 4 like 10yrs

queen, I was also a SAHM for 6mths aft my 1st kid. But I definitely have to continue to work cos I hv to help support my parents and I'm not for teh idea of getting $ from hb for this purpose. Will have to save enough to continue to support them afetr I retire...This time I hope to apply for extra 2mths of no pay leave but my boss is not for the idea, I'll try my luck again at later stage. You're right, getting a good maid is like striking lottery. I heard of a few with gd maids, but they're rare.

Rachel, your maid is of which nationality?

Rachel: My gynae is CH Koh - private clinic in Toa Payoh Central. He did the amnio in his clinic. Didn't nd for B1 coz she was born b4 my 35th b'day. Did a detailed scan @ TMC then -- that muscosity thingy (if I rmbr rite). Blood was for the full range of tests - I gave 1 big vial and 2 smaller ones. Also included was urine test. Whole visit last Fri was almost $400 <faint> My mth-end scan at TMC is just to be done by their radiologists (rite term?)

I'm a SAHM for almost 4 years now. There's always the stress of a single income and what if my hb is out of job etc. I always wanted to spend their precious first few years with them and try to mould their character and habits as much as I can. I'm fortunate to be given the chance but I'll never pick up from where I left off in terms of my job. Then again, nothing beats the joy of watching my kid grow up. My hb works long hours and often overseas, cant imagine if I'm working too, my child prolly wont get to see his parents much. So we gotta save for the rainy day should my hb lose his job.

Agree with queen, going to school not necessarily CC will always have the virus lurking. I sent my boy to playgrp at 2yo and fell sick so often, I paid 3 months of school fees and he's prolly there for no more than 3 weeks. He constantly fell sick, we had to pull him out as he had a very persistent cough and PD advised if there's no urgency then dun rush into it. We put him into half day CC when hes almost 3. Also fell sick often but not as bad. So is really a part and parcel of growing up

Seemed like many having headache especially when No 2 is coming. For me, I definitely wont put my child to stay with my in-laws. I also encountered my in-laws family. One of the family, son staying with the parents, and daughter staying with the aunties. Imagine them being separated and can only return home on sat/sun with a bo chap parents, as they've already got used to it. Another one... Their second son was staying with the parents.. And one day he said to the Mummy... Mummy, if I am obedient, will you take me home with you? Imagine when you hear these words from your child, how would you feel? Definitely heart broken for me...

I am not sure if I should send my gal to CC. I hope No 1 and No 2 can spend more time together and No 1 wont feel eft out and we can engage her in everything we do with No 2. Many ppl also advised if there is someone taking care, it would be better. It may not be necessary that the child will learn more things when in CC. Can send her to a few hours play classes also. Just worried if she will kena the viruses there.. Esp HFMD and also may pass to the younger one.

Maybe I will put her half day child care first to see if she is able to handle it well before putting her on full day child care. One of the main issue is still money.. Haiz... But asking the young child to get up so early in the morning and go to school seemed to be so mean to them...

Me expecting my 1st BB. Plan to leave the BB to maid when i return to wrokforce after Maternity. I actually unsure if the maid can do a good job, though the maid have been with me for more than 5 years. Previously, she was assigned to take care of my FIL, who was bedriddened for a couple of years before he passed away.

I think I will try her out first. If she can't do a good job, then I think I will be a SAHM then. There will be some sacrifaces that we mothers need to made or adjust for our BB's sake.

Had my scan y'day... most likely it is a gal gal... but then not clear as I am too fat... will confirm during detailed scan... wanted to buy baby's clothings le... but still cannot confirm... so have to bear for a while... heeee...

Anyway, asked a few questions to my gynae regarding what was discussed here and i have the answers below.

Re: Leg Cramps - my gynae confirmed that leg cramps has nothing to do with calcium. She asked me cover my legs when i sleep with blanket as leg cramps is caused by coldness...

Re: Papaya will cause Jaundice - my gynae said confirmed that eating papaya will not cause Jaundice and even told me that papaya is a very cheap and good source of Vit A and also helps constipation to be better...

Re: Coconut juice 2 weeks before delivery - not true that drinking coconut juice can cleanse baby's body when she's born... can choose not to drink...

All the talks about childcare.
i don't have such problem cos im a sahm and my kids are in school already. :p

kidzskidz, yes it's the kimono type top. Agree it's easier to wear for newborn.

Oh yes i always protect my legs when i sleep. It's a good thing i guess.

Devil: A fren's 2YO caught HFMD from Sunday School (church) -- the girl's fully looked after at home so only contact is @ Sunday School. Whether HFMD, chicken pox, common cold, flu -- these r easily caught in grp settings e.g. kindergarten, pri sch. Again, a sooner or later thing....

Juxta, Maple: I agree being SAHM is noble profession -- should be entitled to bonus/rebates from govt!

Maple: Good that you're preparing in advance shd your maid not be able to cope. Even if maid's capable, parents must always think long run: who's raising my child? Don't end up like many parents I mt who let maid raise children then parents only there to discipline -- which becomes ineffective when you do even know your own child...

Juxta: Yeah, I also need to learn to live on one income -- tho I'll miss working I also want to make sure I'm there for my kidz. It's taught in Marriage Preparation Course -- in case wife becomes SAHM, in case one party becomes sick/looses job, etc.

I see great differences in my newphew when his mother become the SAHM after sacking the maid. The boy is now so lively and cheerful, full of laughters. He is so alert to the surrounding and I can see great bonding between the mother and the son too. Previously, the boy was so easily irritated and refused to eat when the maid was taking care of him. He often cried then, and we called him the monster, and we all avoided him. Now, he has turned into a really adorable boy. I think BB under mummy's care and unconditioned love really make a REAL difference.

I salute to all SAHM.

wah all MTB No 2 here talk abt bb tkaing care and SAHM, I also hope to be a SHAM in near future if financial allow, hb and I are workin on it on our finanaces..

BTW, ANY of you have tummy harderning??
Yest went for chkup and gunae say my tummy hv abit of hardening and it maybe Braxton hicks, so she prescribe ventolin to relax my womb to prevent any pre term labour, hmm....
Dunno why tummy harden, scared scared

Hi Emo

Hi mangogal,
heard it's normal for the hardening of tummy which is known as braxton hicks esp into 5th mth.

Hmm.. my bb moves quite a lot, keep feeling the ticklish feeling.

Any mummies planning for a getaway?

Jus curious if any of you are into HKG series show? hehe...

kidzkidz,

Yr so called story actually offended me. sorry to say that!

Each family has their reasons for doing something. All parents wanted to spend more time with kids and the so called weekend mum is so insulting!

This thread is for mums to share experience and ask queries. If you really need to share this story, i hope you can re-word to sound nicer.

I'm in a good mood this morning but your post made me pissed off.

My boy has caught HFMD twice, we couldnt track where he caught it last year, wasnt from the school. This year was an outbreak from his CC. So it could be anywhere, even the food court!

Re: leg cramps, i read somewhere b4, too much potassium can cause it, and 1 culprit is soft drinks.

Aries, isit?
So u hv it as well? But my gyane gave me ventolin to relax my womb say nt good if tummy harden too frequent so as k me to mintor, anyone MTB also hv tummy hardening?

Aries, isit?
So u hv it as well? But my gyane gave me ventolin to relax my womb say nt good if tummy harden too frequent so as k me to mintor, anyone MTB also hv tummy hardening?

Hi Mummies, care to share, how many KGs have u gals put on already?

Me at 19 weeks only, already up by 8kg. My tummy quite big, as people misunderstood I am 6 months pregnant now. When I told someone last week I was only coming 19weeks, she asked me, if I am expecting twins.

So sad with so big tummy, sure have problems losing weight after BB come out.....

Hi maple,
Wow, quite alot on yr weight gain. did your gyane mention anything abt yr weight?

For me, as per my last visit 2 weeks ago, gained only 0.5kg since preggy.

Hi mangogal,
yeah, experienced before but not for this bb yet. =)

Hello Maple,

I'm abt 16 weeks, i've put on abt 5kg. Sometimes earlier stage put on more weight, later put on less, so you dun worry so much.

Important thing is eat well and healthy so baby can grow well!

Dr told me no good when i told him i got tummy harderning. He didn't say much. Also no medication. I think it's too early to have BH now. scare will lead to pre term.

I didn't feel the baby move for a week already. Hope to feel it again soon. Feeling worried here.

18wks now put on 2-3kg.

i'm 17 weeks, last seen doc on sat, i'm at pre-preg wt, maybe i had bad MS and got tons of reserves to burn! haha i'm expecting it to escalate these few months, gulp...........

Veron,

Gynae ask you to control? Mine din leh, probably coz i change gynae so the new one only got 2 wt readings...
When i last go for check up, gynae still mention the expected weight which is like 1 kg more.

coral: mine prev maid was a Indo. Ex- spore came to us also blur blur. So had to retrain as every family's expectation of the maid is different e.g. duties and etc. Now my maid is a Phil, no experience to work in S'pore, also blur blur, so under going training. Will monitor whether she is ok as she has some allergy, so I scare it might spread to my kid.

I think regardless of nationality, as long as they are good at heart esp we got kids, good attitude, hardworking, don't lie and steal. Even if slow or blur a bit, I think still ok. Just that now I feel so helpless as can't carry my boy and etc. So we can only play on the bed when he is back from the nanny. So lucky he is ok with it for the time being. So really wish April is here quickly so that I can hands on more and not so dependent on the maid for my kid stuffs.

mangogal: I am also on ventolin. I will be going for amnio so gynae prescribed them to me. Think I will have to take it till 3rd tri. Think after taking ventolin, hardening so improve bak.

I am 16 weeks and have not gain any weight. Gynae also dun say anything. hmm... I sometimes still vomit.

so many post have to catch up liao...

i'm also in dilemma on how to settle my kids though there are plans but still, $$$ is main concern.

i've OPENLY hinted to hb numerous times that i may wana be SAHM and he said ok; but i know in our hearts, we simply can't afford that with my HB's current pay.

intention is to send #1 to childcare when she turns 18m; by then my #2 is abt 2mths old n i'm still on ML, so can still observe my #1 at childcare for a wk or 2 to see her reaction.

as for #2, hv to send to nanny since my MIL obviously is NOT going to help out - she still prefers her freedom n half-day work. less stress and carefree bah. but wat to do, can't force her else she black face again.

another option which i preferred was to get a maid to help out with #2 and house chores while MIL supervise #1 and cook (she very particular abt cooking hence dun thk she will ALLOW the maid to cook lor). but obviously this option is a NO-GO since MIL unwilling to help...

anyway, hopefully when the time comes, everything will fall into place lor. now worry also no use, only end up with more gray hair!!

re: wt
i'm also not gaining much wt; still hovering post-pregnancy wt (after #1) and maybe only gain like 1kg. but my tummy so big - everyone thought i'm 5 or 6 months pregnant oredi!

re: taking tonics
i'm sure by now some of you have been drinking on a weekly (or more) basis. can share what do you usually cook or your mom/mil prep for you? my MIL doesn't really do much for me so i have to do it myself - my #1 also under 'bu' coz i only had 'ba zhen soup' and 'black chicken soup' towards the 3rd trimester.

lately felt that i getting tire easily and look very pale. and now lagi worst, easily catch flu bug and cough.

any1 can share simple 'bu' soup? i'll try to boil it over the weekend... hope this bb gets more nutrition than jie jie; who is so small size for her age!

Rachel, yeah, I really wish for a maid with kind heart. Thinking of getting a Burmese maid though I know quite a lot of language problem. But I used to travel there for work and I find the pple there very good natured. But bad circumstances dont allow me to be SAHM for the time being. My brother still schooling so I need to support my parents (though not totally)...

I put on close to 3kg at 16wks.

kittybride, i also dont know what soup i drank.. my in law also doesnt know how to cook for me..only 3rd tri, she cooks bird nest alternate week.

my mum cooks more soup for me.. actually if u want, u can go to yu ren sheng.. can ask them to recommend for pregnancy.. i used to buy pre-pack from them for daily/ weekly/ monthly intake..

reasonable price also..

as of yesterday, i'm 14 weeks 2 days. cant see gender yet.. gynae says too small to see.. and i didnt put on any weight at all. maybe because i'm very sickly.. always flu and cough bugs..

Re: tonics
I took cordeceps or pao sheng cook with meat only. Usually if cook soup then add the powder in. Quite easy.

Mummies here sure won't get fat after delivery cos all don't gain much weight.

Do you all still take milk if you are already taking calcium pill?

dodos, i'm a lazy mummy. i didnt take calcium pill regularly. its on and off depending on my ms..

i tried to drink milk every morning or every nite but its chocolate milk.

RE: tonics
I havent started consuming any tonics coz no time to cook. Think will be asking my mom to cook for me... No choice...

RE: bird nest
Is it ok to start eating from 2nd trimester?

Dodos:
I take HL milk, but not everyday... Cannot really stand the smell of milk. Have a tin of Similac Mum but havent tested it yet... Dunno if I take more milk, will I gain weight coz my #1 I gained 15+ kg.

I didn't take milk from 13th weeks onwards, cos' somehow, I puked milk after every intake. I only rely on the calcium pill since then.

I actually had very bad MS since the 5th week of pregnancy, and MS only got better off when I was in my 17weeks. I thrown up 3-4 times then everyday. I ate little food as I was so scared of throwing up. Surprisingly, I was gaining 5kgs after so much suffering at my 17th week.

These two weeks, I will only vomit once every morning. And I had gotten another 3 kgs so far. So scary....

hi Kittybride,
just for sharing... my dad boils soup with 'pao sim'+ 'yiu sim'+ red dates+ 'gei tsi'+ pork meat on every week for the 1st 3 mths (boil for ard 2-3hrs).
Now into 4th trimester, he makes them on alternate weeks. Then he cooks bird nest for the rest of the alternate weeks.

He got this recipe from a chinese medical hall cum 'sinsei'...
My mum... once a while will make black chicken soup (essence - thru slow broth)...

devil, i didnt take maternity milk powder.. i dont think i can stand the smell.

i take HL. that is the only milk i can drink. tried others, will puke out. and i take chocolate milk only.

my gynae also worried abt my weigh gain coz didnt put on any weight at all. just ask me to eat more.

my no1 also the same.. i didnt put on weight for 1st tri. but 2nd and 3rd tr, put on 17kgs in total.