(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Kittybride, we are very similar.. Like Auntie.. Haha.. And i even need to bring my gal to market.. She is so sticky to me... Unless she can really sleep then I quietly go without her. Sad.. Sad..

For me to get a confinement lady, I need to pay myself... My hubby's family is a real stingo... Must do it without telling them else they will be saying expensive ah.. Can take care of baaby ourselves, etc... Haiz.. Cant even let me rest for a month...

I'm 16 wks now... I also dun feel bb leh =( Maybe too much fats, cannot feel. Or I dunno that I'm feeling him/her.

Hi Maple, don't think companies r supposed to do tt. I've never heard of any companies doing that before. You may want to check with MOM.

Eunice, for Salbia. Post natal package she depends on individual, but normally is 1.5 hours to 2 hours each time. For me and my sis doing now, is around that timing.

The best shiok thing is the steaming. The per session which twinklets stated is for pre-natal.

I also called her but is after my post-natal package massages, which is about 70, with steaming, that is last year. Coz I still have spotting so asked her to help me massage to clear the blood clogs inside.

devil
ya ya... super sian rite but no choice lor coz no maid n no help.

usually we will go for breakfast together w hb n my gal and after that i will rush go marketing while he entertain her.
then once back home, my routine will start and my hb will get ready to go work.

but i did tell my hb when my tummy getting bigger, i can't bath my gal liao n he hv to take over. i think so far my hb only bath my gal less than 5 times since birth!!!

re: post natal massage
devil,
how soon did u start post natal massage after your c-sect? i dare not do it n waited n waited till finally, kena no. 2... dats y got bad water retention n tummy look like 5months when i was abt 3mths pregnant!

kittybride, mine was natural birth. I did it on DAY 3, the next day after I go back home. I called Salbia on the day I reached home, then she asked me how am I feeling before she decides to come or not.

Then after the first session, if she finds that you are not suitable to do on the next day, will advise you to do next few days.

Best to do it a.s.a.p. Can ask her for her recommendations when she is here. She will look at your condition.

Devil,
Thanks for the table! I dunno the gender yet though... Dr. Ang says he will try to scan next week.

Re. part time maid
I just started using part time maid 2 months ago. Used to do most of the housework (my HB does vacumming and mopping) myself every weekend, which is ok, until the MS became very bad and I couldn't stand washing the toilets. So I got a part-time maid but she only comes on alternate weeks for 3 hours cos I only need the toilets to be throughly washed every 2 weeks (other weeks I only wash the toilet bowls). I only spend $60 a month on part-time maid.
When I was pregnant with my boy, I was squatting down and scrubbing the toilet walls till the day I deliver!
But this time round cannot liao, simply no energy.

Re. baby movement
I also think I felt it yesterday, while sitting at my office. It's gentle 'rhythmic" tapping near the top of my tummy. But today, no movement.

wow this thread is really zipping along! =) welcome twinklets, qianhui and raspberry!

re: wetness/sensitive nose/itchy skin
i think its the growing uterus thats pressing upon the bladder so theres on-off little leaks; should be ok unless theres also pain or blood peeing. yup, i think REGULAR pelvic floor exercises may help [im always too lazy], as suggested by veron. i heard that pregnancy worsens sensitive noses and skin conditions; for me, i think my blocked nose and sneezing is slightly worse. also, my skin is a bit worse off than before, and i get occasional itches around my tummy like eunice too and mangogal. but if
the rash spreads and becomes bad, must go n see dr. eunice, i think vitamins rarely cause allergic rash reactions.

re: antenatal classes
is the 7th or 8th month too late to do antenatal classes? =) firstborn incentive, is it available at all hospitals?

re: tonics
yeah shers, u got a fab neighbour who cooks lunch for u and daughter too! well, my sweet hubby makes soup for me every day for the past 6 weeks - either chicken/beef, plus ginger [i think thats why i dont get MS at all], and then marmite/wolfberries/peanuts/tomatoes/onions/dried mushrooms according to taste.

re: compilation forum opinions on suitability of foodstuff

ginseng: american ones cooling [not good], korean ones [good]
red dates/wolfberries: ok
bananas: cooling, avoid too much so baby wont have phlegm, especially del monte
coconut: cleanse body/make delivery easier/baby skin nice and smoother/prevent jaundice [but cooling]
papayas: may cause jaundice [avoid from 35 weeks onwards]
pear: smooth complexion
mangoes: heaty, may cause jaundice [avoid from 35 weeks onwards]
orange: avoid too much so baby wont have phlegm
oatmeal: prevent jaundice

re: baby movements
i dont think i can really feel any yet, more tightening sensation than those 'fluttering/knocking' types
and im just 16 weeks. i think its supposed to occur within the next 4 weeks or so, like what kittybride and mangogal said. then knowing baby gender really depends on the gynae's confidence and baby's cooperation, but a good number will know by the day of the detailed scan. =)

re: low placenta
if the placenta is low lying all the way to the end of pregnancy, its very important coz if at any time theres a sign of bleeding in labour, u must go to the hospital IMMEDIATELY. this is because if the placenta breaks, both mother and baby will be in danger as mother will definitely bleed a lot. usually if the obs still sees the placenta at a low position at 36-37 weeks, he/she will strongly advise on C-section to avoid that happening. fortunately, most times, the placenta moves upwards as pregnancy
progresses, so not to worry now. =)

re: seats in public transport
thankfully ive been mostly around in a car, but i can imagine people nowadays, especially the young punks [they are so oblivious in their blaring handphone mp3 world that they think the whole world must listen to their supernoisy crap music], wont even give up their seats for old decrepit aunties, let alone pregnant women. kittybride, at least that gal let u have the seat leh... maybe shes paiseh [i remember
a couple of times when i was a student and even as an adult, oldfolks and pregnant women didnt
take my seat when i offered them - felt quite paiseh]. maya, must keep your cool for your's and baby's sake. anyway, i dont view nurses differently from any other profession; nurses are also humans and not giving up a seat for u isnt equivalent to them not treating patients well - i agree more with veron that its
an upbringing and values issue.

re: screening for hepB/thalassemia [di zhong hai pin xue zheng]/HIV
its usually done to see if additional things need to be done for baby/couple counselling. hepB/HIV
is usually so that u can give medication to prevent baby from catching these infections. thalassemia
is so that u can counsel mummy and daddy what are the chances of baby having serious
thalassemia and anaemia.

re: bottle teats and sterilisers
is the general consensus like dodos' that avent teat is too hard and that NUK/pigeon is soft [and
maybe better]? qianhui/lilmoo, so u can put NUK bottles in avent sterilisers - do they come
with both bottle rack and normal tray? qianhui, hahaha, u mean someone actually tried to steam
dumplings in the pigeon steriliser - so innovative...?

dodos, ur question's so provocative ah... if so, maybe ill have a girl... =p according to my hubby,
theres a scientific correlation between severity of MS and gender because of hormones secreted by gals;
if severe, most likely girl, and if none, most likely boy. if thats so, im most likely going to have a boy.
so for me, its going to be equivocal.

iwry: i think u can get red/brown discharge even 1-2 days after intercourse. but avoid it for a couple of
weeks if u do - no point getting stressed out.

christine ng: usually they avoid vaccinations in pregnancy and do them later - u can ask your GP
for clarification. i like ur answer to jo's predicament. =D

eunice: wah u spree so much so early! how much did u spend in total? i just bought 5 online items
from old navy for USD124; getting a friend in the US to bring them over for me... =) veron, juxta:
how much did u spend at perfect mum and for how many pieces?

maple: not so sure about the maternity/annual leave issue, but im not from HR. well, u can check
with MOM but it may be good to adopt a give and take approach coz if the company wants to be
ngiau about it, they also can say its valid only for pregnancies after the announcement came out,
or they put u first on the to-retrench list in case of economic difficulty... its after all, already a
month more than those who delivered last year.

raspberrytea: welcome! the joint-clinic is what it says it is; the diabetes dr takes care of your
diabetes, your gynae takes care of your pregnancy. charges & maternity packages for KKWCH
and TMC should be online.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/SOCs/Womens/Maternity+Services/
http://www.thomsonmedical.com.sg/fees.htm

No luck today got to wait till next month to know the gender. Hopefully can get a 100% answer. As i guess it dr can't confirm but see nothing. Still got chance it's a girl i hope. Sian already got to wait another month..so long.......

jas
when i feel my previous babies this early, it is usually like a butterfly move on my tummy, very light. i am also getting that knocking feel but i didn't think that was the baby. could be if you are very thin then you'll feel the movement stronger.

raspberrytea
if you dont feel assured by your dr, definitely change. it is not too late at all. i change dr when i was 28w pg then wasn't happy and changed again. what happened was i was diagnosed with GD and the dr i was seeing didnt even bother to manage it, she just wanted me to see a specialist. worse she any how do the scan, call it a detailed scan and charged me $300 for 5 min!! then the specialist she wanted me to see to manage my GD changed my insulin which did not work. i told him and he was very rude and didn't want to change my insulin back to the one that worked. later on i found out he was very pleased to be the first dr in sg to use this new drug, and high chance getting some "benefits" from the drug company. i changed to another dr who is willing to work with me and managed the GD together.

twinklets
welcome! please do feedback on the massage as i am thinking of doing some prenatal massage. did she say when in the pgy can start doing the massage?

devil
thanks for updating the table, you're better at it than me. i dont have fixed time can go online cos my dd super sticky. by the time she goes to bed i am beat. dont always get to come online. maybe can ask all mommies to post updates/changes to the table in red? then easy for you to spot.

<font color="ff0000">my dr is joycelyn wong, hospital tmc</font>

jas
with dd#1, i felt her at 16w but wasn't sure cos first time. only confirm at 19w what i felt at 16w was really her movement. dd#2 i felt her movement at 15w and i knew. she was quite strong, later on her kick also very strong. this time i feel a bit but not sure. either baby is a gentle girl or i am fatter now. lol

kittybride
it is really very tiring to bathe a toddler. my hubby is the one who bathe my girl since birth. for the 3w he was away for reservist, it was soooo tiring for me to bathe her every day myself. esp after taking care of her the whole day and doing all the housework that usually hubby help me with.

i also didn't do any post natal massage cos i had a c. by the time i feel safe to do the massage, i was too lazy to arrange. are you going for vbac this time or another c?

DTSmummy
FBI is the program at TMC. I believe other hospital have their own version by diff name.

if i don't remember wrongly, the avent sterilizer came with 2 normal trays and 1 bottle rack tray. i am using it with the bottle rack at the bottom and normal tray on top.

dodos,
no worries lah, another mth passes by very fast one... then it will be a pleasant surprise!

lilmoo
lucky u to hv ur hb support all the way.
mine still let me handle baby most of the time while he's the PLAYMATE for a couple of hours then will keep shooing my gal for her nap. i always tell him off esp when she just had 2 hrs solid nap, woke up for lunch and only had like 1/2 hr play and he will say; ohh, baby tired liao must go oor orr...

i not sure abt no 2 as no confidence on my own pain threshold. maybe come to worst i'll go back for c-sect. 1stly nid to chk if i can have natural coz my wound sometimes still hv a bit of numbness n it'll only be abt 17mths from my 1st c-sect. 2ndly i dun wana go thru all the pain then later cfm hv to go c-sect, waste time, energy &amp; money n hv to go thru twice the pain! ouch!!

re: gender
ystdy one of my colig saw my tummy n said she 'guess' i'd probably have a boy coz of the size. said if girl usually tummy will be smaller and only balloon up towards the 3rd tri while boys will balloon up very early then slow down during 3rd tri. i told her my tummy still bloated since last pregnancy dats y so 'big' and she said no lah, look different liao.

well, shall see the truth end of this mth when i go for the detailed scan!

as for harmonal change, hard to say coz i dun hv MS for both pregnancy. but they did mentioned the mommies will have a certain GLOW if carrying a gal coz of more female harmones lor. i shall see if i get more hairy in the coming weeks; then probably cfm is a boy liao! hiak hiak hiak...

DTSmummy,
Thanks for the links.
yes, i understand that's the joint clinic. Problem is the gynae just scan my tummy, never saying much about baby or any concerns about taking care in my 2nd trimester, or that whether I should be given multivitamins . (He asked me to go buy from pharmacy can already). Even my lab test results..the results came back ok, he won't tell until I asked..i get the feeling like i'm the one handling the my own pregnancy...

lilmoo, the doctor that gave you the 1st time insulin just for the sake of the incentive, i feel that's not quite "ethical" lor...at least my endo(diabetes doc) did not do anything like that!
which doctor and hospital did you work with? I'm now in my 16th weeks..i wonder if I should change or stick it out with the joint clinic and consider another hospital/doctor next time.

welcome twinklets!

kittybride, my mom said boy will have a sharper tummy right in front and a gal very dispersed all around. Which after some observation at very pregnant woman that i know and asking them, is rather true! When i had #1, i only ballooned up in last tri, as if like overnight.

When i had my boy, not hairy leh, in fact i had that glow, good skin, nice hair even body hair growth stunted. So many ppl thought i was having a gal. Hopefully bb will be cooperative tmr at the checkup and can see the gender.

Hi Devil, thanks for the info. I'm just wondering how does she do the pre-natal massage, considering our bigger tummies... cos i enjoy back massage the most la =P does she massage the tummy as well?

raspberrytea77, seeing dr at SGH is like that one. I just had my check up yesterday. Also same attitude. They won't bother to tell you much things unless you ask. Also regards to the vits they say never take also never mind that kind of attitide. Even if you ask it's normal/everything gd that's it. If it's not because of the price i also want to go private. If you can then switch to private.

Kittybride, i don't quite agree. I confirm seeing gyane at government hospital you will get to know your gender after 20wks. This is my 4th one all times also like that. They won't confirm after the detail scan. SIAN! Im very sure im i go to private i would have know the gender already.

Haha DTSmummy, I can't really remember...from my 2 sprees, i guess about SGD100 or so, not v much cos i only choose sale items cos not too sure abt sizes (lucky thing cos they all came too big!! so later then wear). I like the clothes at PERFECT MUM...got gd comments from family &amp; colleagues, all said dun look like maternity clothes at all hehe. Only regret is din hit $500 to get the Gold card so now only 15% i/o 20% hehe.

Hi all... thanks for responding to 'baby movements'...

Well, since the morning pain/knock I had, it followed by a sharp and bad pain in the noon, I had difficulties walking properly. So went down to gynae to d-chk. Everything is normal, we don't know what caused the pain, but we know BB is safe and no infections etc. So just have to monitor.

Managed to peek at BB's gender yesterday (wk 15)... it could be a little princess. =) But we are waiting for the detail scan next mth to d-confirm. =)

Hi Mummies...

Just came out of the toilet... I am having hard stools again and my anus was bleeding... gave me a fright... i thought i am spotting badly again... choy choy choy!

Thanks Limoo...
Mummies, can update me with the gender or table information in <font color="ff0000">RED</font>? Easier to update... Thanks!

Code is ---> \ red{ \ b { xxxxxxxx}} <-- omit the blanks

Eunice, am not sure of the pre-natal massage. Have not tried before yet.

Baby Movements:
I can feel like poking... I assume that is my baby movement. Haha.. Already 20 weeks, so should be able to feel some poking effects by baby I guess...

Baby Gender:
I'm going for my detailed scan next Friday, 14th Nov.. Hopefully can confirm the baby's gender. Right now, is 80% princess, so I presume is a princess....

Constipation:
This time round, I doesnt seem to have any constipation leh.. Very smooth every day... Either from the mouth or from the bottom.. Haha...

Leg Cramps:
Mummies, do you have leg cramps or muscle cramps? I had a few times very bad muscle cramps and now, my leg muscle quite painful quite walking.

Discharge and intercourse:
Anyone knows if we have discharge, itchy or not, if we have intercourse, will it spread to hubby? Was worried so stopped liaoz... Keke... But this time round, am not as horny as previously... Haha...

hi devil,

pls update mine details in the table

\ red{ \ b { Gender is boy, giving birth in TMC}}

<font color="0000ff">hullo gals!</font>
Thanks for the welcome

<font color="ff0000">Prenatal Massage</font>

Ok I've called up the other lady which Maya has recommend me (the 1 with website link) .

She is very frenly lady, &amp; charging @ $65 for 60 mins prenatal massage. No need to take up any packages also. She can come during wkday evenings too, which is good for me!! I read her 6 pages of good comments from her website &amp; please with it. Talk to her also very comfy, so I guess I'll choose her instead.

She told me can start 12 wks onwards ( i hope i rem correctly..hee)

I'll most likely book her at last week of November, &amp; will update u gals. I really in need for a GOOD massage

<font color="ff0000">Jas</font>
At 14-15 weeks now, I cant feel anything yet. Guess my fats is too thick already. I felt my gal's one when during 5th mth +, again guess too fat tat's why so late then can feel it. hehe.

<font color="119911">Constipation</font>
Luckily I dun have that for my current pregnancy too. My fixed timing now is at nite when everyone is sleeping. hehe. Reading a book helps me to finish up my business.

hi cynthia

congratulation ! have a bb boy
u know you bb gender on 17 week ?
next week tues i will 17 week and just nice i have check up on that day hopefully will know bb gender

hi eunice

i aso dont feel anything now i 16week liao
only feel uncomfortable when sit on the bus

hi devil

can i join in aso ?

now is my 2nd prenangcy edd on 21/04/09
in SGH dont know the gender yet
1st bb is on dec'07 is a girl

hi devil

i aso have leg cramps or muscle cramps? but i heard from my friend they said leg cramps because of lack of calsium

but i dont know is true o not

anyone mommies know abt this ?

chris, i read it's true. Lack of calcium will get leg cramp. You seeing Dr at SGH? They don't give calcium you had better drink more milk or others.

Hi Chris,

Thanks. I got to knw the gender when i am 15 weeks. Hehe...nw than i let everyone knw...abit late....Hehehe

My 1st child is a gal..Nw its a boy....i can stop my factory liao...hahaha

Long time didnt pop in. Hope all is fine~

re: cramps
I have cramps in my 1st pregnancy. According to gynae, it was lack of calcium. Do let yr gynae know and he/she can prescibe you with some calcium tablets.

Hi Cynthia,
Was wondering how does a boy scan looks like~ hahaha.. can share if possible?

My first 2 kids are gals, so I have absolutely no idea the diff. Ppl can tell me, very easy to spot, something in between legs most likely is a boy... err.. still cant imagine.

I had my scanning at 17weeks. Gynae can see gender liao... i refuse to find out thus asked gynae not to tell me.. but my hb was very kan cheong.. he asked gynae how many %, gyane refused to tell him too. hahaa!