(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

for those who are asking for NT and triple test accuracy,

My gynae told me

(A) Triple Test 60% accuracy
(B) NT Screen Scan 70% accuracy
(C) (A) + (B) --> 80% accuracy

hope that helps.

I ate a bowl of sharkfin just yesterday.. My mother-in-law said its fine to take abit.. but not too much as in 2-5 bowls...once in a while i thInk its fine..hehe
But if u r still worry then better don't take..

Hi everyone..

It's been a long time since my last posting on Oscar's last week. Haha!

I was scheduled for an Oscar last Monday. I was contemplating whether to do it or not. I thought about it for a long time and then decided not to do it.

I would keep the baby no matter what. It's God's gift. I wouldn't want to choose.

I feel so much happier now. In my 12th week and going to see my gynae on 29th Sep.

Hi Always,

I had a bowl of sharksfin soup at a wedding 2 weeks ago. My friends said that it is good and that I should eat more because it is good for baby! Haha!

Hi queen, yes. I am looking for dinner dresses. Will be going down to spring to look look see see. If I can find the time. Keke..

I think sharkfin can eat, but try not to eat crab. They said if we eat crab, baby will be very naughty as in itchy hands and legs in hokkien?? I even went for crab eating session when I was carrying my #1. And she is really itchy hands itchy legs now.

Hi MTBs,
Any Jurong West mummies interested in signing up for Aqua Aerobics? I feel like joining the Monday class that will start in Oct. Sound interesting as it is suitable for preggie mummies.

kinda agree with Devil, my no. 1, i loved cuttlefish, sotong, crab, all with many legs. and really he's very very itchy hand and leg, cannot stop. no matter how u scold and punish, still like that, duh!

iwry,
I will be going for the NT scan on 6 Oct. I will be choosing 4 bedded, cos it will automatically be FOC upgrade to 2 bedded if they short of 4 bedded room. TMC had limited 4 bedded room. But got to prepared also lah. Scarly Apr no one give birth then we got to stay 4 bedded. hehe.

I did not go for the hospital tour the first time round. Nothing much I think. I will be seeing Dr Adrian tonight. Will update the status after that.

Hi Rachael,
sorry for the late response... mine have stopped so far. Only on medication still. Dare not touch housework anymore...

Hope yours have subsided too? My next appt is in mid-Oct, going for OSCAR and other blood test.

hi may, why not earlier? nt scan can do anytime from 11-14 weeks rite? not considering the suites? like v shiok:p

btw, dr adrian's fees issit 800 for normal delivery? how much for caesaerean?

Hi Mummies, I heard that TMC is extending their No of rooms and they are building many 4-bedded rooms now. Not sure if it is true anot. Quite high possibilities that we will get 4-bedded room if opted for that.

Anyone going for 1-bedded in TMC? Do you know what is the rate like?

hi mummies!!!
hows everyone today??

me as usual.... bloatedness is enuf to bore my day!

juxta.. i missed chilli crab!!! now tat im preggie, dun think i can.....

Hie Devil...
me going for 1-bedded. but not checked out the rates yet. Cos tot its still very early since my EDD is end-April only.

You also have the intention?

Hi lilmoo,

Can help me update the table?
EDD 14th April, TMC, Dr Caroline Khi.

hehe here's a joke for all mummies...since we are on the topic of CRABS! I told hubby that I can't eat crabs else baby hands will be itchy... and guess what he says? He told me just to skip the claws! OMG! Sounds logical though haha!!

Hi May!

I am interested in going for prenatal aqua aerobics! But I am not staying in JW. Where is the aqua aerobics class held? I don't mind going for the one at KK. :D

Hi Jas, yes. I'm intending to go for 1-bedded. but not sure of the rates. If it is affordable, I will go for it. I should pamper myself once in a while. Dun really like staying with someone unfamiliar. I regretted staying in 2-bedded. Esp for my #1, the night before I gave birth, I had such bad contractions, and because someone was beside me, I had to tahan and bite my lips from screaming out, though there was some times when I really screamed out. Keke.. And I have to tahan till morning before I'm pushed to the delivery ward.

Hi Queen, thanks. I will have a look. My friend's wedding dinner is 2 weeks down the road. Hope to get it real fast.

Thanks iwry. Will have a look at the rates.

Hi Queen, could you share the rates for 1-bedded in TMC for your first one? Seemed like Thomson Medical website is down.

BTW, does TMC supply sleep wear like other hospitals? Seemed like they dun supply and we have to bring our own. Dun bring means dun wear?? I have to ask my hubby to go home to get my sleep wear for my #1.

Talking abt crab, i hv been eating crabs 4 e past 5 days when im at Hokkaido ... oh dear ... oh dear... hw 2 remedy tt (frm getting itching hand & leg)?

oni aware tt k nt eat 2 muc seafood as e bb when cm out wil get sm allegic.

tink wil try 2 get one-bedded so tt wil gt mor rest. a few times visit my galfriends (2-bedded) found e rm v noisy either frm ur side or e other party side. me havent decide which hospital yet....any recommend?

baby_mummy,
Singapore Sports Council had a number of location that they held the classes. Can pop by their website to see.

morn MTBS,

some mummies looking for nice maternity dress ah?
I bought the latest issue of Mother & Baby mag and the last section Look Better section gt a series of nice gorgeous dresses

BTW this issue gt the confinement special and it is very imformative and even recipes, so dun miss out the latest issue!

morning...

went to see Dr Any yesterday, 12 wk 1 day, the baby was very cooperative so doing NT scan was very easy for me
My EDD has been brought fwd again to 8 Apr. Dr Ang said it shld not change anymore. By the way, he would be able to determine the gender on my next visit.

Hi Coolzy and Devil, did you buy the fish oils and multi-vits from Dr Ang? They are so ex... Do you have idea if I could get them from the pharmacy outside?

Hi mangogal, thanks. Going to get one during lunchtime. Hope still available.

Hi Jinglebel, same here. Dr Ang said will be able to determine the gender on my next visit. Looking forward to it.
My next visit is 17th Oct. EDD moved to 30th March.

I will be getting the fish oils from him. That fish oil I couldnt find it from outside. But will be starting only the 4th or 5th month.
The multi-vitamins once on package, it is included inside the package leh.. Not sure they will deduct after the package is confirmed.

Hi Devil

My next visit will be on 18 Oct
Do update after your visit. How big is your baby now?

He mentioned that the fish oil is optional but after reading the brochure, it seems pretty good. can take it after delivery while breastfeeding too. Will be good if the multi-vits is included in the package. Fish oil will definitely not be in the package as Dr Ang said is optional

The brand of the fish oil is natal care plus.

whao.... my gynae give me quite a lot of sample... but me afraid of the fish smell... he assured that this type one has no fish smell... me yet start on them... you want to have sample? maybe me can check with my sil how much is that...

hi jinglebel,
me same as you, next appt is 18 Oct....

Hi May,

Thanks! Just checked the website. Many locations are available.

Just wondering since it is open to all and each lesson lasts about 1 hour. Is it suitable for pregnant woman?

baby_mummy,
Yes, That day there is one CH8 TV show that show this Aqua-Aerobics lor. The trainer Naz said it is good for pregnant woman. But I think better to check with gynae when to start exercising before signing up bah.

Anyone going to see gynae these few days? Can help to ask if we can go for Aqua Aerobics now? Or must wait till 2nd trimester? Forgot to ask Dr Woody last night.

Update on my baby.. went to check up last night. It is 11Wks 3 days and measuring 4.9cm.

Hi May,

OIc..my next visit to the Gynae iS Oct4.. Perhap i can take thIs opportunity to ask the gynae whether its safe to have Aqua-Aerobics. keep u MTBs updated..

Hi Jinglebel,

Yes, bought fish oil from him also. I did consume for my #1. So will continue to consume for this time. My next appt is on 20/10.

The queue was horrible on Mon. I went at 1045am and finished my check-up at 1230noon.

wah seems like fish oil is a very good supplement, will ask my gynae the next visit

BTw, anyone's tummy itchy due to tummy stretch?
So unbearable
So many tiny red dots appear at the side! Been using fragrance free moisturiser dare nt use any other stretchmark cream

Good News, I've jus called to check on the Aqua Aerobics Class from the website given by May (Thank you for the info, hee!)

They say that it's a low impact exercise so it's very suitable for preggys like us!

(but a note, you will have to check with your gynae first before you sign up for any course)

There's no swimming skills needed, Passion Card member is entitled to 10% discount, non-member entitles to 10% discount if you register before 12 October. :p Yeah!

Hi reiner

The nurse told me to start on the fish oil only after your MS is gone as it is wasteful if you throw it out... you might want to try only when you feel good.

Hi Coolzy

Sometimes the queue is real long. Probably becos it's a mon so the queue is longer. I went yday and thankfully not so crowded. Dr Ang still can say he is more free and so he told an additional scan of my baby for himself for some credibility submission. Did you opt for the OSCAR test?

Hi Jinglebel,
the multi-vit is definitely in the package. But fish oil is not. But it is good for baby's brain development. You can consider. I will also be getting from him, as I did for my #1. I ate that also for my breastfeeding. Went back every 2 months to buy the fish oil capsules.

My baby was 6.07cm at 12 weeks 4 days, the last scan was 19th September. But he never told me the baby's weight. Just checked on the baby's neck and said the baby is growing healthy.

Hi Coolzy, Same. I went on Friday at 2.20pm and I finished my checkup only at 4pm. The crowd was terrible.

Hi Leereiner, the brand is natal care plus, as stated by Jinglebel, same Gynae. Keke... I think other gynae gave different kinds of fish oil. But I find this brand quite good.

Hi devil

Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear the good comments from you. I shall continue to eat that then. Yah, from the brochure it seems quite good...

Hi coolzy

Yup I did it yday too... 200 bucks. Do you know if OSCAR is just about blood test? My friend was telling me that there should be a detailed test on the fluid behind the baby's neck but i did not have that.

the brand of fish oil that I used to take for my #1 = Neurogain..

not bad leh...
heard its quite popular with mummies.

aqua-aerobics is perfectly ok for mumies. no swimming is needed.. just some movements in the water. and i guess we will enjoy it!

Hi Jinglebel,
Mine is also blood test only. But Dr Ang did measure the thickness of the baby's neck when doing the scan.

Dear mummies, visited the consultant at KKH this PM and the CEDD is 19th May 09....hmm..need to "move away" from the April's gp liao unless baby wanna see the world early. Haha.

The gyna also recom the natal care plus and FET (OSCARS) test to me. I only take up the package A, only the blood test...dun need to go into details type. Best bet as advised by the gyne. He was so assuring. So comfortable talking to him. Haha.