(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi Mummies, for those going to deliver in TMC, will you be going for FBI/SBI?

Coolzy, thanks for the information. Wanting to ask ard for 1 bedded information from TMC but no one responded. Seemed quite ok with 1 bedded.

Looks like our thread really very quiet... Or all busy with work and work.. Haiz... Me going to prepare a checklist for next week Genting and KL trip for my girl. Cannot forget to bring anything..

Jas J, no mine only tummy area, nt thigh. THink u see a gp soon to sooth the itch and prevent frm spreading further

baby-mummy,
I had sign up SBI at TMC yday and got 10% off the scan. Got a bag of goodies also and a free diaper backpack.

The detailed scan will enable u to know the gender, see the fingers and toes of the baby in more detail. Quite interesting cos u will get a printed copy of all the parts in A4 size paper (all combine into 1pc of paper).

I hate to swallow pills also. Ya..like what u say eat for baby's sake. Whenever I find it difficult to swallow, I will tell myself,"Swallow it, it is good for the baby. Dun swallow means baby not healthy." Then end up swallowing lor.

Thanks May. I think need to find time to go down.

I am from Feb 09 thead.

wanted to check if any mummies interested in sharing to get calcium tablets at cost price...its $9 per box of 100 tablets with a MOQ of $100... let me know soonest possible if interested.. email me at [email protected] thanks

Hi Ladies, sorry to intrude I'm a mummy from Jan09's thread.

I have some milk samples to give away in exchange for diaper samples or other baby/mummy essentials.

Have checked...none made in China!
1) EnfaMama A+ Chocolate. Expiry 06 Mar 2009
50g x 2 sample packs in box.
For pregnant & breastfeeding mothers.
Product of Thailand.

2) Anmum Materna. Box contains 2 samples.
Vanilla 37.5g, Expiry 03 Jan 2009
Chocolate 46g, Expiry 05 Jan 2009
For pregnant mothers.
Product of Malaysia.

Please PM / email me if anyone is interested, pickup in Pasir Ris at my place. Exchange in Orchard on certain days can be arranged.

I have done my first scan last Wed. The whole procedure took about half an hour luckily my baby is cooperative. In between the radiographer let me half empty my bladder cos really too uncomfortable. I will only see my gynae this Fri so have to wait patiently for the results.

Re fish oil:
When must we take fish oil? Do you get them from your gynae?

Re swallowing of pill:
Usually I will swallow it together with a glass of milo. However, lately I will vomit after food so I will take it just before I sleep.

Re constipation:
Anyone of you facing this problem? I try drinking prunce juice, but the taste really put me off lately due to MS, dunno how.
My constipation can be quite bad. Sometimes it will last for 5-6 days before I clear my bowel. Also most of the time, I will have a little bleeding whenever my stool is too hard. Paisheh, very gross.

jinglebel,
Yes, like what coolzy has said, if normal delivery + single room, it's about $3K+. After medisave deduction, still need to pay $1K+ in cash.

Leeuwin,
Constipation is normal. I bleed sometimes while passing motion as well.

Devil,
I was at Spring Maternity at Causeway Point last weekend. Didn't see any dresses that I like... They all looked dowdy to me. Maybe because I keep comparing them to non-maternity dresses. Sigh.

Re. fish oil
Back in 2005, I take the Neurogain brand. It's a capsule, not so bad. It's not that big. Not sure if this is the brand that most OB prescribe.

Re. Confinement lady
My MIL did confinement for me for #1. Though I won't say she's very good, but she does cook some confinement food. And my MIL is rather 'modern'. She doesn't believe in not bathing and washing hair. Nether do I. But I did buy those herbs for bathing and wash my hair only every alternate days. My mom will also cook confinement food for me when she visits in the weekends. So it's not so bad. My MIL does not wake up at night to help with the baby and I don't expect her to cos I want to latch my boy as much as possible and will wake up at 3 hourly intervals at night to do so. So not much point for my MIL to wake up at night. Will probably do the same for #2.

Just to share a photo of me when I was 37 weeks preggy for #1 (I delivered 5 days after this photo was taken) and my boy, photo taken when he was about 15 months.

1770669.jpg
1770670.jpg

Finally into the 2nd trimester. Im sure next month most of us r going to know the gender. Knowing my dr he won't tell me till the 20wks detail scan to confirm. So i guess i have to wait till then. That's another 2 more mths for me.

Im not given any fish oil so i have to buy it myself. Any recommendation on what brand and where to buy?? I only know neurogainBP selling at guardian.

I crave for steamboat going to eat it again this Thursday.

RE: Fish Oil
My gynae jus started me on fish oil as I am now into my 2nd trimester.

RE: Pills
How I wish I could have lots of method to cure my pill problems.
Actually I have come to a stage of being quite fearful of swallowing the pills and having meals esp at night.
I have no MS at all but I am suffering from heartburn. Everytime I swallow pills or eat anything, the acid will slowly build up from my stomach to my gullet. It will also disturb my sleep.
One night, I woke up an hour after sleeping to puke... and I puke out blood

Currently on antacid. Doc is scared my gullet will get erroded away.
Anyone suffering the same prob as me?

Yeah! I got my results finally. Everything is ok!

Hi Queen, nice shots.

Same here. I went to Spring but could not find any dresses. I will be wearing my sis's dress to the dinner this Sunday.

Btw, back to the discussion on chinese herbs. I just got the following list from my gynae.

Avoid
1) Ginseng: Exerts a direct teratogenic effect on rat embryos: that is to say it is capable of causing malformations in rat embryos. Hence may be harmful to humans too.
2) Dang Gui (Angelica sinensis): Causes contractions
3) Danshen ( Salvia miltiorrhiza ): blood-thinning properties of danshen may increase the risk of miscarriage or bleeding, and effects on the fetus or nursing infants are not known.

It is quite confusing coz some of the herbs are actually in the herbal soup recipies for mothers.
And danshen+beiqi is almost like the basis of all herbal soups.

Queen
nice shot. How much weight did u gain for ur #1?

Baby mummy
hope that you are feeling better now.

Re: maternity wear
I bought some clothes from Spring & Perfect Mum. Heard that Cloud 9 is not bad also. Have not tried shopping there yet.

Re: MS
I am into my 12weeks, but I am still having it. It was the worse for me on Sun, vomitted thrice. Heard from some pple that it will gradually subside from 15 - 17 weeks. I am also having no appetite though will eat some food at every meal. Low consumption of water also, perhaps that's why the constipation.

Re: Breastfeeding
Anyone bf after birth? Any recommendation on which pump to use, esp from 2nd or 3rd Mtb?

baby_mummy, what exactly is heartburn(cos pain)?? I think i might have that or is it indigestion?? It's usually bad at night.

Not sure about bird nest but most mummies I know took it without any problem. And I love bird nest!! Haha

I asked the medical hall, they say bird nest is neutral, that is not "liang" or "heaty".
That means quite suitable for us. Also need to ensure it is clean and free from feathers else it will be bad for the lungs. Hence quality of bird nest matters.

I found a interesting thread on bird nest! Instructions on brewing and where to buy!!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/351668.html?1206340294

dodos,

Yes you are right. It is closely associated to indigestion.
I thought I had indigestion too until I read about heartburn and ask my gynae about it.
And similar to you, I had it really bad at night!

I think its quite common in pregnancy as the hormones we have tend to relax smooth muscle tissue everywhere in our body including the gastrointestinal tract but it usually affect pregnant ladies in the later stages.

Hence with the relaxation of the ring of muscle that separates the esophagus from the stomach, this allow the food and harsh digestive juices to back up from the stomach to the esophagus. These acids irritate the esophasgus lining right around where the heart is.
In my case, to my chest and throat area.
Try staying upright several hours before sleep. (It doesnt work for me though! or lying on the left side when sleeping. (This works better! ;))

Adapted from "What to Expect when you are expecting".
This is really a very good book!

Tigger88
I believe you must be very comfortable your electric pump. Think I will most likely go for electic pump, am still deliberating on which brand to buy though. Does your pump make lots of noise when pumping? Is there a limit on the number of times can be used per day? I heard some pump limits to 2-3times usage per day.

baby mummy
thank for the interesting link on bird nest. It seems like there's a lot of different views on consumption of bird nest.

RE. heartburn
I had a bad case of it in 3rd trimester and silly me, didn't know what was heartburn. I had very bad chest pain and went to a GP. And he did a CTG and all that... nothing abnormal. HE prescribed some muscle relaxant thing and it didn't really help. Eventually the pain subsided after a week. It was after the visit that I go read up and realise that it could be heartburn.

RE. Breastfeeding
my boy was on total breastfeeding for about 15 months. I actually use 2 Avent manual pumps at the same time for expressing, 1 pump for 1 breast. I contemplated getting an electric pump before going back to work but I'm very comfortable with the Avent manual pump and I thought why not try with 2 pumps... and it's so much cheaper compared to electric pumps. Works for me... though at times, it can be tiring handling 2 manual pumps. But most of the time, it's fine for me.

dodos / devil,
Thanks. I put on about 13kg for #1. Now not so slim liao leh... have put on a few kgs after I stopped BFing my #1. So i'm hoping this time round, I put on less weght so that after BF, I can go back to my weight before I ever gave birth.

our thread is going on pretty healthily i see.

for heartburn, think u can try avoiding heavy meals at night and more frequent small meals. apparently u can try propping up the head-part of the bed too.

cant imagine pumping breastmilk out of both breasts at the same time though. just a short survey since there are a few non-firsttime-mummies, how long did u breastfeed?

till next time...

re: constipation
Leeuwin, I'm super constipated too. very very uncomfortable.

queen, nice pics. i like your maternity jeans too
u look like the naturally skinny type *envious*

for my pregnancy this time round i dun look or feel as radiant as with my boy. just pimply, pale and fat all round arrghh. regret not taking pregnancy shots that time...hai.

re:breastfeeding
DTSmummy, in fact i love pumping breastmilk out of both breasts at the same time. such a BIG RELIEF coz i got v engorged at times (couldn't pump as and when i liked coz have to teach).

I breastfed only for 6.5 mths. wanted to bf longer but supply suddenly dropped when all my mid year exam marking came in. so hoping can last longer now.

as for breastpump...i have 2, 1 medela mini electric plus and ameda dual electric. i prefer ameda, coz the motor is much much quieter and longer lasting. my medela's motor wore out after only 2 mths. i was a heavy pumper :p ameda is cheaper too.

Devil, i ended up wearing my daniel yam tube dress from my pre-pregnancy days to my good fren's wedding too. i still can't find any decent looking maternity evening wear.

I managed to bf son for a yr. Pump is not helpful to me i have to use hand express if not nothing comes out. So if you pump nothing or very little use hand instead. Im a sahm so i latch on everyday and only express at night when he's sleeping. If you work you may find pump faster but it doesn't work for everybody i say.
So you will hear alot of people say no milk but sure got one.

Im quite worried my weight keep dropping. check up and lost 1kg. Maybe i have insomia this few days. Can't sleep at night.

morn mummies

I had grill salmon yest for dinner, while eating it taste so delicious, I add garlic somemore and finish everything :p However, aftertaste the fishy smell makes me so queasy, burping the wholenight and this morn ms is very terrible! Need to eat sweet stuff to overcome the fishy smell, so terrible but salmon is good for baby.
Nw 14 weeks gng to 15 weeks still hv ms

Bought some clothes at maternity house at Vivocity, nt bad

I had 3 weddings coming up for the this mth and Dec too

pat / karrie,
I bought the jeans from Thyme maternity... I remember that it cost me almost $100. And their sizes are ang moh sizes, I had to wear XS and still have a little room to spare. But it's very comfortable.

Karrie,
I also think that this time round, I'm more haggled as compared to my first pregnancy. Maybe it's due to the bad MS and having to juggle work and my boy. Sigh.

DTS,
I breastfed for 15 months. This time round I think I will aim for 18 months to 2 years.

dodos,
I also believe that all mummies have adequate milk supply, that's what I read in almost every breastfeeding website and books as well. When I hear mummies complain about no milk, I think it's really about the technique and how hardworking the mummy is to keep up or stimulate the supply. Of course, milk supply may come in or increase more slowly for some mothers. But I think some mummies don't like to hear this cos they will think that we do not understand since we can BF successfully.

have been MIA for sometimes because had fall sick.. do take care especially now its 'season' to fall sick...

anyway i have 2 pumps.. 1 manual and 1 electric..

manual is avent. electric is ameda. but i still think that manual is better because can express more and more complete..

heartburn.. like what DTSmummy says.. have more frequent and small meals/ snack.. avoid spicy food will help.. will have heartburn, take ginger tea (can buy at supermarket - instant) or take dry biscuit. will help..

i got heartburn for my 1st during 3rd tri.

constipation is norm for me.. can no need to poo for 5 days.. but now i take fresh punes fruits.. really help lor.. within 2 hrs can go poo liao.. punes juice doesnt really work for me.. its because of the iron tablets that we take during pregnancy.

for bird nests, my mum says its 'cooling' so better to take after 1st tri..

now my mum makes herbal for me.. she says its a must drink for 1st tri.. then when 2nd tri got another type.. very confusing.. so whatever my mum makes, i drink.. anyway i enjoy drinking soup!

I also hope I can bf, pray for good ample milk supply
Hee..need experts here for adivse next yr when pop :p

BTW, do u all feel breatheless after walking a distance?

mangogal, u so fast can feel breathless? hehehe.. when come to 2nd tri and start of 3rd tri, u will be even worse then..

take small steps and walk norm.. dont walk in a hurry

anyway, for my no 1, i only bf for 4 months because my supply suddenly dropped when i returned back to work.. i think because of the frequency i can express (i'm not desk bound)

my gynae kept encouraging me to bf for at least 1 yr.. he kept saying that for no2, he will subscribe med for me if my supply drops so that i can bf for 1 yr.. hehehe..

no need to worry la.. i think so long we do our best in bf, we have given our best to our babies..

anyway bf for few yrs doesnt mean anything if mummies eat junk food.. when bf, cannot drink cold drink, cooling stuff, must eat healthy food etc.. alot of restrictions.. else u eat, baby absorbed.

so mummies out there, dont stress and do yr best can already..

yalor Shers...no just now I walked to take lift with another colleague, so we chat as we walked..after I sit dwn at my desk, I feel breathless leh! Nw ok liao after I drink water

BTW if Bf, can drink cooling stuff or eat raw food? Knw preg cant but dunno bf allow...

Leewin, I used Medela PIS Advanced till my gal is 12 months old. Very fast and effective.

Karrie, how come your Medela motor worn out so fast? Mine I've passed to my sister. She's using it now and will be getting back from her when I deliver.

Can you still wear Daniel Yam's dress? My stomach real obvious now. Dun think I am able to fit in.. I will try this Sunday...

Hi Queen, I bought one jeans from thyme too.. But even on my last month od my pregnancy #1, it keeps on dropping. I bought XS. In the end I never wore at all. Now in my storeroom...

Shers, same here.. Not sure what happened. My gal last 2 days suddenly down with flu, running nose and throat infection. Her nose was so red and fluffy eyes.. The nose is like tap water and tears automatically tears down her eyes. And her throat like something stucked there. Keep on like want to cough and trying to cough out something. See liaoz so heart pain. Luckily she is fine now.

Mangogal, u feel breathless now? Mine is only during my last month in my 1st pregnancy.
If BF, try not to eat colling stuff or raw food, coz what u eat is what the baby eats.

Hi Queen,

i heard from alot of experience mothers that breast feeding for 1 year is enough for the child. Cause after 1year, they start to eat solid food, all the nutrient in BF no longer be sufficient for the child.

Hi queen, yah i guess having to cope with so many things now takes its toll. furthermore my boy has been waking up middle of the nite ever since i got preggy, when previously he always slept thru. kinda weird how they know huh.

thymes jeans are comfy yupp. i have a pair of cargo pants xs too..but still v roomy...ang mohs really big sized hee.

re: breastfeeding
I also believe all mummies have milk. as long as u latch bb or pump religiously in the early days, rest well and drink lots of fluids, will definitely have milk one. i could collect so much milk that didn't have to rely on formula at all and still have extra to freeze!!

Devil, i wasn't using PIS advanced...I was using the mini electric plus. later i found out that for the frequency i pumped, the motor couldn't keep up. so went kaput. haha. the ameda lactaline dual electric is the same grade as the PIS but costs about half...that's why i went for that. and it's still working fine, intend to use for no.2.

I could wear my daniel yam even when i was 7 mths preggy with my no. 1...coz it's made of super stretchy material and not chiffon. so this time, it's still my evening dress of choice

hmmmm... me didnt bf for my gal @ all.... me was bit in post natal depression... kept on crying, didnt know why leh... so for this 2nd one, will try to bf....

constipation.... so far me poo everyday leh...

me hated taking pills, all kinds.... even the tiniest one, me need to drink lots of water... others need to crash then put in mouth and lots of water again... so now thinking how shall me swallow the fish oil eh?? any suggestion?

me oso not a milk person too.... hmmmmm..... me didnt take fish oil and milk for my #1 so this make my #1 so small size eh? but she's healthy leh....

force myself to try out the milk sample, 1st time (last thurs) was okie,me finished the milk. gave myself a pat... yeah!!! but the 2nd try (on sunday), me puke out even my dinner.... and whole nite cldnt sleep.... wonder can me take those marigold pack type, fresh milk, choco?

Shers,
My mom made bird nest for me last weekend. She didn't mention anything about cooling leh. Anyway, I couldn't finish it in one go cos of the MS and had to split it into 2 portions. Luckily, I didn't vomit out the bird nest.
And it's not true BF cannot drink cold drink lah... it's not that bad as long as general diet is nutritious. But it's true that when BF, have to ensure diet is balanced. No alcohol, cannot anyhow take medicine without approval from doctor.

Devil,
You must be slimmer than I was!
The Thyme jeans was rommy overall but my bum could still hold it up! Hahha... anyway, this time round I bought a pair of jeans from VS and it's quite low waist. Maybe can wear till end of 2nd trimester.

Always,
It is recommended that babies to be breastfed (total breastfeeding as far as possible) for at least 6 months. After 6 months, solids can be introduced in the diet. Yes, after 6 months, babies would be taking some solids but for the 1st year, their main nutrition comes from milk. However, there is no limit to how long breastfeeding can continue cos there is no formula milk in the market that is superior to breastmilk in terms of nutrition and composition. Though it's true that babies after 1 year old cannot be relying on milk for main nutrition and should be having more solids, they would still need to have milk as supplementary meals and why give formula milk if you can still breastfeed? Anyway, that said, whether to continue breastfeeding after 6 months of 1 year depends a lot on the situation the mummy is in. Like for me, I stopped at 15 months cos I was switching jobs and the new workplace is not conducive for expressing milk. And I didn't really want to latch my boy for too long cos i was afraid that it will be more difficult to wean him off my breasts as he grows older.
In fact, I have read and heard from PDs that if possible, provide breastmilk till 2 years old.

food in-take got to depend on individual la.. what i shared here is what CL told me. i rather believe than not.

i have seen bf mummies eating raw food, take cool drinks.. i think in the end, its your own babies who are going to benefit/ suffer from..

thats y alot of experienced mums said that if u want to bf, u have to lose out alot of 'good' food.

but again, i have seen mummies taking raw food during pregnancy.. again depends on yrsself..

all these advises are shared.. if want to heed, then take advice. otherwise, just 'see' and forget it.

leereiner, dont feel this way. all mummies wanted the best for their babies. Somethings are not within our control.

like me, i always felt that i only gave my little gal BM for only 4 months. but when my gynae said that so long i have tried my best.

its not true that without bm, babies will grow up unhealthy. just that immune system will be better. but i think all these can be compensated with healthy surrounding etc..

i felt that all mummies are great because we women went through 9 months of pregnancy, all sorts of funny MS, putting on weight, stretch marks, hair loss and worse of all giving birth, confinement (i think its quite bad coz no shower and no going out).. for c-section mummies will be scars!!!

but they encouraged me to try for my next one.... just like you all said, milk supply will come in eventually one, gotta be patience....

wonder how pro is your co to bf? what me wanna to find out is there be a room for express milk kinda arrangement?

Hey ladies. Did my OSCAR today. Wah waited for more than 1hr to get in. Anyway, they didn't tell me the results yet, said will send to my gynae. But she said everything looks normal. After sooo long seeing my baby, very cute and my EDD is changed again. Much earlier, 12/april.

Bird's nest
My MIL said too much bird's nest will cause the baby to have asthma, not sure wrong or not. Probably is due to the feathers

These few days, I experience a sudden feeling near my belly button. The feeling of sth boxing/pushing from inside. Just at a point and for a while, any one has such a feeling?

leereiner, my little gal refused to latch on. so i can only latch her 1 hr after her feeding.. so most of the time i express out.

maybe thats y my supply reduces alot!

Hi Jinglebel...
how many weeks are u at?

My dad went to ask Chinese sinseh... who recommends Bird's nest intake on the 6th-7th month onwards, as it will be the most beneficial.. I was like... 'shucks... spoil my chance of asking for it right now'. =p